Frost & Sullivan 2007 Asean Automotive Awards

The Frost & Sullivan 2007 Asean Automotive Awards results are out, and the following are the recipients of the awards in various categories:

Best Model of the Year (Malaysia)
Perodua Myvi

Best Safety Features in Mid-Car Segment (Malaysia)
Toyota Corolla Altis 1.8G (A)

Automotive Distributor of the Year (Malaysia)
Naza Kia

Market Leadership for Commercial Vehicles
Automotive Corp Malaysia Sdn Bhd

Automotive Component Manufacturer of the Year
Ingress Corp Berhad

Business Development Strategy – Navigation Market
Automotive Synergy Sdn Bhd

Automotive Finance Company of the Year – Malaysia
Public Bank Bhd

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• Joe Ooi (Member) on Jun 29, 2007 at 3:55 am

Perodua Myvi

————–

The verdict is out! Those Protonian please stop claimed MyVi is not good looking design car!

• LittleFire85 (Member) on Jun 29, 2007 at 4:02 am

Where is proton? Cant even see his name in here…

• familyman (Member) on Jun 29, 2007 at 4:06 am

hmmm…

Automotive Finance Company of the Year – Malaysia

Public Bank Bhd

Whats the criteria for this eh? does this means they gave out a lot of cheap loan low interest… or they are late in "tarik" your car if you default? hehehe

• chery (Member) on Jun 29, 2007 at 4:24 am

are you kidding? Why not the Honda Civic 2.0 instead? It has 4 air bags!

• peYno (Member) on Jun 29, 2007 at 5:04 am

Joe Ooi said,

June 28, 2007 @ 7:55 pm

Perodua Myvi

————–

The verdict is out! Those Protonian please stop claimed MyVi is not good looking design car!

==========================

Best model in Malaysia??? prrrfthhh malaysia?? no wonder laaa

peloton Wira oso awarded best model because it was hot selling car..prrrfthh

• bugbear (Member) on Jun 29, 2007 at 6:06 am

best selling model, perhaps~~

• neurra (Member) on Jun 29, 2007 at 6:35 am

yeah. more like best selling model

• layman (Member) on Jun 29, 2007 at 6:38 am

Other than Public Bank Bhd, the rest of the award winners really make me laugh.

• NiceCar (Member) on Jun 29, 2007 at 7:02 am

come on.. the result also may not 100% true but it may also reflect the actual condition for M'sia automation market.. even some1 still not believe it and try to laugh on it..

• hub4port (Member) on Jun 29, 2007 at 7:07 am

Business Development Strategy – Navigation Market

Automotive Synergy Sdn Bhd

———————

sounds like a big deal just to sell third party navigation kits.

• peYno (Member) on Jun 29, 2007 at 7:45 am

yeahh

in malaysia,,, best selling car = Best model

prevoiusly…Wira and kancil oso best model..prrrfthhh

• LittleFire85 (Member) on Jun 29, 2007 at 7:50 am

Since u say Wira & Kancil has won best model award in the past in this Frost & Sullivan? Can show me any evidence? Dont talk rubbish if no hard evidence to be seen..

• Charger (Member) on Jun 29, 2007 at 8:46 am

What a joke!

• nocrid (Member) on Jun 29, 2007 at 11:20 am

LittleFire85,

Bro shouldn't pay attention to the prrffffthhh penYu but of course if her rubbish is correct all this while, Frost & Sullivan, a global growth consulting company is really from some kampung because they choose Perodua Myvi best model…

Or maybe Frost & Sullivan, a global growth consulting company got bribed by Perodua because the latest Proton Saga also selling like hotcakes but didn't get the award….

Memang bebal…

• sxe10r (Member) on Jun 29, 2007 at 4:18 pm

Perodua Myvi ~ erm …. should be best selling ….

Toyota Corolla Altis 1.8G (A) ~ Agree

Automotive Distributor of the Year (Malaysia)

Naza Kia ~ ?? No P2 meh ???

Where is P1 ???!! ….. lowyat of the year

• mofo (Member) on Jun 29, 2007 at 4:47 pm

er… my 2 cents

Perodua Myvi

Best Model should be combination of Price Tag, Safety standard, Design, reliability/maintenance, Spacious within the segment and Engine/Technology offer within the price range.

Within the combination and the price tag, no other car in Asean could provide that i believe so. So no doubt for me, Myvi has done great job.

• watdever (Member) on Jun 29, 2007 at 5:50 pm

one thing for sure this kind of award

doesnt give us consumer any good..

trick, treat it juz like some kind of advertisement..

juz my 2 cent..

• caminos (Member) on Jun 29, 2007 at 6:59 pm

Personally I would take the awards with a pinch of salt. After all, Frost & Sullivan consistently bestows their Service Provider of the Year award to TMnet and has done so for the past three years. I mean, it's not as if we're spoilt for choice.

Read this for context:
    http://www.tm.net.my/tmnet2006/contents/corporate…

• tec96248 (Member) on Jun 29, 2007 at 10:24 pm

peYno said,

June 28, 2007 @ 9:04 pm

Joe Ooi said,

June 28, 2007 @ 7:55 pm

Perodua Myvi

————–

==========================

Best model in Malaysia??? prrrfthhh malaysia?? no wonder laaa

peloton Wira oso awarded best model because it was hot selling car..prrrfthh

peYno said,

June 28, 2007 @ 11:45 pm

yeahh

in malaysia,,, best selling car = Best model

prevoiusly…Wira and kancil oso best model..prrrfthhh

==have u taken ur medicine yet? those award is in malaysia for malaysia. so of course talking about malaysia, so what's the problem?

the awards is for this year, why talk about previously? u wanna talk history of automotive industries in malaysia, won't u?

why r u prrrfthhh?? u have problem with p, r ,f, t & h?

whahaha, just can't stop being stupid to make others laugh. whahahaha.

• arcana (Member) on Jun 29, 2007 at 11:37 pm

i'm quite curious on the year of award…2007 hasnt ended so is this award for 2006? because anytime a contender can appear within the year and grab the title….no?

based on the results for best model and best safety…..arguably its true but i'm not sure about the awards for companies as we cannot see the real picture.

reason? simple…..best model = best selling, good design(ppl wouldnt buy 1 if its ugly isnt it, even if thats not true, ppl buy it still becoz they dont want P1), spacious, decent price, a bundle of equipment, and value for money.

best safety for mid-size….i wonder who can win this title, toyota already had TRC+VSC included, LED rear lamps and also auto illumination of headlights in dark areas with its GOA body acclaimed, which competitor in that category offers more? civic? focus? errr sentra out, latio no. maybe anyone can suggest?

• transformer (Member) on Jun 30, 2007 at 1:21 am

KAH KAH KAH KAH…….. Thanks Frost & Sullivan for this joke…..

• J (Member) on Jun 30, 2007 at 3:30 am

Yaa… the result is based on what ?

sometimes I wonder if there is some "under-table" activities in order to get some name (or so-called awards)

• eezarm (Member) on Jun 30, 2007 at 3:49 am

have any of u guys over here watched The Transformers?

the movie is sooooooo cooool….

the vehicles are cool…

the Camaro is sssooo sporrttyyyy…

i think if P1 cars ar transformed to be robots, they will easily go kemek here and there..hehehe…

eh, out of topic huh…

btw, i agree that myvi won the best car…

wat to go P2!!!

Naza cars???

pffwhhhh….bad quality…

not impressive!!

• torishimeyakuin (Member) on Jun 30, 2007 at 4:41 am

Frost & Sullivan is a globally recognized US-California-based consulting firm with the force of over 1000 certified analysts & consultants and currently has its operational presence in more than 25 countries worldwide. Their expertise includes growth consulting, market research, financial analysis, and international comparative reports.

So when some of those "who-think-they-are-so-smart" people that always likely to keep on questioning, degrading and laughing on the awards credibility, it just make me to think quietly…Yeah no need to argue further with this kind of people, the way they jabber, already signify their state of wisdom.

After all, the awards are perpetuated by Frost & Sullivan and certainly it prerogatively have it's own measurements, criteria, calculations, jurisdictions and standards to decide the eligible recipients. So to those 'people'…hey you can establish your own award selections too and let the mass decide which is more reliable…your's ? or Frost & Sullivan's ?

• mitlanevo (Member) on Jun 30, 2007 at 5:11 am

Myvi boleh!!!!! YEAH!!!

• joe203 (Member) on Jun 30, 2007 at 5:45 am

Just because they come from the US and named in English does not mean that they are 100% credible. People have right to question when things look a little bit funny. A critique here and there is not a big deal.

Sometimes we give too much credit to everything 'Mat Salleh'.

And the awards are only for Malaysia. So, understandable lah if the choice is not so quality. That reflects our stupid car market here.

• sacker85 (Member) on Jun 30, 2007 at 6:00 am

haiya, don argue la, no meaning de…..let it be la

• osh_kosh (Member) on Jun 30, 2007 at 10:18 pm

sacker85 said,

June 29, 2007 @ 10:00 pm

haiya, don argue la, no meaning de…..let it be la

————-

arguement make it interesting don't u think??? hehe.. can see/know others perspective too.. cheers :)

• tokmoh (Member) on Jul 01, 2007 at 12:15 am

The most pathetic award ever. My version:

– Focus mk2

=The most underrated car here. German engineering, European styling, cheaper than Civic, who gives a sheez abt depreciation? Also, Didn't Ford won last year's after sales category in JD Power Survey? Who is to argue with the most credible survey in the automotive world?

– Focus mk2

=5-star Euro NCAP, anyone wants to argue with this?

• bmpower (Member) on Jul 01, 2007 at 2:29 am

WTH! where is BMW?

:D

• transformer (Member) on Jul 01, 2007 at 2:30 am

WOW……

ha ha ha… after working with few foreign multi-national companies, French, German and US, i know mat-salleh very well…. their nose are higher than your eye brow!

"they are the best!"

this is what "they" think all these while…. keep it going!

Even the longest life battery would become weak after sometime…

KAH KAH KAH….

• e-nabilll (Member) on Jul 01, 2007 at 4:26 am

its either their nose is higher than eye brows..or u hav some sort of inferiority complex !

• szw (Member) on Jul 01, 2007 at 7:49 am

i disagree with the results, its a total crap !

• PTAllTheBest (Member) on Jul 01, 2007 at 10:43 am

not happy with the result heh??? i'm neutral with it because it have nothing to do with me.

they finalize this result is because their organisation has already spent and invested a lot of money to do this kind of investigation and research according to the market condition.

and if u r not agree y dun u set up ur own personal firm and do it urself using ur own money.

• PTAllTheBest (Member) on Jul 01, 2007 at 10:50 am

and for those p1 fanboys, u r out the range.

• mystvearn (Member) on Jul 01, 2007 at 3:39 pm

naza kia best distributor…I did not know

• raybrig85 (Member) on Jul 01, 2007 at 10:02 pm

where is protong meh???:D

• moto_moto (Member) on Jul 01, 2007 at 10:25 pm

Not a surprise to me.myvi is really an unresistable car.

• tokmoh (Member) on Jul 02, 2007 at 12:43 am

Hey, I hv been told this award is nt from end-user ie consumers' point of view. It's more from the business PoV. For that, it's nt surprising then for Myvi to win for selling well, so from the business PoV, Myvi gives P2 a healthy pocket indeed.

As for safety, it's unsure, bt probably it's based on features per price, bt even then, I still disagree. Altis may be the only car in its class to hv VSC, bt Focus, which is cheaper, has the recognition from the world's toughest crash test. This is indeed, a case of Focus totally ignored in this country. To me, that's even worse than giving Proton Saga the Best Model of the Year. Ford Msia, has disappointed me (as well as other Focus fans) big time.

• hameed koyakuti (Member) on Jul 02, 2007 at 4:40 pm

Hehehe, what a joke……..Didn't know F&S also a stand up comedian…….

Auto Blog of the Year – Paul Tan's

Auto Man of the Year – Hameed Koyakuti

Car of the year – Ha Fei Lobo

Car company of the Year – Iran Khodro ( Thailand ) Pvt. Ltd.

• ahmadmckk (Member) on Jul 04, 2007 at 6:03 am

Where is Proton?

• Vignes on Apr 15, 2009 at 11:50 pm

[quote comment="96478"]Best Safety Features in Mid-Car Segment (Malaysia)

are you kidding? Why not the Honda Civic 2.0 instead? It has 4 air bags![/quote]

safety doesnt only mean the number of air bags, overall safety inclusive of chassis, impact absorption abilities, crash impact test results, etc