Saab Turbo X “Black Turbo”

Saab has released a teaser image of the new Saab Turbo X, which was previously codenamed the Black Turbo. The name Black Turbo was used as a nickname for some of Saab’s old high-performance models back in the 70s and 80s.

This new modern incarnation of the Black Turbo is basically a limited edition Saab 9-3 with all-wheel-drive, a big performance upgrade and exterior styling touches. The base engine will likely be Saab’s turbocharged 2.8 litre V6, but upped to put out in excess of 280 horsepower, while the engine in stock form makes about 255 hroses.

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• albagmane (Member) on Aug 13, 2007 at 3:49 pm

time to have a fighter jet machine!

• Fox (Member) on Aug 13, 2007 at 4:38 pm

Hahaha…. No thanx Saab. Lots of other choice.

• ak03 (Member) on Aug 13, 2007 at 4:48 pm

these the alternative choise… nowadays there is alot of evos and scooby on the road and its kinda boooringg..

• osh_kosh (Member) on Aug 13, 2007 at 4:57 pm

still remembered the last time in a saab… i was just sitting there staring at the dash board not knowing what to do.. LOL ;)

• badsoulfly (Member) on Aug 13, 2007 at 4:58 pm

I think SAAB must hire BMW or Alfa Romeo designer to give their new concept of looks… or Pininfarina to upgrade the stylish of cars…sometime i think better they give their afford in aerospace industries…because i’ve seen one of their model were used Impreza dashboard..i dont know la who was copied that design first

• fairozee (Member) on Aug 13, 2007 at 5:30 pm

Wow..The front is fabulous!!! I know beauty is a subjective expression.. but looking at this car side profile.. it is damn ugly man!!! but owhh wait.. thats the old model! haha.. ok..now I get it… now I have to Google to find more photos of this car!!! Zoommmm Zoommm!!!!

• kei9 (Member) on Aug 13, 2007 at 5:51 pm

say the video at youtube…and it is freakin’ awesome! best SAAB ever!

WITHOUT DOUBT!

• jeanloo (Member) on Aug 13, 2007 at 5:56 pm

From the picture, the front look like Savvy to me

• kei9 (Member) on Aug 13, 2007 at 6:04 pm

jeanloo…u have’nt seen the full pic yet but the car is really damn nice!

• ilmondo (Member) on Aug 13, 2007 at 6:49 pm

nice! its 4 those ppl who doesnt wanna go 4 streamline models.. those who want sumtg different. i think dis car has got great character! its 1 handsome car! swedes makes really understated (low profile) cars.. love swede turbos! volvo and saab.. regarding impreza using SAAB dash? which model? i think they used 2 b owned by GM.. if i’m not wrong..

• szw (Member) on Aug 13, 2007 at 7:49 pm

it can make better bhp from that engine .

• mystvearn (Member) on Aug 13, 2007 at 8:11 pm

that side view is the old car right, look very square

• ingolstadt (Member) on Aug 13, 2007 at 10:20 pm

Fox – Driving Saabs you will never bump into VCD gangsters, pasar pagi fish monger or hairdresser as you would if you’re driving a BMW or Merc

kei9 – Saabs are always good untill GM went pokai.

szw – Europeans doesn’t put too much marketing on the max hp which the primary usage of it is for advertisement purposes.

badsoulfly – There’s a Saab 9-2 in USA, which is basically an Impreza, a product from the collaboration of Fuji Heavy Industries and GM (GM used to own a large portion of their shares)

Now, my comments – I’ve always love Saabs for their understated looks, but seems the forver growing choice of having cars that looked like they wanna kill you is the choice of the market now, even for luxury, limousine whatever cars, sigh… no choice, no more quiet-mind-my-own-business-luxury-car. Even Volvo’s trying to scare children nowadays…

• mzfnd (Member) on Aug 13, 2007 at 11:01 pm

Are you the kind of person who thinks that you look good at certain angles but not at the others? Well, this car would understand your feelings.

• aksMs (Member) on Aug 14, 2007 at 2:11 am

I agree with ingolstadt. This car has the understated looks on it. If I have a choice, ehmm…(read, money), I wouldn’t mind having this Saab. There’s just something about this car that telling you it’s different from the other marquees. Something you wouldn’t expect much (compare to Audi or Beemers) but you’d get more no less. Somehow it just stand on it’s own. It’s just, different!

• nmh (Member) on Aug 14, 2007 at 3:14 am

yea….the saab exterior always stunning but the interior is hopeless…boring cheap grey colored dash (the grey color makes it looks like my cheap spectra dash, not the material quality) and unattractive design

• 4G63T DSM (Member) on Aug 14, 2007 at 8:12 am

mmmmm….. yummy.

Bring back the hatch…pleeeeeeeease…..

• lowprofile (Member) on Aug 14, 2007 at 9:41 am

wow, i didn’t even think that there would be ppl commenting about saab. now that the brand is almost invisible in boleh land due to the ridiculous taxes. anyway, it is nice to note that it still divides opinion. saab has always been an opinion divider since it was launched with fwd when almost all brands were rwd at that time and with turbo when it was believed not possible for an everyday car of that time and this new one seems destined to carry on the work of its forebears ;)

• razor_clawzz (Member) on Aug 14, 2007 at 10:35 am

Saab has the most reliable turbo charger around. Biggest controversy is the looks, as always

• torishimeyakuin (Member) on Aug 14, 2007 at 11:31 am

Saab saab soi…

The facade looks appealing..nice

• aesthari (Member) on Aug 14, 2007 at 2:08 pm

Good to know they are putting out another sleeper, Saabs have always looked boring, but the performance can sure let your jaw drop!

• proton GL (Member) on Aug 14, 2007 at 6:05 pm

saab ment to be ‘different’,

but 9-3 is just another ordinary sedan