ASEAN Toyota Corolla Altis at the Thai Motor Expo

Toyota Corolla Altis ASEAN

[ UPDATE: 2008 Toyota Corolla Altis launched in Malaysia – Click for more details! ]

Toyota displayed the ASEAN Toyota Corolla Altis at the 2007 Thailand Motor Expo, but only as a preview as they did not reveal anything about specifications and prices – these are expected to be released to the public early 2008.

So for the moment, enjoy photos of the ASEAN Corolla Altis in this post after the jump courtesy of our Thai correspondent.

New Toyota Corolla Altis for Malaysians in 2008
New Toyota Corolla debuts in Europe
2009 Toyota Corolla for the US market unveiled
Toyota Corolla S3 Concept – Supercharged Corolla
2007 Toyota Corolla Axio launched in Japan
New Toyota Corolla Altis preview at Beijing 2006

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• BigFish (Member) on Dec 02, 2007 at 9:01 am

Nice exterior compare to dugong Vios, hope it will be competitive price.

• msmar_453 (Member) on Dec 02, 2007 at 9:22 am

not interested.. waiting for new mazda6

• rhoma (Member) on Dec 02, 2007 at 9:35 am

plain vanilla

• BW (Member) on Dec 02, 2007 at 10:34 am

hmm toyota cars are getting uglier and uglier… kinda disappointing me actually…

• demio121 (Member) on Dec 02, 2007 at 10:38 am

true… plain vanilla. Civic has got nothing to worry, i think. Toyota looks like saving on designer. Make one design then varies the size for different model.

• jehutyz (Member) on Dec 02, 2007 at 10:49 am

More like a facelifted than a new model.
    Especially the rearlamp. Looks the same just more sharp.

• hyundai (Member) on Dec 02, 2007 at 11:09 am

The rear light is really ugly as the Vios… This car is left behind the Sylphy, Civic and Lancer… But i think it will still a big-seller bcoz people love the brand no matter how good or bad the car is…

• siacw (Member) on Dec 02, 2007 at 11:45 am

the rea light is like the pre-facelift with 2 round light

• kevyeoh (Member) on Dec 02, 2007 at 12:30 pm

i think toyota might be screwing up big time for this round… somehow i didn’t like the front at all for vios and now this altis… looks weird and miles apart compare to honda civic…

but then…i couldn’t afford to buy an altis so no difference to toyota from my side… hehehehehe….

• mytouch (Member) on Dec 02, 2007 at 12:56 pm

I rather choose either Honda Civic or Mitsubishi Lancer compare to this ugly car…demio121,u are rite,Toyota nowdays keen on produce new model base on S,M,L size compared to other car manifacturer.If they continue play of the buyers with strategy like this (one good example is current new Vios,where still using previous model engine,but its a price sucker),one day they might end up like POTONG in our Boleh-land…

• cetakbaju (Member) on Dec 02, 2007 at 1:06 pm

ugly….
    :(

• ab (Member) on Dec 02, 2007 at 1:08 pm

BORING! this is a car for most old people to drive, no imagination… i hope the civic, mazda 3, focus and lancer will distract ppl from it

• e-nabilll (Member) on Dec 02, 2007 at 1:21 pm

the biggest challenge is to find a car that looks even more boring than this…u wont find !

• IsaacVky (Member) on Dec 02, 2007 at 1:30 pm

Malaysians will probably get back the old 1.8 and 4 speed auto power train instead of new 1.8 Dual VVT-i & CVT, thanks to UMW perfectly talented cut cost skill.

• proton GL (Member) on Dec 02, 2007 at 1:32 pm

no people ,
    only one old man , from far

• freeze (Member) on Dec 02, 2007 at 1:50 pm

Just because of the pedestrian crash thing the front became so ugly.

I think for me the current altis with all the bodykit looks better than this. The tail lighs are too narrow from the back view.

• LS71 (Member) on Dec 02, 2007 at 2:02 pm

Hi, I agreed as what Hyudai said. In Malaysia we have too many hardcore Toyota supporter. Irrespective of low spec our this Toyota Malaysia, they will still buy it with their hard earned money without realising that the money that they pay for it may not worth.

I foresee this new Corolla with still come with 4 speed auto gear box for which I personally felt the latest car from Toyota should be equip with 5 speed auto gear box to be at par with Civic.

Although I like Toyota very much but I believe Honda Civic is still better than this coming new Corolla overall. Ready sad about our Toyota Malaysia of not giving top spec to their premium car

• lbaerd (Member) on Dec 02, 2007 at 2:45 pm

It’s toyota…. No matter how ugly or boring, it will still sell well because Malaysian bought car base on brand. Toyota is labelled as best japs car for I am not sure what reason. Look at the previous Altis, as boring and as ‘uncle’ as it is, the model last for so many years in malaysia > 6 years I guess… alot of my friend still interested. Ppl talk about safety and reliability. I think there is no reason why a car can’t be reliable, safe and look nice at the same it.

• 90125 (Member) on Dec 02, 2007 at 3:45 pm

New Toyota…Altis..okay..next..

• xenith (Member) on Dec 02, 2007 at 3:51 pm

The car looks like it was designed half-heartedly. Does Japan and US get this model or a nicer one?

• honda6996 (Member) on Dec 02, 2007 at 4:59 pm

better choose this than civic because I am very sure that altis is cheaper than civic and this altis is more powerful with its new dual vvt-i engine produce 157 hp with a higher torque”: come on_wake up toyota

• TopGear (Member) on Dec 02, 2007 at 5:02 pm

no excitement….when take toyota designer so long to come out with
    this model ??

• The Unicons (Member) on Dec 02, 2007 at 5:25 pm

For the front, it looks like the young brother of current Camry. Rear, hahaha…. more like a facelift for the current – the 9th generation of Corolla Altis. Well, it makes this car no more excitement. Plain and boring but of course still got people to buy as it’s Toyota, good quality mah…. as some people always say. As some people always bashing Proton…. cut and paste. Sound familiar with this Corolla Altis?

PREFER CAMRY for looks as it is TOTALLY NEW FACE. This Corolla Altis is a no no for me.

• hctiu (Member) on Dec 02, 2007 at 5:28 pm

Nice car !
    A better one compare to the current model

I am off getting the New BLM
    Altis can’t afford :(

• MisterBenjo (Member) on Dec 02, 2007 at 6:01 pm

hurm i dont know the differences between altis and camry anymore….

• szw (Member) on Dec 02, 2007 at 7:04 pm

finally there is a replacement

• hyundai (Member) on Dec 02, 2007 at 9:23 pm

Better throw this car and get me a Bluebird Sylphy

• GETZ (Member) on Dec 02, 2007 at 9:50 pm

aiyark.. another dugong style? its only suits CAMRY not ALTIS or VIOS. the nose is too big for small guys like altis and vios.

• infinity (Member) on Dec 02, 2007 at 9:51 pm

toyota cars getting “fat”…haha..design is out…too basic and plain for a above RM100k car..but it’ll still sell…as every1 can c…with the new lancer and new civic, the current altis still sells…it’s the brand..

u ask the general public (non-car lovers)…toyota altis or mitsu lancer…i bet they dunno how lancer looks like..however,for car lovers, the design is out..

• mystvearn (Member) on Dec 03, 2007 at 12:32 am

Paul, can make an article on Power-to-weight ratio for the same car replacements?
    Like Altis, previous altis.
    Camry family.
    Accord family.
    Etc. I think cars are getting fatter and slower now

• nmh (Member) on Dec 03, 2007 at 12:52 am

whatever toyota, orang malaysia dah ke angkasa ler

• mits27 (Member) on Dec 03, 2007 at 1:42 am

The rear light reminds me of current corolla, feel like it is more like the facelift instead of all new design…

• 4G63T DSM (Member) on Dec 03, 2007 at 8:27 am

@mmh

right. As a space tourist. Probably the joke of the century.

As for Toyota. It will sell no matter how boring looking it is. Sell by reputation.
    People that is in the market for this segment will only cross shop between the Altis and the Civic. In all probability, the Lancer, Mazda 3, Focus is not even on the shopping list.

The Sylphy however is not much better. I saw one yesterday with singapore plates. The rear lights look “off”. Nissan mounted them a little too low on the bood lid.

• zanggief (Member) on Dec 03, 2007 at 9:09 am

The front view still ok but rear view seems not attractive.
    Paul, is that umw will launch this model next year?
    Nissan Bluebird and Hyundai Elantra also plan to launch next year..but Honda Civic still the best.

• raybrig85 (Member) on Dec 03, 2007 at 9:39 am

hahha…still like old model…old style 4 oldman…4 me..i will choose mazda 3,euro civic rather than dis…

• avanza (Member) on Dec 03, 2007 at 9:40 am

Paul, who took these photos? These wide angle photos don’t do justice to the car. Should go further and zoom in at 80-100 mm, especially the full body shots. This gives a more natural view, similar to the human eyes.

• avanza (Member) on Dec 03, 2007 at 9:47 am

Off topic, sorry. But did anyone read about the Myvi that caught fire after an accident today? This is the third Myvi I know that has caught fire. I personally saw one last year! I think there is something wrong with the fuel system!

• andre128 (Member) on Dec 03, 2007 at 10:21 am

look nice… i gonna replace my altis with this :P

• Xoomie (Member) on Dec 03, 2007 at 10:29 am

pictures taken from lower angle makes the looked even worst

• TheDuck (Member) on Dec 03, 2007 at 11:38 am

My civic still looks better.

• crossfire (Member) on Dec 03, 2007 at 2:31 pm

the front still ok for me, but the rear is pure copy from the current generation altis. camry design still better!

hope to see the pict for interior.

• azrai (Member) on Dec 03, 2007 at 4:08 pm

We hardly see the Dugong Vios eventhough almost a month since its launch right. UMW gonna meet the same fate as Proton one day, sooner than we think. It is like putting a salt into the wound after Livina launched (direct competition to ugly and boring looking Avanza and Innova).

• LittleFire85 (Member) on Dec 03, 2007 at 5:09 pm

But in Penang here, i seen a lot of ppl driving the G and S spec of Vios. Where u live? Kampung baru? LOL…

• avanza (Member) on Dec 03, 2007 at 5:28 pm

Dugong Vios…. I was try to find a description to the wierd looks of the new Vios. I think “dugong” is it. Haha.

• ys (Member) on Dec 03, 2007 at 6:09 pm

hope the price is right for average Malaysian.
    RM90k maybe… then i am sure it will sell like hot cake.
    but RM90?? in my dream maybe….

• nmh (Member) on Dec 03, 2007 at 7:07 pm

I think toyota has to trim down toyota lines bcoz of lexus…pity corolla

• GrandMarquis (Member) on Dec 03, 2007 at 7:30 pm

Hey Guys,

I think Malaysian has too much expectation on Altist cum Corolla. The original Corolla is not an ambitious model. It is aim at mainstream kia-su family man who wants a car with little maintainence and high 2nd hand value. It is no suprise that corolla is the world best selling car!

The name is rebrand in Malaysia (Altist) to give an image of sporty and luxury, but a corolla is still a corolla :-D

I am now based in Saudi Arabia. The new Altist cum Corolla has been launched here. I have seen one on the road. The dugong like VIOS has been here for quite some time.

It is very surprising that when petrol only cost RM 0.30 per litter here, people still go for corolla. Kia-su, reliable and high 2nd hand value. That’s the trade mark of corolla.

• TopGear (Member) on Dec 03, 2007 at 10:01 pm

new Honda car design really modern & futuristic…very sporty eg
    Stream, Civic, new Jazz, etc

• kingglim (Member) on Dec 03, 2007 at 11:35 pm

Hmmm, i think this Corolla is screw-up by Toyota. From inside out and performance, all are worse than Civic, Lancer and Mazda3. Although Toyota always has loyal fans, this one will lose fight for the large majority no-brand-loyalty customers.

Current Altis is a downsized last Camry, share the same expensive classy feel of the last Camry. This new Altis, again is the mini copy of the USDM Camry, but just look weird and cheap.

• redwings (Member) on Dec 04, 2007 at 5:02 am

Oohhh…a disappointed product from toyota, launching as a all-new altis in 2008 and I don’t see this one can fight against those available…civic and lancer… and worse to the very old Mazda3…

How can this altis fight against the rest all-new cars launching in 2008 and 2009. Unless you gonna do something on the handling and the interior design..

I personally thought, The external look play a part to choose a car and interior also important…because the gonna feel and see it all the time when you driving it.

And the last but not least the handling of the car…

I really forward for the all-new Mazda3 after the very successful of the Mazda ZOOM ZOOM philosophy.

• shamel (Member) on Dec 04, 2007 at 5:55 am

If Vios resemblance Dugong this Altis replacement like pig-head grille. Performance-wise Toyota is not bad.

VALUE-wise (sans resale value), very bad from buyers-point of view. You merely got stretch Corolla JDM, with new face, bigger butt and the rest were identical here and there.

Civic sedan and hatch (Euro) have distinct model, more value for money. Honda seems give more for every penny. BUT too difficult to rule out this Altis, as the T-brand quite perform, everyone must agree.

• arcana (Member) on Dec 04, 2007 at 8:08 am

lose in design and tech, but win in comfort, durability and of course wider target market….in the end it will still sell. Moreover, its nearest rival Civic will be a dated model when this is launched, ppl still like new models coz the on going ones are considered boring as there are many on the road.

• azrai (Member) on Dec 04, 2007 at 11:13 am

Dear LittleFire85,
    I’ve been in JB, Johore, N9, Ptrajaya, Puchong, S Alam & KL. (Just for your info)
    It is from my observation. Do you find more Latio at Penang?

• LittleFire85 (Member) on Dec 04, 2007 at 11:38 am

I have seen a lot of Latio sport in Penang, even Mitsu new Lancer also got. If u want to see them, come to Burma road at Penang near komtar there. I can bet u can see a lot of new Vios, Lancer and even Latio sport around. I been in Singapore last year, and i can tell u the Nissan Latio, Subaru impreza and Mazda3,6 in Singapore are a lot.

• Allan (Member) on Dec 04, 2007 at 1:25 pm

Those of you who have been doing your own oline comparisons between this car vs the civic or lancer, here’s a real world comparison for you: http://www.caradvice.com.au/7806/the-big-small-car-comparison/

• kington (Member) on Dec 04, 2007 at 1:26 pm

Well i agree that this car will not win any beauty contests especially when you see the futuristic Civic and gung ho looking Lancer in the same category.

However, why are Toyotas so popular? It’s because of its reliability and sensibility in their cars. Toyota’s are not 100% faultless, you will still come across recalls and etc, but they have the least probs compared to other manufacturers, and even so, the probs you’ll find are less hazardous than others.

• Infinitt (Member) on Dec 04, 2007 at 2:23 pm

Still a boring design.

• mitlanevo (Member) on Dec 04, 2007 at 5:57 pm

OH GOD, PLEASE!!!!!

give me back my Civic, Sentra and Lancer!!!! Please!!!!

dont torture me with this car just because i know how to spell B-O-R-I-N-G

• mzfnd (Member) on Dec 04, 2007 at 11:07 pm

Heh heh. Here’s a good advice. No matter what people say, if you are in the budget range, you should always consider a Toyota among other makes that you like.

• in_put (Member) on Dec 05, 2007 at 5:22 pm

If you’ve never owned an Altis, surely there’s no reason to want one now…

• xetronic (Member) on Dec 06, 2007 at 9:47 am

oh… is that a new car?

i thought there those pics are the new vios and the old altis. HAHA!

• IsaacVky (Member) on Dec 07, 2007 at 10:17 pm

kington said,

December 4, 2007 @ 1:26 pm

Honda dominated JD Power 2007
    City won in class.
    Civic comes 1st in class, followed by Sentra & Waja, where’s Altis? @@”

• tremorz (Member) on Dec 14, 2007 at 6:37 pm

This Altis has a front combination of Yaris+Camry.
    The Back is like the new Vios.
    Personally, I’d anytime go for the current Civic/Lancer/Camry proper.