New 2009 Subaru Forester 2.0X, 2.0XS and 2.0XT

New Subaru Forester

The all new Subaru Forester was launched recently in Japan, in its third generation since it was first launched in 1997. There are three variants offered in Japan, the 2.0X, the 2.0XS and the 2.0XT, ranging from basic, midrange to premium. The 2.0XT model also has better off-road capability, with a 225mm ground clearance compared to the 2.0X and the 2.0XS’s 215mm clearance.

The Subaru Forester uses a double-wishbone rear suspension and the usually strut-tyep front suspension. The new Forester uses an advanced form of Subarus proprietary Ring-Shaped Reinforcement Frame Body Structure. Through streamlined body construction and the extensive use of high-tensile steel, including 590 MPa–level steel for key structural body frames, the new model achieves higher body rigidity, improved straight-line driving stability, and riding comfort. Despite its larger body and platform, compared to the predecessor, the vehicle weight increases only minimally.

The 2.0X and 2.0XS uses a 2.0 litre normally aspirated DOHC boxer engine putting out 148 PS and 191Nm. The engine also has AVCS, or active valve control system, essentially a continuously variable valve timing system. This improves low to mid-range torque. The 2.0XT uses a 2.0 litre turbocharged boxer engine, putting out 230 PS and 319Nm. It uses a resin-based intake manifold which ha smooth inner walls which are less resistant to the intake flow. The weight is also reduced by 30% compared to the earlier manifold.

The manual and auto transmissions use different AWD systems. The automatic models get an Active Torque Split AWD, while the manual models use a centre differential AWD system with viscous LSD (limited slip differential). All models come standard with Vehicle Dynamics Control (VDC), a form of stability control.

More photos after the jump.

New Subaru Forester

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• tHe CuLpRit (Member) on Jan 03, 2008 at 3:16 pm

wow… i rather like.

Always fascinated with the Forester but the current model had become long in the tooth.

This one looks very tidy, if looking abit like that Mitsu 4×4 that shares platform with Peugeot, i think the Outlander?

• tHe CuLpRit (Member) on Jan 03, 2008 at 3:20 pm

Oh man… limited to 180km/h again? btw, the water-repellant seats can be real useful *wink*

• sunsilk (Member) on Jan 03, 2008 at 3:42 pm

nice car indeed…powerfull and looks great…..must exciting when climbing the rocky road…^^

• Xoomie (Member) on Jan 03, 2008 at 3:45 pm

looks rather dull & boring

• LittleFire85 (Member) on Jan 03, 2008 at 3:49 pm

Almost most of JDM market cars are limited to 180/km due to their road law & regulation. Only those imported models are offer over 180km ++, even if u given such a great top speed do u think u always drive 200km/h ++ in Malaysia roads? Anyway remind that highways are only 110km/h legally…

Anyway if i have a lot of money in Boleh land to buy an AP, i would like the Turbocharged manual 2.0XT model. That would kill those CRV, X-Trail, Fortuner & Rav-4 user for good!

• ndmervin (Member) on Jan 03, 2008 at 4:04 pm

Abit boring on the outside, but hey, its a Forester!!! :O

• sugar_glider (Member) on Jan 03, 2008 at 4:47 pm

boring….

• msmar_453 (Member) on Jan 03, 2008 at 5:00 pm

Boring? same reaction from those who criticized New 2008 Impreza!
    You’re welcome Subaru! No need for blood suc*** grey Importer!

• nanashisan (Member) on Jan 03, 2008 at 5:13 pm

yeah!! new forester!!
    but the front grill is so bling bling. no more aggressive looks like past forester.
    bling bling al the way……

• jonnyblaze (Member) on Jan 03, 2008 at 5:55 pm

I like :)

Too bad no 3S in northern region.

What is the pricing like..?

• san_j (Member) on Jan 03, 2008 at 6:04 pm

the headlight is a little bit like the vw toureg…

• cole planet (Member) on Jan 03, 2008 at 6:16 pm

Wahhh… nice car… look like very strong car… very muscular…

• Cire (Member) on Jan 03, 2008 at 6:32 pm

I don’t think the new forrester is boring at all.
    The wagon is smoother at the edges and not as squarish as its predessor.
    The front and bonnet air scoop looks pretty matching, and higher “chin” probably allows it to tackle steeper sloops.
    All in all, the wagon is a ready-set-go off-roader.

• szw (Member) on Jan 03, 2008 at 8:08 pm

it look so odd…

• nmh (Member) on Jan 03, 2008 at 8:33 pm

Dashboard designed by dejavu. Exactly the same like new Impreza. Finally a forester that looks like an SUV than a stationwagon.

• legacy88 (Member) on Jan 03, 2008 at 9:48 pm

Boring or not, I don’t mind to drive one. Ha ha… :)

• transformer (Member) on Jan 03, 2008 at 10:03 pm

Not nice, hood are too long! Why can’t Subaru include cab-forward design into Forester!

Not forgetting X-Trial GT(JDM) equipped with SR20VET that produce 280hp!

• DrA (Member) on Jan 03, 2008 at 11:34 pm

Looks like the outlander but with outdated interior.

• petulance (Member) on Jan 04, 2008 at 7:04 am

I’m in 2 minds about it. At least the profile still looks boxy like the previous models. However the front grille and overall design looks like a Toyota Kluger.

The Forester has lost some of its uniqueness and now looks like any other run of the mill SUV. Still, Subaru owners have never really cared about looks.

It also looks to be using the new 2.0 litre DOHC engine from the Impreza. Performance figures have dropped from the 2.5 litre SOHC engine used in the previous generation.

New engine: Power: 108 kW Torque: 191 Nm
    Old engine: Power: 121 kW Torque: 226 Nm

Surely the new Forester is underpowered???

Hmmm … could be time to go out and buy the current gen Forester. Dealers in Oz are clearing out their stock at the moment. AUD$30k driveaway for the base X model with free alloys.

• azrai (Member) on Jan 04, 2008 at 7:19 am

The front gives me some idea to mode Waja.. Should be nice.

• 4G63T DSM (Member) on Jan 04, 2008 at 9:49 am

I’ve always like the Forrester since the first one.

Handles well, has good power and tractability, low belt-lines makes for very good visibility. Its was a good alternative to the somewhat underpowered CRV and RAV4s of the same generation. Which is the reason it sold well.

New one unfortunately makes it look like “just another compact/midsized SUV”.

Unfortunately for Subaru, most of the competition for the Forrester comes from within. Subaru always had very good wagons such as the Legacy wagon/Outback, and Impreza Wagon/Outback.

As it is, the Forrester ends up neither here nor there, a Subaru fan will go for a better handling Legacy or Impreza while someone looking for better off road performance will just not get a car based platform, a buyer looking for more than 5 seats will probably get something else alltogether.

• petulance (Member) on Jan 04, 2008 at 10:37 am

Hi 4G63T,

Were the CRVs and RAV4s of the late 90s that underpowered? The first gen Forester only had a 2.0 litre engine with 90 – 92 kW of power. I always thought that was underpowered. Subaru got it right with the 2nd gen Forester when they put a 2.5 litre engine in.

With the new generation Impreza, Subaru have removed the “mini-wagon” hatch model and made the hatch a pure Euro hatch. I think their rational was people who wanted a mini-wagon would go for the Forester instead.

I agree with you that the Forester now looks like “just another compact/midsized SUV”. I prefer the old wagon-like boxy shape. Still, Subaru owners have never really cared about looks.

• jamsbong (Member) on Jan 04, 2008 at 11:47 am

donno about you guys, but after driving this car. All I can say is that it is a disappointment. Totally unresponsive car! The auto gearbox feels like a 30 years old technology. The engine has no response AT ALL!! press the throttle and nothing happens, go half way into it, and you hear slightly louder noise but no acceleration, just a slight forward motion. Floor it, and again no change in the feel. This car is horrible.

I hope the new model is better, but I seriously doubt it. Better go for the X-Trail or RAV4.

• KL-ATR (Member) on Jan 04, 2008 at 11:54 am

Yup, they’ve taken the uniqueness of the previous Foresters and replaced it with the standard mid-size SUV design. Looks like a larger version of the Impreza but the butt is really boring. Impreza’s looks much better. Interior is an improvement but still old fashion compared to Mitsu’s Outlander. I hope they manage to spice it up with the STi version. Come on Mitsubishi… give us an Airtrek Turbo replacement… plonk the Evo-X engine into an Outlander!!!

• nuajon (Member) on Jan 05, 2008 at 11:31 pm

like new hyundai 4 whell D, bored too.

• bavarian (Member) on Jan 06, 2008 at 11:54 am

the front headlamp is a bit like vw touareg

• Johnny on Nov 08, 2009 at 11:23 pm

What a UTTERLY UGLY -Looking Exterior! I am a Subaru fan and was looking forward to the New Forrester so that I could buy it ! I I thought the previous design was great, and expected even better. However after seeing this WIMPISH design, I am thoroughly disappointed.

Subaru has lost its Unique / SPORTS mojo and gone SISSY. Especially the THINKING towards ASIAN Markets. WHY does the US version look SO GOOD ?? The US version of the new Forrester is SMART, SPORTY and retains the Unique Image of how Subaru stands apart from the rest.
    The ASIAN Forrester looks like a REXTON ! For goodness sake, if you want to compete raise $$$, this is not the way to do it. You cannot design "Mainstream" style for the Subaru, IF people wanted a REXTON, they would get a REXTON, not a Subaru.

PLEASE, we ASIAN Subaru fans are not bloody ladies, We want the US design, not some sissified version. EVEN the ladies think so ! They are now reverting to a Landrover because it looks SPORTIER ! Idiots who decided to go for these REXTON/CRV look for the ASIAN market should be SACKED, the market will respond with ZERO sales, wait and see !!!

• Johnny on Nov 08, 2009 at 11:34 pm

Just to Add further to my comments above. I loved SUBARU because it stood for EFFICIENCY. Everything about its design was catered towards Performance and Handling, with its boxer engine, balanced AWD etc.
    The previous Forrester was Unique, because unlike other 4wds, it had a slimline design. Even the lowered back door had a purpose, to ease putting stuff to the back. This latest Forrester has betrayed the soul of Subaru. It looks OVERWEIGHT and HEAVY! That's why i compare it to a Rexton. There are needless bulk around it, and im sure the cornering handling is affected. What a disappointment !!! The stupid management/marketing decision to make Subaru into a "Mass Market" design is a mistake. Instead of following your competitors, you should take the Lead. In an age where fuel prices are rising and energy wastage is a concern, Subaru should continue producing Performance Vehicles that are enjoyable, yet Efficient and Light.
    If it wasnt a management/marketing decision, please SACK the GAY designers !!!

• Johnny you took the words out of my mouth. I loved SUBARU because it stood for EFFICIENCY. Everything about its design was catered towards Performance and Handling, with its boxer engine, balanced AWD etc.
    The previous Forrester was special, because unlike others in its category, it had a slimline design. Even the lowered back door had a purpose, to ease putting stuff to the back. This latest Forrester has betrayed the soul of Subaru. It looks OVERWEIGHT and HEAVY! That's why you hit it on the nail when you compared it to a REXTON. There are needless bulk around it, and im sure the cornering handling is affected. What a disappointment !!! The poor management/marketing decision to make Subaru into a "Mass Market" design is a mistake. Instead of following your competitors, you should take the Lead. In an age where fuel prices are rising and energy wastage is a concern, Subaru should continue producing Performance Vehicles that are enjoyable, yet Efficient and Light. Subaru has lost its way.
    If it wasnt a management/marketing decision, please get rid of the GAY designers !!!