Turbodiesel Impreza and Forester for Paris 2008

Subaru Impreza Diesel

Subaru’s new 2.0 litre boxer turbodiesel engine has been slotted into the Impreza hatchback and the Forester SUV. Both cars will be displayed at the 2008 Paris Motor Show, with the engine mated to a 6-speed manual gearbox.

The turbodiesel engine is tuned to produce 147 PS in the Forester and 150 PS in the Impreza, both at 3,600rpm. Peak torque for both states of tune is rated at 350Nm at a low 1,800rpm. This should allow Subaru to make headway in the European markets as they’re all diesel-crazy over there.

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• redwings (Member) on Sep 08, 2008 at 9:50 am

great for those die hard fan of subaru….
    any test drive on recent launched subaru in M’sia? ..

• redwings (Member) on Sep 08, 2008 at 9:51 am

great for those die hard fan of subaru….
    any test drive by Paul on recent launched subaru in M’sia? ..

• REX (Member) on Sep 08, 2008 at 10:05 am

Upgrade our diesel to Euro 4 and bring in the diesel cars…superior diesel engine is far better than any hybrid technology

• LittleFire85 (Member) on Sep 08, 2008 at 11:19 am

This subaru new diesel engine got a lot of great reviews… I want the new subaru forester with this engine.

From what i found out that this engine is quite! but the problem now for subaru is the manual gear ratio.

Anyway for those ppl who think hybrid is better, think again.. The autocar asean did a test in Singapore, and found out that VW bluemotion diesel is more better then civic hybrid!

• jamsbong (Member) on Sep 08, 2008 at 1:39 pm

I won’t leave hybrid out of picture as they are very efficient compared with petrol. the best solution is to have a hybrid diesel, but that costs too much to make.

I have not seen the autocar review but if it is distance per dollar, the diesel will win hands down as diesel is cheaper in Asia. However, if you compare the CO2 emissions then diesel can be higher. This is because diesel has more carbon molecules than petrol.

I love diesel engines, always torquey and cheap on fuel. Never driven a hybrid before as I am not that green.

• badrul987 (Member) on Sep 08, 2008 at 1:56 pm

2.0 turbo diesel seems flat 4 may intersting but fringed from as tested the subaru 2.5 sti flat 4 n evoX 2.0. Diesel in malaysia may still not achieve the required standard for it. for trucks n lorry it may be but for for TDi VW buemotions or other performance turbo diesel.

Any comment from malaysian diesel chemist?

• mitlanevo (Member) on Sep 08, 2008 at 5:32 pm

our malaysian diesel is a DISASTER for high end diesel vehicles….

• tikus (Member) on Sep 08, 2008 at 6:55 pm

Why so serius? This is boleh land mah, we all go slow. We all use all out dated technology mah, such as diesel, G system and internet broadband still 1MB,peolpe using 10mb and above and our TM is very proud with 512k to 1MB speed.

• tikus (Member) on Sep 08, 2008 at 6:59 pm

Later concert also ban……Back to stone age or forever in time.51 no change.

• tikus (Member) on Sep 08, 2008 at 7:01 pm

Protong still proud of more then 10 yr old Perdana ,Waja.

• lanminardi (Member) on Sep 08, 2008 at 8:21 pm

i would rather go for the old subaru impreza…or else take up the Mitsubishi Evolution X …way more power and grips !!!

• I my (Member) on Sep 09, 2008 at 10:36 am

so will we see TDI power in WRC???

• BanyakMasukWorkshop (Member) on Sep 09, 2008 at 12:34 pm

jamsbong, sorry to have to point this out to you, but the current crop of eco diesels sold in europe are also greener than the best hybrid on the market today, which is the toyota prius, with lower CO2 levels.

• ALPINA BMW (Member) on Sep 11, 2008 at 7:55 pm

finally, a diesel subaru, now a diesel sti?