NAP After-Effects: Toyota cars to be cheaper

We’ve just seen one of the first effects of the new National Automotive Policy. UMW has just announced it’s passanger cars will be cheaper by 5.6% to 11% with the new tax structure, however MPVs like the Toyota Avanza and the Toyota Innova will be more expensive from now on.

The Toyota VIOS will be 5.6% cheaper, while the Toyota Corolla Altis will be 7% cheaper. Commercial vehicles like the Toyota Hiace and the Toyota Hilux prices will not be affected.

UMW shares rose 30 sen to RM7.55 today. UMW’s 38% stake in Perodua will enable it to participate in the incentives for local car manufacturers. Lower Toyota car prices are also expected to boost sales for the non-national car market.

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• Initial D (Member) on Mar 24, 2006 at 3:23 am

great……but how much is it going to be reduce? i dun think it will be significant though.

• purity (Member) on Mar 24, 2006 at 3:45 am

10% ke since the tax has been reduced from 15% to 5%?

• Ah-Ba (Member) on Mar 24, 2006 at 4:10 am

MPV's is suppose to be able to help reduce cars on the road yet gov wants to discourage people of owning it. Truly Malaysia Boleh.

• PetrolHead (Member) on Mar 24, 2006 at 4:19 am

G still trying to protect P1 what. Avanza really eating into P1 market share.

• OpTiMuS (Member) on Mar 24, 2006 at 6:21 am

hopefully cars will be cheaper by more than 10%…..

• TheMachine (Member) on Mar 24, 2006 at 6:40 am

http://www.theedgedaily.com/cms/content.jsp?id=co…

Perodua the first to announce reduction in car prices 2-3% RM800 to RM1,500 with the exception to Kancil. Kudos to Perodua !

• iguanaa (Member) on Mar 24, 2006 at 6:59 am

…hooray..10%..cheaper…but a blardy 1.6 Altis will still cost you more than 100K…WTF???!!…poor working class rakyat like us should stop dreaming abt owning any other car except an NATIONAL car…..why??…the Gs have it all planned….since the 1st day they launched the National car thingy…CRAP!!!

…without this c2pid National car project….i believe EVERY single one of us here would be driving an imported car….

• Initial D (Member) on Mar 24, 2006 at 7:08 am

iguanaa, not imported car, they will be considered as national car, hehe

• mystvearn (Member) on Mar 24, 2006 at 7:32 am

So, if Pero2, goes 2-3%, hopefully the toyota goes 10-25%. I heard Buletin Utama-analysts says that prices for CKD, CBU should be cheaper by 10-25%.

• iguanaa (Member) on Mar 24, 2006 at 7:58 am

…Toyotas cheaper by 10-25% ???….long shot…VERY long shot….imagine Vios..Altis…Camry dan lain-lain Toyotas selling for 20% cheaper…how the hell is P1 going to sell their Gen2..Waja..Perdana???…

…long shot….VERY….long shot….i'm not holding my breath for this one…:)

• iguanaa (Member) on Mar 24, 2006 at 8:06 am

….i personally find that this NAP thing is really nothing but whole lot of BS…what do the Gs take us for huh??!!…we the rakyat maybe poor..but we aren't blind and we are not c2pid…..unless the Gs are prepare to close down P1…(maybe P2 also…)…we the poor working class rakyat will never live to see the day when the price of imported cars become at par with what we are earning….it is really depressing….

• GT27 (Member) on Mar 24, 2006 at 8:54 am

The new policy is just another BS from gov, while they reduce 5% for import tax, in the same time they increase 5% of national tax, what make the difference. I am not offend if our national car has the quality built, but the gov just try to protect the company that will never learn and never grow up, what the cry baby. Everthing is end up to the suffering of poor Malaysian.

sigh…..

• shaif (Member) on Mar 24, 2006 at 4:31 pm

So Proton what are you waiting for. Should follow Perodua moves and reduce the Wira and Waja's price.

• ec (Member) on Mar 24, 2006 at 6:47 pm

Just hope that one day we could benefit from the "price-war-of-car", as like the recent telcos competition on call rates and attractive pakaging.