Limited edition 194hp Toyota Hilux in the UK

194hp Hilux

Toyota has launched a limited 500 unit run of the UK market Toyota Hilux Invincible. The special edition features a unique look and a more powerful engine.

The Hilux’s 3.0 litre D4-D common rail turbodiesel engine in the standard model is fitted with a Toyota Motorsports diesel engine performance kit, increasing maximum horsepower to 194 hp and a very nice 430Nm of torque from 1,600rpm all the way up to 3,200rpm, up from 343Nm. 0 to 100km/h takes 10.5 seconds, a massive improvement from the standard truck’s 13 seconds.

In the interior, the special edition Hilux gets two-tone leather heated seats. Other unique bits of equipment include special 15 inch alloys and a stainless steel mesh grille.

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• schdmitz (Member) on Apr 14, 2008 at 7:43 am

nice truck…..can we get it in M’sia????it will be nice to hv it here and mod. into low rider …….

• azrai (Member) on Apr 14, 2008 at 7:55 am

Toyota follows Ford Ranger this time. Remember when they come out with many special edition of Ranger before? The yellow Baywatch Ranger, the black Extreme Ranger, the black Scorpion Ranger, and the blue one.

• knight_templar (Member) on Apr 14, 2008 at 12:25 pm

hmmm.. the big T tryin somthin new?? Comeonlah, what do we need this for? Btw, in bolehland, many pickups are bought by ppl who want to show they have something large, in compensation for ‘the naturally small endowment’ hehehehehe. This truck is a waste of time.

• mitlanevo (Member) on Apr 14, 2008 at 12:41 pm

knight_templar, I don’t agree with that.

Not all truck owners here bought their rides just to show off.

• the stik (Member) on Apr 14, 2008 at 12:52 pm

yelaa knight tempe.. dun say like dat aa.. my pakcik got a new hilux, sgt berguna: angkat barang pindah rumah, angkat ice cube besar from pasar, angkat motor rosak, angkat sampah bnyak.. very very useful.. not just ‘angkat bakul’, if u understand aaa k.. but i do met 1 hilux kat bd baru nilai fitted with maybe 19″ or 20″ rims, well dat is show-off aaa…

• carfanz (Member) on Apr 14, 2008 at 1:14 pm

although it sounds impressive, but its not really safe to drive.The current Hilux we have in Malaysia is kinda expensive as compare to other pick up, the brake distance is worst than expected.. even the brake pads wears from time to time.Its not stable and the ride is bumpy as well. I have drove the Triton and Hilux… Sorry to say Triton really outperforms the Hilux. LAST BUT NOT LEAST WHEN WILL EPS (ELECTRIC POWER STEERING) SYSTEM WOULD BE INTRODUCE TO PICK UP TRUCKS ?

• fighter_B2500 (Member) on Apr 14, 2008 at 1:37 pm

althought a lot of complain on the underpower 2.5l Hilux engine and their poor stability during hard connering compare to the others pick-up, Hilux is very popular in malaysia…their durabality and toughtnest…no wonder 2nd hand price for hilux is higher compare to others,..btw pick-up truck is fun!!! multipurpose..thats y i buy one hehe

• bavarian (Member) on Apr 14, 2008 at 4:06 pm

0-100 10.5 seconds
    better than certain sedans/hatchbacks in our car market

• hamster (Member) on Apr 14, 2008 at 4:58 pm

Dont like trucks period

• Akazamabamaboo (Member) on Apr 14, 2008 at 6:34 pm

Surprisingly no one has yet to say anything about the 194 horses lurking beneath the hood…

• mystvearn (Member) on Apr 14, 2008 at 7:37 pm

I bet that most ppl buying the car over here (in UK) will not use all of its picukup truck potential.

• IsaacVky (Member) on Apr 14, 2008 at 8:22 pm

Hilux most useless thing

• aksMs (Member) on Apr 14, 2008 at 8:58 pm

mystvearn, you’re living in UK?

• sxe10r (Member) on Apr 14, 2008 at 9:54 pm

cool ~ 194 hp ?? y in UK only ?? malaysia also affort to buy it even sell 120k ~

• szw (Member) on Apr 14, 2008 at 10:55 pm

the wheel looks so small…

• king (Member) on Apr 15, 2008 at 12:06 am

the tiny wheel and tyre combo reminds me of a supermarket trolley’s tiny wheel…

• Porkbutcher (Member) on Apr 15, 2008 at 1:50 am

Wow, Toyota wants to maximize its Hilux potential after the Indestructible car made famous by Jeremy Clarkson. Haha..nice timing.

• boleh (Member) on Apr 15, 2008 at 7:25 am

194 bhp Hilux is nothing..

Australia has the Hilux TRD : http://www.trd.com.au/TRD/?WT.ac=Tab1TRDHILUX#main/vehicles/trdhilux

4.0 V6 Supercharged, 225 KW ( 290 bhp )

• carfanz (Member) on Apr 15, 2008 at 9:54 am

WONDER WHENS THE NEW MODEL WOULD BE COMING

• ur not a man (Member) on Apr 15, 2008 at 10:40 am

Saying i don’t like trucks is like i don’t like kancils or wiras. If you have the$$$ it doesn’t matter where you spend it on. Pretentious? Well, i think people with those evolution or mitsubishi protons out there deserve more. As to comfort and performance, it depends on your requirements. I drive a turbocharged european sedan to work everyday, and i still prefer using my pickup at night. Yes it is a 2.5L Hilux and yes it has more than enough power to smoke any tritons out there.
    Fyi, 190hp is nothing compared to 210 that you can get easily in Thailand. I’ve driven one (Fortuner) in Thailand that can even outrun a Civic SIR. They are being modest with the 0-100. It should be at least 9 sec, flat. The one i drove, 8 point something, i forgot, it was 2 years ago.

• boleh (Member) on Apr 15, 2008 at 11:56 am

Test input

• carsut (Member) on Apr 15, 2008 at 12:21 pm

may be this guys will be a “Hot sell” in our neighbour country.. here, i think not so many ppl like to own a pickup truck, unless he/she is a contractor or something to do with this kind of job..jz my 2 cen

• chee89 (Member) on Apr 15, 2008 at 5:49 pm

actually, people in Sarawak here prefer Pickup trucks.
    Fun and more compatible with the terrain as our roads are bumpy and when traveling long distances, they are very hilly and windy roads, so the pickup is best car here.

• king (Member) on Apr 16, 2008 at 12:23 am

pickups with high performance engines and rubbish handling is just that…rubbish. just like a kancil with turbo can outrun a satria gti in a straight road…so what? next thing u know some ppl will start modifying and adding turbos for their commercial vans and school bus.

if you want performance….get a real performance car…otherwise get a life…just my 2 cents

• raybrig85 (Member) on Apr 17, 2008 at 12:23 am

i wish i can buy ford f150 svt lightning then i can smoke those triton,hilux trd all the way n other pickup…alwiz b my all time fav pickup…

• kington (Member) on Apr 17, 2008 at 8:53 am

Put simply, this is a topic where pick up lovers would sing praises about their choice of transportation. I’m a sedan\notchback lover but objectively, every different type of vehicle we have must be evaluated based on their purpose in life.

Pick ups would sound lame and unreasonable to others but those who have fond memories of making use of its flexibility, space and toughness would find it hard to resist one. Yes, the ride is slightly short of comfortable if your rear passengers are more familiar with the comfort levels of a sedan but trust me, i’ve seen a big family with almost every type of pick up that’s on sale here.

On the market front, the Triton is currently the best we’ve seen with decent performance, economy and handling. The design is somewhat fresher than the others while the Hilux will continue to sell because of its legendary toughness and bold looks.

For those who think that these trucks aren’t fun, trust me, i’ve seen someone drifting in a black Hilux.

• ur not a man (Member) on Apr 18, 2008 at 12:36 pm

Handling limits are defined by the driver only, unless you are really trained to do so. I’ve had friends in turbo bricks, volvo 240 turbo with stock suspension (but with upgraded donuts) can set a blistering track time compared to an upgraded one. So rubbish, i urge you to think again. Trucks with big output tend to have uprated suspension. I kid you not when I’ve seen and tried trucks with upgraded suspension that can maintain drifts better than sports sedans. The only difference is, it is more difficult to catch a drifting back and also the louder sound of big wheels rubbing against the asphalt.
    Yeah, we would love to see turbocharged buses around. I would be glad to send my kids to school using their services. Imagine school buses that no longer hog the freeway and hilly terrains. Lorries? Yeah, some are turbocharged, with turbines as big as our skull, but fuel economy rules the day.
    I am not saying truck rules, in fact, i sweat like a giant marshmellow whenever i take my truck up Genting, but trust me, when you see those bemused look on other driver’s face, it it freaking worth it to tune the bejesus out of the D-4D.