Subaru WRC Concept previews production STi

Subaru Impreza WRX STi

This concept called the Subaru WRC Concept will be making it’s public debut at the 2007 Frankfurt International Motor Show next month. It gives us a preview of what the Subaru Impreza STi will look like when it is released in 2008.

The Subaru WRC Concept has twin exhaust pipes on the rear – one on each side, however the production version is said to get quad tail pipes, with the twin pipe setup for rally-going versions of the car only. It will have a wider track than the standard Impreza and Impreza S-GT.

One more rear shot after the jump.

Subaru Impreza WRX STi

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• Din (Member) on Aug 17, 2007 at 11:59 pm

Ugliest Subaru Impreza to-date.

• Mayonaise (Member) on Aug 18, 2007 at 12:02 am

Man, still looks like crap after all that body modding…

• familyman (Member) on Aug 18, 2007 at 12:03 am

is this a way to win the wrc? as the other manufactures who won after the “mitsubishi era” were all hatchback.. and not sedan…

• kei9 (Member) on Aug 18, 2007 at 12:11 am

still…no ummphh!!

• LittleFire85 (Member) on Aug 18, 2007 at 12:18 am

If win the WRC champion next year, then maybe got some ummphh!!!

• albagmane (Member) on Aug 18, 2007 at 12:53 am

i don mind the looks for now since its the fact how the new impreza look like… besides its impreza! all we have to see is the coming WRC season, see how the hatchback version perform on the rally stages…

• Illuminate (Member) on Aug 18, 2007 at 3:47 am

It’s a matter of love or hate.

I love it.

• exodust (Member) on Aug 18, 2007 at 5:22 am

@familyman: thats not a sedan.

• alpha0201 (Member) on Aug 18, 2007 at 8:39 am

Suddenly this car makes Hyundai Accent WRC looks much better…

• ab (Member) on Aug 18, 2007 at 8:51 am

a good looking race/rally car is a car which wins rallies, if this car can better the current impreza wrc in terms of result, it will still be beautiful, despite looks…here’s solberg hoping…

• azrai (Member) on Aug 18, 2007 at 9:53 am

This is not the real Subaru. It is actually Sulama. :-)

• MaverickNeo (Member) on Aug 18, 2007 at 10:41 am

Sulama..lolz..anyway, I think it looks OK, except for the rear spoiler, that looks like sh*t. First look reminded me of a Civic.

• 1178696 (Member) on Aug 18, 2007 at 11:21 am

hey this looks like a gen2 lah. wow even subaru copy us! just kidding.

anyway i think 4 subaru they dnt care abt looks just perf.

• razor_clawzz (Member) on Aug 18, 2007 at 11:58 am

I heard the impreza had to suffer ugliness because of the dirt-dynamics. Dirt is much much more denser than air (aerodynamics). This design actually lets it cut through dust easier

• charles27 (Member) on Aug 18, 2007 at 1:54 pm

with this design… even at low speed, the rear will give better force/grip.. comparing to the sedan rear.

drifting is not the key to win a race … but grip. it lets you clear the corner faster.. With shorter tail,. you can cut the outside corner a little more… hmm.. not bad laa.

• szw (Member) on Aug 18, 2007 at 3:15 pm

it looks better dis way .

• J (Member) on Aug 18, 2007 at 3:24 pm

This time.. the EVO X wins :)

• aksMs (Member) on Aug 18, 2007 at 4:56 pm

J, sorry to say, 2007/2008 is not the year for Mitsubishi. It’s either will be Seb’s and Citroen or Gronholm and Ford. I’d still put my money on Seb. Solberg still struggle with his Impreza. He’s been struggling like, forever! Still waiting for a 3 way dog fight between Seb, Marcus and Solberg. Sure is entertaining!

This Subaru doesn’t look too bad for me. Ok la. As long as it’s not in standard cosmetic. Now, that’s an issue of fugliness!

• milanista (Member) on Aug 18, 2007 at 6:42 pm

much much better from the current version

• transformer (Member) on Aug 18, 2007 at 7:59 pm

hope this could tapau focus/306/skoda

so on behalf of orient, wish this donald duck good luck!

• mystvearn (Member) on Aug 18, 2007 at 8:28 pm

rear look like transformers face….

• DAN L (Member) on Aug 18, 2007 at 9:10 pm

that what technology look like , see how it go for new season to race for..
    Subaru the one….

• mitlanevo (Member) on Aug 18, 2007 at 9:43 pm

quad tail pipes? better put it on Evo X……

• Jason (Member) on Aug 19, 2007 at 12:58 am

Looks good to me.

• corolla_KE70 (Member) on Aug 19, 2007 at 12:42 pm

front grill looks like some old SAAB.. i miss the time where the scooby are sedan.

• bobdbilder (Member) on Aug 20, 2007 at 9:22 am

James May will have a field day with this one. Imagine if you took off those aerodynamics. Eeuwww!!

• BigCar (Member) on Aug 20, 2007 at 9:40 am

They just want follow citroen and Ford Focus.. Hachback WRC … easy take corner..

• badsoulfly (Member) on Aug 20, 2007 at 1:11 pm

that’s why new version Impreza designed hatchback for their new version…they really want to win WRC…their sedan cannot compete with Ford..Citroen…Peugeot using hatchback body….we can see Mitsubishi also cannot give hard competition in WRC..better they using their Sportback concept

• I my (Member) on Aug 20, 2007 at 5:00 pm

w/ this new model if peter still can run well… sur ehv to ask him to tapau liew!!