Tan Chong’s plans for Nissan in 2006

nissan_teana.jpg

Edaran Tan Chong Motor Sdn Bhd’s plans for 2006 includes introducing new models – the Nissan Teana luxury sedan and the Nissan Murano luxury crossover SUV. This is part of Edaran Tan Chong Motors’ strategy to increase Nissan’s 5% market share this year, which will be very challenging indeed. Will the Nissan Teana be placed in the market segment above the current Nissan Cefiro or replace it? I’m not sure.

Dealership networks will also be expanded. Current Edaran Tan Chong has 66 branches and 60 dealers. An extra 18 branches and 13 dealers will be added nationwide.

What about the Nissan Latio? It’s being sold in Singapore and I think it would be a good competitors to the budget Japanese family sedan market conquered by the Toyota VIOS and Honda City currently.

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• cratzelogy (Member) on Feb 22, 2006 at 4:36 pm

Oh dear, this car doesn't even come close to those Honda Accord or even the upcoming Camry. I think they should bring in Nissan Fuga if they ever want to replace the Cefiro. Paul, i heard there is another Cefiro replacement isn't it? I think I saw in Motor Trader once…

• Xoomie (Member) on Feb 22, 2006 at 5:30 pm

I would really love to see Latio on our shores…

But maybe TCM thinks it cant beat Vios sales, so why bring it in!

• raptorclans (Member) on Feb 22, 2006 at 6:05 pm

they shud hav launched this a couple of years back… I've seen the Teana up close and peeked inside, it's so super luxurious!

• raptorclans (Member) on Feb 22, 2006 at 6:05 pm

and yeah, the rear has hints of Bangle's 7-series… :P

• bummerboy (Member) on Feb 22, 2006 at 6:44 pm

tanchong is doing a lousy job in malaysia, i think they have no intention whatsoever to build up their market. tanchong singapore has launched so many new models between mid 2005 and early 2006, it is unbelieveable. the latio, the presage minivan, the lafesta minivan, the latio/latio sports, murano, 350z convertible. so many models. but still losing market share to toyota.

• chuamike (Member) on Feb 22, 2006 at 8:05 pm

Looks like Nissan's market share in Malaysia is also playing 2nd fiddle to Toyota. Just like it is in Singapore. The Corolla Altis has been the best selling car in Singapore for 4 consecutive years already. One thing Nissan cars can never beat Toyota in, is their fuel efficiency. Nissan cars guzzle much more petrol than Toyota cars do. A Nissan may cost less than a Toyota, but in the long run, all its petrol bills will make owning a Toyota less expensive.

• flizzardo (Member) on Feb 23, 2006 at 1:13 am

wow that car is hot i ve always liked this car ! i hate cefiro so much it look obeselete

• gowin (Member) on Feb 23, 2006 at 3:23 am

Actually tanchong it too aggresive enought if the govement not strict tanchong only can build in CKD model in 'boleh land'. It take time to make decision, do maketing research whether that model can sell in here. If we are know who is "nissan", we also know that nissan also make some impressive , nice, quality car not even lose to toyota and honda…..

• stevarac (Member) on Feb 23, 2006 at 3:28 am

I believe in singapore this teana is sold as cefiro. I have seen a few of them on the road here and my first impression is that it has the conti look especially the rear. Carlos Ghosn has definitely infuse those european influence in the design.

In fact Nissan is doing pretty well overall. Don't have the figure though.

Price wise , I think in singapore you can only get a 2.0 l car for the price of a

2.4 l accord. So it is not a cheap car.

Given an opportunity to choose btw this car , camry , accord ,

I will definite go for this car.

• bummerboy (Member) on Feb 24, 2006 at 2:00 am

nissan cefiro in sg is competitively priced against the accord.

the 2L cefiro is 89k as compared to 87k for accord 2L. 2.3L V6 cefiro goes for 95k, similar to the accord 2.4L 4-inline.

also note that the cefiros are assembled in japan, not like the accords here which come from thailand. the cefiro is also bigger, more spacious inside, and has this amazingly comfortable super-electronically-adjustable front seats.

but i will take JDM accord-euro anytime. still the hottest mid-level sedan from japan, followed closely by subaru legacy GT :) none of which is distributed in malaysia, what a bummer.

• PGlang (Member) on Mar 01, 2006 at 6:24 am

This model was introduced in China in 2004. It's not new. Malaysia is the dumping ground for old models…pitiful for this Boleh Land!