W212 Mercedes-Benz E-Class shots leaked online!

W212 E-Class

Three low-resolution official photos of next year’s 2010 Mercedes-Benz E-Class have been leaked out onto the internet. The frontal shot of the W212 E-Class reveals a design that is more of an evolution of the W211 Facelift when you look at the oversized pointy shield grille and the shape of the front bumper, but the headlamps have departed from the ‘classic’ E-Class round shape and are now more like the Lexus GS. Also new are daylight running lights in the form of a horizontal strip of LEDs.

W212 E-Class

The side profile features a sleek character line and it slopes upwards from the front to the back. There is a very clear family resemblance with this new side profile and that of the current generation S-Class and the W204 C-Class.

W212 E-Class

The rear end is just bad. It kinda looks like someone took the taillamps of the B-Class and slapped it onto the butt of a Nissan Sylphy. Of course, this style of tail lamps aren’t exactly new on the E-Class. The W210 had it and while the W211 sedan changed to a rather nice design that flanked the bootlid nicely, the W211 stationwagon kept the W210-style of tail lamps. Now it’s back on the W212 sedan again! But who knows, it may look better in real life. The integrated tailpipes are a nice touch though.

Expect a full reveal of the W212 E-Class at the 2009 Geneva Motor Show.

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• MyviKiller (Member) on Dec 10, 2008 at 3:33 pm

Looks old fashioned, but pictures won’t tell a million words.

• l3ryan (Member) on Dec 10, 2008 at 3:37 pm

noooo it looks… not that nice @@”

the first pic with it colored in beige looks weird, but it gets better if spec with bolder colour like the 2nd pic with it in the dark maroon.

its arse is just ridiculous tho, vios/city-alike high arse and sqaure duo pipes just does not do in a luxury car like the E class.

• autojohndoe (Member) on Dec 10, 2008 at 3:58 pm

nice… but sadly, not for me…

• zzzxtreme (Member) on Dec 10, 2008 at 4:07 pm

a beautiful hybrid of accord and camry! that brown is absolutely beautiful

• hans (Member) on Dec 10, 2008 at 4:21 pm

i dont like its back…

• moha774 (Member) on Dec 10, 2008 at 4:30 pm

The rear looks like japanese car

• MAJUPERAK (Member) on Dec 10, 2008 at 4:51 pm

at first glance looks like medium size S-class

• armandd (Member) on Dec 10, 2008 at 5:04 pm

the rear end is just too plain for a premium car like this!

• RM (Member) on Dec 10, 2008 at 5:56 pm

Controversial styling akin to the new Honda Accord 2008. Gone are the fluid lines and replaced by a mix and match of sorts. Its got all the styling hues of the entire MB range with strong hints of the CLS, S and C Class added to the current W211. I don’t like controversial.

• tiadaid (Member) on Dec 10, 2008 at 6:58 pm

Hmm…strong lines. Not very mercedes-like.

• mystvearn (Member) on Dec 10, 2008 at 7:14 pm

Un-merc like car, more like something which came out of Lexus. In fact it looks a little bit ugly

• ALPINA Burkard Bovensiepen GMBH + Co. KG (Member) on Dec 10, 2008 at 7:28 pm

the front looks good, only in the second picture. rear is bad, but you will live with it. this car sure can sell well

• japankiller (Member) on Dec 10, 2008 at 7:55 pm

Tail lamp look similar to Nissan Cefiro.

• cappuccino (Member) on Dec 10, 2008 at 8:15 pm

can anyone tell me….where is the mercedes assemble plant in malaysia???….which merc models r being assemble in malaysia???

besides merc….is there any other CKD factories in malaysia???….what kind of car model do they assemble???.

• juicer (Member) on Dec 10, 2008 at 8:22 pm

look better than all bmw , now bmw getting uglier , merc c class i loled.

• umo (Member) on Dec 10, 2008 at 9:47 pm

copy paste from lexus??

• David9988 (Member) on Dec 10, 2008 at 9:48 pm

the front looks more expensive then the s class. the back is annoyingly boring.

• kei9 (Member) on Dec 10, 2008 at 9:51 pm

They have gone backwards in time with the design of the rearlights i think it looks good IMHO.

• huckerz (Member) on Dec 10, 2008 at 9:54 pm

there’s Elegance looks..but the rear is damnn ugly.. like so cheap la.. haishhhh

• droll (Member) on Dec 10, 2008 at 9:58 pm

gracious! the rear looks like someone forcefully inserted a bamboo into someone’s mouth sideways!

it just looks so…….korean?!?!?!?

• layman (Member) on Dec 10, 2008 at 10:21 pm

Much better looking than current generation. Rich Ah Pek will love this car.

• Xx- Ferrari -xX (Member) on Dec 10, 2008 at 10:53 pm

The front view really looks elegance and expensive… it seriosly holds its presence…

NOW…. the rear part is totally totally UGLY…. I never expected these kinda rear design from a high class manufacturer like Mercedes-Benz !!!! Its totally looks ugly… Cheap looking rear design for luxury car …. Now, its the turn to wait for the up-coming BMW 5-Series and make the right choice for ur purchase…..

• csv (Member) on Dec 10, 2008 at 10:58 pm

thats one ugly ass.

the front is decent.

but the back is just….wrong.

and also Led daytime light. everyone copying Audi ah.

• food_fan (Member) on Dec 10, 2008 at 11:32 pm

hey all,

Recently read an international mag revealed the pix of W212 stated that the long wheelbase version r only for china market. Not for europe or UK..
    For europe and UK will have shorter wheelbase not the one that mimic the S-Class..

Maybe im wrong…

Regards

• cecibo (Member) on Dec 11, 2008 at 12:11 am

ooo yeah now it turn back into the old man car…that is fabulously ugly

• 9166 (Member) on Dec 11, 2008 at 2:44 am

Not looking very enticing for RM400k car.

• DRC (Member) on Dec 11, 2008 at 8:43 am

Ugly lah. Moving backwards. Why ‘curi idea’ (give people an impression of, may not be true) Lexus?

• jehutyz (Member) on Dec 11, 2008 at 9:04 am

I still remember the first time i saw the C-Class picture online. It’s not nice to me also but when i saw the real car then i really feel is nice. Maybe this also the same.
    Anywhere the front is ok…. but the rear hmmm… really not that impressive. Do give me an impression of current 7-Series.

• Phelix (Member) on Dec 11, 2008 at 11:42 am

yeah.. ugly benz~ i prefer current E class more than this one!!

• afkar (Member) on Dec 11, 2008 at 11:58 am

everything is nice but the butt. remove the badge and it’ll look something like next-gen camry.

• ReactiX (Member) on Dec 11, 2008 at 12:09 pm

WTH… day by day merc is getting uglier. no wonder still a taxi in some country instead of an all time luxury car…

• cd.subaru (Member) on Dec 11, 2008 at 3:29 pm

WHAT A SXXT BUMPER IT HAS… THE MERCEDES SHOULD ASK LEXUS ENGINEER ON HOW TO CONSTRUCT A SEXY AND BEAUTIFUL EXHAUST LIKE THE LS

• ALPINA Burkard Bovensiepen GMBH + Co. KG (Member) on Dec 11, 2008 at 7:40 pm

but the volvo s80, audi a6 or citroen c6

• db8 (Member) on Dec 12, 2008 at 11:15 am

now is the era when european copies japanese..

• I LOVE SABINE SCHMITZ (Member) on Dec 12, 2008 at 4:13 pm

any idiot who buys this car obviously don’t know what is a bmw 5 series

• awak (Member) on Dec 12, 2008 at 6:24 pm

rear is no mercedes

• Xx- Ferrari -xX (Member) on Dec 12, 2008 at 11:37 pm

seriously mercedes benz e-class is gettin’ worse on each series of new upcoming model…. Guys, i still love the way how 1994 merc E-class and 1999’s e-class….now its gettin’ worse afta that !!!!

• Xx- Ferrari -xX (Member) on Dec 12, 2008 at 11:39 pm

Now… Im preety sure…. Buy Volvo S80 or Audi A6 or even current Beemer 5-series instead of buyin’ this ugly Merc E-class !!!!

• Xx- Ferrari -xX (Member) on Dec 12, 2008 at 11:40 pm

Volvo seems doin great in each of its new production !!!!!
    They are far better nowadays !!!!

• torque (Member) on Dec 13, 2008 at 12:59 pm

If I would still stuborn to get a Mercedes…I prefer the C class looks compare to this one!!

• shooter (Member) on Dec 13, 2008 at 2:32 pm

somebody, please shoot the designer(s) and the guy who okay-ed the design….

• I LOVE SABINE SCHMITZ (Member) on Dec 13, 2008 at 4:26 pm

wat about chrysler 300c, saab 9-5?