Motoring Ministers: the new line-up

NajibOur new Prime Minister Datuk Seri Najib Tun Razak has rolled out his new cabinet today, and the following are the few people of note to motorists, people whose policies affects motorists and car enthusiasts in Malaysia:

• Datuk Mustapa Mohamed, Minister of International Trade and Industry – has previously served the EPU. MITI affects industry policies such as automotive industry taxation and incentives
  • Datuk Mukhriz Mahathir, Deputy Minister of International Trade and Industry – his father hopes he will solve the issue of AP holders who sell their APs.
  • Datuk Ismail Sabri, Minister of Domestic Trade and Consumer Affairs – let’s see if the plan to switch to RON97, RON95 and Euro 2 diesel will happen under this new leadership. Or we could also see fuel moved to the new Green Tech ministry.
  • Datuk Tan Lian Hoe, Deputy Minister of Domestic Trade and Consumer Affairs.
  • Datuk Peter Chin, Minister of Energy, Green Technology and Water – this new ministry replaces the Energy, Water and Communication ministry, will the Green Technology portfolio affect hybrid cars, electric cars, biofuel, etc?
  • Noriah Kasnon – Deputy Minister of Energy, Green Technology and Water

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• whiteeye on Apr 10, 2009 at 4:51 am

will it change the policiess like Labuan and Langkawi for the free tax?

• MisterBenjo on Apr 10, 2009 at 4:55 am

Yeah! Mukhriz is there!

• BanyakMasukWorkshop on Apr 10, 2009 at 5:47 am

[quote comment="228348"]will it change the policiess like Labuan and Langkawi for the free tax?[/quote]

wasn't it mahathir who came up with those policies in the 1st place.

• kimi_ on Apr 10, 2009 at 6:09 am

Hope the new minister will not increase the fuel price ever !!! :)

• sinhew on Apr 10, 2009 at 6:26 am

Yes, Mukhriz is there, and his brother is also selling cars, especially those high end car, so time to get more APs and extend to cover other cars…Let's see if they will get even richer.

• lambov12 (Member) on Apr 10, 2009 at 6:31 am

later all of us will be driving BMW or Mercedes thanks to Mustapa and Mukhriz.

and the whole roads will be full of toyota or honda hybrid thanks to peter chin.

• pak cik on Apr 10, 2009 at 6:40 am

ah yahhhhhhh nothing will be change in another 10 yeARS for the AP king lah dont worry, if you remove the AP king another KING will come maybe KING KONG,

green energy what is that the our road full of 3 world diesel, black smoke that kill all of us and the top quality diesel for export. Just wayang kulit green energy new positions but same story. So they just sit there and do nothing just thinking how to help them self, like the iron lady still want to bark. her time was up.

• tango on Apr 10, 2009 at 6:41 am

[quote comment="228348"]will it change the policiess like Labuan and Langkawi for the free tax?[/quote]

need to changelah.. OECD has blacklisted us…

• Bodow on Apr 10, 2009 at 7:03 am

Wow ..Daddy's son is there although 3rd in Youth Chief election .. Thank you Daddy ..muah muah muah …tradiotionally KJ as Youth Chief should have been a minister but a dictator's hands at work pulling the strings still .

God Save Malaysia

• Infinitt on Apr 10, 2009 at 7:06 am

Yes, glad to see mukriz there also instead of khairy.

• viknesh on Apr 10, 2009 at 7:15 am

more AP's for his brother la… Che det Rulez!

• adrian on Apr 10, 2009 at 7:39 am

Will mukhriz give more APs to his brother mokhzani?

• I hax ur pc with mW! on Apr 10, 2009 at 7:51 am

who the hell r tan liena ho & peter chin??????

whatever it is… Khairy is not in the cabinet ( good news),

Mukhriz is ( people's choice )

• I hax ur pc with mW! on Apr 10, 2009 at 7:54 am

[quote comment="228370"]Wow ..Daddy's son is there although 3rd in Youth Chief election .. Thank you Daddy ..muah muah muah …tradiotionally KJ as Youth Chief should have been a minister but a dictator's hands at work pulling the strings still .

God Save Malaysia[/quote]

better mukhriz than KJ..

• Littlefire on Apr 10, 2009 at 7:54 am

Mahathir family especially his son contol's the Porsche AP, so if you want to purchase a new Porsche, you will need to obtain the AP from them…

• belum lagi si mukhriz tu buat ape2…dah macam2 spekulasi.

• jgn la … give negative speculation…. kecian kat depa… baru je hold position… that's the political world's reality ….

• makan-makan on Apr 10, 2009 at 3:01 pm

[quote comment="228381"]Mahathir family especially his son contol's the Porsche AP, so if you want to purchase a new Porsche, you will need to obtain the AP from them…[/quote]

[quote comment="228370"]Wow ..Daddy's son is there although 3rd in Youth Chief election .. Thank you Daddy ..muah muah muah …tradiotionally KJ as Youth Chief should have been a minister but a dictator's hands at work pulling the strings still .

Anybody appointed..sure got issues..how abt the shadow cabinet as promised by DSAI for the dont know how many times already..who will be assigned as so called motoring ministers..or usual, DSAI conned us again

• Thinking on Apr 10, 2009 at 3:45 pm

[quote comment="228396"]belum lagi si mukhriz tu buat ape2…dah macam2 spekulasi.[/quote]

biasa lah malaysian… as malaysian we must be proud of our special ability to predict the future…. -.-

• helmi on Apr 10, 2009 at 4:05 pm

Mukhriz is already a rich person. Make sure you & your family member not getting richer by using your power. Let other people get some portion pulak. Or else you better get lost.

• biggie on Apr 10, 2009 at 4:13 pm

AP are there before, Mahathir tighten the AP regulation where company need to have means/facilities to sell car before AP given.

Thats why the son got AP for Porsche, before that somebody holding that AP where he simply sold it to another party.

• Also don't forget.

Shaziman Abu Mansor – new minister of toll (works)… :)

RT..

• [quote comment="228370"]Wow ..Daddy's son is there although 3rd in Youth Chief election .. Thank you Daddy ..muah muah muah …tradiotionally KJ as Youth Chief should have been a minister but a dictator's hands at work pulling the strings still .

The fact is, that even if I were to be Najib, I would not put KJ in.. too much weight to carry in… he is an excess baggage. a liability…

The next in line (Khir Toyo) also got too many issues.

The "cleanest" in line and the most logical candidate now would be Mukhriz.

On the AP matters, I think the policy will stay on. the only next steps would be to deal with those AP kings whose only business was not selling cars, but selling APs that they got for free.. Those guys should be kicked out..

Imagine if KJ were in charge of the APs.. I don't dare to go there… sigh…….

RT..

• [quote comment="228381"]Mahathir family especially his son contol's the Porsche AP, so if you want to purchase a new Porsche, you will need to obtain the AP from them…[/quote]

Sir, he is the authorized importer by Porsche.. so it is natural that he got the Porsche AP. http://www.porsche.com/pap/_malaysia_/aboutporsch…

You want to buy one in the country, you could also go to NAZA and Auto EuroCars.

You want to directly import one for yourself. you could get AP from him, or you could approach the other "grey" importers and AP kings.. good luck

• i really hope that MITI will increase whatever tax for other cars manufacturers and use the tax to subsidize import of porsche, so that porsche will be in the same segment as proton cars. i dont mind if mokhzani get the exclusive right to sell it as long as can get cayanne as cheap as exora…

please mukhriz…. please please… i beg you.. please

god, please open up his heart to do that… ..ooohh cayanne..

• chaos on Apr 10, 2009 at 6:18 pm

Mohzani is lettin go of Porsche la…he more focus on Kencana…Besides you don't have to get AP from him if you want to buy Porsche or bring one in…Porsche Malaysia only holds the right for distribution

• whiteeye on Apr 10, 2009 at 6:47 pm

hope to here good news from this new minister, when a certain decads we had been spending certain tax for buying a cars, more joking is that some of the parent's things that every youngster should start from the begining which they need to buy Proton starting from the begining stage and only should buy other expensive car such as Honda and other's. Normally the idea is correct but when come to tax let's us compare, Proton RM 56,800 and Honda at Labuan and Langkawi is just only RM 57,980. I don's know wat;s the price for Proton at Labuan and Langkawi but for sure it will not more than 40 k lol. As u can c the tax for Honda City is 27 k, where does it go to? This certainly need to be explain by the gov.

• Automobile is the most 'conspiracy' industry in Malaysia due to AP rules to monopolize the market for certain group of people. Just open a moto magazine, and you will see how much cars they own and the value of the car sum up anytime close to a bank. How come no one go check whether they pay enough tax? or the recycle AP can be 'tolerate' even got caught by the auditing firm, by saying we will bring them back to the right track…

• bmpower on Apr 10, 2009 at 7:10 pm

Mustapha mohamaed = old already.. Noriah kasnon? who te hell was that too? They make a cabinet from politics view.. not professional view.

• wrongturn on Apr 10, 2009 at 8:20 pm

Stop 'berangan' driving porsche if you cant afford a 4 digit oil change….

• God bless Malaysia.

• Littlefire on Apr 10, 2009 at 8:48 pm

All foreign companies that need to sell imported cars in Malaysia need to appoint a Bumi company so that they can get AP easily… Everyone in Malaysia knew that.. Only certain "Bumi" can obtain AP, you tot can get it easily?!? Even student from overseas can only obtain 1 AP for each only… There is unfairness of this AP long time ago… Even AP help those selected "Bumi" earn a lot of money, but still does this help our automotive industry? I seen more harm to benefits, as this draw even more foreign companies from not investing in Malaysia… The only benefits is Proton, Perodua & AP holders survive longer…

Anyway last time they mention to abolish AP by 2010, i think after 2020 will still got AP…

• biggie on Apr 10, 2009 at 9:13 pm

any comp also need 30% bumi equity… no difference here with bumi or not.

• LAN-PA-PA-LAN, its a same if Najib didnt enforced rakyat-interest policy. the key point is still our new PM.

• sohaimizainal on Apr 10, 2009 at 9:55 pm

Hi all,

After reading most of the comments above, I may be mistaken that I am in an opposition political blog ie. just hantam the government of the day.

I believed that as this blog is dedicated for the motoring community, we should at least give our positive feedback and wish list that we hope the new cabinet should look into in order to elevate our plights with the global meltdown.

For me, I would like to see the toll rates lowered. Not abolished. Reason being, I worked hard to get me a decent lifestyle and am willing to pay for convenience. If we are to have toll free highways, we will then have everykind of vehicles on the highway and it will not become highways any more, but jammed up. It is like when you have the money, you would want to travel first class.

Cheers!

• Bodohland on Apr 10, 2009 at 10:27 pm

Travel first class in highway is when there is no toll, with toll like Sunway, you have to endure jam yet paid monies. What a moronic convenient!

• Bodohland on Apr 10, 2009 at 10:43 pm

Same policy different cronies benefited from the NAP/AP. Same rakyat either bought relatively low quality local made car, or purchased prohibitively high price imported made. These equations will maintain to ensure the cronies future generation super rich for the next 7 generations!

• kimi_ on Apr 11, 2009 at 12:36 am

HEY, Paul Tan should be one of those minister…Then it will definitely improve

our automatic industry…. Hehe

• Thailand Toyota
    http://www.toyota.co.th/en/product_index.htm

Toyota Vios @ TB 499,000

Toyota Altis @ TB 719,000

How are the Malaysian Tax structure for car?

When?

What kind of tax they will announce?

any news?

• Auto policy will not change one, not in another 10 years…

This is huge income, who wants to give up…

Prepare to use ur old car another very very long time….

Sorry, I have lost my faith on lower car price….

• alansmithz (Member) on Apr 11, 2009 at 1:40 am

Mahathir could be the next AP taukeh. Here is my name suggetion for their new empire= M.A.S.I – combination of the name MAhathir & SIti (like NAZA)

• mystvearn on Apr 11, 2009 at 2:57 am

Dato Mustapha there, at least is a good choice. He can produce results like in MOHE

• whaaaaaaaaaaaaaat? on Apr 11, 2009 at 3:23 am

FYI,

datuk mustapa is a respected politician in this country ( to the gov & opposition)

because he's clean ( meaning no rasuah laaaaa )

and mukhriz also clean ( he's the one who brave enuf to tell Pak Lah to step down after PR12 , remember? )

let's hope these 2 guys can do their jobs…

no need to bash blindly just because they r from the gov

about the tax… there nothing u can do about it!!! even the opposition take over the new gov.. the tax will not be abolished because it's a great income for the gov..

• Price of the non national car will increase again to protect Proton. That's for sure.

• MisterBenjo on Apr 11, 2009 at 10:42 am

[quote comment="228609"]HEY, Paul Tan should be one of those minister…Then it will definitely improve

our automatic industry…. Hehe[/quote]

How about the manual industry?

• the fighter on Apr 11, 2009 at 6:15 pm

helmi said,

April 10, 2009 @ 8:05 am · Reply with quote

Mukhriz is already a rich person. Make sure you & your family member not getting richer by using your power. Let other people get some portion pulak. Or else you better get lost.

____________________________________________________________________________

really not matured comment or sound funny….ur statement likely consider that the person who become minister must be financially less rich so they can get rich by their position….if its situation, the minister should be be, bcoz im not rich at all ..then after i get rich, its be u ..hahaha

• Perotiga on Apr 11, 2009 at 6:23 pm

[quote comment="228514"]God bless Malaysia.[/quote]

God bless Malaysian.

• Perotiga on Apr 11, 2009 at 6:33 pm

[quote comment="228741"][quote comment="228609"]HEY, Paul Tan should be one of those minister…Then it will definitely improve

our automatic industry…. Hehe[/quote]

How about the manual industry?[/quote]

keep in the museum

• Perotiga on Apr 11, 2009 at 6:36 pm

[quote comment="228726"]Price of the non national car will increase again to protect Proton. That's for sure.[/quote]

good news to second hand non national car owners. MPV should be the next, 100% to 150/200%.

• Perotiga on Apr 11, 2009 at 6:40 pm

[quote comment="228626"]Auto policy will not change one, not in another 10 years…

This is huge income, who wants to give up…

Prepare to use ur old car another very very long time….

Sorry, I have lost my faith on lower car price….[/quote]

still need to wait another 10 years…

• late see how a bad guy turn to become a good guy!

• transformer (Member) on Apr 12, 2009 at 7:06 am

Really don't care who up there….. Rakyat just want to see results that would affect our daily life's… Daily necessities prices are going up although economic condition are worsen…

Bolehland had abundance resources… from water, mineral to fossil fuel.. yet wa have to pay Rm20+ for a can of cooking gas, isn't that a by product from fuel rigging? ? ? Gas, can be use in automotive, why didn't our 52 years nation leader come out with idea to tap this resources…?

Do we really had to rely on fossil-fuel ? although now its price a at low side but once the global economic meltdown had gone, price would go up according to demand….

Bolehland had abundant land, but we had lost many title in producing crops, we ain't No.1 producer of palm, pineapple, paddy & many more… does our land eroded and shrinked? No! And until when can our Gov will implement palm oil to fuel auto ? Hope they will soon had some action after a long long experiment and testing…

If bolehland leader can fully utilized our homeland resources, bolehland would be the 2nd riches within south-east asia… sudah 52 tahun laaaa…?

And these leader wouldn't need to implement AP, NAP and NEP to protect certain group as our nation is cash rich by then… need another 52 years to change…?

a suitable KIP slogan "Make a change or you'll be change!"

• Perotiga on Apr 12, 2009 at 6:23 pm

i hope every body have 1 ap to buy 1 car.

• I also dun know why economy is going bad, but the price we see from food, clothes. etc, is either remain the same price, some of them still increase price…

Too bad, too bad….so what we can do, boycott…like no one care for us…

man, it is really sad…

• whiteeye on Apr 15, 2009 at 6:44 pm

transformer said, wat y are saying definitely does make any change under certain fact, after 52 yrs they still had corruption, in Brunei, Labuan and Langkawi is free of tax but in Peninsular, and sabah n sarawak is still the same, let's just here someone will announce some bull shit plan of 1 Malaysia, and than at the old way they proceed to corruption, many ap holder will just get richer and the poor will getting poor. Just in 10 yrs grace time imagine a nasi lemak biasa will be RM 10 . They use and corrupt nation money and borrow from other country bank, and now written very big at the newspaper to help to correct the economic wat a joke just like u still money under table for urself and pinjam money from other's and tax the nation higher and higher, and saying to attach a macc organization, in a joke. just covering their ass, who is listening from those shit they truely shit.