2009 BMW 7-Series Exterior & Interior Design

BMW 750Li

Adrian Van Hooydonk is Chris Bangle’s successor at BMW as the brand’s design chief (Bangle has moved up to become the group’s design chief), and in the video you find after the jump he explains some of the design elements of the F01 7-Series. Still don’t get the oversized front grille, but oh well.

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• csv (Member) on Dec 04, 2008 at 12:19 am

i don’t get the hog nose grille too…..you’re not alone paul.

• e-nabilll (Member) on Dec 04, 2008 at 12:47 am

its to create a new identity….new personality…

• basementJaXX (Member) on Dec 04, 2008 at 1:05 am

at first i did not like the hog nose at all..but eventually the whole design kinda grew on me, just like any new bmw’s..saw the shootouts in latest Top Gear issue,it looked fabulous next to the merc s-class and jag xj..IMO the hog nose goes well with the CS concept bumper style..not something gaping like this.

• clover leaf (Member) on Dec 04, 2008 at 1:24 am

during 2001 this dutchman was the one who penned the ugly E65 7series, but
    the yankee became the scapegoat for critics due to his higher portfolio.

• michly (Member) on Dec 04, 2008 at 8:02 am

seriously.. i dont see any extra from this car. nothing extraordinary. in fact i think its a bit uglier than the current 7 series.

Flagship somemore, Sportyness … where ?? which part ????

• adam123 (Member) on Dec 04, 2008 at 1:29 pm

taillights on trunk lid don’t seem to fit with main tallights.

• kei9 (Member) on Dec 04, 2008 at 2:03 pm

it does have high upper lips. Swollen or some kind.

Reminds me of the ugly SUv they’ve recently came up with. But heck, it looks better than previously before

• Xx- Ferrari -xX (Member) on Dec 04, 2008 at 4:09 pm

Fantastic !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

• painsama (Member) on Dec 04, 2008 at 5:03 pm

Looks like Volvo.

• mystvearn (Member) on Dec 04, 2008 at 7:15 pm

Looks like a volvo, more executive, but then also loos as confused as it can be. For once I think BMW copied gen2 lights there

• Mini_Mack (Member) on Dec 04, 2008 at 8:28 pm

waaa…lobang idong banyak besar! korek syok wooo….ish ish ish…bmw bmw…

• charles27 (Member) on Dec 05, 2008 at 3:25 am

haiyo.. the real looks like lexus now laaa….
    the front is nothing special :( ….

get a lexus 460 better laa.. akakakaka

• sleme (Member) on Dec 05, 2008 at 9:33 am

The Bangle School of Thought. The designer must explain to you that, ‘this is the reason the car looks elegant, sporty bla..bla..bla..’ Beautifully designed cars speaks for itself. Dont need to explain that a small strip of chrome makes the car look elegant. (Competition, how many times did Adrian mention the words, ‘elegant’ and ‘sporty’)

Adrian, I am sure Mercedes will be grateful to you and your boss Bangle for the new 7. The 7 used to the be the pinnacle of designing. The exterior is far from elegant. Still big and fat as the previous Bangle 7. I wish they would look at the e38 7 (the Pierce Brosnan Bond model) which till today looks sleek, taut, ‘sporty’ and ‘elegant’, without the need for the designer to explain it.

• ALPINA Burkard Bovensiepen GMBH + Co. KG (Member) on Dec 05, 2008 at 11:42 am

its brilliant, not like that stupid overpriced s-klasse

• layman (Member) on Dec 05, 2008 at 12:14 pm

Like it or not, ugly or not, korek syok or not, need to explain or not, in near future, many other car manufacturer will steal this design. E60 design and i-drive anybody?

• --pininfarina-- (Member) on Dec 05, 2008 at 9:08 pm

Love this all-new BMW 7-Series. They made Mercedes’ S-Klasse looks like nothing. What a piece of crap. What Adrian Van Hooydonk and Chris Bangle’s team had done to this BMW is a big success. The most preppiest BMW ever. Back in 2001, when BMW introduced the all-new BMW 7-Series, they made a new invention that other car makers followed, the ‘strap on-boot’. It totally looks ugly, but others followed. So do their BMW X5. What Chris Bangle and his team had done is totally genius and out of mind. At first glance, I hate that humongous nose grille, but after that I started to accept it and it appears beautiful to me.

• ALPINA Burkard Bovensiepen GMBH + Co. KG (Member) on Dec 08, 2008 at 8:51 pm

50 years later, this would become a classic

• glorifiedmechanic (Member) on Dec 09, 2008 at 5:52 pm

exactly the same negative comments when that yankee 1st came out with his designs 10 years ago….just wait a couple of years…