Toyota Corolla S3 Concept: supercharged Corolla

Corolla S3

Since the 2009 Toyota Corolla for the US domestic market was launched at the SEMA show, Toyota decided to follow the whole tuning convention theme and display a tuned up Toyota Corolla at the show called the Toyota Corolla S3.

The Toyota Corolla S3 is fitted with a rather showy bodykit complete with a matching paint job. Underneath the hood, the 2.4 litre VVT-i engine that makes a paltry 158 horsepower in stock form is supercharged and intercooled, with the huge intercooler mounted at the front.

Toyota has released no figures on how much power this concept car makes, but you can check out more photos after the jump.

Corolla S3

Corolla S3

Corolla S3

Corolla S3

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• BMW fan (Member) on Nov 13, 2007 at 5:24 pm

I am not a Toyota Corolla fan…but i don’t mind one of this!

• arvinm (Member) on Nov 13, 2007 at 5:36 pm

beautiful car spoilt by crappy early 90s VIP rims… pity!

• e-nabilll (Member) on Nov 13, 2007 at 5:40 pm

no matter wat thy do to it…stil looks like an uncle car…! beside the rims and the intercooler…thrs really noting to look for….

• farmcow (Member) on Nov 13, 2007 at 5:42 pm

now this is wad i call a nice car….haha the new altis was nowhere near this one

• mitlanevo (Member) on Nov 13, 2007 at 5:45 pm

rims and intercooler?? hahahahahaha (non-stop)

i can find a better looking intercooler, rims and bodykits and install those stuff on any civic, lancer or sentra (or even waja and persona)!!!

toyota is so boring, using the same design elements for corolla, vios and camry….

the alphard and estima are so nice, and the supra is legend, but why this corolla @#$% ???

• BigFish (Member) on Nov 13, 2007 at 7:00 pm

Compare to Civic Type R – 35% only!

• MaverickNeo (Member) on Nov 13, 2007 at 7:18 pm

absolute crap….”Toy”ota….

• shianghorng (Member) on Nov 13, 2007 at 7:19 pm

What’s the use???

• adibmuhammad (Member) on Nov 13, 2007 at 9:07 pm

love it or hate it, there are bound to be buyers in the U.S. that are drooling for one of these.

the front reminds of one the newer Lexus.
    it’s the bodykit, i guess.

rims go well with the overall look, but I personally would swap those for better-looking ones.
    apart from that, it’s good.

• jolly_idiot (Member) on Nov 13, 2007 at 9:23 pm

What kinda concept car is this? Not much different from it’s original with just an additional intercooler and bigger rims. Doesn’t sounds futuristic as what the CONCEPT should meant. Btw, whats the size for this car? Will it be the same as our current Altis? If yes, then a 2.4L will it be too massive for it? Even camry fits with 2.0 and 2.4. Sound strange for Toyota to put in a big engine in a small car. Will it getting too much tyre spinning?

• szw (Member) on Nov 13, 2007 at 9:56 pm

the back really reminds me of current altis .

• transformer (Member) on Nov 13, 2007 at 10:23 pm

still plain ugly as before!
    and that 2.4L NA looks “asthmathic” with just 158hp…….

• topgunthang (Member) on Nov 13, 2007 at 11:02 pm

at least we know the corolla TRD should be coming soon.

• mits27 (Member) on Nov 13, 2007 at 11:21 pm

I will rather get Scion xC…

• wong (Member) on Nov 14, 2007 at 12:04 am

beginning not to like Toyota designs,very monotonous,……yawn…zzzzz

• mystvearn (Member) on Nov 14, 2007 at 1:47 am

Make twinpipe exhaust, on both sides baru nampak garang

• kington (Member) on Nov 14, 2007 at 8:55 am

Design wise, it’s very subjective. I see many of you like things that carries immense design flair. I admit, i’m one too, but then again, there are people that would settle for something lesser, less subtle, lower profile but get’s the job done. True, the Corolla will never match Honda’s Type-R pedigree, but many customers are willing to sacrifice that all out racing heritage for a little creature comfort.

The previous Corolla in EU had a model with a supercharger bolted on and though in many comparo tests in magazines votted it as a real flop against the other hot blooded hot hatches, it remains one of the better selling cars in Europe.

• aesthari (Member) on Nov 14, 2007 at 4:32 pm

Looks ok, but the blue colour and VIP rims are scary.

• Jeffrey1977 (Member) on Nov 14, 2007 at 5:31 pm

Nice car! Just the right car to outrun Ah Beng and Ah Seng!

• danie7 (Member) on Nov 15, 2007 at 12:42 am

hmmm… this might be our Toyota Altis replacement. 158hp with charger or what? if its juz 158hp what is the big intercooler? Not bad for a Corolla compared to the younger bro the Vios i would prefer this, if i was given a choice out of these two.

• king (Member) on Nov 15, 2007 at 11:26 pm

jolly_idiot said,

Will it getting too much tyre spinning?

what? from 158hp?? only if its using 145/80R13 tyres

• IsaacVky (Member) on Nov 16, 2007 at 2:18 pm

Supercharged, So? Worst in handling, does this car even qualify to go on track?