Proton-VW Tie-up Updates

Volkswagen and Proton tie-up talks have made some progress, after a meeting between Proton Holdings Bhd and Volkswagen AG in Bangkok recently.

Apparently Volkswagen has dropped it’s insistence to have a controlling stake in Proton, and details of the proposed partnership has been revised. The issue of the controlling stake has been a main stumbling block in the talks so far. But Proton officials has not confirmed this matter.

Bernama also reports Proton is exploring multi-party strategy involving relationships with General Motors and Mitsubishi.

In other news, Proton shares went up 15 sen to RM6.30 after the announcement of it’s MV Agusta share disposal. Mayban Research has set a target price and fair value of RM7 for Proton shares. Shares should go up again after this tie-up progress announcement.

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• BOYRACER on Dec 30, 2005 at 7:07 pm

They are in negotiations again?Like choc fudge advert.'now u see it,now u dont'

Whatlah.

just my 2 cents worth.

cheerios.

• so how many euros are proton gonna get from VW? maybe 2 euros so they can like, double the profit!

• ombak on Dec 30, 2005 at 7:32 pm

anyway, i am still thinking that proton supposed "release" his augusta project. coz, it wastes man…! better they invest to proton 150%, so that the quality will increase. in the VW case, no comment but are they playing is it a good "game" this time? man…. i am wating..

• muthu on Dec 30, 2005 at 7:48 pm

there should B win win situation if they 1 2 succeed with this JV………P1 should learn from mitsu JV(mistake)……….

• MahathirSpeakz on Dec 30, 2005 at 7:54 pm

All bullshit

• Xoomie on Dec 30, 2005 at 8:07 pm

If Proton allow the "multi party strategy"

Its gonna be a disaster!

I am sure VW not gonna like it.

• you think anybody from proton ever reads this blog? I hope they do man…

• Initial D on Dec 30, 2005 at 8:19 pm

all of the forumers, if u hv frens who work wif proton, call them to this forum to readlah!

• controlling interest sounds good for proton sigh…….

• Sell only 20% to VW. Remember honda had only 20% in Rover, but what impact it had on Rover. All Rover's models were from Honda. With proton, VW maybe has only to give the Passat (local market) and diesel engines (for oversea markets). On the other hand Proton should insist that VW sells gen 2 or SAVVY in EU or China as VW.

• TeBaBo on Dec 30, 2005 at 10:25 pm

err..proton beetle after this?sounds great..hope the JV give new hope to P1..

• lanaibeach on Dec 30, 2005 at 10:28 pm

They keep talking

With papers and ideas

Lot of times wasted

Never find a solution

For all the times gone

Why can't they lay out their objectives?

Why can't they cut out the bullshit?

By the time they get it sign in black and white

China cars will flood the market with gutso!

Naza is getting into the wagon

This new kind knows where to hit

The money gold in the Bolihland

And Proton keeps talking

Without new direction and objectives

The rules will change eventually

Down the Klang river

I see the muddy waves

I dont know what they are talking

It never ends the story

We are still here discussing

So the Potong goes

It is to keep the game guessing

It has become a laughing show

The global Malaysian hard to come by

Now one has to potong the way!

lanai 30/12/05 2.28pm

• This Poem does not ryhme at all. Give it a P8.

• pycazu on Dec 30, 2005 at 11:22 pm

Anyway, this poem quite a new interesting thing here, at least better than just bashing only.

Proton at least finally made 2 right decisions now, let go the troublemsome MV Agusta and continue to talk with VW.

btw, just wonder why need to discuss it in Bangkok, something naughty under table can't talk openly here isn't? Closed door discussion in bolehland no one ever know oso mah!

Then, P1 couldn't manage well when affliated with Mitsu b4 but thinking to go for multiparties cooperation, they got mental problem meh! Seriously speaking it would just making things worst only. More partners mean less effort work-out but keep talking (bullshit).

• muthu on Dec 30, 2005 at 11:36 pm

Man said,

December 30, 2005 @ 12:38 pm

Sell only 20% to VW. Remember honda had only 20% in Rover, but what …….

ello brader…. proton want to become a main share holder, so they R decision maker ma…….

• Lawyer on Dec 30, 2005 at 11:36 pm

Proton should consider taking legal action for those making bad investments ie. TM or his cronies previously. Its a national interest so any major business decision must be reported to cabinet or parliament, n not later bringing the shits after the deal went bad. No freehand management style which producing bad cars that people hate it.

• abu_adam05 on Dec 31, 2005 at 12:39 am

hmmm… if we have a model base on VW let say Passat Gen3, what would happen to the after sales thing like services, spare parts etc.. we in M'sia had this perception that any conti car sure expenses to maintain. I don't coz I never owned a conti car..

• muthu on Dec 31, 2005 at 12:45 am

happy new year…….

• honda_driver on Dec 31, 2005 at 1:23 am

lawyer, if you really are a lawyer, your info seems a little thin. dont you think the govt has no idea what goes on in proton? with more than 50% share in the whole company, they are the ones who practically run the show i think. The ex-CEO, or whoever is leading is hired, and can be fired. its the "lucky vendors" who continue to mess up that seem to be "untouchable".

• cyrixMX on Dec 31, 2005 at 1:41 am

who said conti car parts are expensive eh?

Citroen ZX – drive shaft RM420

Proton Wira – drive shaft RM550

Honda Civic – drive shaft RM500

Citroen ZX – hub bearing – RM110 with 1 year warranty

Proton wira – hub bearing – RM80 cap ayam no warranty

Honda Civic – hub bearing – RM75 cap ayam no warranty

Citroen ZX – oil filer – RM12 made in italy

Proton wira – oil filter – RM8 cap ayam made belakang rumah

Honda Civic – oil filter – RM9 made in malaysia, cap honda

Judge yourselves :p

• Isamu on Dec 31, 2005 at 2:18 am

Proton Kumbang..

• proton is made of cheap and expensive parts.

Cheap products (that is why it falls apart) sold to proton at expensive prices. (so more profits to ppl personal who appointed the suppliers)

• Handsfree on Dec 31, 2005 at 7:12 am

Guys… let be SABAR…Proton knows what are they doing…. either go with VW or multiply gangs….

If a few yr later… account proven good.. then ppl will say.. Proton made the SUPER decision…

If after a few yr it failed.. badly.. athe whole country brand n image will follow the lonkang… to South China Sea……

Really hope.. some TOP GUN in Proton is looking into our worries n care toward our own face……

• [Half-Half PBâ on Dec 31, 2005 at 7:51 am

we wait n see, but hatuk predicts, nothing special will turn up, and it'll be business as usual….

• blackhead on Dec 31, 2005 at 8:00 am

as long as proton dont change the owner i cant see his bright future as car industrial

• maman on Dec 31, 2005 at 8:16 am

its good to know that any small positive step proton takes towards creating a better car for us.. is being condemn by a majority of forumers.

if u guys know so much about manufacturing a car and keeping costs down, why dont round up a thousand of like mind share holders. start a company and see if u can even do what lotus is doing. a cheap/excelent handling sports car. u all can source the engine from petronas. a high revving,200 bhp 2.0 litre na dohc engine… then see if u are able to keep costs down while trying to build a decent car.

i do hope the talk with vw gets through and we see a locally built proton/vw with vw quality in it… it would be like tata benz and daimler in the past…

• gegaoff on Dec 31, 2005 at 9:13 am

VW no more insist to take charge to PROTON? emm… that's bad, at least so far what i know….but hopefully the venture can be deal asap. then new mgt can have improvement on PROTON. no more pumping money by govt becoz is a GLC… very cheap…

cheers…

• toolan on Dec 31, 2005 at 11:58 am

4G93-SC said,

December 30, 2005 @ 10:13 pm

U should know that its hard to do the smll engine thats y P1 takes the Renault engine….

4G93-SC said,

December 28, 2005 @ 11:52 pm

Do u guys agreed with me..? Only P1 is doing their best and not trying to copy frm anybody else to produce our national car….Besides the Saga n Wira… FYI, MMC and japanese has stolen on our ppl design…..Thats y they said our design is old…FYI, when we collaborate with MMC, there hv a lots of barriers in decision making for the mgt of P1….when we are not with MMC, from there we do lots of design…..Likes Gen2, Savvy….

4G93-SC said,

December 30, 2005 @ 10:13 pm

A good decision to release all stake inside MV Agusta. Luckily its was 1 year Proton was involved in MV Agusta. Thus they got the technology but their core business is more on car. A big applause for P1.

-weih 4G93, ko ni mmg la BODOH SOMBONG. tau pon nak buat small engine susah, tau pon skang proton design kereta sendiri. pasal tu la proton dulu beli mv agusta, bengong! pastu skang proton jual balik mv agusta ko sokong ek. ko ni mmg la sama bodoh mcm proton.

ko igt br setahun pegang mv agusta dah dpt teknologi?? teknologi hape? buat engine kecik? abis kalo dapat nape beli engine savvy ngn renault? teknologi hape? design kereta? ko igt setahun sempat ke nak design kereta sampai siap? toyota pon amek masa 2 thn, br skang nak jd setahun.

ko ni memalukan diri sendiri jek.

• HANG JEBAT on Dec 31, 2005 at 12:56 pm

SEE NO COMMENTS FROM THIS SO CALL PATRIOTIC GUY YET, ONLY THE AGREE WITH U BRADER GUY…

• dksh1892 on Dec 31, 2005 at 4:27 pm

wah….pagi pagi dah panggil orang bengok…auds adus!.. =p anyways.. hope everything turns out well with our national car industry be in proton or perodua or whoever.,..but i am seeing really really big progresses from Naza… whoa… might overtake proton and perodua in no. of sales sooner or later eh? =S

anyhos… HAPPY NEW YEAR!!! =D

• Marmitecrab on Dec 31, 2005 at 5:06 pm

Happy New Year to Paul and fellow bloggers.

If I offended anyone, too bad because I'm going carry it on till the next year!

:-)

• bummerboy on Dec 31, 2005 at 8:00 pm

you know what? fiat and proton should get together!

• rexis on Dec 31, 2005 at 9:12 pm

happy new year 2006 to P1 n P2 and also everybody here.

• biggie on Dec 31, 2005 at 9:37 pm

i actually a little sad that Proton changing its direction when it matters. as Proton do have a line up of 'own' cars now rather then rebadged car. In fact I look fwd then to 2006 where Proton concentrate on niche market (young sporty) and leave the rest to P2/Naza. Drop the rebadge model … or ask someone to mfr for them e.g. Indon or DRB. and concentrate on improving own model Waja/Gen2/Savvy

Whatever spare capacity it has then should be use by VW and Mitsu. Thus volume is not a factor anymore.

Else we have many bland looking cars on the road.. one that rightly blown up by Jeremy.

Btw MV Augusta purchase do not give any significant returns as P1 or TM busy with boardroom tussle and do not have the time to look into how relationhip betwen P1 and MV Augusta should be conducted.

Happy New Year.

• [Half-Half PBâ on Jan 02, 2006 at 12:57 am

wow, biggie, do u really need to copy and paste ur words accross the whole blog?

• Long Dong Silver on Jan 02, 2006 at 9:37 pm

I am not buying any VW cars if it is produced by the same monkeys in proton factory.

• muthu on Jan 03, 2006 at 4:47 pm

HANG JEBAT said,

December 31, 2005 @ 4:56 am

SEE NO COMMENTS FROM THIS SO CALL PATRIOTIC GUY YET, ONLY THE AGREE WITH U BRADER GUY…

ahak ahak ahak……. new year EVE brader…… balik keje awal….. PARTY time……

• muthu on Jan 03, 2006 at 5:05 pm

-weih 4G93, ko ni mmg la BODOH SOMBONG. tau pon nak buat small engine susah, tau pon skang proton design kereta sendiri. pasal tu la proton dulu beli mv agusta, bengong! pastu skang proton jual balik mv agusta ko sokong ek. ko ni mmg la sama bodoh mcm proton.

——- ello brader

in investment we call this technique as CUT LOSS…… if we think that our investment is LUGI so much money better throw it be4 we loss more…… if u said PROTON people bangang jual MVA, so Y not u buy it…. the price only 1 euro…… mulah. 4 those stupid will say " my father can buy la but his/her father can absorb the LUGI"……..

cq out this news and go to bussiness about VW N proton
    http://www.bernama.com.my/

• There goes Muthu again, letting his trap off without any semblance of knowledge. Again, that is why he still drives a PROTON.

Its amazing how he and that Engine Code guy believes everything the mainstream media plugs to them; they're what marketers call "followers".

On the flip side, there are "innovators". Those who present new ideas or thoughts to stimulate discussion. But followers tend to be follow-me types or also-ran types. Rarely intelligent.

Muthu is an extreme follower. Problem is, as someone blogged earlier, to be a good leader you must be a good follower. Hence, Muthu will remain a follower, destined not to ever lead.

• muthu on Jan 04, 2006 at 5:04 pm

ello braderTM

it's up 2 U la……. what ever U want 2 say…… may be u R 55% stake holder in certain company due 2 U have a lot of ideas…… i hope the co u running is not pisang goreng stall……. ahak ahak ahak ahak…… may god damn U

• muthu on Jan 04, 2006 at 5:18 pm

ello brader TM…….

if U have ideas, i think u dont have time 2 waste your time KUTUK others in this BLOG….. you should busy manage your company……. ahak ahak god should punish U……

• ZUKIMAN on Jan 05, 2006 at 11:52 pm

KOMEN IKHLAS UNTUK PROTON…

PROTON TIDAK BERANI BERUBAH. SEMUA PEMBUAT KERETA DI DUNIA TELAH MENGALAMI REVOLUSI REKAAN BODY KERETA DAN JUGA KECANGGIHAN ENJIN.. PROTON BILA LAGI??

WAJA MEMANG HEBAT TETAPI KURANG MENYENGAT..

• Badrul on Jan 06, 2006 at 12:25 am

It's all Dr M and Tengku Mahaleel's fault . Blame this on them . Those scumbacks really ruin Proton. Sue them!!!!!!