Jaguar C-XF Concept: S-Type Replacement

cxf4.jpg

Here are photos of the Jaguar C-XF Concept leaked ahead of it’s unveiling at the upcoming North American International Auto Show, only two weeks away. The concept shown here looks like it has alot of square-ish hardedges unlike previous Jaguar design language which usually consists of smooth curves all round. It’s funny how car design has went from hard edges to smooth edges back to hard edges.

I can see a less busier version of this going into production as the Jaguar XF – it has got to lose those musclecar-like bulges on the hood, less complicated front and rear bumpers, as well as less bling-like alloy wheels.

More photos after the jump.

cxf2.jpg

cxf3.jpg

cxf1.jpg

cxf5.jpg

cxf6.jpg

cxf7.jpg

cxf8.jpg

cxf9.jpg

cxf10.jpg

cxf11.jpg

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• w_lighter (Member) on Dec 24, 2006 at 10:54 pm

Errr… Steering no air bag??

Anyway nice car. I always love hard edges car more than soft edges car design.

• J (Member) on Dec 24, 2006 at 11:49 pm

Quite a radical design change for a conservative brandname like Jaguar. I am quite positive with this new design :) A Jaguar re-born ?

• nmh (Member) on Dec 24, 2006 at 11:49 pm

i tot its a skoda

• protonGL (Member) on Dec 25, 2006 at 12:57 am

interior look early 70s, and a touch of neon art deco, ..well design evolves,no problem,

but for me , still miss the XJS

looks like lexus born from this, where is the jaguar flavour?, almost it could change the badge any time, …thats my tought only lah..

maybe the road version change the whole perception.

• aesthari (Member) on Dec 25, 2006 at 1:04 am

Very nice and aggresive looking car, but somehow I feel that it doesn't have any Jaguar DNA in it's look, it could easily pass for an Aston Martin.

• normal_user (Member) on Dec 25, 2006 at 1:17 am

The front design language looks like it has been scooped out from Seat. I wonder if the actual release will looks much like the concept, the roofline looks too low especially on the C-pillar. If this is the true S-type replacement, that wouldn't be so practical.

In terms of design, this car is a true CLS beater. Better looking from almost every angle.

• e-nabilll (Member) on Dec 25, 2006 at 2:32 am

its like this car is trying to be sting bt cant get it rite..a new meaning to ultra confusion…design is all over the place..i prefere the current design atleast it has its own identity…i get the feeling it looks more 'american' than british….whihc is a bad ting!

• mystvearn (Member) on Dec 25, 2006 at 3:45 am

I thought the ford mondeo concept look a lot like this…

• eric (Member) on Dec 25, 2006 at 9:12 am

lol.. hmm.. looks really muscular to be too much of a jag nowadays..

cuz we all don't have the perception that jags are fast, muscular, "get-outta-my-way" type of cars..

a lil aston martin-ish for me.. but still.. as borat likes to say.. 'i likee'

=D

• Gallardo1988 (Member) on Dec 25, 2006 at 12:01 pm

Guess the aston martin designer played a part in the development of this 1 too..

• DAN (Member) on Dec 26, 2006 at 1:41 am

s i know , this jag was share a same plate form whit aston martin.

we love it!.

• dawgHause (Member) on Dec 26, 2006 at 3:49 am

it looks more muscle than elegance. more bling than sophistication. at least it looks a darn side much better than the puckered S-type.

• raptorclans (Member) on Dec 26, 2006 at 7:54 am

i wud like to argue tho that the grill seriously don't scream 'jaguar' the rest of the car's cool, keepin things updated and modernised, but they shud balance it wif their heritage… cos it's looking very aston martin and seat now… the previous s-type was a thing of beauty :)

• DarkL1ghT (Member) on Dec 26, 2006 at 8:30 am

a jaguar i would seriously like to have!!!

• lowprofile (Member) on Dec 26, 2006 at 5:12 pm

does anyone really know what is the jaguar DNA?

• Akazamabamaboo (Member) on Dec 26, 2006 at 8:51 pm

IOSIS… :D Hahaha…this is lovely!

• mambang (Member) on Dec 27, 2006 at 1:55 am

an aston martin with different housing… :p both aston n jaguar got designers with the same kind of styling (proved by top gear)

• chuamike (Member) on Jan 12, 2007 at 6:35 pm

Jaguar-C-XF intro