Geneva 2009: Lotus Evora Launch Edition

Proton-owned and British-based sports car maker Lotus has launched the Lotus Evora Launch Edition at the Geneva Motor Show. The Launch Edition is sort of a “market testing” variant where only 450 unit will be produced at first, and deliveries in Europe will start by May this year. The 2+2 sports car is offered in two body colour options including Ardent Red and British Racing Green and buyers can also opt for other colours as well, with a bump on the price tag.

This mid-engined lightweight sports car receives power from a 3.5 litre V6 that is good for 276HP an 342Nm of torque which enables to Evora to hit the 100 km/h in just over 5 seconds, and can deliver 260 km/h in terms of top speed. With that power, the Evora consumes a reasonable 8.7 litres for every 100 kilometers traveled (based on Official European Combined Cycle), and releases 205 grams of harmful emissions per kilometer. Other fuel consumption figures include; Official European Urban Cycle figures of 12.4 litres per 100 kilometers and 6.5 litres per 100 kilometers for the Official European Extra Urban Cycle.

On the inside, the Evora (my fingers are somehow trying to type Exora) is generously finished in leather with a driver focused instrumentation, a dash with tactile details such as flush-mounted controls that glow with blue LED haloes and a stylized speedometer and rev counter. Other features among others, include; Bi-Xenon headlights, an Alpine Imprint audio system, a reversing camera as well as electric powerfold mirrors.

Lotus also revealed that it plans to produce a 2-seater, a convertible and a variant with an automatic transmission in the future. The Evora comes with a 3-year or 100,000-kilometer whole vehicle warranty with an 8 years chassis perforation warranty for E.U markets. Continue reading to view an image gallery.

[zenphotopress number=99 album=173]

Harvinder Sidhu

Harvinder Singh Sidhu thinks there's nothing better than Formula 1, not even sliced bread. Having written about cars since 2006, he plunged head first into the industry out of a passion for all things four-wheeled and everything in between. The F1 enthusiast has been following the sport since 1999 and has been keeping up with it since. In between races he keeps himself busy as the host of the Driven motoring show and as our version of the Joker.

• hmmm… Quite interesting car…

any interior photo?

• Proud2BMalaysian on Mar 09, 2009 at 6:07 pm

Paul, you posted wrong pictures. The story is about Lotus Evora but the pictures are Kia Forte.

• Proud2BMalaysian on Mar 09, 2009 at 6:07 pm

Sorry, now it's the right picture. Thanx!

• baby_t on Mar 09, 2009 at 7:01 pm

i'm too… my brain some how intepret the Evora i saw to Exora

• bmpower on Mar 09, 2009 at 7:41 pm

Paul, how much it is in RM later? :D

• lambov12 (Member) on Mar 09, 2009 at 7:47 pm

nice ..

looks koneeeeeeeeeigseeeeeeeegggggggg to me ..

• Dracryst on Mar 09, 2009 at 8:22 pm

Not sure why but I love the looks and the "practical-ability" of this Lotus.

• fastcx on Mar 09, 2009 at 8:29 pm

sexy ^^

• micheal on Mar 09, 2009 at 10:56 pm

this evora reminds me of aston martin…

hahaa

• didymus_thomas on Mar 10, 2009 at 12:26 am

why lotus choose toyotas' 3.5V6 powertrain over other makers?

why not bmw or honda?

isit due to cost factor or the dynamics & potentials of the powertrain offered?

• thomas on Mar 10, 2009 at 12:32 am

why lotus choose toyotas' 3.5V6 powertrain & not other makes?

why not bmw or honda powertrains?

isit due to cost factor or the dynamics & potential toyotas' 3.5V6 offered compares to other makes?

• amirzaim on Mar 10, 2009 at 1:15 am

Between exora and evora. Sometimes that phase makes people confused abaout these models. Even Lotus is a part of Proton company, why proton did not build a malaysian supercar to attract supercar lovers? And why proton did not plan to rebadge the lotus models as the proton brand to sale it in malaysia?

• The stance is just beautiful.

About the EXORA and Evora probs..

blah. whats the big deal.

• bmpower on Mar 10, 2009 at 3:18 am

how many of you can afford a sport car?

fine!.. you want and Evora with a price of kancil?

yes! That's malaysian!. Wanna everything cheap! But lazy to gain more income.

• Paul, hope can see the interior pics soon!

• BanyakMasukWorkshop on Mar 10, 2009 at 3:43 am

[quote comment="218841"]why lotus choose toyotas' 3.5V6 powertrain & not other makes?

why not bmw or honda powertrains?

isit due to cost factor or the dynamics & potential toyotas' 3.5V6 offered compares to other makes?[/quote]

its probably due to lotus and toyota having a long working relationship which also benefits the cost factor.

anyways.. why not toyota?

• donno on Mar 10, 2009 at 3:54 am

[quote comment="218849"]Between exora and evora. Sometimes that phase makes people confused abaout these models. Even Lotus is a part of Proton company, why proton did not build a malaysian supercar to attract supercar lovers? And why proton did not plan to rebadge the lotus models as the proton brand to sale it in malaysia?[/quote]

FYI proton under tengku mahalel already thinks in similar lines as you… The Lotus Europa was supposed to be Proton's 1st sportscar, but the new management canned it and it was eventually released as a Lotus. I really think all proton sport-ish cars should be badged as lotus, I would love to see a Lotus Neo Turbo ( reminds me of the great old days of Lotus Cortina and Lotus Carlton )

• lightflyer on Mar 10, 2009 at 4:10 am

"The Evora comes with a 3-year or 100,000-kilometer whole vehicle warranty with an 8 years chassis perforation warranty for E.U markets."

wahahaha really good deal

• BanyakMasukWorkshop on Mar 10, 2009 at 4:25 am

[quote comment="218903"]"The Evora comes with a 3-year or 100,000-kilometer whole vehicle warranty with an 8 years chassis perforation warranty for E.U markets."

wahahaha really good deal[/quote]

the interesting thing is, most sports car makers usually never quote their warranty packages.. hahha.

• crustacea on Mar 10, 2009 at 6:12 am

Lotus Exora

Proton Evora

• nice car. like the looks and praticality.

• LotusLover on Mar 10, 2009 at 7:51 am

[quote comment="218890"][quote comment="218849"]Between exora and evora. Sometimes that phase makes people confused abaout these models. Even Lotus is a part of Proton company, why proton did not build a malaysian supercar to attract supercar lovers? And why proton did not plan to rebadge the lotus models as the proton brand to sale it in malaysia?[/quote]

FYI proton under tengku mahalel already thinks in similar lines as you… The Lotus Europa was supposed to be Proton's 1st sportscar, but the new management canned it and it was eventually released as a Lotus. I really think all proton sport-ish cars should be badged as lotus, I would love to see a Lotus Neo Turbo ( reminds me of the great old days of Lotus Cortina and Lotus Carlton )[/quote]

Yes, The Lotus Europa was supposed to be the 1st Proton supercar. And most of the design are from Proton RnD.

• ali38hak on Mar 10, 2009 at 8:48 am

and what about diesel??

thinks lotus on a diesel??

:)

• why toyota has been chosen is probably they are offering something mroe attractiv ein terms of economical scale .

• lightflyer on Mar 10, 2009 at 5:22 pm

[quote comment="218974"]and what about diesel??

:)[/quote]

Nop i dun think they will go for diesel

but they have develop an engine that run on Ethanol

• fastcx on Mar 10, 2009 at 6:18 pm

[quote comment="219044"][quote comment="218974"]and what about diesel??

:)[/quote]

Nop i dun think they will go for diesel

but they have develop an engine that run on Ethanol[/quote]

ethanol! sugar cane power! ;)

• micheal on Mar 10, 2009 at 9:07 pm

[quote comment="218954"][quote comment="218890"][quote comment="218849"]Between exora and evora. Sometimes that phase makes people confused abaout these models. Even Lotus is a part of Proton company, why proton did not build a malaysian supercar to attract supercar lovers? And why proton did not plan to rebadge the lotus models as the proton brand to sale it in malaysia?[/quote]

FYI proton under tengku mahalel already thinks in similar lines as you… The Lotus Europa was supposed to be Proton's 1st sportscar, but the new management canned it and it was eventually released as a Lotus. I really think all proton sport-ish cars should be badged as lotus, I would love to see a Lotus Neo Turbo ( reminds me of the great old days of Lotus Cortina and Lotus Carlton )[/quote]

Yes, The Lotus Europa was supposed to be the 1st Proton supercar. And most of the design are from Proton RnD.[/quote]

true, i went to PM's office lobby, i saw an europa with proton badged, called proton pm5…

• bmpower on Mar 11, 2009 at 4:10 am

PM5 car is not an europa lah!

• Tiadaid on Mar 11, 2009 at 5:28 am

[quote comment="218849"]Between exora and evora. Sometimes that phase makes people confused abaout these models. Even Lotus is a part of Proton company, why proton did not build a malaysian supercar to attract supercar lovers? And why proton did not plan to rebadge the lotus models as the proton brand to sale it in malaysia?[/quote]

Brand positioning is the key here. Proton is known as a maker of practical cars, not sports cars. I don't think it will work at all for Proton to badge a supercar as Proton. On the other hand, if they soup up a Satria Neo with bigger engines and what not, if that's sold as a Lotus then its fine, because in the mind of the consumers, Lotus is a performance car manufacturer. It's hard to shift the consumers perception on the brand, so don't even attempt to have a Proton supercar. It will only make the company suffer!

• mkrafz on Mar 12, 2009 at 2:20 am

does the name very familiar..?

Oh..! ya its Exora..

Evora=Exora..

sound very european…

• Hafidz Moro on Mar 12, 2009 at 2:23 am

To those who dont know:

1) A brand need a history

2) A history came from past achievement and visions

3) Past achievement involve a lot of time, failure and try 'n' error

A brand (ie:Lotus,Proton,.Merc,BMW,Honda etc.) will create a market segments, sub brand (model from a brand ie: C-class,3 series,Perdana,Saga,Exige etc) will create designated buyers.

Thats where you can see Toyota came with LEXUS and SCION(if not mistaken), NISSAN with Infiniti..Auto Union with all the brands under them..and so on..They create brand to segment the market,not just change an emblem to another car coz that involve pride.. not like err ..NAZA, INOKOM & PERODUA? hihihi..

When all of that 1st and 2nd paragraphs combines and blend tastefully, the term 'loyalty' exist! thats brand practice..

cheers!

• FALIQ on Feb 16, 2010 at 9:49 am

How much is the OTR price in Malaysia?