2006 Infiniti Coupe Concept

Infiniti showcased a new concept car at the 2006 North American International Auto Show at Detroit. This new Infiniti Coupe concept might just be the base for development of the next Infiniti G35.

The Infinity Coupe Concept portrays a very basic but sleek bare metal look, but this styling was executed very well considering how nice it looks. Heh. Those huge wheels are 20-inchers wrapped in 255/35/R20 for the front and 275/35/R20 for the rear. The car has a full-length glass roof panel which is pretty cool.

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• neurra (Member) on Jan 10, 2006 at 8:58 pm

ohh man.. i love the car seats.. remind me of those anime seats in their mobile gundam armor suit.. the lightings are perfect.. the body lines are much more curvier than the previous model.. the rims n tyres look so well on it.. all in all.. it looks so futuristic.. i like.. =D

• raptorclans (Member) on Jan 10, 2006 at 11:11 pm

oooh….lovely… nice wheels! the seats too… ooh i just wanna sit in those… looks better than the current one, imho. think they'll spawn the next GT-R from this?

• aesthari (Member) on Jan 10, 2006 at 11:26 pm

Love the seats, the interior lighting and the body. If the next generation GT-R is based off this, it should be real good!

• wookie00 (Member) on Jan 11, 2006 at 12:21 am

dream dream dream… dream dream dream when I want you..

some how that bloody dream dream song just pop in my head on seeing this beauty…. haha. well folks, we may never get to see this in our garage but we might as well dream dream dream…. :P

• Zongtwi a.k.a Speed (Member) on Jan 11, 2006 at 12:26 am

Is it based on the 350Z?

• cbljkkj (Member) on Jan 11, 2006 at 12:27 am

We can clearly see that the next generation GT-R is based of this concept as well. The sloping roof, the rear wheel arches and even the boot have a similar styling to the GT-R proto.

As for the interior, all I can say is wow. It is certainly time for Infiniti to hit back at Lexus with all new designs and concepts. Certainly hope to see more of these models in the near future.

• burn (Member) on Jan 11, 2006 at 12:33 am

the rear somehow has the peugeot 306 coupe feel to it…why eh..same designers?

• homer (Member) on Jan 11, 2006 at 1:38 am

errr…where should we put the licensed plate in front?

• homer (Member) on Jan 11, 2006 at 1:43 am

ermm…the side mirrors…what if there's trouble with the monitors…then cannot use la.

• marmitecrab (Member) on Jan 11, 2006 at 2:49 am

Then wind down the windows and stick your head out, lah.

Notice how concept cars have a very clean look on the inside. Very little clutter and minimalist. But when the actual car makes it into production, it becomes very cluttered and messy.

Something to do with the cost, perhaps?

• Initial D (Member) on Jan 11, 2006 at 6:59 am

no matter what , one of my favourite is GTR !!!!!

• ingolstadt (Member) on Jan 11, 2006 at 10:33 am

hmmm… is it neccessary to put those tiny cameras on two 'specially crafted' chicken wings? there are better places to house those cams i guess. No point spoiling the coefficient drag ratio of the car with a few technobabbles..

• gepochai (Member) on Jan 11, 2006 at 5:45 pm

everything is so nice except for that tiny little side cameras. it looks like t-rex with it's tiny hands. hehe.

• chuamike (Member) on Jan 11, 2006 at 7:31 pm

Lovely :)

• marmitecrab (Member) on Jan 11, 2006 at 7:41 pm

Nice going, Paul ;-)

Love the the updates.

• revver (Member) on Jan 11, 2006 at 10:53 pm

put siti beside and i still choose this gorgeous fella.. ahh.. me saliva cannot stop drooling… start saving.

• paramsingwalia (Member) on Jan 12, 2006 at 3:47 am

i can find faults with this car…side mirrors,license plate..but,it's a concept..what do u expect?cannot judge yet

• endlessrain (Member) on Jan 13, 2006 at 2:23 am

infinity is US market… no need fornt license plate

• clark_kent (Member) on Jan 14, 2006 at 7:20 pm

anyhow, licence plates would just be a minor problem wouldn't it? Spray-ons like those on motorbike's, side licence plate like one of those Alfa R. What's so hard about that? We're m'sians, we are GOOD at modding. (although final product, we all 'got eye see' la, not all pass everyone's taste buds)

but the side 'chicken wings' aka t-rex arms really look odd. engineers should do something about it.

• shaymen (Member) on Jan 18, 2006 at 8:01 pm

looks like an eagle face car to me….

• paramsingwalia (Member) on Jan 18, 2006 at 8:14 pm

anyway those stupid rear wing cameras are stupid…might as well put it where it doesnt interrupt the body line…after all..its just a tiny camera..

• jdm_inspire (Member) on Jan 26, 2006 at 7:37 pm

In the US … some states require license plates for front AND back .. New York, for example.

I was at the Detroit Autoshow last week … the car looks better in person than in the pictures (believe it or not). I am seriously going to look at picking one of these cars up. No news when the coupe will be released but the production version of the sedan WILL be at the New York autoshow in April. Hopefully more news will be available in the summer.

Some sources say the coupe will be out as early as November 2006 … others guess some time early 2007. I doubt the coupe will be out later, since this may cloud some of the attention the GT-R will have when it is released in 2008.

• anothal3v3l (Member) on Apr 04, 2006 at 5:17 pm

Thank you a respectful group of pppl who know there cars. So many other sites feel this concept is to bland. I love it and i assure u it will be mine. any idea when it will be out?

• Akazamabamaboo (Member) on Aug 21, 2006 at 7:16 pm

*DROOL*