New Ford Escape Asian market facelift now in Sime Darby Auto Connexion showrooms!

Ford Escape

The new Ford Escape 2.3 XLT is now in Sime Darby Auto Connexion Sdn Bhd showrooms. It is priced at RM134,837.00 without insurance, road tax and registration. There is only one engine option this time, a 146 PS 2.3 litre Duratec petrol engine with variable valve timing, mated to a 4-speed automatic.

The engine makes its peak power at 6,000rpm with peak torque of 196Nm at 4,000rpm. Fuel efficiency is rated at a claimed 10.5 litres per 100km. That’s actually not very high peak power and torque for a 2.3 litre engine but the reason for this is because it is tuned for SUV usage with better low-down power. A relatively low 9.1:1 compression ratio could also be a contributing factor. Another variation of this 2.3 litre in the previous generation Mazda 6 made 169 PS and 211Nm of torque.

Ford Escape

The facelift has been facelifted with a design that was first previewed at the Tokyo 2007 show. No Kinetic Design here, for that you’ll have to go for the Kuga. This is actually the Asian version of the car, as there is also a US version that has a different exterior and interior. This new Asian model’s interior is largely the same as the older one except for minor changes, and the shifter has been moved to a more traditional position of between the two front seats. Based on a car chassis with struts at the front and multi-link at the rear, it offers a more car-like ride and handling which should bode well with urban commuters. There is also auto cruise control and auto climate control.

Ford Escape

Other than the front end which is completely new with a signature three-bar grille, the rear tail lamps also sport a new horizontal design and are lit up with LED technology. The wheels are 16 inch cast aluminium units wrapped with 215/70R16 tyres. It’s got 200mm front and 242mm rear ground clearance, and a 28.5 degree approach angle and 30 degree departure angle.

In the safety department, the Escape is equipped with dual front airbags and side airbags for a total of four, 4-wheel ABS with EBD and the Control Trac II system detects wheel slip and automatically splits power between the front and rear wheels to maintain traction. Control Trac II can be manually overridden to full time 4×4 mode at the push of a button.

Look after the jump for more photos of the facelifted Escape, including a few more detailed shots of the modified interior.

[zenphotopress number=99 album=321]

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• That's a very good price for a 2.3litre lump

• theanswer on Jun 11, 2009 at 3:13 am

good price..good brand. sure going to compete with another american brand chevy captiva.

• lowprofile on Jun 11, 2009 at 3:21 am

shares the new family look with the facelifted ranger.

• very low engine performance compared to other SUV. and there's only one engine option! sheesssh..

• i luv black.

• nabill on Jun 11, 2009 at 6:28 am

interior looks similar , and dimensions looks to be same as well…normal for suv's to have lower gearing

• Fiziks on Jun 11, 2009 at 7:53 am

plain and boring. The 90's look. Please give me something new

• Gajen on Jun 11, 2009 at 8:11 am

nothing special…very bland…the exterior design looks outdated…and the interior looks old

• 90's design. the escape should go for all-new rather than facelift. not expecting to hv good sale like captiva.

• Outdated looks.

• i want another car.. on Jun 11, 2009 at 6:18 pm

ugly lo.

• lazyf on Jun 11, 2009 at 6:34 pm

outdated looks n small tail lamp…

• SavvyTron on Jun 11, 2009 at 8:49 pm

CRV is better..

• this model too old already.taillights should be bigger

• Srotong on Jun 11, 2009 at 10:29 pm

Yep, Kuga design, 'cos we secondary citizens of the world mah… Ford designers conservative in design, but not so for target groups like for 'gays', 'feminists' etc. Bad marketing strategies in the past and present.

Definitely Chevy Captiva more modern and can sit 7 at a pinch, but 20k more. Better still LR Freelander II! Soon morph into BMW X and Merc M series… No end to troubles deciding on 'western' SUV model-eh?

This mindset different from Jap only SUV, so cannot compare.

If don't need the space, better to go for Nautica – oso cheapo fully imported from Japan.

• gangully on Jun 11, 2009 at 11:55 pm

does no one else see the resemblance to the Ford Fiesta?

• helmi on Jun 12, 2009 at 12:38 am

I used to owned the previous Ford Escape 2.0. Built quality, the interior is very good and spacious. Handling is fantastic. The exterior design makes me feel muscle, maybe because of the American design. But the setback is the spare part is expensive, the periodically service also expensive. The engine feels a little bit underpower, but i dont know about the later 2.3l engine. But I think another reason why Ford is not doing well here, no offense, maybe because of the American marque, they have a bad reputation among Muslim and Asian, that's what I feel.

• ariefin on Jun 12, 2009 at 1:29 am

I already have droven this facelifted version in March here in Jakarta and I can say it is a good SUV. I have driven the XLT and the limited version and it was for its Driving Skills for Life program (similar to BMW Driver Training) so I could feel the full potential of its handling and suspension setup.

Ford does sell pretty well here especially the Everest and the Ranger

• Black Dog on Jun 12, 2009 at 7:19 pm

When we buy a new vehicle, it suppose to feel 'new', but sadly this Escape always looks one generation away. If it's P1 still acceptable due to it's price and different market group. But for over RM100K vehicle, maybe diehards, sentimental older guys can accept it.

• mitlanevo on Jun 13, 2009 at 5:30 pm

[quote comment="244174"]I already have droven this facelifted version in March here in Jakarta and I can say it is a good SUV. I have driven the XLT and the limited version and it was for its Driving Skills for Life program (similar to BMW Driver Training) so I could feel the full potential of its handling and suspension setup.

Ford does sell pretty well here especially the Everest and the Ranger[/quote]

Everest no, but Ranger yes…..

• mitlanevo on Jun 13, 2009 at 5:31 pm

[quote comment="244069"]nothing special…very bland…the exterior design looks outdated…and the interior looks old[/quote]

bear in mind that u are looking at a FORD, not any Japs…

• Rulered on Jun 14, 2009 at 3:53 am

Price tag aside, for a midsized SUV, between group CRV, RAV4, Vitara and group Escape, Freelander, Tiguan- which group do you think handles better as an offroader? (no need jungle la, palm estate will suffice).

• mitlanevo on Jun 14, 2009 at 7:09 pm

[quote comment="244470"]Price tag aside, for a midsized SUV, between group CRV, RAV4, Vitara and group Escape, Freelander, Tiguan- which group do you think handles better as an offroader? (no need jungle la, palm estate will suffice).[/quote]

only idiots will be pointing to the 1st group……

• Rulered on Jun 15, 2009 at 1:02 am

[quote comment="244543"][quote comment="244470"]Price tag aside, for a midsized SUV, between group CRV, RAV4, Vitara and group Escape, Freelander, Tiguan- which group do you think handles better as an offroader? (no need jungle la, palm estate will suffice).[/quote]

only idiots will be pointing to the 1st group……[/quote]

So in other words, Jap's SUV aren't an allrounder as many thinks…….

• Nicholas Chin on Aug 09, 2009 at 1:04 am

Sime Darby! Ford Malaysia! What are you guys doing for this brand? There are many fans here in Malaysia which would love to see the return of Ford's glory years. Remember the Ford Laser TX3 days? You guys are just living on past glories. Ford has died, returned, almost died and return and exchanged hands from countless dealers and subsidiaries throughout the years and I've not even seen a real credible effort yet. This is a Japanese Escape which is damned ugly! Bring in some American models!

The Ford Motor Company has the qualities and model line ups to return this marque to the top spots in our automotive industry. Come on! Stop playing golf, launching useless promotions and return to your marketing, sales and service drawing boards! As a real fan of Ford, I am sadden to see the state of this marque in my home country. I have Ford key chains, wallpapers, caps, T-shirts and even a Ford Telstar 2.0 Ghia 1998 and a Laser 1.6 Ghia 1995 which I stubbornly maintain even though the cost is high. I love these cars! Even my dad has been an employee of Ford for the past 15 years! He is retired today and he is still in love with this marque.

I've driven the Honda City, Toyota Vios, Nissan Latio and the oh-so-boring Hyundais and KIAs out there.. 1 statement, I compare them to my washing machine, an everyday appliance, full stop. These cars will do the job of ferrying kids to school, the poodle to the vet and to the trip to work and that's it! Driving pleasure? Sportiness? Handling? hawhawhawhawhaw.. Marketing crap! My Laser 1.6 Ghia, even a 1996 model will teach these 'cars' a lesson on the B roads. Mind you it's stock.

Please address the market properly. Here's an layman's example of what you 'big boys' (Sime Darby) of the automotive world in Malaysia can do, government taxes, assembly woes and back up service will follow if you people are sincere. I don't like Toyotas, but they are really good in that department.

Model Price Range(Starting) Competitors

—————————————————————-

Ka 1.2 RM40K – 50K Myvi, Savvy, Viva

Fiesta 1.4,1.6 RM60K – 70K Hyundais, KIAs, Jazz

Focus 1.6, 1.8, 2.0 RM85K – RM115K City,Vios,Latio,Civic,Koreans

Mondeo 2.0, 2.3 RM140K-170K Camry,Accord,406,Koreans,VW

S-Max 2.3 RM145K-RM160K Japanese MPVs

Ranger 2.0T RM75K – RM90K Japanese 4×4 Pickups

Escape 2.3 RM140K – RM150K CRV, X-trail, Fortuner, etc

Mustang 4.0 V6 RM250K – RM300K Class of its own 1st Muscle car

offering in Msia!

We all know Ford has got a HUGE plant in Thailand.. so make use of it, or negotiate or brainstorm or something! Or fans like me will just turn to another marque over time.

Sincerely,

Ford Fan

• ruzi ahmad reza on Aug 16, 2009 at 5:05 am

what else is new?

Ford escape ~ Mazda 6

Chevy captiva ~ Daewoo S3X (http://paultan.org/topics/cars/koreans/chevroletdaewoo/page/4/)
    its all about rebadging laaa :)

• Looking forward to own this SUV.

What colors are available?

• johnny on May 09, 2010 at 4:38 pm

The front headlamp design is such a disappointment. It is Obviously outdated, sissy, boring. Can you design / marketing people at FORD wake up ?? Just because this is the “asian” market it doesn’t mean we want something “soft”.

Give us an adventurous and Smart looking vehicle we can be proud of and we’ll go out and Buy it!
    Isnt that what an Escape is all about ???