BEWARE: Latest robbery tactic

Car jackers and robbers are continuously reinventing their tactics, but unfortunately for them they chose to try their dirty tricks on Chips Yap of Motor Trader Malaysia, who did not fall for it and is now getting the message out to the public, warning us of these crooks’ latest way of manipulating you into a situation where you are vulnerable.

Click here to read – very important!

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• zaen (Member) on Nov 24, 2007 at 4:41 pm

Thanks Paul! for your hyperlink

• akshen_kamen (Member) on Nov 24, 2007 at 4:50 pm

very good info paul..thanks..happy motoring

• chanel (Member) on Nov 24, 2007 at 5:28 pm

you all know what is one of the failure of current government?

well, it’s just too obvious to point out anymore…….(think carefully)

• BigFish (Member) on Nov 24, 2007 at 5:52 pm

Crime, too much …………

• acbc (Member) on Nov 24, 2007 at 6:04 pm

I won’t even get out from the car.

Don’t need sensors or warning lights. Why? My OEM brake hose gave up after more than 10 years of service and the brake felt lumpy and stopping power almost done. However, if gently tap on the pedal slowly… u can still stop on time. This is in mid town KL traffic jam some more.

From there, I drove all the way back to Sri D’sara to my trusty mech for a replacement (keeping speed below 50km/h on the left lane). Finally got it replaced with steel braided ones for RM 400.

Sooner or later, even steel braided brake hose gave up causing another massive leak on the way to Shah Alam (after 6 years of service). Pop by a friend’s mech and replaced the old brake hose with a temporarily one. Still running it though.

• _xXx_ (Member) on Nov 24, 2007 at 7:30 pm

So it is the British who turned them into thieves/robbers. Go blame the Brits.

How the hell the 2 Indians knew the liquid that leaked out is brake fluid and not engine oil, ATF or other liquids? Chips should have thought of this.

• 4G63T DSM (Member) on Nov 24, 2007 at 7:54 pm

And this makes for an even more paranoid public.

I have encountered many motorist, especially the ‘aunty type’, that have just over reacted when I tried to warn them they have no brake lights. They just fearfully ignore you than just speed off. Infuriating. but I guess they will realise somethign is wrong when someone really rear ends them.

Do I blame them? no, not really. What can I say, perhaps better safe than sorry?

Failure of the present government possibly to be blamed. When cops chase after bloggers instead of real crimes, you know the system has failed miserably.

• nmh (Member) on Nov 24, 2007 at 8:13 pm

Oh god tats scary…but it fun if we can easily recognize their action, can play play abit with em around town. Guys, plz share your experience here coz im moving to KL next month, ive just been hired. Who are their target, middle age? teens? non-KL numberplate like mine…DAS XXXX, etc, etc

• topgunthang (Member) on Nov 24, 2007 at 11:21 pm

Failure of the present government possibly to be blamed. When cops chase after bloggers instead of real crimes, you know the system has failed miserably.

——————————————————–
    i second that!

crime should be the number one thing on the police’s agenda. not some blogger rambling about anything. i think it should be as relevant as green house gases crap that every politician in the world is talking about.

i like the idea of a bait car like in the cop shows in the U.S. BAIT Car!!!!!!
    the bait car idea would work for car thieves as well as this new ‘2-overcaring indians-on a motorcycle’ trick

• avanza (Member) on Nov 24, 2007 at 11:48 pm

wah their eyes so sharp….. can tell it’s brake fluid. Not engine oil, not power steering oil, not transmission oil, not air-con water….. brake fluid. Of course it’s bullshit!

• BW (Member) on Nov 25, 2007 at 1:06 am

Crime is getting more and more worst… By the way, thanks Paul for this info… God Bless

• mystvearn (Member) on Nov 25, 2007 at 3:28 am

Break leak or not, you can feel it. Its quite hard to find break leakage from 5 year old cars anyway. It is getting dangerous, maybe having a police sticker might help?

• raybrig85 (Member) on Nov 25, 2007 at 7:31 am

yala…crime is getting ereally worse…almost everyday i heard bout it…quite scary man….btw…thanx paul…

• Ness711 (Member) on Nov 25, 2007 at 11:10 am

i’ve had an eperience of oil leaking from the bottom of my car during the last raya, but it’s not the brake oil, it’s the petrol…i hit some metal bar on the road ( u can’t really see anything in the dark, wouldn’t u ?) which hit the petrol tank causing the petrol to gush out like your house tap water! but then the car behind me saw it and luckily he drove past me yelling like what Chips said, and the only thing that would differ is that the car driver was telling the truth, my petrol tank was totally out of petrol within the next few minutes.mind you it was half filled before that. Really, if he didn’t warn, me n the rest of my family would’ve became human torches. oh, yeah..it occured in the dark jabor road, some where near pahang/terengganu border

i believe that good samaritans are always everywhere,and the same goes to the crooks. but i believe the good one still outnumbered the bad guys. in the end of the day, just be careful with any strangers you encountered. sad to say, we are indeed getting more and more paranoid each and every day.

cheers ;)

• thow (Member) on Nov 25, 2007 at 1:29 pm

One news reader of Sin Chew encountered this situation before and he shared his experience.
    While he was droving back home, 2 indian motorcyclist ( I think they are same person) knocked his car and said his brake oil was leaking. Thus, immediately he went down the car to check and he saw there oil on the tyre. THen the 2 motorcyclist offered him to change the brake oil and the charge is around rm100. So, he really tought that there was a leaking & he let them changed.
    After that, the 2 Motorcyclist said the service amount is Rm 500( If i was not mistaken). The reader refused to pay such high amount and the 2 motorcylists started to raise their voive, and threatened to beat him up.
    Because the vicitim was alone and he cant do anything about it, so he said he’s going to nearby atm to withdraw the cash.BUt the two “SERVICEMEN” dont’ believe him and one of them sit on the victim’s car and another one sitting motorcycle followed the victim (IT’S SO DANGEROUS AS ANYTING WOULD HAPPEN IF THE INDIAN CAN JUST KICKEC HIM OUT IF HIS CAR AND DROVE AWAY THE CAR).
    IN the end, the two Indian recieves the money and they didn’t harm the reader.
    So, BECAREFUL because THE 2 INDIAN motorcyclis trying to cheat your money or like chips mentioned in his article,HIJACKED!!!
    So,everyone,please be extra careful.

• orangetribal (Member) on Nov 25, 2007 at 7:07 pm

yeah…please post more of this to aware motorists.be it on other sites

• szw (Member) on Nov 25, 2007 at 9:40 pm

thx 4 da info

• mits27 (Member) on Nov 26, 2007 at 1:55 am

Thanks Paul for the info, I will tell my wife and my friends too, spread the word…

• rexis (Member) on Nov 26, 2007 at 10:25 am

Thanks Paul! Thanks Chips!

Noted!

• Alifz (Member) on Nov 26, 2007 at 4:27 pm

Thanks Paul for the reminder.

Today I also saw one big metal (looks like lorry CV joints) and concrete cube at the RIGHT LANE on MAHAMERU HIGHWAY..all motorist BEWARE when driving at this road..

• mitlanevo (Member) on Nov 26, 2007 at 4:58 pm

quite the same case (already a lot) in Penang and Butterworth area……

• Cire (Member) on Nov 27, 2007 at 9:26 am

Folks, just realised some similarities here. A few years ago, my sis-in law was in her Kancil and was waiting for the lights near KTM. A pair of indian chaps rode up and said that her car was leaking water.
    They asked her to follow them to a nearby workshop. She followed as they were donning the service crew shirt as well.
    Upon reaching the shop, her car was immediately hoist up. She was then kindly told to have a cup of tea at a nearby restaurant. Half an hour later, she returned to the shop and her car was ready.
    She was happy at first but not for long when she was told that it cost her Rm750!!
    The next day, she asked me to check out her car and to my expectation, the engine was not touched at all. The layer of dust on the radiator and engine
    seems to be untouched. They is no evidence of repair at all.
    Sis-in law was furious but reluctant to report to the cops. Nope, there is no bill or receipt. The “clerk” was on lunch break.
    So, hope Chips will do something abt this..it appear that this mod-operandi have been sometime already and the location is similar..!!!

• 90125 (Member) on Nov 27, 2007 at 12:33 pm

a friend got his hand slashed by a group of Indian guys armed with parang trying to rob his Ford Ranger,luckily his okay because a group of guys noticed, and his car is safe, one more incident my neighbour was attacked by two Indian guys with parang, again luckily she escaped but the windows broke,slashed with parang…thanks Paul…

• danoneism (Member) on Nov 27, 2007 at 12:59 pm

oucchh!!!…..y dis indian guy ah??? go get a job laa……