Lexus gives away iPod Nanos for IS250 recall

lexus_is250_ipod.jpg

Living up to it’s premium brand and service, Lexus is giving out compensation to customers who have their Lexus IS cars delivery delayed due to a recall that is going on currently. Lexus IS buyers who have their delivery delayed by a week or so have received iPod Nano 2GBs and XtremeMac Aux cables so they can hook up their new music machine to their cars. On top of that, buyers have been given loaner cars to drive around during the delay. Awfully nice of Lexus don’t you think?

Source: Club Lexus Forums

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• Xoomie (Member) on Feb 13, 2006 at 7:06 pm

I wish Proton can serves their customer like this…

• cratzelogy (Member) on Feb 13, 2006 at 7:13 pm

:) if there is a free gift to be given out. what would they give to those customers who booked Innova High Grade and Myvi ? I heard their waiting list was way longer than the Lexus.

• cratzelogy (Member) on Feb 13, 2006 at 7:21 pm

What gifts should those Myvi customers get if P2 were to provide one? Origami Myvi?

• kody (Member) on Feb 13, 2006 at 7:32 pm

Wahlaueh…

If proton serves like this then we are going to buy wira at price of RM100K… haha…

cannot compare 'durian' & apple'. Lexus is luxury sedans…

• marmitecrab (Member) on Feb 13, 2006 at 8:22 pm

Goes to show how for car companies will go to keep their customers happy.

Now, that's what I call customer service. Actually, I bet not many other car companies would do something like this, too. Fantastic PR exercise by Lexus. This should win it even more customers.

• pycazu (Member) on Feb 13, 2006 at 8:44 pm

As one of d victim still queuing up for Myvi, i'll ratherd car arrived earlier than giving any free gift. I think P2 gonna bankrupt if giving out ipod for one week delay. Apparently, their delayed delivery just unacceptable slow…

• E-Nabill (Member) on Feb 13, 2006 at 10:04 pm

proton give 50 inch plazma tv wat!

• speedmaster (Member) on Feb 13, 2006 at 10:27 pm

Classy move! Now I wish I'd ordered one. ;-)

• KingKong (Member) on Feb 13, 2006 at 11:49 pm

nice Lexus-IS!!!

i heard Lexus will be here by Q3 or Q4 this year.

before this, most of Lexus car sold here under Toyota brand.

i would happy if Lexus itself open a showroom with full-range of model.

but unfortunately, Lexus-IS interior not that good as 3-series..

• onekaicha (Member) on Feb 13, 2006 at 11:57 pm

A friend booked an Iswara Aeroback last December. There were delays due to lack of the right colour availability, and also due to financing paperwork arrangements.

He was given a Savvy courtesy loan car for two weeks, and a Waja for one week. Plus Touch n Go card, petrol voucher, etc etc. I had of course not believed him initially, and have followed him down the basement car park to see for myself.

Has things changed ? This may sound like a believe it or not story. Believe it, it is real. I have sat in the black savvy and enjoyed it's powerful aircon and ok sound system. And envied my friend's good luck. He must have met the right salesman and sales manager. No?

Are there any other excellent service cases out there ?

• Paul Tan on Feb 14, 2006 at 12:15 am

Where did your friend buy his Savvy from?

• onekaicha (Member) on Feb 14, 2006 at 12:40 am

Paul,

It is Iswara, and the dealer is along the federal highway near the old Motorola.

Good Luck

• Paul Tan on Feb 14, 2006 at 12:42 am

Oops, mis-read. Iswara. Cool.

• waimak (Member) on Feb 14, 2006 at 1:20 am

Very nice car. The free gift is even nicerr!!

• Jason (Member) on Feb 14, 2006 at 1:51 am

Aiya, Lexus is luxury car, that's why PR so good. The gifts also very expensive wan. For Malaysian cars, best would be Touch N Go card, vouchers, that kinda stuff like onekaicha said. Btw, this car looks abit like Volvo S40.

• outspoken (Member) on Feb 14, 2006 at 2:00 am

compare apple with apple please….. a superbrand (lexus) vs Proton.. give me a break

• Paul Tan on Feb 15, 2006 at 1:49 am

test

• Initial D (Member) on Feb 15, 2006 at 2:54 am

luvaduck, lexus ………oh lexus………….why the PR so bagus????? I cannot tahan liao, i am gonna order a lexus , then complain slow delivery. When free gift's coming, i cancel the booking n say very slow, can't wait liao, the salesman sure muntah darah.

hehehehehe………

• marmitecrab (Member) on Feb 15, 2006 at 3:10 am

Like I said, fantastic marketing move by Lexus. You rarely see the other so-called "superbrand" car makers doing the same thing. I'm sure when the S-Class is late delivered, no free gifts (although I've yet to confirm with MB :-))

I'm sure Lexus will do well here. I've seen quite a few grey imports already on the road. With full service backup and warranty, I'm sure many will view it as a viable alternative to the German makes.

• aksMs (Member) on Feb 15, 2006 at 5:59 am

testing

• izudeen (Member) on Feb 15, 2006 at 6:26 am

Paul,

Please do update us on Proton issues as well…

http://www.jeffooi.com/2006/02/post_3.php

• i'm run (Member) on Feb 15, 2006 at 6:28 am

Argh… damn cool car… I wish i has one..

• vai (Member) on Feb 15, 2006 at 8:08 am

Lexus will be opening its door in Mutiara Damansara in Q4. :)))

• honda_driver (Member) on Feb 15, 2006 at 3:39 pm

Was curious about why the car was recalled in the 1st place, and decided to do some digging.

funny how a highend brand like lexus, technically a toyota, practically the worlds no.1 car maker can also make mistakes like this.

very nice car though, seems to somehow resemble the current s40, and E46 at certain angles.

Make : LEXUS Model : IS250 Year : 2006

Build Dates : 20050830 – 20051202

Manufacturer's Responsible for the Recall: TOYOTA MOTOR CORPORATION

Component: VEHICLE SPEED CONTROL:ACCELERATOR PEDAL

Potential Number Of Units Affected : 3567

Summary:

ON CERTAIN PASSENGER VEHICLES, THERE IS A POSSIBILITY THAT THE ACCELERATOR PEDAL MAY TEMPORARILY BECOME STUCK IN THE PARTIALLY DEPRESSED POSITION DUE TO INADEQUATE CLEARANCE BETWEEN THE ACCELERATOR PEDAL LINKAGE AND A PLASTIC PAD EMBEDDED INTO THE VEHICLE'S CARPET.

Consequence:

THIS CONDITION MAY INTERFERE WITH THE ACCELERATOR PEDAL

RETURNING TO THE IDLE POSITION, INCREASING THE RISK OF A CRASH.

http://auto-recalls.justia.com/content/05V565000-…

• Paul Tan on Feb 15, 2006 at 7:35 pm

wonder why the IS350 was not affected.

• bianca_21_sweet (Member) on Apr 24, 2007 at 12:27 am

my ex-boyfriend is driving a lexus 250…

he is so stupid….the car is nice, but he is….

japonese!