Ford Kuga to debut at Geneva 2008

Ford Kuga

Ford’s production version of the iosis X concept will make its debut at the Geneva Motor Show as the Ford Kuga. The Kuga, which some consider essentially a CrossFocus, will come with a 2.0 litre Duratorq TDCi engine making 134 horsepower and 320Nm of torque at 2,000rpm, with an overboost function which raises boost levels at short intervals to 340Nm for overtaking or whenever that extra power is needed. This engine is mated to a 6-speed manual.

Two versions are available – one front wheel driven and the other with an intelligent Haldex full-time AWD version. Other safety features include Electronic Stability Programme (ESP) with combined Anti Rollover Mitigation (ARM), ABS brakes with Electronic Brakeforce Distribution (EBD), and Trailer Stability Assist (TSA).

The Ford Kuga seats 5, and the second row splits 60:40 to extend boot space from 360 litres to 1355 litres.

More photos after the jump.

Ford Kuga

Ford Kuga

Ford Kuga

Ford Kuga

Ford Kuga

Ford Kuga

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• terracottaz (Member) on Feb 17, 2008 at 6:01 pm

looks like 2009 Volvo XC60 SUV to me…

• zaen (Member) on Feb 17, 2008 at 7:39 pm

much viable replacement for the ‘old stylo look’ Ford Escape..

• joe203 (Member) on Feb 17, 2008 at 8:06 pm

Hmm.. I don’t know man, they all look the same

• MyviKiller (Member) on Feb 17, 2008 at 8:38 pm

Youthful looking, a head to head Chevrolet Captiva competitor.

• raptorclans (Member) on Feb 17, 2008 at 8:43 pm

everyone seems to be going for the VW look wif the red rear lamps and round white ones in between ;p

• blazerSST (Member) on Feb 17, 2008 at 9:02 pm

Ford designs have really improved, much muscular lines, esp. the new Mondeo, Focus turbo.

• szw (Member) on Feb 17, 2008 at 9:18 pm

looks really cool…

• nanashisan (Member) on Feb 17, 2008 at 9:19 pm

not only compete with Chevrolet Captiva, it also looks similar too. at leat better proportion.

i wonder what is the price….

• ryan_foong80 (Member) on Feb 17, 2008 at 9:20 pm

Ford your steering can place at museum already…. please la…. change little bit ok….

• nobodyatuk (Member) on Feb 17, 2008 at 9:22 pm

You’re right joe203, it’s getting really boring. The Lotus APX is way ahead in term of design and styling. Hopefully Proton will used the APX platform for its 4×4 SUV.

• BW (Member) on Feb 17, 2008 at 11:57 pm

Looks not bad to me

• mystvearn (Member) on Feb 17, 2008 at 11:59 pm

Really looks like focus with higher profile

• azrai (Member) on Feb 18, 2008 at 6:46 am

One front wheel driven? 1WD?

• tHe CuLpRit (Member) on Feb 18, 2008 at 8:23 am

But they’re still selling the Ford Escape, and a new one was launched not long ago?

So is this to be positioned below the Escape? the Escape is quite reknowned for its off-road capability so this Kuga might be abit like the X3, in that it will be more suited on the road instead of off it.

• tHe CuLpRit (Member) on Feb 18, 2008 at 8:25 am

azrai said,
    February 18, 2008 @ 6:46 am

One front wheel driven? 1WD?

———————-

think Paul meant one model is front wheel drive, the other 4wd.

• fyzal (Member) on Feb 18, 2008 at 8:46 am

in terms of overall looks, tis one is much better than Renault Koleos :-)

• wildthingz (Member) on Feb 18, 2008 at 9:09 am

Hi guys i need an opinion hope u guys can help me. I want to know which audio system for ICE is better i want to install audio system on my myv pls give an opinion…. sorry off topic :)

• BanyakMasukWorkshop (Member) on Feb 18, 2008 at 9:34 am

definitely have hints of volvo. but then again, ford owns volvo.

“want to know which audio system for ICE is better”
    maybe you should post your question in paul’s forum rather than on the blog. but to answer your extremely general question.. there is no such thing as a “better audio system” to install, only how much money you can afford to spend. in short.. please state your budget when you repost this on the forum, or no one can help you out.

• 4G63T DSM (Member) on Feb 18, 2008 at 10:14 am

Crossovers and small SUVs are somewhat pointless in malaysia. Its not like the most of us need AWD to justify the extra cost and fuel consumption hit to lug all that hardware with it.

I do wish Ford would bring in the S-Max. So far, there is the Stream, Wish and the Mazda 5 (maybe the long in the tooth Grandis as it’s just dopped into the price range) in the category.

• Roti Naan (Member) on Feb 18, 2008 at 10:48 am

Got boost function? something like Knight Rider car -Turbo Boost?.
    or was it Hot Pursuit?

• BanyakMasukWorkshop (Member) on Feb 18, 2008 at 11:17 am

“SUVs are somewhat pointless in malaysia”, strange thing is, quite a lot of people in malaysia love SUV’s. judging by the number of CRV’s, Rav4’s and soon to be rush on the roads.

as for ford malaysia, i really dont know whats going to happen to them. for the car market, they are practically dead in the water. they hardly sold anything the whole of last year. bringing in a new MPV aint gonna help them.

• nuajon (Member) on Feb 18, 2008 at 11:53 am

designer not much ide, all like copy paste ide….shape like syang yong kyron.

• fretsurfer (Member) on Feb 18, 2008 at 11:57 am

Ford doesn’t care about this region much, except for their 4x4s. I.e. Their Focus is the best selling car in UK. As well as one of the the top seller in most of EU. Whatever they churn out in Europe, usually gets good reviews these days. Ka. Mondeo. They eagerly await the arrival of the new Fiesta. And this Kuga.

It’s sad to see that Ford is “practically dead in the water”, being an owner of a Ford myself. But that’s the story of contis in Malaysia. Except VW, at least. Or the German Marques.

• raybrig85 (Member) on Feb 18, 2008 at 12:14 pm

the overall profile…muscular…like volvo

• zaen (Member) on Feb 18, 2008 at 1:29 pm

nuajon said,

February 18, 2008 @ 11:53 am

designer not much ide, all like copy paste ide….shape like syang yong kyron.

————————————————————–

errr… Sorry.. I cannot see any thing like kyron at all.. anybodies seen it like kyron apart from Nuajon?

• corolla_KE70 (Member) on Feb 18, 2008 at 5:03 pm

nope! looks like a ford mondeo being placed on an altar!

• avanza (Member) on Feb 18, 2008 at 5:27 pm

Good observation Azrai… should have been written as “One with front wheel drive” lah.

• dzat46 (Member) on Feb 18, 2008 at 5:48 pm

4G63T DSM said,
    February 18, 2008 @ 10:14 am

Crossovers and small SUVs are somewhat pointless in malaysia. Its not like the most of us need AWD to justify the extra cost and fuel consumption hit to lug all that hardware with it.

I do wish Ford would bring in the S-Max. So far, there is the Stream, Wish and the Mazda 5 (maybe the long in the tooth Grandis as it’s just dopped into the price range) in the category.

—————————————————————-
    S-Max…that will be interesting…even the Galaxy look sporty for a big MPV…

• nmh (Member) on Feb 18, 2008 at 6:15 pm

ford shud make this available in malaysia

• raybrig85 (Member) on Feb 18, 2008 at 9:27 pm

kyron???nope…it is a good idea if they bring the s-max…one of the best mpv nowaday..