Proton-PSA partnership feasibility study completed

Proton and PSA Peugeot Citroen’s technical feasibility studies have just concluded, and both parties are in the process of evaluating the results of the studies now. The feasibility studies included gauging the feasibility of collaborating in the areas of optimizing Protons production capacity focusing on contract assembly, product collaboration, supply of engine and components, and sales and distribution collaborative and contract assembly products.

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• transformer (Member) on Jan 18, 2007 at 11:36 pm

this P1 story never ends…. still go on & on…

first its Mitsu…. then its Citroen… then Mitsu again…

Now recently VW, Renault, GM, Naza, Citroen, DRB… can't imagine why there so many suitor out there…. P1 is so old already yet so many suitors want this apple….. appearance looks nice but inner….. full of maggots… fat maggots…

can you imagine if P1 is a girl, what nickname would you give her ? :D

• auctioncenter2u (Member) on Jan 18, 2007 at 11:37 pm

Maybe PSA Suggestion: PROTON Plants will produce PSA models only and PROTON models including CAMPRO will all be "BUNGKUS" fold or sell to AFRICA or those Countries that Doesn't KNOW about the WORLD or CARS is. DONE.

Pending……

• auctioncenter2u (Member) on Jan 18, 2007 at 11:41 pm

PROTON suggestion: All PSA engines and Transmission technologies to be shared with PROTON with no ROYALTY fees and PROTON plants plus EUROPEAN or other Countries where PSA got market share should be allowed PROTON car to be manufactured and displayed and doing after sales services. Also, PSA engineering RND should be in MALAYSIA. Plus, 51% share controlled by Malaysian Government. Just that only mah.

PSA reply……is PEnding…….

• auctioncenter2u (Member) on Jan 18, 2007 at 11:49 pm

Business is VERY simple:

Either your SKILLs with my MONEY or Your MOneys with MY SKILLS or knowledges on something.

If you have Nothing to OFFER me, why should I be partner with YOU?

Unless you are CRONY or ROYAL, if not NOWAY!!!!!

• AmSouth (Member) on Jan 19, 2007 at 12:18 am

Bloddy maggots…. good for nothing!!!….. mlm

• transformer (Member) on Jan 19, 2007 at 12:41 am

our nation pride !

• e-nabilll (Member) on Jan 19, 2007 at 12:51 am

this is jus a study NOT a conclusion la…final answer stil waiting…ya this is getting tiring…like a headless chicken runing around dono wat to do…jus get a partner n end all the speculation…PLEASE!

• cyborgx (Member) on Jan 19, 2007 at 1:40 am

Later Proton and PSA announce:

Nothing will be materialise between the two companies, thank you for your time and have a nice day!

• protonGL (Member) on Jan 19, 2007 at 3:27 am

for me french engine architecture is bad la,

• aksMs (Member) on Jan 19, 2007 at 3:52 am

I still prefer the VW AG Group. Better all rounder I guess.

• aksMs (Member) on Jan 19, 2007 at 3:55 am

Nevertheless, whatever will be, will be. I couldn't care much anymore. Enough talking already. SHOW ME THE MONEY!!

• intermilan (Member) on Jan 19, 2007 at 4:41 am

This is the core items in the study and my take on what its really means:

1. contract assembly = PSA car assembled in malaysia. maybe for local and export market. ASEAN at the very least. CKD = lower price of peugeot and citroen model. the question is; if PSA target to assemble the latest model here or not? If yes then 'berbaloi'- car like 407-but mid-lifecycle-alredi, 4007-but-ugly-la, c3, c4, c6, c4 pisacco. if want to assemble model >5 years old, waste of time and effort coz malaysian are very comfortable with honda & toyota, summore this marques are the benchmark in quality, reliability and price (customer satisfaction). PSA must offer something at least equal. A proper affordable sedan/saloon is a must.

2. product collaboration = my guess will be rebadging exercise of phased out / soon to be phased out / seasoned PSA models like 206, 307-might-be-worth-it, c5, picasso and berlingo. Might interest some buyer but ROI is little if not inadequate to potong. Not the most profitable way to go.

3. supply of engine and components = potong to use PSA range of engine / gearbox etc = don't know what big benefit potong will get as current engine is adequate for potong current offering. might be for future potong developed models but if offer latest engine (like latest TU, EW, DW, ET3, DV@HDi-diesel engine ranges) then can at least assure the potential buyer that they are not buying junk tech. As for autobox, peugeot in-house developed AL4 could be big pain in the ass.

4. sales and distribution collaborative and contract = potong edar might get the nod to sell any PSA car assembled by potong.

• protonGL (Member) on Jan 19, 2007 at 8:16 am

try this formula…

1. interior refurbish

2. modern clyinder head

just 2

• haroldz (Member) on Jan 20, 2007 at 9:01 pm

peugeout (peh-joHz) get to produce cheap car at proton plant.

in return they teach proton engineers to design better interior.

nape,x pcaye?

• hameed koyakuti (Member) on Jan 25, 2007 at 4:49 pm

A bit off topic………

http://www.ft.com/cms/s/b386b560-9f74-11db-9e2e-0…

This confirms my earlier statement………..one more suprise in Thailand, im sure, AP or no AP, AFTA or no AFTA, Excise duty or no Excise duty, all the OEM will be lining up at our border to set up factory in Msia………

Hail bolehland, Hail Kak Pidah, U r d man…………