Aprilia RS125 Challenge Cup and Junior Riders Cup

Aprilia Junior GP

The Aprilia RS125 Challenge Cup is a one-make motorcycle race series using race-prepared Aprilia RS125 two-stroke motorcycles. One can participate by purchasing a rental package which consists of an Aprilia RS125, a set of Pirelli SuperCorsa tires (one set per round), pit support, fuel, lubricants and fluids as well as entry fees for all five rounds. It all costs RM25,000. There is also a RM5,000 crash and damage deposit. All of this can be paid via an affordable payment plan. Riders will have to supply their own racing equipment of course, such as helmet, back protector, gloves and transport, etc. An ownership package is also available where you can instead own the racebike.

The race is divided into two categories, a Junior Riders Cup for 13 to 17 year olds and Open Class for enthusiasts aged above 18. The series will be part of the Malaysian Super Series Championship and the first round will be held on the weekend of the 11th and 12th of April 2009. at the SIC, with a total of 5 rounds, including a support race at the Malaysian Motorcycle GP in October 2009.

Aprilia Junior GP

Each round consists of 2 practice sessions, a qualifying session, and two races with a total of 12 laps. At the end of the season, two qualifying riders will be selected for a full sponsorship to participate at the “Red Bull Rookies 2009 Final Rider Selection” in Spain.

“The absence of a Regional rider development programme drives us to create this series. We need a platform for young riders within the Asia Pacific region to develop their passion, racing skills and career. We have presented this series to the various ASNs’ in the region and are tirelessly promoting for international entries to create the right environment where talent from across the region can directly compete with each other, compared and further developed,” said Moto Millia Managing Director, Razak Al Malique.

Aprilia Junior GP

He added, “Out of a maximum grid of 25 riders we have reserved 15 slots for international participants. If we succeed in getting competitors from countries such as Australia, Indonesia, Thailand, Japan, China and so on, this will be a series where top racing teams will scout for talent. The entry cost has been kept at a bare minimum and it is unlikely that we will breakeven but for us successful implementation of the series is much more critical than gearing for commercial returns.”

Moto Millia also has a Junior GP Racing Dream program using the Aprilia RS50, which is an effort to find a MotoGP rider for Malaysia. A few riders have been selected and trained over the past 2 years and from what I hear they really are quite talented. I think this is a good effort by Moto Millia, but as you can see from the figures above, going further in the motorsports world really burns alot of money (RM25,000 for a rental package is no joke) and impossible to afford for many people without some form of sponsorship. It’s no wonder there are Mat Rempits out there as it’s very expensive to go legal with racing.

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• KY (Member) on Jan 14, 2009 at 9:09 am

It’s all most awesome, except for the color of the bikes.. haih

• the stik (Member) on Jan 14, 2009 at 10:13 am

oit the color is ok what?
    similar to the toufu AE86.. heh

• unitedtas (Member) on Jan 14, 2009 at 12:22 pm

Paul said,I think this is a good effort by Moto Millia, but as you can see from the figures above, going further in the motorsports world really burns alot of money (RM25,000 for a rental package is no joke) and impossible to afford for many people without some form of sponsorship. It’s no wonder there are Mat Rempits out there as it’s very expensive to go legal with racing.

___________________________________-

That’s why mat rempits go on robbery spree. And in the process beat up hapless motorists (a few ended up 6 feet under), and recently they even brazenly beat up the police. They are not racers in the making but simply HOOLIGANS N CRIMINALS. (Could I add MURDERERS?)

“Aspiring racers can enter the novice category of kapchai races where costs are kept low. Even some m-bikes’ workshops are sponsoring these serious novices by providing race-prepared bikes on condition that any garlands won are to be displayed at the workshop.”

Therefore please don’t glorify these mat rempits in any way (some politicians see it fit to…espc those from BN). They are THE scumbags of our society. Get rid of them once n for all. They give a bad name to serious/would-be bike racers.

• Ah Boon on Oct 08, 2010 at 10:23 pm

thanks for sharing. Im considering getting an rs 125 but am worried about this sort of thing. If u dont mind, could u share more aboout the motorists getting beat up or know any links on the internet i can look at? thanks alot

• Sex is wonderful, but it's like champagne.If you're forced to have four glasses at every meal you start to fantasize about water. (Member) on Jan 14, 2009 at 1:08 pm

mat rempit with italian bikes

• arch747 (Member) on Jan 14, 2009 at 4:00 pm

Then go support the PR and let them resolve ALL the society’s menaces for you lah

• autojohndoe (Member) on Jan 14, 2009 at 4:44 pm

dont call them mat rempit… actually they proud with the title… call em BERUK JALANAN or ROAD MONKEY…

• unitedtas (Member) on Jan 14, 2009 at 8:09 pm

arch747 said,

January 14, 2009 @ 4:00 pm

Then go support the PR and let them resolve ALL the society’s menaces for you lah

I presume you’re a BN supporter n also one of the bloody asshole mother-fucker mat rempit, by the way you wrote.

Why should I even support PR for that matter? All I’m asking is why aduns/MPs from BN kept glorifying these scumbags. There have been many examples n recently one of them(a BN MP lah) said to tap these scumbags’ potential who are IT-savvy. Huh???

And to you arch747, may a group of these scumbags terrorise your parents; wife; children; siblings; girlfriends; relatives n what have you or even you yourself, then n only then do you @#!*&^% comment. May it happen soon. Keeping my fingers crossed.
    Cheers!!!

• afroiq (Member) on Jan 15, 2009 at 12:07 am

lol unitedtas..are you really that serious??

dont call me mat rempit or BN supporter or anything..but why must you say like that??

• arch747 (Member) on Jan 15, 2009 at 9:14 am

by the way i wrote i can b anyone, in fact i can be yr mama too.

• unitedtas (Member) on Jan 15, 2009 at 11:29 am

afroiq said,

January 15, 2009 @ 12:07 am

lol unitedtas..are you really that serious??

dont call me mat rempit or BN supporter or anything..but why must you say like that??

Obviously you haven’t had any direct encounters with those scumbags. Don’t you read the papers what these scumbags are all about?

There are as many people against them as there are against AP extension!

• unitedtas (Member) on Jan 15, 2009 at 11:34 am

arch747 said,

January 15, 2009 @ 9:14 am

by the way i wrote i can b anyone, in fact i can be yr mama too.

Hey, my mom’s not IT-savvy. So it definitely can’t be her.

But it could be your’s. If it is, good for you n her. May those scumbags catch up with her SOON! And I mean REAL SOON!

• Sex is wonderful, but it's like champagne.If you're forced to have four glasses at every meal you start to fantasize about water. (Member) on Jan 15, 2009 at 1:23 pm

if want rempit, rempit in harley davidsons

• autojohndoe (Member) on Jan 15, 2009 at 5:23 pm

is it TAX that cause superbike price really high?

we dont even have national superbike manufacturer… i really want one..

• Sex is wonderful, but it's like champagne.If you're forced to have four glasses at every meal you start to fantasize about water. (Member) on Jan 16, 2009 at 10:54 am

#
    autojohndoe said,

January 15, 2009 @ 5:23 pm

is it TAX that cause superbike price really high?

we dont even have national superbike manufacturer… i really want one..

——————————-
    we got naza bikes rite, naza malaysian ma….really obscene, naza having a monopoly of all the bikes and cars in malaysia

• mitlanevo (Member) on Jan 17, 2009 at 8:57 pm

yes, but at least Naza is “BRAVE” enough to bring in some really cool rides (especially Euro/Jap marques) before anyone else…….

• Sex is wonderful, but it's like champagne.If you're forced to have four glasses at every meal you start to fantasize about water. (Member) on Jan 17, 2009 at 11:20 pm

mitlanevo said,

January 17, 2009 @ 8:57 pm

yes, but at least Naza is “BRAVE” enough to bring in some really cool rides (especially Euro/Jap marques) before anyone else…….
    ————————————-
    no, ppl want bring in, but G only let naza bring in