AP Policy Unchanged; Tun Dr. M disappointed

teh_mahathir_speaketh.jpgTun Dr. Mahathir Mohamad expressed his disappointment on the AP policy due to the fact that no change had been made although several abuses in it’s issuance has been exposed.

“I’m disappointed, that’s all I can say, what else can I say because the policy remains unchanged. Why is it that almost 80 per cent of the APs are still given to the same people, the people that we have censured, whereas the price of the vehicles brought into the country had been under-declared to pay less tax,” he was quoted to say after a public lecture at USM, Penang.

Back in July 2005, the Customs and Excise department identified 6 companies underdeclaring vehicle prices in order to avoid tax. They have since been slapped with a 30-38% Profit and General Expenses tax on 34 of their models. (Refer to this post) For an offense that could be interpreted as cheating the government of income, perhaps Tun Dr. M expected more drastic punishment like having their APs revoked.

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• whatsoever (Member) on Feb 21, 2006 at 4:58 pm

the best word to suit him now is "you did it, you face it"

• aksMs (Member) on Feb 21, 2006 at 5:43 pm

He's still barking. I wonder who's listening. But I was also expecting that those companies recieve a heavier punishment. Now it seems that that bloody drama queen Rafda has got the better of him. He's been fooled.

But still…Why were they only fined? Why 80% of the APs still go to the same person? And why the hell is she chosen to head the ministry again? Bloody hell!

• E-Nabill (Member) on Feb 21, 2006 at 6:03 pm

ya it was a surprise that rafida is stil in the commitee hat overseas the ap distribution…alot of questions were nt answered at the time of the fiasco…bt dono y it had died down since…disapointed nt much change hapend since,bt im jus cusrious y didnt he Dr M didnt do anyting wen he was in charger?dont tel me he didnt know….

• Oops! (Member) on Feb 21, 2006 at 6:04 pm

that show our PM does not have the capability to attract foreign investors coming to malaysia…. and he still needs her to do so in order to show good result!!!

• Initial D (Member) on Feb 21, 2006 at 7:00 pm

duno why all the medias still wanna listen to the 2 TMs talking. they are no longer in power but still act like they are the boss. And the media is giving them max. attention, why why tell me why?????

• beavis (Member) on Feb 21, 2006 at 7:07 pm

it clearly shows that our pm dont know how to make money for our country..thats why our inflation rate is gettin higher and higher..it also shows that our pm cannot control his own cabinet..im suprise that he still keep that big mouth rafidah and mr sammy.they have corrupted our country very badly..latest,i heard that our pm has open all gov project to the u.s…macam mana orang kita nak cari makan if all the project is open to the u.s company..matila all our contractor.

"please open your mind mr pak lah"….

"harimau mati meniggalkan belang,manusia mati meninggalkan nama"….im sure u dont want ppl to know u as ……..pm.

im sorry if im a bit out of topic…:)

• beavis (Member) on Feb 21, 2006 at 7:12 pm

Initial D said,

February 21, 2006 @ 11:00 am

duno why all the medias still wanna listen to the 2 TMs talking. they are no longer in power but still act like they are the boss. And the media is giving them max. attention, why why tell me why?????

—————————————–

let them talk la initial d….at least they talk for us.when the two tm always bising2,our pm takut sikit nak corrupt…hehehehe.minyak mau naik woo..our gov dont have money anymore.all has been swap awy by rafidah and the gang..

• catborg (Member) on Feb 21, 2006 at 7:18 pm

EASY.. Initial D.

The media still give attention =

it's coz current PM is not perform well and better than Tun..

Noticed there's 2 big and bermasalah punya menteri .

Rafidah and Samy not set down.. Both them must settle down all issue then barulah FIRED. If not.. problems remain a problems..

• Initial D (Member) on Feb 21, 2006 at 7:19 pm

actually, the pm oso duno wan to talk abt proton. pity him oso, proton is a business company, but the media keep on asking him. Now looks like

2 TMs and media vs proton and PM( reluctantly)

TM wans to dap's LKS, talk like machine gun, firing to the G, lol

• biggie (Member) on Feb 21, 2006 at 8:38 pm

i applaud pak lah as he want proton management manage proton and not the govt.

however, the proton board make me want to puke. when proton start they all want piece of action, (just check proton vendors nearly all related to them). As Proton become rich, now they want to make more quick profit by selling proton, instead of supporting the IMP process.

Greed know no boundaries.

• Initial D (Member) on Feb 21, 2006 at 8:48 pm

agreed

• stevarac (Member) on Feb 22, 2006 at 4:17 am

Biggie & Initial D ,

Don't the both of you understand that what the TM highlighted is valid and true. Do the both of you wants to continue to pay heavy taxes to own a car , local or foreign ? G will continue to collect these taxes and the AP kings continue to swindle them. At the end of the day , the sleeping G will say " hey , the tax we collected is not enough to cover the budget & 9 M-plan. What should we do now. And one of the 2 cents worth moron finance advisor will advise , we need to cut down the petrol sudsidy further ".

The G is collecting our car tax in the right pocket & those AP kings dig from the left. That is the essence of TM complain. VALID ? I definitely think so. We the consumer already suffered enough to feed Proton , we don't need and can't afford to feed these greedy blood suckers as well.

Pls understand that there are no one else that have the muscle and guts to highlight these issues except TM. The opposition can shout till the cows come home but the impact will not be even a quarter of TM's influence. That is the fact of our Boleh land now !

Our " kind " PM has to make a choice >>

Keep proton , scrap the AP.

Keep the AP , sell PROTON !

WE CAN ONLY FEED ONE POCKET , CLEAR & SIMPLE.

Even that already cannot tahan liau. Mah na ay sai.

• Initial D (Member) on Feb 22, 2006 at 5:31 am

one thing i dun understand, the imported cars are already SUPER expensive, why the national car according to many, also vry expensive?

• stevarac (Member) on Feb 22, 2006 at 6:17 am

For the tax revenue and to protect our " beloved & young " proton mah !

Imported cars that are super expensive also because of tax lah. Only difference is how many % go to our G and how many % becomes profit margin to some of those AP kings through under declare the cars actual value !!

• aksMs (Member) on Feb 22, 2006 at 12:02 pm

I tell you, if you have money to throw, sell grey imports cars. You know somebody from inside, kawtim with him, buy the AP and walla! You'll be a millionare in under one year! Hehehe (No pun intended). ;))

• edwin2 (Member) on Feb 22, 2006 at 6:40 pm

Dear reader,

business are run by businessman

government are run by politician.

the country will fail when “politician run business”, that is why all this “protection” come in. Worst, who make the money, small individual politician.

:(

• Ricc (Member) on Feb 23, 2006 at 5:51 pm

PM did anything to solve this situation??

Retain the AP Queen, of coz nothing will changed la..

Consider this, if u're earning 5k a month, suddenly, ppl said bad thing about u, will u agree to earn 1k a month (bcoz the other 4k pay by the AP King), despite no 1 forcing u to do so?

• thetruth12 (Member) on Feb 23, 2006 at 6:42 pm

We all very disapointed with the current G to retain the seats of R and Sammyy boy. First our dear PM didn't even voice out on the AP issue why quite i was wondering??? Initial D is saying the TM's bark hey u definitely driving a Proton right with all your frustration in you lol sad boy. Pls do open up your eyes to read the news properly he is pointing out well yes he no longer in power but hey can't he voice his opinion for the good of the country better than in power but done nothing to it isn't. Well i rather not touch politics in this issue but pls i would say to the G don't let politics hurt the countrymen especially it is indivdualistic approach as we can see it. Prices all went up is one thing but few individual still benifiting from the current scam on AP's well u do the math in corruption studies. TM hope u can save us from these devils of greed or should the public give some opinions maybe not pubilc pun tidak apa sampai jadi miskin baru tau. So what can i say just post more comments.

• thetruth12 (Member) on Feb 23, 2006 at 6:54 pm

One more thing Initial D pls have some respect on TM he is the former PM all should i says the only PM that have moved forward the country. Well not all things are perfect. Well Japan can bring themselves up after WWII u think Malaysians cannot well i should say is the ppl mentality problems they did suffer btu they all know is for the good of the country not to some individuals to profit it. U r enjoying the fruits he reap at the moment and to discredit him u better check on youself. 22 years as PM is not easy not to mention the politics u face. Just imagine u as a CEO, u think no one would like to take over your place if you are not straight. Yeah lots of parties used his name to get things which the disgraceful act falls on him. So r u ready to learn some truth or just blindly commenting out of your frustrations. He is somehow the person who shows Malaysia to the world when the world still think malaysians still lives in trees or shhould we be left on trees?? Pls do reflect deeply as he is the PM i have grow up peacefully and shared abundantly in this country. Think ok.