New Blaupunkt TravelPilot features video GPS!

Blaupunkt TravelPilot

Now this is one really high-end GPS portable navigation system. The new Blaupunkt TravelPilot 500 and 700 actually has a map mode that displays a video feed captured from an integrated camera and superimposes the navigation directional arrows onto it!

This gives you a better idea of where exactly to make your turning, assuming the map data matches the road layout precisely and things don’t change often. The device can also detect speed limit signage and display the current speed limit on the screen to remind you of how fast you can go legally on the current stretch of road.

When you’re not on the move, it can even function as a DVB-T television, or playback DivX videos or any other formats such as MPEG2, Quicktime, WMV, and even audio files ranging from AAC to WMA and nearly everything in between!

Apparently the 700 model also has an email client and a web browser to go together wit hits Wifi support. Truly madness, so much packed into one device!

Look after the jump for a video of the TravelPilot in action.

VIDEO: Blaupunkt TravelPilot 500 & 700

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• twom (Member) on Oct 23, 2008 at 11:14 pm

Woah. Cool device. Wonder when this device will be reached to Malaysia.

• e-nabilll (Member) on Oct 23, 2008 at 11:39 pm

snatch thiefs are waiting patiently!

• csv (Member) on Oct 24, 2008 at 12:51 am

cool!

but berapa satu ah? abang, saya takut ada orang curi!

1k-2k? or even 4k?

• charles27 (Member) on Oct 24, 2008 at 5:13 am

wa.. very canggih leh..
    my garmin cannot fight wiht this one laaa.

• droll (Member) on Oct 24, 2008 at 9:13 am

errrrrr how is this useful when u’re driving? look at the screen while driving? isn’t that dangerous?

• car_craze (Member) on Oct 24, 2008 at 11:08 am

Droll –

where have you been? GPS have been around for ages and widely used in many parts of the world already. It is useful for urban ares where your driving speeds are lower. If you are on the highway, just look at the signboards!

• Zuwairi (Member) on Oct 24, 2008 at 11:12 am

droll, go and try using gps…then you will know how useful it is ;-)

• chee89 (Member) on Oct 24, 2008 at 11:31 am

man.. my kancil definitely needs one of this

• droll (Member) on Oct 24, 2008 at 2:30 pm

car_craze – true, but i still disagree. in urban areas like downtown KL or Singapore, people tend to drive at 50-70km/h and taking your eyes off the road for brief moments at these speeds can still be dangerous.

60km/h head on impact with a child can be life threatening.

whenever i use GPS devices, i always rely on the voice prompts. the map visuals on the device are useless to me. :)

anyway, just gotta be careful whenever you take your eyes off – GPS or not.

• ALPINA BMW (Member) on Oct 24, 2008 at 6:34 pm

is it as good as the tomtom

• IsaacVky (Member) on Oct 24, 2008 at 7:04 pm

Bosch invent for life!

Now, the japaniiii would try to copy them.

• szw (Member) on Oct 24, 2008 at 7:39 pm

nice…

• ALPINA BMW (Member) on Oct 24, 2008 at 7:49 pm

IsaacVky said,

October 24, 2008 @ 7:04 pm

Bosch invent for life!

Now, the japaniiii would try to copy them.
    ——————————————–
    japan’s gps system is actually the world’s best

• droll (Member) on Oct 24, 2008 at 11:13 pm

yes, japanese GPS best! you can even enter a phone number and it will lookup the location for you!

• mystvearn (Member) on Oct 25, 2008 at 12:43 am

vey nice device, now wait malaysia maps are placed in there…that will take longer time

• ALPINA BMW (Member) on Oct 25, 2008 at 10:38 am

droll said,

October 24, 2008 @ 11:13 pm

yes, japanese GPS best! you can even enter a phone number and it will lookup the location for you!
    —————————————————————
    its 3d plus it even has the billboards ad on it

• Xx- Ferrari -xX (Member) on Oct 25, 2008 at 4:30 pm

yeah…. but checkout the latest navi system by german automaker, Mercedes-Benz !!!! , though it doest have billboard add and some stuff, but definitely io find it better than the one from jap[anese !!!

• S9E (Member) on Oct 25, 2008 at 9:14 pm

I saw it has speed trap detector… how nice. can floor the padal on the plus highway and not worry about getting saman.

• hamster (Member) on Oct 26, 2008 at 10:19 am

Tom Tom Bak?… he he he

• ALPINA BMW (Member) on Oct 26, 2008 at 3:58 pm

S9E said,

October 25, 2008 @ 9:14 pm

I saw it has speed trap detector… how nice. can floor the padal on the plus highway and not worry about getting saman.
    ——————————————————-
    no, get that speed trap jammer, even better

• RizalHardy (Member) on Oct 26, 2008 at 4:03 pm

this surely will help me a lot… cant forget last week try to find my fren wedding in bandar baru bangi… got lost until went through kajangand finally found it…because of wrong lane take after some turns…lol…BTW im from ipoh and using gps from gopher…hehe….

• edwindudley2003 (Member) on Nov 21, 2008 at 6:41 pm

Paul, U know anywhere where i can get this gps device?