Hyundai Sonata receives mid-life facelift

Hyundai Sonata Facelift

Here’s something to look forward to in the D-segment sedan market here in Malaysia. Hyundai has facelifted its Hyundai Sonata and it’s only a matter of time before we receive a similiar update here in Malaysia.

The most obvious changes are the new bumper and grille designs, but the most impressive feature of the facelift is the new second generation Theta engine under the hood. This new Theta engine brings up the 2.0 litre’s power from 145 PS up to 158 PS, and the 2.4 litre’s power from 161 PS up to 171 PS. The 2.0 litre engine horsepower figures beat the figures produced by the Civic 2.0S and the Lancer 2.0 GT’s engines.

Interestingly, the Lancer 2.0 GT’s 4B11 GEMA engine and the Hyundai-Kia Theta engine both share the same 86mm x 86mm “square” bore and stroke – the fruits of the GEMA engine project with different head configuration perhaps?

This new Theta II engine will also likely find its way into the Kia Optima when it is facelifted, further enhancing the car’s already very appealing specs package.

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• arcana (Member) on Nov 14, 2007 at 6:59 am

wow 158 ps for a 2.0….even the 2.4 had good figures…..
    good good….let this be a wake up call to all other D segment competitors to buck up.

• azrai (Member) on Nov 14, 2007 at 7:08 am

How about the fuel consumption? Korean cars are famous on this guzzler (in Malaysia).

• maibatsu_thunder (Member) on Nov 14, 2007 at 7:26 am

A Kia Optima gets between 9.3 to 10.5 litres per 100km. That’s for an engine not fully run in even. It bloody well beats the Civic 1.8L! All this ‘Korean cars makan petrol’ talk is by people who are passing on rumours and second hand info. Waja owners who upgrade to a heavy 2.5L V6 MPV … its definitely true more fuel will be consumed!

Paul what fuel consumption figures did you get for Civic 1.8L and 2.0L?

• 4G63T DSM (Member) on Nov 14, 2007 at 8:44 am

While it entirely possible that Korean engines are not up to its main Japanese rivals when it comes to Fuel consumption (based on other independent publications – where it clearly shows they are still a bit off), the difference is peanuts.

You are not likely to see the 0.2 L/100km difference in the urban cycle. So what if its 50 cents per 100km more?

The Sonata is good value for money if you can stomach the depreciation (ie, not sell for like 10 years, or have someone to pass it down to).

This car costs the same as the smaller Lancer.

• 4G63T DSM (Member) on Nov 14, 2007 at 8:45 am

oh, Paul, you should post the interior pictures. The interior looks much better now.

• xstan (Member) on Nov 14, 2007 at 9:09 am

The quetion is not only its FC , depreciation or resale value…its reliability. My bro in law got its car into trouble after 4 th year..masuk workshop nevermind but due to scare of parts got to be in the waiting list for almost 2 months thereafter the high bill. Funny thing is after his car got stalled in the road out at deep in the village area & rectified, the 2nd occurences happen again after the repair 7 mths later. He try to dispose his vehicle but never get to sell at its desire price.

So many still say depreciation is no matter if its for long term use, but the quetion is one tend to dispose away after it giving so much problem…period.

• LittleFire85 (Member) on Nov 14, 2007 at 9:48 am

The new current Sonata FC improve a lot! Coz it is the same engine as the new Lancer. They all use CVVT, which is almost the same wif Nissan CVTC engine. This mean it have VVT on both intake and output cam. While Toyota VVT-i have only in it’s intake cam. The 2.4L new sonata can travel from Johor bharu to Alor setar in just below one tank, so is about RM100 = 500km just calculate how much is it? is just merely RM0.20/km for a 2.4L engine, which is consider very good!

The last generation of Sonata is just plain DOHC engine, that why is more worst in FC. And if i not mistaken the previous engine are from Ford & Mazda old engine…

• trustgtr (Member) on Nov 14, 2007 at 10:31 am

there are a few 2.0 engines with 86borex86 stroke out there, square engines usually provides a smoother and balanced for a four cylinder engine..however some manufacturers prefer undersquare for better low end torque or oversquare for better high revs..it depends on the application..similar bore and stroke does not mean they’re related..my old 96’Citroen ZX16v had a 86×86 config..

• trustgtr (Member) on Nov 14, 2007 at 10:33 am

on another note, the hyundai beta engines already had CVVT but only on the intake cams..

• hyundai (Member) on Nov 14, 2007 at 12:28 pm

My Tucson got 11km/litre, about the same as the CR-V… Not thirsty at all…

• akshen_kamen (Member) on Nov 14, 2007 at 1:00 pm

i think toyota vvt installed at exhaust cam not intake..why some said it installed at
    intake cam??

• Paul Tan on Nov 14, 2007 at 1:10 pm

they are related. just do a little google searching. littlefire85 – they are not the same though. the hyundai-kia gema uses a maf sensor while the mitsu/chrysler gema uses a map sensor. the variable valve timing mechanism is also different.

• lembagatanah (Member) on Nov 14, 2007 at 2:13 pm

the power output sound good

• LittleFire85 (Member) on Nov 14, 2007 at 3:22 pm

http://worldwide.hyundai-motor.com/common/html/about/news_event/press_read_2006_10.html

“The CVVT unit is positioned on the exhaust camshaft and controls the intake valve timing by advancing and retarding the intake cam in relation to the exhaust cam.”

If u read carefully, it has 2 VVT. One on the exhaust camshaft another is in the intake cam. Remember this is a DOHC engine, so dont be confuse. The above i think will confuse a lot of ppl thinking is only have VVT on exhaust.

Anyway paul, i just mention almost the same engine. I didn’t say his wiring + ECU mapping is the same as Lancer. Coz i know the output is different between the Japs and koreans. Sorry…

• Paul Tan on Nov 14, 2007 at 4:06 pm

almost same engine is correct, from the same family or “base” you could say, but with each manufacturer doing the heads and modifying the blocks their own way.

now i’m wondering if the Aisin CVT from the Mitsubishi can be used on Hyundais and Kias.

• szw (Member) on Nov 14, 2007 at 5:47 pm

hope it doesn’t up the fuel consumption oso .

• BigFish (Member) on Nov 14, 2007 at 6:12 pm

Sonata improve with “lightning speed” and Perdana catch-up at snail pace!

• mits27 (Member) on Nov 14, 2007 at 11:59 pm

This is the link of exterior and interior of new facelift Hyundai Sonato…

http://carscoop.blogspot.com/2007/11/2009-hyundai-sonata-facelift-revealed.html

• mits27 (Member) on Nov 15, 2007 at 12:01 am

The interior looks very nice…

• mits27 (Member) on Nov 15, 2007 at 12:49 am

More Interior pictures…

http://www.leftlanenews.com/hyunda-sonata.html

• IsaacVky (Member) on Nov 15, 2007 at 7:00 pm

Paul, the engine’s power would be 163PS for 2.0L and 179PS for 2.4L as stated on Hyundai’s official website.

• IsaacVky (Member) on Nov 15, 2007 at 7:17 pm

Sonata Transform also has a Diesel version with VGT fitted.

• alvin_chan88 (Member) on Nov 16, 2007 at 12:27 am

This is what Proton should do. Look at Hyundai Sonata. It has alot especially no more GREEN METERS like a Kancil. Haha. It is a good car to buy. I guess. As for the quality, I don’t think is that bad because if not it will not voted as number 3 for Initial quality last year. And four years ago, the sonata isn’t this version and I agree that there are lots of problem. I don’t think it will happen anymore. But I am doubted that will 2.4 have the retractable electronic side mirror? It looks odd for a Luxury sedan car to miss this such ordinary function. And also this updated version sonata will be used by the CBU from Sime Darby or CKD from Kah Bintang?

• IsaacVky (Member) on Nov 16, 2007 at 1:59 pm

I’m gonna trade in my current Sonata NF 2.4L for Sonata Transform 2.4L. Just for the interior and engine power :D

• IsaacVky (Member) on Nov 17, 2007 at 12:30 pm

LittleFire85 said,

November 14, 2007 @ 9:48 am

I’m getting 6.8L/100KM on the highway.

• king (Member) on Nov 17, 2007 at 11:10 pm

facelift only they already upgrade engine. very good effort from Hyundai.

Shame on toyota for using the same old engine for an “ALL NEW” vios model.

2.0 theta produce 158hp? Toyota’s pathetic new altis 2.4 litre engine produce only 158 hp.

looks like hyundai is moving forward and toyota is moving backwards.

all the talk about korean cars poor reliability and poor FC is just “khabar angin” spread by greedy japanese manufacturers/marketing ppl like toyota.

• LittleFire85 (Member) on Nov 18, 2007 at 12:04 am

Yeah, i hate the Toyota salesman.. some even told me that the new Nissan Latio CVTC engine is made by Renault in Europe and the cost is expensive!!! Then i ask them, how about those half-cuts? Does those aftermarket nissan thingy expensive? They suddenly no words to say… And for sure, Nissan engine are made in Japan to fulfill the Japan G industry regulation. Dont kena bombard by the Toyota salesman.. I even heard the new Altis next year will use back the old VVT-i engine wif only new 5-speed auto on it’s 1.8L… Really no new inovation, if they come out wif Dual VVT-i like JDM then it is good! I felt the new Vios also not so good in package, only sell the name… Toyota u sucks!

Now even Koreans are moving faster then Toyota in our country… Go Hyundai and KIA!

• jackychoi32 (Member) on Mar 24, 2008 at 2:31 pm

Hyundai is one of the good cars…. new technology….the car give so comfort….and so reliable quality….what you expect….why pay more for camry or accord…too much!!!!!….open your eyes look beside you…..”HYUNDAI” for those who said negative to HYUNDAI…..they jealous!!!!! silly!!!!!! HYUNDAI already profe to you all they are coming……….

• TESTDRIVER (Member) on Apr 22, 2008 at 8:47 pm

Allow me to comment as I have use latest SONATA 2007 and also CAMRY 2007.

Frankly they both have same fuel comp. & conforts and yes the some sales man in Malaysia are the worst in this regions as they pull down HYUNDAI. I was in USA and new Hyundai SONATA have better second hand value compared to Camry.

The rethink for Hyundai is a real meaning and we need to rethink looking all thier new models !