More details on Tata 1 Lakh Car

Tata 1 Lakh Car

LATEST DELHI 2008 UPDATE: Tata has unveiled the Tata 1-Lakh Car and has named it the Tata Nano. Click here for the latest details on the new Tata Nano.

Tata Nano

Here are some supposed details of the Tata 1 Lakh Car (Rs 1 Lakh is equivalent to USD2,500) that is supposed to be ready by July 2008. A design sketch of the Tata 1 Lakh car has been shown to selected members of the media sometime earlier and is said to resemble a egg shaped car with a tall roof.

Now Overdrive reveals that the Tata 1 Lakh car will resemble a production version of Tata’s 1998 Zing concept car. It will be a 5-door hatchback but there will be very little space behind the rear seats for a boot. In fact, even rear bench space is expected to be at a premium, making the car a 2+2 of sorts.

Definitely a pure A to B city car with the distance between A to B limited to short journeys where you do not need to carry any luggage. Not a balik kampung car, definitely. The car will be built on a rear engine rear wheel drive platform and will be powered by a two-cylinder engine.

Two of these two-cylinder engines will be offered – a 660cc 2-cylinder petrol and the world’s first low-cost 700cc two-cylinder common rail diesel engine with a special low cost common rail system developed by Bosch. Bosch will also apply a fuel injection system called “value motronic” for the 660cc petrol unit.

Apparently in internal company tests, the petrol version managed to achieve a fuel efficiency of 26 km travelled per litre of fuel consumed. The diesel version is expected to be even better.

As for the car’s name – sources in Tata say the current most favoured name within the company is the Tata Jeh, named after Tata’s previous chairman, Jehangir Tata.

Tata 1-Lakh Car to use Bosch Value Motronic ECU
Tata set to launch US$2,500 car in mid-2008
Tata Abarth 1 Lakh Car

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• LittleFire85 (Member) on Oct 07, 2007 at 5:55 pm

Wah, is really from K-car category… Copy from smart? Or i from mitsu? I wonder how the diesel engine work…

• mystvearn (Member) on Oct 07, 2007 at 6:09 pm

Any possibilities to drift :P

• BigFish (Member) on Oct 07, 2007 at 6:48 pm

With a price tag of below RM 10K, everything will be very basic – tissue box instead of milo tin!

• albagmane (Member) on Oct 07, 2007 at 7:01 pm

hmmm… at least they should get rid of tat rims! looks so 80’s! i hope the rims wont exist when its in production…

• luqmanrohaizat (Member) on Oct 07, 2007 at 7:27 pm

Ladies and gentleman, u r looking at the car of the future…

• angelo2689 (Member) on Oct 07, 2007 at 8:12 pm

“The car will be built on a rear engine rear wheel drive platform ”
    &
    “there will be very little space behind the rear seats for a boot”

that means engine & boot at the back,then the front got nothing???

• pekan (Member) on Oct 07, 2007 at 8:27 pm

you can scratch “safety” out of the picture..

• nmh (Member) on Oct 07, 2007 at 9:10 pm

Rear engine rwd sound interesting..but unfortunately its just a small engined car

• longdongsilver (Member) on Oct 07, 2007 at 9:11 pm

Maybe this will do what the VW Beetle did for the world in the past, for the motor industry today?

• kei9 (Member) on Oct 07, 2007 at 9:16 pm

hey..it got “zen” lines…haha

• Goniothalamus (Member) on Oct 07, 2007 at 9:37 pm

Wooo, what a good car with very attractive price tag. (it can drift too, hehe)

Now, school boy can drive a car to school too, not only for Datuk’s children.

Yes, very reasonable car indeed. Kancil killer?

• BrakeFader (Member) on Oct 07, 2007 at 10:34 pm

Looks like a good replacement for those golf course buggies. A small car with rear mounted engine and RWD? Looks like a pretty interesting concept for a small city car with a low price tag.

• akshen_kamen (Member) on Oct 07, 2007 at 11:33 pm

i think this car will have good acceleration from from static condition..

• armandd (Member) on Oct 07, 2007 at 11:34 pm

i bet scooter wheels are bigger..

• longdongsilver (Member) on Oct 08, 2007 at 6:18 am

The 700cc CRDi looks VERY interesting to me!

• azrai (Member) on Oct 08, 2007 at 7:15 am

Somehow it looks like one of the Mitsubishi’s I right. People car. No more mat rempit.

• 4G63T DSM (Member) on Oct 08, 2007 at 8:06 am

Looks like the Mitsu i? Which part? Other than the 4 round wheels?

Naming the smallest and cheapest car in Tata’s lineup after the previous Chairman. Wow…he must not be very well respected guy in the company. lol

• msmar_453 (Member) on Oct 08, 2007 at 8:45 am

a fuel efficiency of 26 km travelled per liter of fuel consumed? The diesel version is expected to be even better.
    —————————————————————-
    Whoa!! it’s truely amazing. My wife’s VIVA 850cc can only manage 17km/liter.
    It is the time for India to conquer the world (don’t respect the Chinese – just cut, copy and paste!). Nowadays, India is a leader in ICT, then automobile..
    Respect them, Eventhough I’m a pure Malay.

• transformer (Member) on Oct 08, 2007 at 9:50 am

Firstly, their Gov should take strict measure to improve road user mentality!

1) you can see Ducks, Goats, Cows, Bullcarts and even the largest mamals in land Elephants!
    2) teach road user which are the way to go instead of going multi-way rightnow!
    3) follow traffic light!

IF not, this Tata will be a dissaster! Don’t think that this milotin can protect its occupant in the events of impact! Accident fatalities rate will rise drastricly!

• eagle707 (Member) on Oct 08, 2007 at 10:26 am

BUY CHEAP BUY TWICE…

• transformer (Member) on Oct 08, 2007 at 10:39 am

with few big size Aa-Chi inside, this car drain will drain as much petrol as you ever can think of !!

• maibatsu_thunder (Member) on Oct 08, 2007 at 11:22 am

The 700cc CRDi Diesel engine looks very interesting!

• Eulogist (Member) on Oct 08, 2007 at 12:30 pm

msmar_453 said,

October 8, 2007 @ 8:45 am

a fuel efficiency of 26 km travelled per liter of fuel consumed? The diesel version is expected to be even better.
    —————————————————————-
    Whoa!! it’s truely amazing. My wife’s VIVA 850cc can only manage 17km/liter.
    It is the time for India to conquer the world (don’t respect the Chinese – just cut, copy and paste!). Nowadays, India is a leader in ICT, then automobile..
    Respect them, Eventhough I’m a pure Malay.

GOSH !….i guess you really don’t like Chinese, remember…respect is to be EARNED and not something you ASK for…Don’t use the logic of comparing the achievement of a nation to glorify of belittle them. Unless you are really ignorant or biased, do you know which country rank third in aerospace technology after USA and Russia ?? The answer is China ! The computer monitor and CPU you are looking at right now is probably made in mainland China or Taiwan, open up your hand phone and look inside, look at the battery, if you don’t like it, please throw away right now and purchase a more expensive one!…even movies produced in China and Hong Kong are more appreciated in the West and Hollywood than movies produced in Bollywood which in my opinion only suit mentality of people like you…Ang Lee the Academy award winning director…sound familiar ? Remember, Japanese and Korean were used to be taunted at by Western counterpart when they first produced their car but look at who is laughing now ?? Definitely there is copy element in any industry and who doesn’t ??? The point is whether one can improve and further refine it in time or not…that’s more important !
    Again, if comparing the achievement of a nation is what msmar_453 really emphasized…then i really pity the condition of the Malay….no wonder they need NEP to survive !

• zack_keyme988 (Member) on Oct 08, 2007 at 2:44 pm

GUYS..INDIAN CAR MAKES R SUCKS…..LOOK 4 THEIR NATIONAL CARS…THE DESIGN STILL NOT CHANGE….. ITS A NIGHT MARE…ILL PREFER KANCIL 660CC THAN THIS IDIOT JUNK CAR..

• mitlanevo (Member) on Oct 08, 2007 at 3:04 pm

better get a old used car…..

this is NOT a proper vehicle…

• 90125 (Member) on Oct 08, 2007 at 3:17 pm

funny car..whats the point buying a car if cannot use for balik kampung..better buy used kancil around 6k..good enough..

• Max88 (Member) on Oct 08, 2007 at 4:05 pm

“As for the car’s name – sources in Tata say the current most favoured name within the company is the Tata Jeh, named after Tata’s previous chairman, Jehangir Tata.”
    In a related news, Proton and Tata will make Jeh model as CKD unit as Proton’s replacement model for Juara (4-door version). This new car’s likely name shall be Proton Juara Lel*. The extended version of this Juara Lel meanwhile will be called as Proton Juara Thir*.
    (*Lel, Thir* name not related to Proton’s previous boss though.)

“GUYS..INDIAN CAR MAKES R SUCKS…..LOOK 4 THEIR NATIONAL CARS…THE DESIGN STILL NOT CHANGE….. ITS A NIGHT MARE…”
    “IF not, this Tata will be a dissaster! Don’t think that this milotin can protect its occupant in the events of impact! Accident fatalities rate will rise drastricly!”

“Definitely a pure A to B city car with the distance between A to B limited to short journeys where you do not need to carry any luggage. Not a balik kampung car, definitely”

• proton.GL.. (Member) on Oct 08, 2007 at 4:40 pm

i would say its good replacement for a motorbike user,(dad, mom, baby, drizzling on the motorbike)
    , but the mixed type/size of vehical on the road really requires some kind of respect among motorist,

but for sure this vehical valnurable, but more vanurabli is the motorbike,

again malaysian driver is spirtied style, not to mention me, fun ,excite the chassis a bit, while road condition poses to danger of course,

so ‘us’ be wise, use our noodle (brain), think of others,

• ezralimm (Member) on Oct 08, 2007 at 9:13 pm

3.6L per 100km! Half the FC of a prius (under realistic usage)!

I agree, it’s a good replacement for bikes. If this is a coffin, then what are motorcycles?

• ezralimm (Member) on Oct 08, 2007 at 9:16 pm

#zack_keyme988 said,
    October 8, 2007 @ 2:44 pm
    GUYS..INDIAN CAR MAKES R SUCKS…..LOOK 4 THEIR NATIONAL CARS…THE DESIGN STILL NOT CHANGE….. ITS A NIGHT MARE…ILL PREFER KANCIL 660CC THAN THIS IDIOT JUNK CAR..

==================================
    As crappy as it may be, it is only RM9k. The price of two motorcycles.

There is only so many ways you could design a car that small.
    Even the french 350kg (!) micromini high tech carbon fiber car has the same basic shape.

You can afford a kancil…
    Some people cant.

It’s like someone saying… No way i’ll get into a kancil! I’ll prefer a S500 merc anyday.

It’s all relative.

• szw (Member) on Oct 08, 2007 at 10:01 pm

wth

• longdongsilver (Member) on Oct 09, 2007 at 7:09 am

Don’t be myopic. Look up 500cc quadricycles like Micro Compact Car, Ligier X-Too, Chatenet, Piaggio AL500, Aixam and others.

• longdongsilver (Member) on Oct 09, 2007 at 7:12 am

http://www.xelopolis.com/news/2006/juillet/tatars.jpg

• 4G63T DSM (Member) on Oct 09, 2007 at 1:32 pm

I find it funny sense of irony that malaysians dont appreciate this car.

Sounds to me we are spoilt for choice (last checked we aren’t), cars are cheap (which isn’t) and safety is important (last checked – we are still reminding people to wear seatbelts)

Get off your high and mighty chair and come down to normal people level. Correctly said by longdong, check out the French micro cars (which I has also posted before). They are replacements for a bike…for crying out loud.

That said, I would still buy a used car if you are strapped for cash though. But imagine how much this Tata is going to cost used.

• nobodyatuk (Member) on Oct 09, 2007 at 2:28 pm

This company is trying to reduced their country’s soaring population by selling this car. I bet it will never sells anywhere else. Desperate people…

• maibatsu_thunder (Member) on Oct 10, 2007 at 12:21 am

http://www.hindustantimes.com/StoryPage/StoryPage.aspx?id=b0f91be2-739d-495d-aa92-d3c65b1f402e&&Head

• ah liew (Member) on Oct 12, 2007 at 10:48 pm

Hey! thats funny…. why nobody is comparing this to Proton. It seems there is an improvement! Keep it up guys. But too bad for Perodua.

• maibatsu_thunder (Member) on Oct 22, 2007 at 9:04 am

They should re-make the Fiat 500!!