Updated 308 Turbo with panoramic glass roof

Peugeot 308 Panoramic Roof

Many of us already know this for months thanks to showroom and insider information but Malaysian Peugeot distributors Nasim Sdn Bhd has only just made an official announcement. The 5-door Peugeot 308 Turbo hatchback has been updated with a full-length panoramic glass roof, a similiar one to the one that its more powerful sibling, the 3-door 308 GT has. Nasim says the updated 308 will be available from the end of July 2009 onwards.

The original price of RM111k has been hiked to RM113,888 OTR including insurance and road tax – so that’s less than RM3,000 for the stunning panoramic roof that measures 1.26 meter square, encompassing two-thirds of the roof.

During hot days there is a one-touch full length electric sunblind that fully covers up the glass roof, which uses athermic glass to reduce some of the heat that comes through whenever you have the sunblind open.

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• jiho21 on Jun 19, 2009 at 11:02 am

Looks pretty cool then.

• Christopher Tan on Jun 19, 2009 at 11:14 am

Wow.

• Gajen on Jun 19, 2009 at 11:40 am

ill pick this to altis civic and lancer…this has a much more interesting interior than the japanese rivals…

• Calvin De La Rosa on Jun 19, 2009 at 11:42 am

If your wife's stove ran out of gas…

that can be recycle as induction cooker.

Just leave it under the sun for 15mins…

walla, u can cook eggs easily :D

• This outspecs every other Japanese car in it's class but a huge margin. Pretty impressive. The only unknown factor is the service quality of the franchise holder.

• geekfiredog on Jun 19, 2009 at 3:58 pm

Just curious – is the roof "pre-tinted" to reduce heat penetration into the cabin?

• Just give yourself a chance to test drive. Feel the power to tap from the smallish cc BUT enormous torque for that engine. Ride and handling is decent, never compared to Altis.

• Good job Peugeot Nasim! Hope can maintain after sales services and having qualified Peugeot car mechanic!!!!

• just wonder whether it will be hot inside or not…?

• deadpixel on Jun 19, 2009 at 5:59 pm

i'll book one soon….

• deadpixel on Jun 19, 2009 at 6:00 pm

I'll book one soon

• intermilan on Jun 19, 2009 at 6:13 pm

They use athermic glass, with means the glass is already 'tinted'. well, all the glasses in a 308 is an athermic glass. but given our hot climate it is best to tint the panoramic glass with the best tint available, since heat seems to be at the back of everyone mind's.

and the article also mention that there is a full-length electric sunblind (fully cover the panoramic glass roof)… and it is thick. this provide a nother layer of protection again sun heat and harmful UVs.

therefore, i am of the opinion that heat, as in extra heat (as compared to normal roof car) is a non-issue for this panoramic roof.

but what more important is that the increase in price is a (good) shocker. Most people were expecting a worst hike. a clean RM2,888 hike (plus OTR incremental) is a great move to actually entice a larger pool of customer.

Thumb up from me on this one.

If this one does not perceived as representing great value proposition, i don't know what else to say.

Additionally, I see this as a chance to 're-lauch' the 308 turbo, well.. not that it need further introduction…

Nasim will have hell of a job, trying to meet customer expectation over the delivery on this one. Now everyone want one! Be prepared.. be really prepared…

• longjaafar on Jun 19, 2009 at 6:27 pm

More expensive than the Jazz, and cheaper than the Civic. It has all the attributes to make it a success. Their greatest challenge is to change people's mindset.

• Shiang on Jun 19, 2009 at 6:27 pm

A4's sunroof costs 10k!

• Heskey on Jun 19, 2009 at 6:31 pm

I'm going to book one also

• ban_87 on Jun 19, 2009 at 6:39 pm

I'm so gonna BUY THIS CAR!!!!

• roti naan1 on Jun 19, 2009 at 6:54 pm

I dont care…l'l sell my proton and my wife and buy this car.

• pretty, and it;s engine has just won the best engine award for 1.4-1.8cc category! wooohooo. just wondering cost of service and maintenance for a pug, any ideas?

• l3ryan on Jun 19, 2009 at 7:25 pm

would love to get one.

too bad peugeot's resale revalue drops like a lead balloon here.

• intermilan on Jun 19, 2009 at 7:33 pm

Ryan,

Officially, the standard service and maintenance cost for Peugeot 308 (VTi or Turbo) is 7.78% cheaper than Civic 2.0s , 1.1% cheaper than Civic 1.8 and is costlier by 10.73% against Honda City and Jazz over period of 6 years / 120,000km.

Its actually cheaper than its direct rival in C-segment market, the Civic and only slightly costlier than two B-segment Japanese car.

Additionally, the 308 VTi is have a promotion, 70% off for service n maintenance for the first 3 years / 60,000km (saving valued at around RM2,800). This will truly make the VTi service cost really really cheap.

hope that helps.

• Wak Rempit on Jun 19, 2009 at 7:44 pm

Personally prefer this car better than a honda and toyota in same segment. The only issue is assembly quality since it is a CKD.

Seen quite a number of the Naza Bestari with assembly defects that's so obvious you can see them from far (eg. misaligned doors or tail lights)… but you don't see those in the CBU Pug 206!

I know it's unfair to compare the two cars but I think it is a good point to ponder.

• sick and tired on Jun 19, 2009 at 7:44 pm

roti_naan, send me your wife's photo, I might be interested! hahahahahahahaha

nice car btw, better then any japanese car I have seen.

• Wak Rempit on Jun 19, 2009 at 7:46 pm

roti naan1 said,

I dont care…l’l sell my proton and my wife and buy this car.

hahaha… sell your wife? is that a typo… you don't mean that… do you?

• hardrisk on Jun 19, 2009 at 7:49 pm

awas! buah kelapa jatuh..

• kimi_ on Jun 19, 2009 at 7:53 pm

yes, a good alternative to T and H badge……

BUT the biggest DOWNSIDE is IT has little boot space to put in the luggage…

Especially during vacation…

And the maintanance fee and spare part cost will higher than toyota and honda…….not say resale VALUE!!!!!!

IF you all desperately want a peuguot, GET a good second hand Peugeot407 BETTER …………..

• kimi_ on Jun 19, 2009 at 7:57 pm

FYI, if you buy this peugeot 308 new, the market value after FIRST year will

DEPRECIATE at least whopping RM15-20K……..Think about it!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

• My concern is the water leakage from the sunroof.

Heard many stories of even a conti car with sunroof leaks water after the rubber of the roof worn out due to malaysia heat. Also, under heavy rain (the usual malaysia tropical weather), does it leak? How much to replace?

MY heat and rain is different from the rest of other countries.

• catshavefur on May 25, 2011 at 10:05 pm

it’s not that kind of sunroof. it cannot open.

go to a showroom and see what i mean.

• intermilan on Jun 19, 2009 at 8:15 pm

Boot space / capacity (VDA method).

Pug 308 – 420L (min)

Latio Sport – 269L (min)

Altis 1.8G – 475L?

Vios – 470L?

City – 506L

Jazz – 366L?

Civic – 485L?

….

• Mufasahoo.com on Jun 19, 2009 at 8:19 pm

roti naan1 said,

June 19, 2009 @ 10:54 am

———————————————

i think your wife more expensive then you old car

• intermilan on Jun 19, 2009 at 8:28 pm

Boot space / capacity (VDA method).

Pug 308 – 420L (min)

Latio Sport – 269L (min)

Altis 1.8G – 475L?

Vios – 470L?

City – 506L

Jazz – 366L?

Civic – 485L?

…. 308 capacity is not that bad ah for a hatchback?

• roti naan1 said,

June 19, 2009 @ 10:54 am

u sure your wife resell value enough to get this car? like car, not all models of wife have good second hand value. make sure you keep the service record, it might help.

btw, i think i like the one without sunroof but cheaper price. sunroof really not practical here. it just add more electronic gadget, more moving part which expose user to more risk of thing get broken.

• d@bai on Jun 19, 2009 at 8:56 pm

I think Nasim has some maintenance package, saw it on their site the other day, Peugeot Lion Save Package, but not sure if it applies to this panoramic version though, or maybe it does but this page not updated yet. Best to call them and ask.

http://www.peugeot.com.my/index.php/media-centre/…

But yeah pug's second-hand value drop is a bitch, but then again, selling your wife also will fetch very low second hand value, the headlamps will be out-of-place, her transmission will be a bit jerky and slipping, not to mention her engine will be difficult to start on cold mornings too!

And her maintenance cost is going to be waaaaaaay more than a Pug man! So you probably making the right choice roti naan1 ;)

• lowprofile on Jun 19, 2009 at 9:14 pm

epol,

it is not a sunrooflah. so, it doesn't open up at all. the only thing that moves is the sunblind which is inside the car. if it doesn't work, you can still manually open and close it. with a panoramic roof, you have don't have the issue of leaking.

• I hate it! My smart forfour has all glass roof and the car is like an oven during hot afternoons. Plus, the heat inside is hot enough to cook popcorn (if accidentally left inside for more than 3 hours under scorching sun).

• even the sunroof doesn't meant to open. There is still a rubber between the roof and car body. The rubber after the long time in the sun…..well….rainy days leakage may happen.

• Who says panoramic roof won't leak? Silicone sealant won't last forever you know? Plus, if someone were to smash the roof, it will cost 2 arms and 2 legs to replace it.

For my smart, the cost is RM 12k for roof only and another RM 3k for sealant, rubber seals and labour.

Can buy 1 MyVi and 1 Exora already (downpayment la).

• noname on Jun 19, 2009 at 10:35 pm

i'm gonna wait another year, see who bought it and selling it at very low resale value, then i will buy lor…

• intermilan on Jun 19, 2009 at 10:55 pm

here come the naysayers…

• kimi_ on Jun 19, 2009 at 11:24 pm

Please…i will not buy this car because of its DEALER nasim !!!!!!

they have poor service records and it worse than proton….

• kimi_ on Jun 19, 2009 at 11:28 pm

noname said,

i’m gonna wait another year, see who bought it and selling it at very low resale value, then i will buy lor…

YESSSSS, DONT buy this car new…….WAIT for second hand…..

• k-roll on Jun 20, 2009 at 12:26 am

why everybody "kecoh"ing about leaking and hot sun in malaysia??first, the glass is tinted..second, the roof can be open or close during at any time with one touch button..so plz put a side your negative thinking..think positive..like Toyota said, maximize the positive and minimize the negative.

• King Samurai on Jun 20, 2009 at 12:51 am

I'm driving a car with full length panoranic skyroof. Though it's an athermic laminated glass with UV and heat rejection capabilities, it still cannot stand our climate with extreme sunlight. Even if the heat is quite mild but u cant stand the glaring sun light…which may affect driving concentration. My recommendation, only open the sunshade at early morning and evening after 6pm..But when raining, watching the rain drops from they sky is spectacular…my kids are enjoying it..

• BODOW on Jun 20, 2009 at 1:11 am

Haiya u guys …

tak bagi panaromic roof u guys said how come 308GT got it ..

dah offer bising pasal heat la pulak … better not to have it bla bla …

next u guys ask why no convertible 308 …incessant grumbling …

finally toyota honda jugak yg di belinya

• King Samurai on Jun 20, 2009 at 1:20 am

BODOW…bro i'm driving honda with panoramic roof anyway…:P

• osh_kosh on Jun 20, 2009 at 1:43 am

wonder if the panoramic roof add more weight to the car or not.. hmm

• BODOW on Jun 20, 2009 at 3:31 am

Add 2-3 k already got pana -roof ..that's good man … i'd always want that see-through roof in any car even in a Kancil haha …

heat problem .. just extra tint la what the heck small matter for a such desirable option .

I tested this 308 vti and turbo both 3 months ago … awesome man …. if i 'm in the market for a 5 seater car …this is my first option …langit dan bumi with the Jap cars

• familiman on Jun 20, 2009 at 5:40 am

my panaromic thp will arrive in August, SWEET!!

WTH with heat?? gots lots of magic word… vkool, 3m, huperoptic, etc etc :P

• if opting for 308 turbo, which cost 111k…ofcos after 1st year resale value drop by 10-15k bro. tell me a car that dont, and tell me how many ppl will sell their car after just 1 year =_=

• thats pretty cheap for a panoramic roof. but its not a sun roof though, so it doesnt open up.

• Buy is one thing, can maintain or not is another story…

• Continental cars' spare parts are insanely expensive for living standard here, yet does not necessary last long

• Alan Wong on Jun 20, 2009 at 8:43 am

So many people commenting without knowing the truth.

Your front windscreen will leak or not?? Same thing here laa.. won't leak laa..

My 308 has the moonroof and its really nice to have it. During a hot day, I close the shade and its cool inside just like a normal car.

• paparazi (Member) on Jun 20, 2009 at 8:47 am

RM113,888 OTR including insurance and road tax…dam attractive. those who dislike Jap car could consider this (but again be conscious of service technics & quality of the franchise holder) owner would jump like monkey after service.

• paparazi (Member) on Jun 20, 2009 at 8:54 am

brand new & reasonable price european car, after few years franchise holder might suck back your money. maintenance, spare parks….. brilliant marketing strategy.

• I really getting boring to hear someone mention about resale value. How many of us after buying a new car will change another new car in short time?

If you suddenly become rich or promoted, salary increase by big amount, then you will not care if you lost some money to have better car.

For majority of people will not change car in that fast!!!

Every car have minimum value.

For example, both car A and B cost RM80k. A has better resell value than B.

After 1 year, car A = RM 70k, car B = RM 60k

After 2 yrs, car A = RM 60k, car B = RM 40k

After 3 yrs, car A = RM 50k, car B = RM 35k

After 4 yrs, car A = RM 40k, car B = RM 25k

After 5 yrs, car A = RM 30k, car B = RM 20k (minimum)

After 6 yrs, car A = RM20k, car B = RM20k

More expensive spare part? Hello, if you want to be different to other, why not pay a bit more? Do you want to end up in the car park, left right front back also surrounded with the same model?

Bad service from Pug (Nasim?) Hello, T is so popular. Many of my relatives, friends and colleagues driving T. I do not think T service is better either.

Peoguet 308 is definitely a good choice with its spec given against the reasonable price.

• turboKev on Jun 20, 2009 at 10:22 am

After reading all the negatives comment about this car (either in here or in other forum) I have a conclusion..

1.Buy this car ONLY when you have enough budget, not just enuf to pay the RM113k but more. – be prepare for the future spare parts after warranty.

2.DON'T buy this car if you worry about the resell value, stick back to your T&H..be like everyone else.

3.DON'T complain about the panoramic roof, if you can not accept 'new' stuff in driving a car. stick back to your four door sedan with huge boot space.

I'm getting this car, as I already prepare my RM120k to be "wasted" in exchange for my driving pleasure – comfort, sporty, luxury, safety, spacious. (as compare with its same segment in Malaysia with the give price tag)

further more, buying a car is never an investment. It's a Liability, so I rather ENJOY my Liability first rather then Worry later about the resell value or wat so ever! as I see my financial portfolio as a Whole, I have other way to compensate my this "liability"

Thus, I wanna have fun when i paying 100k+.

• Nanamin on Jun 20, 2009 at 1:56 pm

http://www.sgcarmart.com/news/review.php?AID=47

After reading this 308 turbo review, i would opt for Honda cars.

• Save Life on Jan 01, 2011 at 9:51 pm

Dear all

For those who are looking for cars (price range 100k to 150k) …i think it’s about time we really look at the safety features than always concern about resale value. I believe all the asian car makers don’t give a damn about our lives. They think giving u 2 airbags is a BIG VALUE. The continental cars really have SAFETY in mind..they care about LIFE. They always have a least 6 to 7 airbags + other safety feature to it.

It’s a damn suckers to drive a Japs Car….

• acura mdx on Jun 20, 2009 at 7:09 pm

love this car..the handling much more better than japanese car and yet reasonable price. Interior wise very superb and roomier than their competitors.

• turboKev on Jun 20, 2009 at 8:18 pm

to NANAMIN

one thing for sure. I bet you have not test drive the 308THP b4, and you dun even bother take a close look of the car.

that SGcarmart review was ages back, i never see a review like dat b4..kind of tough… I believe that bugger is from a rich family , already driving BMW or BENZ or others nice car since born.. u know..its SG..

• kimi_ on Jun 20, 2009 at 8:44 pm

The transparent roof for what? the trsnsparent roof for sunshine to shine in or to let THE THIEF TO PEEP IN ? ? ? so ridiculous

i opt for peugout206cc that the roof can be opened and more cool but a bit older.but it"s all is Worthless after few years, don"t you agree?

• dUg0nGnesSss on Jun 20, 2009 at 8:46 pm

to Nanamin..

go to test drive 1st before make conclusion from someone review..lain org yg pandu lain rasanya…

• kimi_ on Jun 20, 2009 at 8:47 pm

so you may attracted by this car for now, but IN THE FUTURE YOU WILL BE REGRET!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

• kimi_ on Jun 20, 2009 at 8:59 pm

when raining, you will be:

1) you will fell romantic by watching the water drops to you…grace of autumn, glory of spring, snow of winter and rain of summer makes u feel warmth…………Through the panoramic roof

2)you will be struck by lighting because the refraction of the transparent roof

• lowprofile on Jun 21, 2009 at 3:15 am

aiyoo kimi,

nothing nice to say is it?

• lowprofile on Jun 21, 2009 at 3:43 am

Kimi,

please be civil lah. you have been slamming anything that is not japanese in paul's blog site. why? is it that you have been wronged in one way or another?

furthermore, no need to curse ppl like your point number 2. you may not like the company that sells the car but why curse the buyers?

• Alan Wong on Jun 21, 2009 at 4:02 am

kimi,

wow… didn't know that the moonroof has the capabilities of REFRACTION… very high tech leh!!

BTW, if lightning can strike on glass, that means that the glass is a conductor of electricity in YOUR PLANET….

and…. I also don't know how to FELL romantic….. maybe you care to explain??

hahaha…

• Jenson on Jun 21, 2009 at 4:30 am

kimi,

"The transparent roof for what? the trsnsparent roof for sunshine to shine in or to let THE THIEF TO PEEP IN ? ? ? so ridiculous"

this really has me LOL.

so I guess your car doesn't have a window or your window is made of steel. Or maybe you drive a tank so that "THE THIEF CAN'T PEEP IN"?

LOLOLOL

• dUg0nGnesSss on Jun 21, 2009 at 4:34 am

hahhaaha..he is alien

• Maserati on Jun 21, 2009 at 5:01 am

I have test drove a 308 Turbo and its damn freaking powerful due to its Turbo.

And besides,its so fun to drive! Once I hit the accelerator,it revs till 5.5k

And theres also this cool sounds coming out from the engine there once u release the pedal.

Definately a good car,but reliablity,2nd hand value and service quality might be an issue.

• CocoBear on Jun 21, 2009 at 11:01 am

I overheard that the Porsche triptronic doesn't match well to the characteristic of a Pug's engine. I haven't test drive one yet, but i think the flat high torque is good enuf for all gears. I need to convince my mum to buy one for her daily use.

Also tell me how to conduct elect thru glass. If can, i nominate u for Nobel Prize.

• CocoBear on Jun 21, 2009 at 11:27 am

I have just 'restudied' the Prince engine's capability. It certainly fits as one of the greatest modern engine and for the price of such little wonder, it's a bargain. The only downside is it's a CKD..

If u have no passion and have no balls when coming to resale value, leave the car alone. I will take this car as my next replacement.

• mangkok^ayon on Jun 21, 2009 at 9:48 pm

i own one (vti) an im loving it!

go guys…buy one…dun hesitate…

• Alan Wong on Jun 21, 2009 at 10:31 pm

I own the Peugeot 308GT and loving every moment of it.

• deadpixels on Jun 22, 2009 at 12:49 am

i bought this thp…tourque is really impressive for its cc. Those kampung guys who never drove conti before pls shoutup, so paria. . .cant accept new thing? Ie moonroof? Pls get a proton cz assume moonroof in proton wil b another 10+ year. Perhaps tis been available in conti car 4 ages, checkout, minicooper, e200k, s300, major luxury mpv. . .

• rayzel (Member) on Jun 22, 2009 at 4:07 am

Hello all,

Sudah test drive this 308 turbo…

Got the wow factor la..

-very responsive the engine.. like the "hiss.. hiss" sound ..

-body roll very little as compared to my 5 years WAJA :)

-the brakes work really good

-but didnt check the sound proofing. busy chatting with the salesman

-audio not bad..

-but not leather seat

-not that spacious for rear seat

-small cabin space.. but who cares.. not that you need it everyday..

-handles quite well on bumpy roads..

the salesman in Bangsar was very friendly… knowledgeable about Peugeot..

Must say its a good compact car with that powerful engine inside..

Seriously i'm considering this car with Civic 2.0.. sigh.. susah mau buat decision like this…

• Peterwyh on Jun 22, 2009 at 8:58 am

Dear all,

Don't talk abt Japanese make's second hand value higher & part price is cheap !

here are few example y Japanese make low in resale value; not as what u think higher value if compared to Continental make . The following cases happen to my fren and customer !

1) 1.5 years old Civic 2.0, My fren bought it only 95K ! with millage only 18K KM !

2) 4 years old Nissan X trail. My fren sold for only 60K. if he don't sell it, the upcoming repair bill is hefty money to pay !

3) less than 2 years old city, my customer sold with 30K less if compare new car price !

Talk abt spare parts price :

My experience with Pug 407 for 3 years of ownership and over 60k KM of driving pleasure…

1.) front brake pad, genuine part from France : RM4XX with labor, pls check on Accord & Camry price b4 u said it's cheap. one of my customer changed his Accord 2.4 Genuine Front brake pad for nearly 700 !

2.) rear brake pad, genuine part from France : RM3XX with labor

3.) Oil filter : Rm3x -4x

4.) ABS/ESP sensor cable : RM2xx

5.) best thing is : i had never paid up to RM600 per service for the parts & labor, etc. Best thing is Pug only need to service every 10K

6.) cheapest service interval : RM199.80, with 5 litre Semi Sync oil, oil filter & labor !

7.) above all hv been done in Authorised Service Centre each time with diagnotics Software checked as well, not by Ah beng workshop under the tree

A lot of ppl can say nonsense with baseless fact, but my advise is just drive it then only u will know. It happen since i bought my Pug 405 last times, many ppl said negative abt it. Guess what ? The maintenace of 405 is much lower than a similar age Accord !

Don't be fool around by ppl around you. check with the service centre on the Genuine part price and start to compare with your same class level car Geuine part price, u will be amazed by the data.

• deadpixel on Jun 22, 2009 at 6:06 pm

rayzel, go for 308 thp else you will regret with your 2.0 civic when u meet 308 @ traffic light! hehehe cheers! Both car has bout same sound proof, i think but THP is much more stiff and stable when you hit highway @ top speed. (drop my cousin civic 2.0 before for 1 week, in town and long distance…)

• lowprofile on Jun 22, 2009 at 6:30 pm

deadpixels,

to add what you mentioned earlier, even the 206 already had the panoramic roof many years ago. nothing new to europeans. even the south american and aussie and nz versions of the 206 already had the roof long ago.

• ezmil on Jun 22, 2009 at 8:29 pm

the reason some conti car owners has hefty service bill is that they "inherit" a poorly maintained car from the previous owner. Most of my friends who owned conti cars bought their car second hand. The initial cost of repairing their ride sometimes might be expensive, but after the car is in good shape, the cost of maintaining one is rather cheap. BTW, most of my friends owns a Peugeot and Citroen… Me only drive the "Malaysian made conti car" – Proton Waja hehehehe

• kimi_ on Jun 22, 2009 at 11:22 pm

how about peugeot 207cc better??? please reply.

• William on Jun 23, 2009 at 3:27 am

Go test drive the car. Compare the handling of 308 with T or H. 308 THP is pretty impressive. It's a fun car to drive. As pointed out by others, it's a drivers car.

For the SG review, it's comparing with VW Golf GTI. Here in M'sia, a new Golf is around 75% more than 308THP where else in SG it's almost the same price. If given the almost same pricing, I'll go for Golf GTI.

Another very important point is the 308 safety feature. 6 airbags, NCAP 5 star, etc. It's not important if everything goes well. But touch wood, if there's a major accident, it will sure be very important.

• sixspeed on Jun 23, 2009 at 3:50 am

People who say the Japanese spare parts are cheaper are thinking about the cap ayam brands only, like MITSUBOSHI and TOYODA.

If comparing genuine to genuine parts, Peugeot prices are similar or even cheaper in some cases.

• Comarezzi on Jun 23, 2009 at 7:36 pm

i don't care bout resale value … just the service part.. longevity… looks good i might buy it n used for 15 years then give it to my son…hehehee..

• Frenchconnection on Jun 26, 2009 at 4:52 am

Bro, not to worry about the CKD status, i was told by some of the people inside that the car is actually 95% cbu, unlike other competitor where everything delivered to local factory by cargo boxes, 308 was delivered to this country completely built up, without the tyre.This could be true, since one of the clause for CBU is the vehicle is under undriven condition!

• Claude on Jul 17, 2009 at 11:04 am

Wah! after reading all the comments here I think the 308 turbo will be a good buy. Of course some are more kiasu. Want to buy a car with good resale value. You not second and dealer lah! People buy car to drive for a few years, then only sell when want to upgrade. You think everyone change car every year meh???

Scare spare parts expensive then buy motorbike or better bicycle then maintenance damn cheap loh. Or take public transport no need to incur maintenance cost or pump petrol.

I think I will go test drive and buy one for my wife. When the 308 was first launched, went to see liao. Now with glass roof lagi best. Glass roof ada class lah, pay RM2888 is nothing. For a conti car, cannot comment on the price tag already.

• azmankmn on Jul 20, 2009 at 9:56 pm

My mrs & I test drive peugeot 308 turbo & 407 yesterday. We decide to get one, tmrw we're going to pay the booking for 308 turbo, the only problem is to decide the colour!

• azmankmn on Jul 20, 2009 at 10:02 pm

To those interested in peugeot 308 but worry about fuel consumption then go 4 non-turbo model, it is understandable that the emblem 'tubbo' will cost a bit more in fuel consumption. Some of us here could not even understand about differentiation between sunroof vs panoramic roof, DO NOT COMMENT IF U DO NOT KNOW THE FACT!!

• adilzblade on Aug 05, 2009 at 9:22 pm

After a month of considering, i finally ended up booking the Pug 308 Turbo against the Civic 1.8. Price for price, the Pug has more features and panoromic roof is just simply awesome.

• patchong on Aug 25, 2009 at 11:20 pm

any comment on peugeot407?

• This car is a true car worth every cents of your $. It has 6 airbags for God sake! turbo power, tiptronic gear, panoramic glass, ebd, abs bla bla bla, passenger aircond, JBL speakers (this is one of the best speaker in Hi-Fi world), 17 inch rims, cruise control, 3 years /100,000 km warranty and the best of all RM90 for a yearly road tax!!!

Watch this space- 308 Turbo gonna define a new and beginning chapter for a new resale value and mindset of Malaysian towards this car. I bet after 4 years of driving, the car will still maintain at least 75% of its value i.e RM113,888 less 25% = RM85,4++ (best case scenario) and the worst case scenario at RM80,000. Assuming this is after 4 years with full service history.

Go on and get this car, after all who wants a second hand car with all the farts boom after all this years..hehe

B4 booking, request from Salesman- Pug Shirt, Key Chain, Full Petrol, Tinted Voucher bla bla bla.. I just cannot tahan liao and bank in rm1k to kg baru Pug salesman.

Go on and take it..Word of Advice..308 TURBO IS BETTER THAN MITSU LANCER 2.0, MAZDA 3, ANY CIVIC AND VIOS MODELS, EVEN ALTIS IS NO WHERE NEAR..DO NOT SPEAK ON NISSAN SLYPHY COZ U ARE FAR AWAY..HONDA CIVIC NOT GOOD AT ALL..all this Japs car are *? hehe

• Saw the 308 Turbo at Subang Parade yesterday. Test drove the car today at Nasim. Decided to dump my two year old BMW 320i (monthly payment RM3k man!!!!) and bought this VALUE FOR MONEY pug today (guess what 90% loan and monthly only RM1,150). Who cares about resale value when you can get a fantastic car at this value and a saving of almost RM1,850k. Maybe can use this for spare parts and etc etc etc.

Just go and test drive the car, then you will know. As of today Nera Black (Only 5 untis left) and Babylon Red (36 units left).

• Test drove the 308THP last week and it gave me goosebumps all the way because of the massive 240Nm torque and solid handling, not forgettig other features. Decided to drop my 3 years old Ford Focus S2.0 MKII for this one. Call the sales man now…

• Dylan on Apr 22, 2010 at 5:01 am

Drove it quite a number of times and observed this car closely over many months. Its a great value for money car to own with an engine to die for. From an ECU remapping point of view, it is a very good car to tweak for more horses from this engine compared to its rival cars such as the Civic, etc.

Great combination of suspension comfort and sporty handling.

As what ZHMY said, i might also replace my used but refined e46 for this car inview of the savings I could get owning this pug.

Dylan
    DKTUNING.com

• test drive this car and straight away fall in love. The handling is just too awesome plus the braking system is GOOD. Is a pure driver car!!!!! 308 got damn of other stuffs that u cannot find in Japs. car.

MOONROOF is simply rocking

• banghj on Jun 09, 2010 at 4:22 pm

I owned pug 405 for 13 years before part with it in 2008, bought new in 1995 at RM85K, sold it at RM7K. Ok what!
    -Now fall in love (love at 1st sight with this Pug 308),..definitely will grab this as my 4th car after test drive.,the only worry me is NASIM, this morning I called NASIM AUTO CITY JURU, they promised me that their Saleman will call me for test drive arrangement…but NO ONE call me till now.. :(

• banghj on Jun 09, 2010 at 4:48 pm

to avoid any misunderstanding..
    what i’m trying to say is that, after driving so many cars..pug still in my heart :)

• WinMo6.5 on Jun 23, 2010 at 12:46 am

banghj says sold it at 7k!!! only

my friend 1995 kancil just sold at 5k

• My 308GT has started to a leak / drip from the headlining, next to the sun visor mounts. Whilst Scotland is currently suffering well below freezing, I would not have expected water to enter via a fixed roof… the only point I guess water could be entering is around the top of windscreen / front of panoramic roof seals.

Its booked into the dealer next week and I’ll update once I have had it looked at.

Fixed roofs not leaking, never say never!