SIC slashes F1 ticket student rates by 80%

Sepang International Circuit

The Sepang International Circuit has slashed ticket prices up to 80% for students. The Mall Area grandstand where the RM500 Citrine seats have been slashed to only RM100. The Tower seats at Turn 15 have been priced at RM100, down from the usual RM500 price. The C-2 covered hill-stand area is now only RM50, down from RM200. These special rates are only for fans with valid student IDs and can only be purchased at the SIC counter at KL Sentral or the KLIA Domestic Arrival Hall Flying Emporium.

More goodies for students – an 8 seat slot at a Fun Kart race against F1, GP2 Asia and Formula BMW Pacific drivers on the 2nd of April 2009. The qualifying rounds for these 8 seats will be held across 2 days, with the first being this Saturday.

“We have provided an opportunity of a life time for students to race with their racing idols. This has not been made possible in the past and hopefully SIC will make this an annual if not a more frequent event,” said SIC media manager Irwan A. Rahman.

CLICK: SIC Website

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• wish i was a student with deep pockets =)

• 2fast on Mar 20, 2009 at 12:26 am

Should give discounts to all Malaysian citizens.

• osh_kosh on Mar 20, 2009 at 12:37 am

“We have provided an opportunity of a life time for students to race with their racing idols. This has not been made possible in the past and hopefully SIC will make this an annual if not a more frequent event,” said SIC media manager Irwan A. Rahman.

–> arghhh!!! i wish i was still a student… :(

• wooow!!! i still have my student ID……are they going to check ur status??…hihihihihihi

• osh_kosh on Mar 20, 2009 at 12:42 am

btw, found this clip in youtube, maybe some of u guys already see this –> http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=4pb40zPXeqw

it's this year f60 vs MP-24 drag race!! lol.. i know it's test day & can be anything but darn! I love to watch it.. :)

• Littlefire on Mar 20, 2009 at 12:49 am

I think is a business gimmick… F1 financial have gone down with the recession and i might guess that the sales is not so well. That why they need to replace it with other offers… Good luck F1..

• fastcx (Member) on Mar 20, 2009 at 1:09 am

ah shit, this offer is over 1year late for me! :(

• Daughlas on Mar 20, 2009 at 1:39 am

PhD student and Master Student can meh?

• bmpower on Mar 20, 2009 at 2:13 am

unluckily I'm not a student.. :D

• always have discount..

x laku ker?

• lambov12 (Member) on Mar 20, 2009 at 4:26 am

i am stilll a student ..

i think can go for it ..

hahax ..

• mystvearn on Mar 20, 2009 at 5:27 am

Show student card and buy la. Expired or not, just cover the year of graduate if expired :P hahaha

• howitzer on Mar 20, 2009 at 6:32 am

how can i get the discount eh.. cannot by online?

• Aaron on Mar 20, 2009 at 8:03 am

Gonna go try get the tickets this sat at sentral. Btw, which is better, citrine or tower? from their map, tower doesn't have a giant screen to show the overall race rite? But then it's located at the final corner….. dang..

do advice. Wanna hear from those who have personally been there. gonna be my first trip this year.

• Tiadaid on Mar 20, 2009 at 8:30 am

Tower seats for 100?! Bloody hell! Lucky me I'm still studying.

• aizat63 on Mar 20, 2009 at 9:55 am

hey, which seat is better the tower or citrine?

• k-rol on Mar 20, 2009 at 5:25 pm

anyone want to borrow my student card??

• now where's my student card??

• osh_kosh on Mar 21, 2009 at 3:45 am

[quote comment="222706"]hey, which seat is better the tower or citrine?[/quote]

I've personally never seated at tower section but been at citrine, crystal, jade etc. (i.e mall area).. citrine offer good visibility over almost half of the circuit & my favourite turn 9…. that turn is one of drivers favourite turn to do overtaking before going uphill… it's where u can see overtaking move by the drivers first hand (not via giant screen)… plus a long straight where drivers floor the throttle before make a move to overtake at last turn (turn 15), but of coz u need to be seated at tower section to actually see it first hand if the overtake move succesfull or not… hope this help :)

• tokmoh on Mar 21, 2009 at 6:05 pm

That's good news for students.

Actually, if u hv connection, u can even get free tix. Every yr always got many free tix given last minute cuz cannot sell full house, bt like I said, nd some connection la.

• osh_kosh on Mar 21, 2009 at 7:29 pm

[quote comment="223035"]That's good news for students.

Actually, if u hv connection, u can even get free tix. Every yr always got many free tix given last minute cuz cannot sell full house, bt like I said, nd some connection la.[/quote]

i've friend who work at SIC management.. once, she told me that she can give other race tix free or with discount but not F1 tix… it's policy (or maybe her 'cable' not strong enuff i don't know).. LOL ;) been a while since last contacted her, maybe should again.. after all she's a leng lui hahahaha