New facelifted R171 Mercedes-Benz SLK

Mercedes Benz SLK Facelift

Mercedes-Benz has updated their R171 second generation Mercedes Benz SLK, the car that pioneered the modern hard top convertible (there were already hard top convertibles a long time ago in the past), what Mercedes calls a vario-roof.

Major changes on the interior are the usual ones that are associated with a mid-life facelift – an updated front and rear, while the interior gets a new instrument clusters and a three-spoke sports steering wheel.

The new front bumper is much more aggressive than the pre-facelift version, divided into two prominent large gaping intakes split in the middle. The rear end now has a diffuser-style lower section that enhances the SLK’s look from the rear. Tail lights are now slightly darkened, and exhaust tips are trapezoidal in shape.

The facelifted R171 SLK gets a new NTG 2.5 audio and telematics system, making the radio, Bluetooth handsfree system and media interface easy to operate. There is also an option for the LINGUATRONIC voice-operated control system. The harman kardon Logic7 sound system has been tuned to offer a good listening experience whether the roof is up or down.

The baseline SLK200K’s 1.8 litre supercharged engine now makes more power and torque. It is now 184 horsepower, up by 21 horsepower and torque goes up from 240Nm to 250Nm.

The SLK350’s 3.5 litre V6 revs higher now, up to 6800, with an optional 7200rpm extended redline if engine parameters like oil temperature are favorable. Other enhancements to the V6 include a higher compression ratio, a new intake manifold and an improved valvetrain design. The result is 305 horsepower at 6,500rpm and 360Nm of torque at 4,900rpm – an improvement of 33 horsepower and 10Nm. The 7G-Tronic blips the throttles on downshifts.

An optional direct steer system is optional on all models and standard on the SLK55 AMG. It operates by mechanical means instead of being an electrical-based system – no actuators or complex sensors.

More photos after the jump.

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• redwings (Member) on Dec 25, 2007 at 8:31 pm

Great One..How much it costs in M’sia?

• AMG (Member) on Dec 25, 2007 at 8:48 pm

According to previous model~ SLK200K Costs RM488,888

• auctioncenter2u (Member) on Dec 25, 2007 at 8:55 pm

If you bought this and use it in Malaysia, I’m sure you hardly open the ROOF.
    Here either TOO HOT or TOO WET not like in Europe.

• mytouch (Member) on Dec 25, 2007 at 10:50 pm

Paul,just wana ask why i suddenly cant view your reviews/website in Internet Explorer?Everytime i try to view,will pop out this msg :”Internet Explorer cannot open the internet site….operation aboard”?? Now i hv to open it using Opera Explorer.This problem just occur today (25th Dec)…hope that got some clue on it,thanks…

• Capt Shopalot (Member) on Dec 25, 2007 at 10:53 pm

What a beauty!!!

• almattitude_v1 (Member) on Dec 25, 2007 at 10:57 pm

Wow… Stunning…

• mystvearn (Member) on Dec 26, 2007 at 12:41 am

sexy looking car. Only that, I don’t think I will have a chance to own it ever…

• topgunthang (Member) on Dec 26, 2007 at 12:52 am

the optisian’s mum down few shops away from where i work just won one in a lottery. luckily the son checked the ticket and collected the prize. it was the 3.5 litre version.

dont think she drove it but decided to sell it immedaitely and split the money among the few grandkids she had. she was in her 70’s by the way.

the color white is making a comeback into popularity it seems. but i think the grey looks more expensive.

• cbljkkj (Member) on Dec 26, 2007 at 1:12 am

I’m really starting to dig the new Mercedes three spoke sports steering found on this face-lifted SLK and the new C-Class. It just oozes so much sportiness and sex.

Funny how BMW is changing their look into a old man’s preference and Mercedes on the other hand is trying to make all their cars look sporty. Talk about traveling to opposite sides of the spectrum.

• arcana (Member) on Dec 26, 2007 at 6:54 am

nice….but with 1/2 mil…..i got plenty of other options……too expensive for just a 1.8 sport.

• gonggok (Member) on Dec 26, 2007 at 8:36 am

Half a mil is too much when you can get a used SL350 for a lot less. That’s a real car while the SLK will never shed the girly image…

• wildthingz (Member) on Dec 26, 2007 at 9:23 am

rich men toys….for me its just a dream to drive this kind of car……..

• iamyoubutdifferent (Member) on Dec 26, 2007 at 10:33 am

madonna with that gap between her teeth.. :P

• proton.GL.. (Member) on Dec 26, 2007 at 2:40 pm

front taken a bit of F1 styled nose and wing,

• mitlanevo (Member) on Dec 26, 2007 at 2:52 pm

my dad’s favourite car….

i rather drive a M6 Cabriolet or 350Z Roadster, but cant deny SLK is really sexy, anytime anywhere……

but guys, will the SLK200 be underpowered? anyone can tell me? coz i really nvr driven one before……

• 4G63T DSM (Member) on Dec 27, 2007 at 8:08 am

This is far better looking than the first SLK. I drove the old one several times before. I never felt too comfortable with it…..felt too cute and girly. Sadled with an auto and a relatively softer suspension setup, it never quite felt sporty enough.

In actuality, I prefered the basic Miata much better, especially the Limited edition 6 speed. that is a proper roadster done right.

Never drove the new one before so I can’t comment much.

• xavier_lert (Member) on Dec 27, 2007 at 10:42 am

how much actualy the cost of a car in malaysia…u can simply take the price from UK or US….then times wit curency then times 2 (tax)…..there…if here u can afford civic…there u can afford 2 civic…wa….malaysian realy rich….

• szw (Member) on Dec 28, 2007 at 2:15 pm

the front bumpre damn potong
    eww…