2010 Nissan 370Z: Official Details and Photos

Nissan 370Z

Nissan’s new 2009 370Z Coupe has arrived, having being just unveiled at the LA Auto Show last week, though we’ve already previously seen leaked product shots on the net before the show.

They’ve intentionally given the new Z a more retro-ish styling that they say pays homage to the original 240Z from the 70s, though there’s nothing retro about that odd headlamp design (that debuted on the new Maxima) that comes with a matching taillamp design. Unlike other cars which seem to grow larger with each generation, the new Nissan 370Z is actually smaller than the Nissan 350Z.

The new car’s wheelbase is a whole 99mm shorter than the 350Z – 2550mm versus 2649mm and its also shorter by about 2.7 inches and lower by 0.3 inches. However it’s wider by 1.3 inches and the rear track also increases by 2.2 inches.

Nissan 370Z

The chassis has also been strengthened, with the front torsion rigidity up by 30% and rear torsion rigidity up by 22%. Rear body vertical bending rigidity is also up by 30%. A new front suspension crade reduces front body lateral bending, while an underbody V bar reduces rear lateral bending. Also, don’t forget the new radiator housing which uses carbon fiber composite.

More aluminium has been used on the 370Z than ever on a Z car before this – for the first time the Z car has aluminum door panels, along with an all-aluminum hood and an aluminium hatch. The front double wishbones also use aluminium and are lighter, while the 4-link rear supension is also stiffer and lighter with the cradle now made of a single piece with no welding.

Nissan 370Z

The engine is the VQ37VHR that debuted in the Infiniti G37 with 332 horses at 7,000rpm and 366Nm of torque at 5,200rpm, but what’s interesting is the transmissions that are mated to this motor. The automatic choice has 7 cogs, a quick lock-up function, automatic throttle blipping on downshifts, and paddle shifts for a closer resemblance to what a manual feels. In manual mode, a quick-shifting mode is activated allowing 0.5 second shifts.

The manual option is a 6-speed manual with what Nissan calls a “SynchroRev Match” feature (it’s an option with the Sport Package, not standard), which automatically rev-matches your engine speed for downshifts. You still operate the clutch and the gear lever normally, its just that the transmission automatically blips and rev-matches for the downshift. Yes, heel and toe is no longer necessary, though you can still do it yourself if you want to by disabling the SynchroRev Match feature.

Nissan 370Z

There are also some differences with the pedals. For one, the aluminium pedals use a new rubber insert material for better grip. The accelerator pedal is now floor mounted like BMWs or the new Honda Civic, while the brake pedal now has a new variable ratio design for easier operation.

The standard wheels are 18 inchers with Yokohama Advan Sport 225/50R18 tyres at the front and a wider 245/45R18 size at the rear. Optional are 19 inch RAYS forged aluminium-alloy wheels wrapped with Bridgestone Potenza RE050A rubber in 245/40R19 and 275/35R19 sizes for the front and rear respectively.

The roadster model will debut sometime in 2009 for the 2010 model year. Look after the jump for a hi-res photo gallery of the new 2009 Nissan 370Z.

PHOTO GALLERY: 2010 Nissan 370Z
Click thumbnails to view high resolution photo

[cpg_album:160]

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• autojohndoe (Member) on Nov 24, 2008 at 7:51 am

the headlamp is a bit funny

• 4G63T DSM (Member) on Nov 24, 2008 at 8:01 am

So its smaller and stronger.

But is it lighter? The old one, admitedly, is a little porky. This is what the 350 should have been in the first place.

But I still feel that nissan has lost the plot with the Z. Its big, complicated, heavy and expensive (relatively). Long gone is the lightweight, simple and afordable sportcar in the spirit of the original 240Z.

• drgn86 (Member) on Nov 24, 2008 at 8:02 am

features are very impressive, but i don’t get the headlamp and taillamp designs though, looks radical to me instead of retro, looks unfinished… would be better if the designs were ‘completed’, i.e. lamps could be ‘filled’ at the start of the sharp edges

• abtm (Member) on Nov 24, 2008 at 8:08 am

this is quite expensive and unpractical as a daily car, what we really want is a new Sylvia please…

• mytouch (Member) on Nov 24, 2008 at 8:37 am

This car is bit ugly compared to previous 350Z,especially the headlamp,tail lamp,& the ugliest part would be the door knob,doesnt give the feel that it match the car at all,juz my 2 sen larr…

• mytouch (Member) on Nov 24, 2008 at 8:39 am

Is this car design by the same person who designed the new Subaru?…keke…

• kei9 (Member) on Nov 24, 2008 at 9:00 am

Pocket Rocket. I’ve got no quibbles about the design. It have the zen like appeal to it. But the handles are way overdone.

• tikus (Member) on Nov 24, 2008 at 9:12 am

350z looks better ! Paul what is VVEL on the the engine cover? cVTC any differnce?

• raptorclans (Member) on Nov 24, 2008 at 9:25 am

This car is beautiful… the more I see it the more I like it…
    I love it a lot in Need for Speed Undercover hehe =)

• Jaybond (Member) on Nov 24, 2008 at 10:40 am

The lamps definitely will take some to get used to. But performance wise, should be quite a good improvement.

• 4G63T DSM (Member) on Nov 24, 2008 at 10:41 am

VVEL is nissan’s version of BMW’s Valvetronic.

The engine doensn’t need a throttle valve to operate (or control airflow). BMW’s system will has a throttle valve but defaults to full open once the engine is running. Not quite sure if nissan’s VVEL is the same or they go about without the throttle valve alltogether.

Supposely it allows for much better breathing efficency (recuding pumping losses) and reduction in emmisions due to individually controlling air intake at each cyc instead of from the throttle valve.

• szw (Member) on Nov 24, 2008 at 11:21 am

its out on nfs

• BanyakMasukWorkshop (Member) on Nov 24, 2008 at 11:27 am

i find myself liking it more also.. it reminds me very much of the original “Z” cars of old. theres more of a retro feel to it.

• red7 (Member) on Nov 24, 2008 at 1:51 pm

not a good and practical sportscar, jeremy clarakson doesnt like it too

• red7 (Member) on Nov 24, 2008 at 1:52 pm

*clarkson

• albagmane (Member) on Nov 24, 2008 at 2:00 pm

they use the BMW idea of side signal indicators… and im very sure the center dashboard where the LCD screen is located will capture a lot of dust especially the control buttons area when it arrives in Malaysia

• JejalanMknAngin (Member) on Nov 24, 2008 at 3:20 pm

when i can get this car for free hu2

• locoroco2 (Member) on Nov 24, 2008 at 3:46 pm

I love the new design, a master piece indeed, esp. the wheel design. Those who think it’s ‘ugly’, it’s time to update ur taste lol, it’s 2009 soon!

Then the complaint about ‘practicality’ of such sportcar, will a 7 seater ferrari satisfy ur need? Think.

• AlexKhoo (Member) on Nov 24, 2008 at 4:15 pm

Like the 2009 Lexus RX350, I think I kinda prefer the old 350Z looks. I’m not saying it’s an ugly car whatsoever, I’m just saying the previous one has better styling than this new model.

• jolly_idiot (Member) on Nov 24, 2008 at 4:19 pm

Recession? Everything also shrink? Budget, Food, now CAR! Metal is expensive leh.

• hafizzul (Member) on Nov 24, 2008 at 4:31 pm

Mahal Sangat La…..Tak Mampu Nak Beli…

• AlexKhoo (Member) on Nov 24, 2008 at 5:24 pm

Oh, and Paul, the difference between 2550mm and 2649mm is 99mm. Not 101mm.

• ericfoong81exe (Member) on Nov 24, 2008 at 5:39 pm

I still prefer the previous Nissan Z outlook, this new Z look like Porsche’s brother. Yet the current interior is good, especially the dash board.

• justice (Member) on Nov 24, 2008 at 5:55 pm

locoroco2 said,

November 24, 2008 @ 3:46 pm

I love the new design, a master piece indeed, esp. the wheel design. Those who think it’s ‘ugly’, it’s time to update ur taste lol, it’s 2009 soon!

Then the complaint about ‘practicality’ of such sportcar, will a 7 seater ferrari satisfy ur need? Think.
    ———————————————————–
    You’re a conformist, aren’t you? Its unfortunate that not everyone has the same kind of appreciation that you have. No beefs on the overall design, just those weird looking headlamps and taillights. I think this 370Z was designed for female market. No offense meant, please girls. Seriously, I detected some feminine appeal on this Z.

red7 said,

November 24, 2008 @ 1:51 pm

not a good and practical sportscar, jeremy clarakson doesnt like it too
    ———————————————————
    Heheheh, strictly and generally, a sports car has never been practical. So Jeremy C. doesn’t like it, but I hope you’re not easily taken by his words. Ask him if he likes the car that you’re owning presently. The only thing that I agree with that bloc is that, we hate car manufacturers who think of nothing but make profit with lesser value for consumers.

• justice (Member) on Nov 24, 2008 at 5:59 pm

ericfoong81exe said,

November 24, 2008 @ 5:39 pm

I still prefer the previous Nissan Z outlook, this new Z look like Porsche’s brother. Yet the current interior is good, especially the dash board.
    ———————————————————–
    totally dude. the exact thoughts of mine.you took the words right out off my mouth.i think its the ‘organic’ curves that relates it to Porsche.

• mitlanevo (Member) on Nov 24, 2008 at 6:34 pm

beginning to love this car….

but the “old” 350Z is still doing great…..

• red7 (Member) on Nov 24, 2008 at 6:36 pm

good points justice

cheers~

• dr_carz (Member) on Nov 24, 2008 at 7:09 pm

i dig the dashboard too

BEAUTIFUL

• hyundai (Member) on Nov 24, 2008 at 7:25 pm

It is going to compete with the Cayman… A convertible version will be coming to fight the Boxster… No wonder Porsche dislike Nissan so much… Even a GTR sedan is going to fight the Panamera… Good show is coming soon between German and Japanese…

• n8cky (Member) on Nov 24, 2008 at 7:59 pm

looks like the 370 n the 350 were arranged the other way to launch.

• mystvearn (Member) on Nov 24, 2008 at 9:02 pm

car looks more like a porche design, I like the old look better, but still cannot beat the gt-r terms of looks

• csv (Member) on Nov 24, 2008 at 9:04 pm

my dad used to owned the 240Z back in the 80s. those were the good times.

he even drove it to send my mom to give birth to my brother!

good times.

but with the rapid shift in technology, alot of cars has lost their sense of direction.

i won’t say this car is bad, but perhaps it’s losing the original idea of what a Fairlady Z is supposed to be…

• torque (Member) on Nov 25, 2008 at 11:04 am

I loved the Z’s!! The previous one is much more ‘muscular’ in my book. This seriously has the old 240Z DNA on it especially if you look from the side. It’s not that bad looking. The new head/rear lights design is something need to get used to. It may grow on you and may not! I still think that this car interior is much better built than the previous one (from the picture la). I also can’t shake it from my head that the new door handle seems a bit awkward! Well, one thing we can be sure of is it’s performance and handling is sure to be miles better than the previous one.

Btw, justice…good point and a fair one I must say. Agree with the practicality thing!

• hidrogentank (Member) on Nov 25, 2008 at 2:35 pm

weird but wonderful.looks like it wants to gobble up every bit of tarmac in front of it.

• neurra (Member) on Nov 26, 2008 at 2:51 am

i think “front looks like the back” should apply to this car too.. :D

• ALPINA Burkard Bovensiepen GMBH + Co. KG (Member) on Nov 26, 2008 at 6:31 pm

350z was better

• sportscars are never practical…want to fetch your mother-in-law….get a van

• 350z Owner on Jun 27, 2010 at 1:03 am

The exterior design is a bit ‘weird’ to me. It’s nice but somehow it look ‘weird’. But…i have to admit that the interior is FAR more better,nice and sophisticated than my 350z. Had a chance to seat in this 370z at 1 Utama. I wish my 350z has the interior like this!!!