Aston Martin DB9 in KL

wpn33-db9-1.jpg

We spotted this beautiful car at the recent Porsche Cayenne facelift launch at Bukit Kiara Equestrian Country Club. Aston Martins are generally not known for much of their technical specification. Not exactly a car for geeks to drool over the latest in technology, unlike cars like the Porsche 911 Turbo with turbines made of space age material and what not. Yet there’s just something special about Aston Martins and their design language that turns heads.

If I’m not mistaken, there are only two Aston Martin DB9s in KL. This is the second one, and I do not know who owns it. The first DB9 belongs to J.P. Chin, and has the number plate “DB9”. UPDATE: Reader Daniel Tin wrote in to inform that there is a third Aston Martin DB9 in the country with number plate MAY18.

Three lucky owners, are there any more?

Check out more photos after the jump.

wpn33-db9-2.jpg

wpn33-db9-3.jpg

wpn33-db9-4.jpg

wpn33-db9-5.jpg

wpn33-db9-6.jpg

wpn33-db9-7.jpg

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• auctioncenter2u (Member) on Apr 02, 2007 at 9:29 pm

That’s mine Babe! Paul stop showing it to others lah!

• mitlanevo (Member) on Apr 03, 2007 at 1:23 am

The owner must be very proud of his ride :-)

I will challenge him for a race in the highway if I'm driving Gallardo, and hopefully no speed trap, lol~

• silverfish (Member) on Apr 03, 2007 at 1:36 am

All I can say is…DAMN!

• kimmy (Member) on Apr 03, 2007 at 1:40 am

A few months ago I saw one in PJ too, It was silver with the number plate DB9

• sexmachine (Member) on Apr 03, 2007 at 2:02 am

wow !!! Park like this sure kena scratch by two car beside…..

• Hikaru (Member) on Apr 03, 2007 at 2:03 am

Almost irrelevant. Only for drooling…………

• ckengyo (Member) on Apr 03, 2007 at 2:08 am

well, topgear malaysia said am db9 is the most gay car. hahaha…

• ryan_foong80 (Member) on Apr 03, 2007 at 2:36 am

cOOl!!! but i also seem bently at Damansara jaya before also cOOL!!

• xXx (Member) on Apr 03, 2007 at 2:43 am

DB9!!!!!!!

Absolutely magnificent!

I LOVE THIS CAR!!

• albagmane (Member) on Apr 03, 2007 at 2:47 am

nice shots Paul! DB9 is my favourite since the casino royale dbs is based on this car… gosh… i do hope to have even looked at this car with my own eyes!!! anyway, where are the reverse lights located ah? unspottable!

• ularsawa (Member) on Apr 03, 2007 at 3:05 am

paul, if you want i can get you the pics of the DB9 with the DB9 plate.

• cnc (Member) on Apr 03, 2007 at 3:15 am

I absolutely love it. Even in UK, you don't see AM that often. Where can we can one in Malaysia? Naza?

• proton GL (Member) on Apr 03, 2007 at 3:15 am

albagmane said,

April 2, 2007 @ 6:47 pm

nice shots Paul! DB9 is my favourite since the casino royale dbs is based on this car… gosh… i do hope to have even looked at this car with my own eyes!!! anyway, where are the reverse lights located ah? unspottable!

——————————————

albagmane, that pinky bit part on the rear light cluster is its reverse light,.in ractangle, ..its lightly red lense just to give the all red look.

• LittleFire85 (Member) on Apr 03, 2007 at 3:34 am

I think this car will cost nearly 2 million in Malaysia… Wow.. rich guys.. I think the May18 must be from the Maybank chairman.. Why not donate the money to the poors, i think it will save the poors and turn them into rich also LOL!

Anyways i like Porsche more then this Aston martin.. all is about the James bond film.. If not, sure it will be no body's car.. With the road tax and insurance, i think they can almost buy a proton iswara or a kancil every year by cash! Oh god!

• tokmoh (Member) on Apr 03, 2007 at 4:14 am

lol, ular, u do spot the DB9, ex-criminal's uncle's car?

Then I can send a video of a Lamborghini er……Diablo, I think. A PINK lambor…..

• mystvearn (Member) on Apr 03, 2007 at 4:20 am

Correct Paul. Only 3 in Malaysia…which tells you how many people can own them in the first place

• transformer (Member) on Apr 03, 2007 at 4:26 am

i would hire a guard to stay guard if i ever had to park at outdoor parking space!

• eric (Member) on Apr 03, 2007 at 5:01 am

where's the interior shots! =P

• alternation (Member) on Apr 03, 2007 at 5:37 am

Gorgeous car, but somehow i still very much prefer the more common 911 turbo. After all, looks can only please the person who looks at it n not really the 1 who's driving it … except mayb some sombomg gay who thinks with him inside, he makes the car looks even cooler. Summore with that kind of price, I can afford 1 turbo and 1 GTR 34.

• AMG (Member) on Apr 03, 2007 at 5:49 am

I will buy a Turbo if i hav that price… =.=

• silverfish (Member) on Apr 03, 2007 at 6:08 am

Different strokes for different folks.

The DB9 is more exclusive, a better GT car, is much more of an event to drive and of course it looks better inside and out. Style, class and elegance. Not to mention that fantastic noise the V12 makes.

The 911 Turbo is the better all rounder and dynamically better.

• Ricc (Member) on Apr 03, 2007 at 6:32 am

I prefer something else though..

• Capt Shopalot (Member) on Apr 03, 2007 at 6:34 am

Bond, James Bond!!

• Kevin Lee (Member) on Apr 03, 2007 at 6:36 am

top gear once rated it to be an exclusive car, when u drive on the road, it commands elegance and presence, not like every tom dick and harry car, its style, babe

• kei9 (Member) on Apr 03, 2007 at 6:51 am

what !only two in here?! its unbelievable cos its a damn nice car! the rich peoples should buy it! the sales for astons are dropping!

• aesthari (Member) on Apr 03, 2007 at 6:55 am

My favorite Aston Martin. The owners' got taste, and lotsa money :) Certainly one of the most exquisite and elegant beauties from Britain.

• e-nabilll (Member) on Apr 03, 2007 at 7:13 am

911 looks very boring..like all porche cars…all looks similar…yess thy r dunamically superior to almost anyting else..bt somehow looks play a part too…

• toxicboy (Member) on Apr 03, 2007 at 7:27 am

DB9..aww..i feel so poor..sob. wait, i am. (_ _)!

• gowin (Member) on Apr 03, 2007 at 7:39 am

i saw one inside the garage in sri petaling semiD!!!

dun know is this one or other DB9.

• avanza (Member) on Apr 03, 2007 at 8:22 am

This is one gorgeous car. These guys really know how to live! Should have taken a wider angle picture to give a comparison with the Camry beside it. The Aston is actually quite a sizeable car with proportions of the Camry albiet a lot lower.

• mits27 (Member) on Apr 03, 2007 at 2:58 pm

The DB9 in malaysia probably cost 3 or 4 times more expensive than the DB9 sold in US, this owner WPN 33 must be super rich, or he has ways to import this car based on the price that sell in US…whatever, it is still a lot of money for regular joe like us…

• drM (Member) on Apr 03, 2007 at 4:51 pm

who says the government doesnt have any money?

these 3 people give more than the government needs in term of tax,etc.etc.

way to go DB9

• wookie00 (Member) on Apr 03, 2007 at 5:55 pm

……… didn't know they even exist on malaysian roads! let me guess… RM1.5million at least. Beware the potholes and door banging dents in KL :D They have got to be car enthusiasts to own one.

• jazz1011 (Member) on Apr 03, 2007 at 6:13 pm

It's good to stand out from the crowd isn't it?

But would I spend my money on it? … I don't think so.

• superman (Member) on Apr 03, 2007 at 6:35 pm

Paul,

actually the Aston Martin's of today are very high tech. Not very unlike the Porsches.

• Paul Tan on Apr 03, 2007 at 6:45 pm

yes, but they are not really KNOWN for it. and marketing dont stress on it, etc. not a geek's car, but a gentleman's car it seems.

• adrian (Member) on Apr 03, 2007 at 7:44 pm

Just imagine…. when someone asks, 'what do you drive?', then you answer 'I drive an Aston…' Sounds lovely rite? Thats what its about!

• KL-ATR (Member) on Apr 03, 2007 at 8:27 pm

Indeed. Aston Martin is still very proud of their tradition and are one of the last bastions of British motoring pride. Good thing Ford didn't meddle with their chemistry. I have to agree with Paul on the technology bit. It's only their most recent models released in recent years that got updated.

ps. Paul, read about you on PC.COM march issue. Good job, dude!

• mynnDAWG (Member) on Apr 03, 2007 at 9:22 pm

my names bOND….kasbon!

• mambang (Member) on Apr 03, 2007 at 9:30 pm

saw the black db9 with db9 plate no once in section 9 shah alam. tot it was a jag until it went pass me (in my kancil :P) and i was totally blown away. btw, black color is much more elegant compared to silver. but then its still an aston martins.

• silverfish (Member) on Apr 03, 2007 at 9:39 pm

Well, now that Prodrive got their hands on Aston Martin, we'll probably see Astons that will challenge Porsche's supremacy in the dynamic stakes. The Prodrive mods for the AM V8 Vantage should be a taster of things to come and it looks good.

• Yamiya (Member) on Apr 03, 2007 at 9:47 pm

this guy is either very rich or crazy. how can he parked such an expensive car so near to two other cars. he gonna gets a lot of dents on his door.

• xsaraloeb (Member) on Apr 03, 2007 at 11:04 pm

Paul,

The launch of Porsche Cayenne was done by our pretty Datuk Siti N. The thick moustache husband always use 33 eg number….so I believe the car is hers la.

Wandering where the money come hehehe????

• mr_em (Member) on Apr 03, 2007 at 11:26 pm

I saw the MAY18 number plate on an E60 M5 last year. The car belongs to Dato Azman Yahya (of Symphony House/Bolton Group etc). Also an avid car racer if I'm not mistaken.

Am not surprised if Daniel Tin saw MAY18 on the DB9… could be just one from his collection of cars.

• superman (Member) on Apr 03, 2007 at 11:30 pm

Aston's current (dunno if he and David Richards would see eye to eye) CEO, Ulrich Bez was formerly Porsche's head Honcho and the Vantage was targeted squarely at the 997s.

Silverfish,

I read about the Prodrive mods on the Vantage in Evo. Amazing what proper engineering knowhow and experience can bring to a overall package

lKL-ATR

Last Bastion of British cars?? With a German boss and Current lineup designed by Dane Henrik Fisker and formerly owned by Americans (Ford still a share holder) haha.

• KL-ATR (Member) on Apr 05, 2007 at 12:37 am

superman: they're still pretty much made in Britain as compared to Rolls and Bentley, which uses BMW engines now. Jaguar sits on Ford platform and Morris has gone to China. TVR is running on Vodka and I'm sure Lotus is familiar with Nasi Lemak by now. Ford's current stake is less than 10% and at least, Aston is now back in British hands. The new owners include 2 Kuwait companies but % is not stated. But really, if you scrutinise their design progression, their DNA is very much recognisable. British is written all over it.

• KL-ATR (Member) on Apr 05, 2007 at 2:09 am

silverfish: David Richards is part of the consortium who took over Aston Martin but Prodrive has no stake in the deal. It's just that David Richards owns Prodrive. Their earlier partnership must have opened the opportunity for the takeover.

• endlessfantasy (Member) on Jul 10, 2007 at 7:55 am

there's one more

refer here: http://www.nextlevelcustomz.com/relaunch/26.gif http://www.nextlevelcustomz.com/relaunch/30.gif

• yep… def a gentlemans car… but u say there are only 2… i cant agree with that since there are 3 in penang, at least 2 in ampang, loads more around malaysia, including 1 mansory b/kit aston db9, if you do however want to know the rarer types of aston in malaysia there is 1 bd7 volante, 1 normal db7, 1 db6, 1 original 1980-90 v8 vantage, and loads of v8 vantages

• I saw Aston Martin DB9 car plate WRF1888 in bangsar village…

• I saw Aston Martin DB9 car plate WRF1888 in bangsar village… 7/2/2009

• faisal on Oct 25, 2009 at 10:40 pm

was trailing behind a grayish coloured DB9 yesterday from Subang airport heading to the NKVE. Registration number AM55

• Rafidi on Jun 26, 2010 at 2:08 am

Just saw DB9 convertible in Penang a few days back. Plate no PJL…..

• akram on Jul 25, 2010 at 7:29 pm

how much of the car???

• i have this ride..but only in game!

• bdk kat cheras on Mar 01, 2011 at 9:30 pm

i saw a db9 with nmbr plate BDW 111 at country heights kajang early this year. belongs to azlina stapah i think.

• Hi wanna know where can i rent aston martin car for a launch?? urgent