Alfa Romeo 169 to be based on Quattroporte E/F?

Alfa_Romeo_Visconti

While we are on the subject of Alfa replacements, what about the Alfa Romeo 166’s replacement? The new Alfa Romeo 169 is known as the Progetto 941 internally, and it is set to ride on a derivative of the next generation Maserati Quattroporte E/F platform.

This means rear wheel drive. It also means a longtitudinal engine layout, something not seen on Alfa Romeos since the 145 Boxer and 146 Boxer. Engines are expected to be exclusively V6 and V8 (for a GTA variant) engines with Uniair/Multiair technology, with transaxle gearboxes to help the car achieve a close to 49:51 weight distribution.

Sources reveal the V6 engine will be lifted from a new family of Alfa Romeo V6 engines, not an upgraded GTA engine. It will most likely have JTS lean burn direct injection engine heads and twin turbochargers.

Styling will most likely be inspired by the year 2004 Alfa Romeo Visconti Concept styled by Giorgetto Giugiaro. The Visconti was based on the Alfa Romeo Premium platform which underpins the current Alfa Romeo 159, but has its wheelbase lengthened by 20mm.

The 169 was to originally use this platform, but later it was decided that the Quattroporte E/F platform was a better idea. Under the concept’s hood is the first sighting of the new V6 engine family – a 3.2 V6 twinturbocharged JTS direct injection engine to make 405hp and 680Nm of torque.

More photos of the concept after the jump.

Alfa_Romeo_Visconti

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• proton.GL.. (Member) on Nov 23, 2007 at 2:44 am

paul ,alfa 75 is the last alfa rwd in malaysia ,if im not wrong?

• ilmondo (Member) on Nov 23, 2007 at 3:24 am

i always like exclusive cars that come out from italy more than anywhere else.. maybe i'm influenced by magazines lar.. always think that italian engines are known as 'heart' while others are 'engine'! hehe..

anyway.. alfa 145/6 are really cheap nowadays.. so its really a good news for a uni student like me.. i will dream on.. as i think maintainance is quite high!

nice car tho.. hope they smoothen out d rear! forza italia!

• syanas (Member) on Nov 23, 2007 at 5:53 am

never like the front grill

• hyundai (Member) on Nov 23, 2007 at 6:24 am

this looks cool!

• mystvearn (Member) on Nov 23, 2007 at 9:36 am

looks quite ok to me

• NiceCar (Member) on Nov 23, 2007 at 3:55 pm

the front view look complicated but the rear view look clean and simple..

overall still ok for me!!!

• aesthari (Member) on Nov 23, 2007 at 5:49 pm

The butt is so so not ALFA, it's so salah to make it look so bland!!! Front is very aggressive and nice, really :)

• Cire (Member) on Nov 23, 2007 at 6:47 pm

A bit overkill at the front, with a much more pronounced nose and busy chin.

The front lamps should have a bit more design in it, rather than the straight tri-angle lamp cluster found in so many makes nowadays.

The back looks like the US'a dodge " like a dog's tail tucked in between's its legs".

Still luv the design of the 147s.

• raybrig85 (Member) on Nov 23, 2007 at 11:23 pm

some said dat the upcoming 169 will compete with the merc cls instead of competing with the 5 er or e-class…i really hope alfa will succeed with dis model…

• K.A.R.R (Member) on Nov 23, 2007 at 11:27 pm

the butt looks like bentley conti gt

• raybrig85 (Member) on Nov 23, 2007 at 11:51 pm

TO MITLANEVO AND NMH,

some of u jz see at the scope of fast and handling but not overall…i do agree dat renault clio v6 is fast and handy…dun under estimate me bcoz i already drove dis car when i was in london…it is my fren’s with blue in color…i know what im talking abt…yes…i agree it is fast and handy…but in term of practicallity…and compare to the other hot hatch available in dis current time…4 me it is not affordable and useless…it still gt a lot of car i can choose and buy rather than choose dis beauty.i can buy an affordable sport car and better than dis one with d same price….so guys…DUN TELL ME I DONT KNOW ABOUT THIS CAR AND HAVE TO REVIEW IT IN THE YOUTUBE…I ALREADY DROVE IT……it is jz my opinion….and the other are not same like me…

• neurra (Member) on Nov 23, 2007 at 11:57 pm

the butt looks like it's the front

• sQew (Member) on Nov 24, 2007 at 12:19 am

I love Alfa latest car design, it shows how italian designer works. Looks more like luxury and sporty. I always like europe car design, i saw also latest mitsubishi lancer in our shore design getting more europe in styling front lil bit audi back lil bit alfa.

• JULIANLEE2 (Member) on Nov 24, 2007 at 12:43 am

so beautiful, until it can seduce you to make love with it

• charles27 (Member) on Nov 24, 2007 at 3:24 am

better don't buy this brand laa…

my neighbour got a alfa new money before.. that look like the vw..

but he quickly selling it after less than 2 year…

cause of the maintenance cost, and little little thing, the car dont move already. haha.

• szw (Member) on Nov 24, 2007 at 4:50 am

nice nice

• JULIANLEE2 (Member) on Nov 24, 2007 at 5:22 am

its nonsense about the maintainence thing, a merc is even worse, just make sure ure living in europe when u own this car, not in malaya

• raybrig85 (Member) on Nov 24, 2007 at 9:05 pm

to nmh…

4 me it is still a hot hatch…and if u said so…btw…it is jz my opinion…wut is ur rite to correct me???coz i hv a family…4 me i enjoy to ride in the hot hatches wit my family…so..still gt other hot hatches 4 me to choose…dats jz my opinion…if u like it…go ahead…who am i to say no to u….

to mitlanevo..

if u gimme a choice of 3 er, c-class and evo..i'll go for evo…4 me…it is practical…so….wuts ur prob??we are talking about clio here…not evo…all ppl noes evo is an amazing sport car…it is a moron who compare the evo wit the 3er and c class…

i dun care wut u like and plz dun under estimate other ppl's knowledge n the way u said like other ppl dunno abt dis car…so…plz mind ur word…yes…i agree wit u…same goes to me..i like the alfa so i dun care of wut other ppl said and i luv it…same goes to u too….dat is jz my opinion abt clio v6…i already drove it and dis is jz my word…4 me it is not worth 4 me to buy…so..if u want it…go ahead…y shud i care…dats ur money…

• raybrig85 (Member) on Nov 24, 2007 at 9:16 pm

alfa still not gimme any problem…so i still trust alfa…

• JULIANLEE2 (Member) on Nov 25, 2007 at 3:50 am

i think merc giv more problem lor

• adibmuhammad (Member) on Nov 25, 2007 at 8:01 pm

the front is distinctively alfa, but from the rear, i see a porsche with beetle-like bodyshape.

i was never a fan of alfa's front grille (looks like a beak, to me) but, hey, at least the front is not as bland as the rear.

• JULIANLEE2 (Member) on Nov 25, 2007 at 8:43 pm

proton perdana copy alfa front grille, malaysian car trying to be italiano, haiz

• MicroKiller (Member) on Nov 26, 2007 at 9:31 am

does look a bit like a porsh from the back..haha

• JULIANLEE2 (Member) on Nov 26, 2007 at 8:08 pm

lights look like a bentley, and shaped like a volks beetle, did volks just buy alfa?

• Michael 1963 on Oct 03, 2009 at 11:24 pm

Ancora tanta confusione sul dafarsi! Comunque speriamo che arrivi presto, perchè è una vettura che non può mancare nella gamma Alfa Romeo! Dovrà patire non poco per riconquistare i clienti, perchè quelli della “166? ormai hanno cambiato casacca, rivolgendosi alla concorrenza! Non si può attendere oltre 10 anni per vedere un nuovo modello che sostituisce il precedente!!! Era già successo con la “164? ed ora accade con la “166?!

I tedeschi fidelizzano i loro clienti garantendo il rinnovo dei modelli ogni circa 6 anni. Così chi ha una Mercedes “E” ricompera quasi sempre un nuovo modello di “E”, chi ha una BMW “serie 5? ricompera quasi sempre un nuovo modello di “serie 5? e così via.

Chi come me aveva una Alfa Romeo “166?, di cui tra l’altro ero molto soddisfatto… è stato costretto ad acquistare …una Jaguar! Speriamo che almeno sia all’altezza delle tedesche, che sono il massimo riferimento!

• ko malu saje... on Jun 07, 2010 at 3:50 pm

italian mr bean?

• very beautyfull car!
    bravissimo :)