Maybach Landaulet Concept

Maybach Landaulet

Some of you may be wondering what exactly a Landaulet is. Its basically a term for a simulated convertible, carried over from the days of carriage coachbuilding.

Basically, a simulated convertible landaulet has fixed roof rails, with a convertible top for the back seats only. The Maybach Landaulet concept based on the Maybach 62 S features a landaulet-style black soft top roof which exposes the rear passengers to the open air while the chauffeur compartment remains completely enclosed.

When the black soft top is closed, it rests on the frame formed by the roof bows and is wind and weather proof. When open, it is deposited on the parcel shelf in the rear together with its rear window made of single layer safety glass. Opening and closing takes 16 seconds.

The car’s automatic climate control systems have also had their parameters tuned to ensure open air travel remains a comfort in adverse climatic conditions.

Under the hood is an AMG-tuned version of the engine in the Maybach 57 S and 62 S. The 6.0 litre V12 is twin turbocharged to make 612 horsepower between 4,800rpm and 5,100rpm, and 1000Nm of torque between 2,000rpm and 4,000rpm, rather turbodiesel-like performance stats.

Maybach Landaulet

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• mystvearn (Member) on Nov 12, 2007 at 1:16 am

looks very nice, I think it will sell

• LittleFire85 (Member) on Nov 12, 2007 at 1:41 am

It looks good for famous celerity & politition, but will it sell? I heard a lot of Maybach sales center in US are facing bankruptcy, even Bentley are doing better then them…

• e-nabilll (Member) on Nov 12, 2007 at 2:48 am

those crazy rappers will be the first to book thm!

• aesthari (Member) on Nov 12, 2007 at 9:44 am

Haha, this is new to me, a landaulet. Don’t think that open-air travel and white interiors get along very well, but when you can afford this car, cleaning it will be the least of your worries.

• kimmy (Member) on Nov 12, 2007 at 10:05 am

Landaulets were popular with the royals and even presidents those days. But with increasing security threats, such people are now opting to bullet proof cars.

• BW (Member) on Nov 12, 2007 at 10:54 am

hmmm i like it

• BigFish (Member) on Nov 12, 2007 at 11:29 am

Suitable for dictator to use it during march!

• BigFish (Member) on Nov 12, 2007 at 11:31 am

This is a stately car but “politically incorrect” car, either carry dictator or gas gozilla!

• BigFish (Member) on Nov 12, 2007 at 11:32 am

Maybe cost RM 2 million if bring into Bolehland!

• BigFish (Member) on Nov 12, 2007 at 11:33 am

If use it at Federal Highway during jam, and let it open at the back, the seat at least become “yellow” if not black!

• nmh (Member) on Nov 12, 2007 at 2:12 pm

No ..its 4 million @ naza showroom. They shud consider hard top conv i think

• Max88 (Member) on Nov 12, 2007 at 3:33 pm

This car will concern none of us anyway.

However, the prospective buyer(s) for this car maybe:

1. Druglords (who else first)
    2. Timber tycoons (with questionable practice against natives in Papua New Guinea to steal logs there, using gangsters to gun-pointed at head to force sign the logs deal).
    3. A local councillor & MP with big mansion (with orphans visitor as his great admirer).
    4. A chief minister which own one already (hardtop limo model under state govt expenses but treat it as his personal pony) and now ready to buy this similar range. (with ‘untouchable’ reputation, richer than God status)
    5. Another chief minister, but crave for a car since his helicopter(a ‘gift’ from friend lah) still at Singapore for repair.
    6. Big time diesel smugler(with ‘export’ market for Thailand, Vietnam, Phillipines..Petronas and Shell can only close one eye). Also the big time smugler/price fixing kingpin for sugar, wheats, rice etc whatever we all eat, he got it.
    7. Pope Benedict XVI should get one as Popemobile. Just with extra thick bulletproof windows, still can wave to passer-bys but hey, be careful from any bearded guy from some caves in Afganistan.)
    8. Maybe Hugo Chavez, the lunatic full-time dictator anti-American Venezuelan President.
    9. A must-have for Kim Jong Il! Perfect for him to march along the 1-million grand marchers(whether they got enough food to eat to march doesn’t matter, say it loud: “Long Live The Chairman!”).
    10. A cop with RM27million assets, it’s money well spent.

• albagmane (Member) on Nov 12, 2007 at 4:04 pm

lolzzz… nicely said! but i wonder if pope is tat materialistic to own such an super expensive car? i think this concept is failure… the c pillars block the view of the passengers, they should oso remove the c pillars for full experience on the fresh air…

• syanas (Member) on Nov 12, 2007 at 8:23 pm

That car so looooong!

• king (Member) on Nov 12, 2007 at 10:24 pm

nmh said,
    November 12, 2007 @ 2:12 pm

No ..its 4 million @ naza showroom. They shud consider hard top conv i think

thats either a recon model or they haven’t included the tax at naza. a brand new one costs RM8 million. so this landaulet should cost close to 10 million

• 90125 (Member) on Nov 12, 2007 at 10:38 pm

Ideal for the very rich and famous…

• transformer (Member) on Nov 12, 2007 at 11:22 pm

Born to be Earth Killer!!

With its mass, this is terribly inhumane design!
    It drain more fossil fuel than the water you flush in toilet!
    It sucks more O2 than you can yearly!

• ingolstadt (Member) on Nov 13, 2007 at 1:12 am

Looks like crap. It’s as if Paris Hilton trying on Queen Elizabeths crown and walking out of Buckingham Palace with that signature Palm-twisting-only-halo-there move; with her chihuahua down their licking on her puss.

Style can never be copied. Screw you Mercbach. Rolls Royce Phantom Drophead Coupe please.

• ingolstadt (Member) on Nov 13, 2007 at 1:13 am

A sidenote, viewing at the interior is as if one day sitting in a first class 747 and some meteriod ripped off the ceiling. I wouldn’t call that luxury nor relaxing.

• mitlanevo (Member) on Nov 13, 2007 at 5:56 pm

i want a maybach in my garage, hahaha

but i dont the the idea of convertible on maybach……

• adibmuhammad (Member) on Nov 13, 2007 at 9:18 pm

It’s plain funny-looking, if you asked me.

• szw (Member) on Nov 13, 2007 at 9:59 pm

a maybach dat can mess up ur hairstyle .

• ~wj~ (Member) on Nov 13, 2007 at 10:46 pm

yea.. great.. imagine you actually get one, then you floor it, then ppl would look at it and not looking the road.. *BANG* 10 million.. nicely wasted .. lest buy PS3 instead. =)

• Gus-Gus (Member) on Nov 24, 2007 at 11:45 am

Haha!! Good one Max88!

• K.A.R.R (Member) on Nov 25, 2007 at 11:30 am

max88 i agree 1000% with u

• danoneism (Member) on Nov 26, 2007 at 2:17 pm

yea…lets buy ps3 instead…n play GT hahahahahaha…..bnyk lg car cn buy…hahahaha