Supercar for Charity – 24th February 2008

BMW M6

The Porsche Club Malaysia will be organizing an event called the “SUPERCAR FOR CHARITY” event in aid of Malaysian floods Victims together with the Ferrari Owner’s Club, Force of Nature Aid Foundation and the Sepang International Circuit.

The event will be held on the 24th of February 2008 from 2pm until 7pm. By paying between RM300, RM500 or RM1,000 you will get a taxi ride in a supercar driven by experienced drivers for a full three laps around the Sepang circuit. These supercars include a fleet of Porsches, Ferraris, Lamborghinis, Lotus Esprit V8s, Aston Martins, and also a Mercedes Benz SL55 AMG and new BMW M6 (picture shown above).

There will also be an exhibition of supercars like the Pagani Zonda, the Maserati MC12, the Bugatti EB110, the Ferrari F50 and the McLaren SLR .

All proceeds from the event would go to the flood victims, and FON being the charity arm would monitor and disburse the money raised to local non-governmental organisations and foundations to aid the recent flood victims.

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• sxe10r (Member) on Jan 29, 2008 at 11:43 am

how much pay for the ferrali & lambo ??

• cutester (Member) on Jan 29, 2008 at 11:55 am

how much pay for the ferrali & lambo ??

RM300, RM500 or RM1000.

Get a taxi ride by experienced driver. How nice if we can drive and the experienced driver seat beside us. Hehe…

• mcwk (Member) on Jan 29, 2008 at 12:21 pm

Is entrance for the supercar exhibition free for spectators?

• tanasi (Member) on Jan 29, 2008 at 12:24 pm

visit wreckedexotics.com to have an idea of what can happen if these supercars are driven by less experienced drivers.

• mohdjiman (Member) on Jan 29, 2008 at 12:24 pm

Will pay if we can drive it by ourselves…hehehe…impossible…

• nanashisan (Member) on Jan 29, 2008 at 12:27 pm

i can only able to pay rm300 but want a lambo ride. sounds not possible i think.

• narrowband (Member) on Jan 29, 2008 at 1:06 pm

I once vowed that I’ll never take a taxi if it’s going to cost me more than RM100.

I may actually consider these taxis, now.

• VPowerRacing (Member) on Jan 29, 2008 at 1:15 pm

tree laps or 3 laps?

• corolla_KE70 (Member) on Jan 29, 2008 at 2:39 pm

me interested also.. but no extra money la…..

• S.Eddie (Member) on Jan 29, 2008 at 2:50 pm

super cars for super man….
    when can i bought those cars and put them in my garage? hm…not sure…

• mitlanevo (Member) on Jan 29, 2008 at 2:53 pm

I’m willing to pay few hundred ringgits if allow to drive the F50……

• abtm (Member) on Jan 29, 2008 at 3:19 pm

RM1000 for a taxi ride? who’s driving? better be the Stig!

• wildthingz (Member) on Jan 29, 2008 at 4:10 pm

Wah nice taxi owh hey no discount meh not enough money lah all my salary nearly empty for this month waiting for chinese new year lor if got ang pow so can ride lah paul u dont give me angpow meh

• wildthingz (Member) on Jan 29, 2008 at 4:14 pm

wah when i look at exotic car crash it seem like our proton better lah see that ferrari f430 spyder didnt looks like a car but aluminium can lol

• kakilubuk (Member) on Jan 29, 2008 at 8:20 pm

No thanks! I rather send the money myself to the flood victims. Satisfied me for sure.

• szw (Member) on Jan 29, 2008 at 8:24 pm

lambo pls…

• mofo (Member) on Jan 29, 2008 at 10:14 pm

LoL… i would rather take RM 300 to buy 4D, :P

Btw Happy Chinese New Year.

• mystvearn (Member) on Jan 30, 2008 at 1:27 am

Those who are rich can afford to pay that money. If the drivers are:
    RM 300= lewis hamilton
    RM 500= stig
    RM 1k = M.Shumacher
    then sure people will pay

• BanyakMasukWorkshop (Member) on Jan 30, 2008 at 8:56 am

its for a good cause. I believe something like this was done before in sepang with supercars as well. I think they raised quite a bit of money also.

think about it.. if you already want to donate a certain amount of money for charity, wouldn;t it be better to donate that certain amount of money, and get to ride in a supercar around sepang circuit as well?

I’m curious about the 3 laps though. not sure if they mean, 1 outlap, 1 flying lap, 1 inlap? if not, that would mean 1 outlap, 3 flying laps, 1 inlap. The latter would be well worth the donation.

• KL-ATR (Member) on Jan 30, 2008 at 3:56 pm

The first time Porsche Club Malaysia did this was back in 99. The charity drive back then was a race spec GT3 driven by one of Porsche’s German race driver for RM200 a round. One female came out from the car crying and couldn’t stand straight. Another young fella was all pale and threw up later. Experienced drivers are gonna be tame by comparison. ;-)

• aksMs (Member) on Feb 01, 2008 at 5:26 am

“BanyakMasukWorkshop said, I’m curious about the 3 laps though. not sure if they mean, 1 outlap, 1 flying lap, 1 inlap? if not, that would mean 1 outlap, 3 flying laps, 1 inlap. The latter would be well worth the donation.”

Ya la Paul… Can you confirm again about the number of laps. If it’s the later, I might consider.

• aksMs (Member) on Feb 01, 2008 at 5:27 am

I mean, latter…not later. Haizz…typo…I should go to bed…

• ja50n (Member) on Feb 03, 2008 at 9:41 pm

Wat time is the event ?? Any more detailed info ? thx.