New Tata PR1MA Concept designed by Pininfarina

Tata Prima
Tata Prima

The Tata Prima is the first collaboration between Tata and Italian company Pininfarina and is based on the Tata Indigo platform stretched to a 2,700mm wheelbase. It kinda looks somewhat like a Nissan Sylphy actually, and you can see some latest design “trends” incorporated there although some can be considered overkill – it has TWO sets of daytime running lights – you get one strip on each side the bumper and another set integrated into the headlamps. I feel Tata should really reconsider a stronger corporate grille for its car. The front end that ended up on this one kinda makes it look like a smart forfour when viewed head-on. A prominent and good-looking corporate grille is really important. Hyundai has found a new one in their i-series of cars, albeit somewhat shamelessly ripped off from the pre-facelift current generation Honda Civic, while Kia has its new H-grille design penned by Peter Schreyer. Look after the jump for a gallery of the Tata PR1MA Concept.

[zenphotopress number=99 album=157]

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• mct (Member) on Mar 06, 2009 at 12:22 pm

the front of the car remind me latest gen of mazda 3

• better car on Mar 06, 2009 at 2:35 pm

the ground clearance looks so high. perhaps suitable for kl floods :P

• nazri on Mar 06, 2009 at 3:02 pm

nice model designed by Pininfarina

• sonGoten (Member) on Mar 06, 2009 at 3:06 pm

Nice rear..

• maibatsu_thunder (Member) on Mar 06, 2009 at 3:52 pm

I'd prefer a lower beltline. Did Pininfarina tweak the Nano Europa? It looks really nice now. Nothing much to not like now.

• michly on Mar 06, 2009 at 4:02 pm

rear like Mazda , front like Lancer. / maserati

• hazxkh on Mar 06, 2009 at 4:12 pm

Tata is comfort like toto….

this is the car made from lorry manufacture..

wake up p1… dah pagi ni

• pergh…even tata is taking giant leap towards modern/advance looking vehicle. wish that malaysian automakers makes superb design with good quality products and less politics.

• BanyakMasukWorkshop on Mar 06, 2009 at 4:17 pm

[quote comment="217886"]Tata is comfort like toto….

this is the car made from lorry manufacture..

wake up p1… dah pagi ni[/quote]

whats a toto?

• nazri on Mar 06, 2009 at 4:47 pm

sadly Pininfarina had die in motorcycle accident… :(

is this his last design??

http://paultan.org/archives/2008/08/07/pininfarin…

• farghmee on Mar 06, 2009 at 5:30 pm

Toto = comforter

a sheet of thick blanket usually found in the bedroom 8)

• BanyakMasukWorkshop on Mar 06, 2009 at 5:59 pm

[quote comment="217908"]Toto = comforter

a sheet of thick blanket usually found in the bedroom 8)[/quote]

thanks man.. i really had no idea what a toto is.. i only know toto, the rock band ;)

• fastcx (Member) on Mar 06, 2009 at 6:28 pm

[quote comment="217925"][quote comment="217908"]Toto = comforter

thanks man.. i really had no idea what a toto is.. i only know toto, the rock band ;)[/quote]

i only know toto, buy number :P

• micheal on Mar 06, 2009 at 6:40 pm

tata is a senior company compared to p1, they shud have enuuf money to support their rnd. the rear remind me of CLS350.

front like mazda cx7

• micheal on Mar 06, 2009 at 6:41 pm

[quote comment="217940"][quote comment="217925"][quote comment="217908"]Toto = comforter

thanks man.. i really had no idea what a toto is.. i only know toto, the rock band ;)[/quote]

i only know toto, buy number :P[/quote]

we buy toto number, than win, we buy this tata with that money. hahaha

• lambov12 (Member) on Mar 06, 2009 at 7:09 pm

the rear looks like the new jaguar xf ..

is it going to be made like the nano ? milo tin car ?

or this 1 going to made to compete with camry ??

• BanyakMasukWorkshop on Mar 06, 2009 at 7:14 pm

personally, i think pininfarina isn't a big deal anymore in the automotive styling world..

even this styling concept, isnt really special enough for me, especially from a company like them.. another bad example of pininfarina's current work is the hyundai matrix.. i cant imagine them putting their name on it as well.

• wakenabeb on Mar 06, 2009 at 7:17 pm

i only know tata, titi, tutu.. :)

• Is hat a face of Jaguar ?!?!

• msian on Mar 06, 2009 at 9:47 pm

plsss do something bout da frnt grill……a major flaw in an otherwise good looking car!

• MyBoy on Mar 06, 2009 at 11:07 pm

A bit like Rover 75 at the rear.

• fyzal on Mar 06, 2009 at 11:20 pm

side profile of dis car remind me of New Hyundai Elantra…

• ashikmsabu on Mar 07, 2009 at 1:03 am

This car seems to be new generation for TATA MOTORS.

• maibatsu_thunder (Member) on Mar 07, 2009 at 1:16 am

Tata is mainly a truck manufacturer. FULL STOP. Their cars are cars from a truck manufacturer, plain and simple. So far their interiors have been bad, so let's see where they go from here.

• MyBoy on Mar 07, 2009 at 1:38 am

[quote comment="218108"]Tata is mainly a truck manufacturer. FULL STOP. Their cars are cars from a truck manufacturer, plain and simple. So far their interiors have been bad, so let's see where they go from here.[/quote]

Not anymore. This one even better than Proton.

• micheal on Mar 08, 2009 at 7:55 am

[quote comment="218112"][quote comment="218108"]Tata is mainly a truck manufacturer. FULL STOP. Their cars are cars from a truck manufacturer, plain and simple. So far their interiors have been bad, so let's see where they go from here.[/quote]

Not anymore. This one even better than Proton.[/quote]

u have been in this car eh?

• micheal on Mar 08, 2009 at 7:56 am

[quote comment="218108"]Tata is mainly a truck manufacturer. FULL STOP. Their cars are cars from a truck manufacturer, plain and simple. So far their interiors have been bad, so let's see where they go from here.[/quote]

true…

you seen tata telcoline? how terible it looks like?

• micheal on Mar 08, 2009 at 7:58 am

[quote comment="217971"]personally, i think pininfarina isn't a big deal anymore in the automotive styling world..

even this styling concept, isnt really special enough for me, especially from a company like them..

another bad example of pininfarina's current work is the hyundai matrix.. i cant imagine them putting their name on it as well.[/quote]

yah… matrix is just ugly.. slightly better than the previous fiat multipla

• Gajen on Mar 09, 2009 at 8:47 am

looks nice…the front is a lil off tho…and tires shud be bigger…overall its a great design…

• rambo on Mar 10, 2009 at 10:00 pm

an off roader sedan wannabe…a decent looking car..would be better if the ground clearence is reduced

• MyBoy on Mar 10, 2009 at 11:19 pm

You tell that to Lamborghini. :D

• rambo on Mar 11, 2009 at 7:40 am

[quote comment="218350"][quote comment="218108"]Tata is mainly a truck manufacturer. FULL STOP. Their cars are cars from a truck manufacturer, plain and simple. So far their interiors have been bad, so let's see where they go from here.[/quote]

true…

you seen tata telcoline? how terible it looks like?[/quote]

[quote comment="218350"][quote comment="218108"]Tata is mainly a truck manufacturer. FULL STOP. Their cars are cars from a truck manufacturer, plain and simple. So far their interiors have been bad, so let's see where they go from here.[/quote]

true…

you seen tata telcoline? how terible it looks like?[/quote]

one man's food is another man's poison…..design is something very subjective and varies fr person to person…built quality of tata vehicles are strong and tough…doesnt mean if the design is plain and simple,it is bad.

• volvo, mercedes benz also truck builders. even lambo started out with tractors!

tata telcoline – not luxury car la bro. a low budget utility car. crappy interior but solid like rock. which is what workmen need. the guy who came earlier to service my house a/c had one so i had a look. looks very outdated interior.

if workmen want car with non crappy interior maybe take porsche cayenne or BMW x5 lah!!