New road tax rates with effect from 01/01/07

The government has made some changes to the private vehicle road tax structure, with effect tomorrow – 1st January 2007. Road tax rates have been lowered by amounts between 4% TO 33%. There has also been some changes to the excise duty structure, which I know would come as good news for certain marques like Audi, whose A6 has been suffering ever since the flagship went up from 2.8 litres to 3.0 litres.

The following table illustrates the new road tax structure for the Peninsular Malaysia for vehicles that run on petrol:

Engine Capacity (cc) Current New
< 1,000 RM30 RM20
1001 – 1200 RM65 to RM80 RM55
1201 – 1400 RM80.10 to RM100 RM70
1401 – 1600 RM100.10 to RM127.50 RM90
1601 – 1800 RM255.35 to RM325 RM200.40 to RM280
1801 – 2000 RM325.35 to RM395 RM280.50 to RM380
2001 – 2500 RM396 to RM895 RM381 to RM880
2501 – 3000 RM897.50 to RM2145 RM882.50 to RM2130
3001 – 5000 RM2149.50 to RM11145 RM2134.50 to RM11130

The following table illustrates the new road tax structure for the Peninsular Malaysia for vehicles that run on diesel:

Engine Capacity (cc) Current New
< 1,000 RM30 RM20
1001 – 1200 RM130.30 to RM190 RM130
1201 – 1400 RM190.40 to RM270 RM140
1401 – 1600 RM270.40 to RM380 RM180
1601 – 1800 RM456.84 to RM624 RM400.80 to RM560
1801 – 2000 RM624.84 to RM792 RM561.10 to RM780
2001 – 2500 RM794.40 to RM1992 RM782.20 to RM1880
2501 – 3000 RM1998 to RM4992 RM1886 to RM4880
3001 – 5000 RM5002 to RM26592 RM4890.80 to RM26480

Once again, the most changes are to the category of cars with engine capacities of 1600cc and below. Previously the government slashes the road tax of such cars into half. This time, they’ve set a fixed road tax rate for every 200cc of increase in engine capacity, so basically someone with a 1600cc engine saves more than someone with a 1401cc engine. To me, there is not really that much savings for the common folk who drive cars that are generally below the 1.6 litre engine capacity category. You save mostly about RM30 per year – hardly an amount that dents or improves your spending capacity in any way if you spread the savings out over 12 months – that’s only about RM2.50 savings per month, or barely more than a litre of RON97 petrol.

However, there is also savings for business vehicle road tax which is not published in the newspapers – this is a welcome relief for business owners who run a fleet of high engine capacity diesel trucks. In the diesel private registration category the biggest cuts are for vehicles with diesel engines of 1.8 litres and below, which I doubt means anything to anyone – how many of you know of diesel engines with low cubic capacities? Even the Wira diesel runs a 2 litre engine, and the Citroen ZX diesel is 1.9 litres, though there are smaller capacity ZX diesels running around overseas.

For me personally, my 1,999cc car road tax used to be RM394.70, now it should be about RM379.70 or so, a humongous life changing saving of RM15!!! OMG!!!1

Here is the full table scanned from The Star, click to enlarge:

newroadtaxstructure_s.jpg

Happy new year to all.

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• mlbl (Member) on Jan 01, 2007 at 5:25 am

Could this be a calm before the storm (aka increase in petrol)?

• brusli (Member) on Jan 01, 2007 at 5:26 am

What about road tax rate for SUV? My Rexton RX290 with 2900cc diesel engine has the current rate of about RM1,700 per year, much cheaper than its car counterparts. Wonder if there is any changes…

• gowin (Member) on Jan 01, 2007 at 5:26 am

Actually it is good news also. A little better than none, BUT hopefully our G don't give us some sweet b4 give us "poison'. Time will prove!!!

• Joe Ooi (Member) on Jan 01, 2007 at 5:46 am

Suck a drum of water but give a small cup only!

• J (Member) on Jan 01, 2007 at 5:52 am

The next thing G will tell us is that our road tax is one of the cheapest in this region and now we go even lower … :)

• Joe Ooi (Member) on Jan 01, 2007 at 6:36 am

Less roadtax means less revenue to G that is "very marginal". For rakyat, the saving is negligible but for toll operators, a HUGE revenue for toll collection, extra up to 60%, wow got calculation heh!

Out of topic, 7 wonder of words for 2007

1. BRAVE

2. INTELLIGENT

3. GENTLE

4. CARING

5. ORGANIZED

6. CHALLENGING

7. KNOWLEDGEABLE

Ahem ……….. read the acronym!!!!!!! You need ………

Happy new year 2007

• domoteka (Member) on Jan 01, 2007 at 8:17 am

Ha ha ha, under our current government management, I guarantee you that there will be a impending increase in petrol prices……..

they have done it before and they will do it again. (little discount in road tax before increasing petrol!!!!!!) Beware Bad's tricks. They think Bolehlah people are all small children, kasi sikit gula gula then bantai habis habis…..

Tipu sekali kita dah kena dah, tak kan nak tipu kita lagi????

• Mayonaise (Member) on Jan 01, 2007 at 10:57 am

Hahahahahaha!! A difference of only RM10 to RM20… What a joke!

• Jay (Member) on Jan 01, 2007 at 11:02 am

INCREASE ROAD TAX FOR WHAT ? ONCE A YEAR ONLY ! TOLL IS BEING USED DAILY & PETROL ALMOST ONCE A WEEK ! SOME ARE EVEN MORE……making the public a fool and trying to create a hype about themselves !

the catch is there already … i am worried about the petrol price……new year smile … road tax reduce …. maybe hike in petrol price……! Bull *hitting the people ! only God knows whatelse is going to increase !

• Din (Member) on Jan 01, 2007 at 6:06 pm

Yes! I am going to make super duper year-long savings of RM 5 for my 1.3 Iswara! Ya-Haaaaa!

• mykars (Member) on Jan 01, 2007 at 6:50 pm

what takes the government so long to announce new petrol price? or they already did then what they announced "…to relief the burden of people due to high petrol hikes…"

errmmmmm… which one? RM1.92 or the new coming one…?

RM30 means nothing to anyone… another lie to kids for sweets

• layman (Member) on Jan 01, 2007 at 8:16 pm

Last joke of the year 2006.

• normal_user (Member) on Jan 01, 2007 at 9:56 pm

Its time for malaysian carmakers to changer to rotary turbo engines. LoL.

Imagine the difference of road tax expenses paid between a rotary car with small engine displacement againts its conventional high displacement piston engines peers.

A 3.5 liter Nissan 350Z owner pays RM5500+ of road tax a year (after peeking at a 350Z's roadtax sticker on a workshop) while the Mazda RX-8 owner only pays RM90. 1.6L turbo versus 3.5L NA, both accelerate around 6 secs to 100. Performance is about the same, road tax is so much different. This on applies if you got bottomless cash in your savings account to own one of those. :-P aaah I'm expecting the G to reduce and slash the excise duty. Now my hope to own a new continental car is crushed…. What a new year parody.

• oranglulu (Member) on Jan 01, 2007 at 9:58 pm

reminds uncles those school going days….try ask parents for better daily allowance,when they finally agree…..so happy……but next morning……the increase of …..normal 1 ringgits plus 5 cents……..

• oranglulu (Member) on Jan 01, 2007 at 10:04 pm

make us feel like small kids being tipu by our parents with one sweet…..sometime wonder….paying so high roadtax……why/why?…still had to pay tol……road…..tax……meaning we oredi pay the tax for using the road……aiya…….naik lagi tol…..gila….saya…

• Paul Tan on Jan 01, 2007 at 10:06 pm

normal_user: uh, the rx8 is a normally aspirated 1.3 rotary, not 1.6 turbo

• Initial D (Member) on Jan 01, 2007 at 10:15 pm

ya, rotary engine cars is the way to go. Then later, all the workshops will suddenly noe how to service RE!!!

• dragonslayer (Member) on Jan 01, 2007 at 11:54 pm

Why is the roadtax for diesel is still so much higher than petrol when the Government is subsidising more on petrol?

• brusli (Member) on Jan 02, 2007 at 1:56 am

How about petrol consumption for a rotary engine?

• abgzam (Member) on Jan 02, 2007 at 3:19 am

kasi h="gantung sampai mati" itu G lor!

• mystvearn (Member) on Jan 02, 2007 at 4:08 am

to compensate 5 toll increase rates? Like it really matters though…

• soporific (Member) on Jan 02, 2007 at 8:17 am

the world works thus – inflation will happen. fullstop.

the government, the authorities, the man, whatever you want to call it, will need more money.

in light of recent development(s), toll rates have gone up and road tax gone down, as it should, since there are less non-tolled roads nowadays. when you take the nett difference, cost of using a car will go up.

well, that's inflation. also the reason why salaries have gone up since your father's time. Secretaries used to earn RM180 when my mum started working.

• Goniothalamus (Member) on Jan 02, 2007 at 10:37 am

Dear friends..

Can u 'feel' the 'decrease' of RM10-30 per year?

By the way, can u 'feel' the increase of these:

a) RM0.10 of fuel/litre ?

b) RM0.10 / tollgate ?

and it's EVERYDAY, EVERYTIME u refuel/use the highway?

It's up to u my clever Malaysian…

We 'feel' 'good'…… :-)

• mits27 (Member) on Jan 02, 2007 at 11:04 am

Woooo, yahooo…I should scream out loud because I have gained "RM30" from gov. How about give us 30% of car price discount???

Too bad, gov don't know how to attract more FDI, so the easiest way for gov to make revenue is by imposing heavy car tax on consumers, on us, on rakyat…so pathetic

• v0ices (Member) on Jan 02, 2007 at 2:51 pm

It's true that the RM15 or so means nothing to most of us.

But on a larger scale, it means alot to the govt…. with the amount of cars in M'sia.

• kendo (Member) on Jan 02, 2007 at 5:30 pm

what da xxxxxxx!!niamah

• nizam80 (Member) on Jan 02, 2007 at 11:17 pm

We only pay road tax once a year. I drive a 1.2 liter car, so in this case, i save only 20 bucks per year. Better kasi free sudah.

• raybrig85 (Member) on Jan 03, 2007 at 2:37 am

wah…dala tol naik..minyak pn nak naik lagik…bodo punye G…igt nak reduce road tax byk…tgk sikit je beza…stupid punye G…haih…still d samela to pay all my cars road tax…especially my murano…haiya…igt dapat kurang banyakla road tax tu…haih…

• ck (Member) on Jan 03, 2007 at 4:45 am

I think it's will a dreaded year ahead of us. Another excuse will be use by G to naik petrol. If that's the case, they might as well do away with NAP. I think no road tax for personal registration would be better.

Frankly speaking, chances of a driver registrating their 5 series BMW or any car that is above 200k would be registering under company.

Am I right here or am I generalising too much?

• protonGL (Member) on Jan 03, 2007 at 6:33 am

last time in italy ferrari 308 uses 2 litre turbo, instead of 3litre 8 clyinder,

so that paying less rd. tax, in ther home country,

big alfa 164 cloverleaf only powered by 2 litre but turbo charged as well there.

anyway engine with supercharger, or TSI (vw 1.4) technology on a low engine c.c. for exampe is really practical iterm of drivebality and power ,really suited for people who are looking for high power car but dont want to pay high rd. tax. like here,

new equation to start with : high power=low road tax

…….importers or car maker this is things to consider,

• motorhead (Member) on Jan 03, 2007 at 7:14 pm

looks like they heard us… who says bashing is worthless?? ok what.. sikit-sikit ada kurang juga… glad to own a kancil.. now rm20.. hahah… but agree with uncle oranglulu… they think we r small kids ka??.. not good enuf for me to vote BN again… sorrylah… poklah must go!

• Joe Ooi (Member) on Jan 04, 2007 at 1:40 am

protonGL said,

"new equation to start with : high power=low road tax"

———-

What I know is some western countries imposing high tax for gas guzzler high cc engine is due to environment concern, not like our G first intention is to suck more money!

• mycar_stolen (Member) on Jan 04, 2007 at 1:52 am

I guarantee myself of better balance in the G too much power they dont know how to handle then make stupid decision for rajyat but their belly getting bigger.

one X that you have use it wisely…2/3 or majority mean no need to work hard make easy money…

"rakyat"…pegi mampuh"

• palat (Member) on Jan 04, 2007 at 8:03 am

hi paultan and greetings everyone,anybody has an idea bout new excise duty for motorcycles 200cc and above,did they reduced excise duty to 30% for all motorcycle above 200cc or just from 200cc to 250cc only ,?anyone…..

• protonGL (Member) on Jan 04, 2007 at 8:23 am

Joe Ooi said,

January 3, 2007 @ 5:40 pm

———-

What I know is some western countries imposing high tax for gas guzzler high cc engine is due to environment concern, not like our G first intention is to suck more money!

——————

well joe our g charge higher tax i have to agree,

well all the idea of imposing tax propotionately to size of the engine for the sake of saving environment, simply just like imposing tax on cigratte, not much of really 'saving life' or 'environment' tingy, more of a penalty at the same time its a revenue, what ever country they are,

buy yes.. our rd tx expensive,

i do fancying driving the second hand 2 litre+ car ,road tax deter me doing so la. not to mention the gas price,

• faizulamin (Member) on Jan 04, 2007 at 7:22 pm

hmmm…

talking about the G ke?

hmm, they are useless, brainless.. some of them, don't even go to higher education.. or if they went, they are flirting, just like the pekan one la.. u know who?

hmm, jomla.. kita blah dari malaysia ni.. hidup di negeri luar.. if have to pay tax, admitable la, since we are immigrants, but in malaysia, even a warganegara, must have perlu mesti kena pay a lot of taxes.. the g is sux..

• azmicar (Member) on Jan 04, 2007 at 8:52 pm

bagi free pun aku tak heran, road tax only once a year, duit minyak (yang mungkin akan naik lagi) hari-hari ooo, asyik kena main dgn government, tu tak cerita pasal tol lagi tu…Time To Change

• ganz (Member) on Jan 05, 2007 at 12:07 am

rm10 less means rm0.0273973 per day…GOD bless Malaysia with a such caring G..

• faizulamin (Member) on Jan 05, 2007 at 11:04 pm

tonight; 5jan, th sux g will announce the new price for petrol. hiking 50sen!