Mercedes-Benz E-Guard VR4 Armored Vehicle

Mercedes-Benz E-Guard

The E-Guard is not your regular W212 E-Class – it’s been beefed up substantially to give extra protection to the occupant inside, but the extra protection are all hidden and cannot be seen by the naked eye. It starts off as a regular E-Class chassis, made to regular series production standards.

Next, protective elements are installed. These are precisely formed to exactly fit the contours of the bodyshell without encroaching on the interior space. The fit must be perfect to provide proper protection. The slightest misfit might cause a bullet to be able to pierce through. There is also optional underbody armour, which will allow the entire underfloor of the passenger area to withstand the explosion of a DM51 hand grenade.

Mercedes-Benz E-Guard

All the extra protection helps the E-Guard conform to VR4 protection class. BMW’s “Security” series of armored cars also conform to this same specification. This means it can withstand handgun bullets of up to .44 Magnum in calibre at random angles of fire and not just via certain angles, to provide the most realistic protection possible. Runflat tyres in 17 inch size are used for additional protection (all BMWs except some M cars have this as standard), ensuring the car can still go at up to 50km and 80km/h speed in case attackers damage the tyres.

Of course all the extra parts makes the E-Guard so much more heavier than a regular E. Brakes, suspension and stability control systems must be adjusted and recalibrated to suit the new weight. The E-Guard uses a special Level II version of the AIRMATIC air suspension system as standard.

Look after the jump for some pretty interesting videos talking about the E-Guard and its assembly process. It also demonstrates with a loaded gun the difference between a normal W212 and the E-Guard in terms of bulletproofness. Enjoy the videos!

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• KitKat on Jul 06, 2009 at 11:17 am

My Cherie Amour, lovely as a summer's day

My Cherie Amour, distant as the Milky Way

My Cherie Amour, pretty little one that I adore

You're the only girl my heart beats for

How I wish that you were mine

~ Stevie Wonder

• PROTON GERMAN ENGINE on Jul 06, 2009 at 11:58 am

GERMAN ENGINEERING is really marvellous!

• RunnerUp on Jul 06, 2009 at 4:20 pm

Alaa, takde sunroof yang boleh bukak pulak.

Kalau tak, boleh buat macam citer Wanted.

Takleh tembak dari tepi, die tembak dari atas. Woooooo…

• droll on Jul 06, 2009 at 4:28 pm

so what if i fire rockets at the rims and damage the brakes or suspension?

• maddox101 on Jul 06, 2009 at 4:31 pm

wow… now it's like batmobile….

• James on Jul 06, 2009 at 4:32 pm

Cool car!

Maybe the US Army should order some!

Would be a great getaway car for Mafias!

A fantastic car for the warlords of Africa! de kar is indistructibel.

• cam.shaft on Jul 06, 2009 at 4:36 pm

next car to be purchased by the G =D

cam.shaft

• Malaysian for Peace on Jul 06, 2009 at 6:27 pm

Still got a lot of weakness.. it just proposed to avoid from bomb and sniper..

but if:

1. As what droll said above, Rocket aim at the rims..sure lost control.

2. 1st shoot ok, got the bullet proof to protect the target..but if 2nd shoot go through the same place less than a second..sure die..

3. if the car was throw in to the river, the target still can die.. many idea can be done to kill the target..

No matter how human create the machine to protect themselves from die, the others can create new tactics to kill the target..

just stay in a safe country, no crazy politician..so everything should be ok..

p/s: watch too much movie.. Autobots….transform…!

• superior on Jul 06, 2009 at 8:19 pm

that is more than enough for a car, stop complaning and those who need real protection get tanker.

• LOL

we no need it lah, malaysia peace mah, but politic ppl may need order for their official use. no need perdana, camry now can use benz because e guard can bullet proof..

• funny comments..

But to some, it is indeed needy to have an amour car to be driven around. It does not only applies to sernior Gov.personels, but also to the ultra rich.

They may need it to protect themselves or their family members from the perpetrators or would be kidnappers.

The amour cladded limousine here is just enough for you to get away from further danger. It's better than no armour at all, well a parang or hand gun would have done fatal damage.

Joke all you want, but this is serious stuffs to those ppl who are deemed as high risk.

• i believed the armor only provide you time to drive away to safety not to stop RPG or any bullet bigger than .44 If you need more than this protection you need a tank !

• rexis on Jul 06, 2009 at 9:30 pm

Now that's some worthy protection, at how much extra we are paying?

The protection are only sufficient for hand guns thou, but anyway, when your enemies decided to use a heavier weapon to take you out, you should be good enough to have your own army.

• haha…so many what if..

what if nuclear bomb drop onto the car?

Get a 'transformers' car

• RoboCar on Jul 07, 2009 at 12:04 am

Robocop the best.. Ask Merc to create one..

George Bush shold buy this.. he got A LOT of enemies…

For the Super Rich person, i dont think he need this car.. maybe he can get Helicopter. oh no..rocket launcher still can kill him.. soo? hmmm.. make plastic surgery maybe the best answer.. hehe..

anyway..this is new technology… but a wastage R&D… for a murder, to kill a person, not only using a gun or a bomb..but also using poison in their food,drink.. huh…

But I like the concept of Bullet Proof Car… also need to provide Sound Proof Car, Waterproof Car …

• LeBronJames on Jul 07, 2009 at 12:21 am

Thank God we don't need such cars in Malaysia.

• Luqman on Jul 07, 2009 at 1:32 am

"Thank God we don’t need such cars in Malaysia."

Absolutely true !

BTW: Such cars are sold in large numbers in Brasil, Russia and South Africa to common businessmen, not Mafia guys.

The pictured car is of the less armoured class, which can only withstand rifle and pistol bullets.

Cars with the highest protection class are only sold to gouvernment agencies and can also withstand "panzerfaust" rocket launcher projectiles and bombs under the car.

The former foreign minister of Russia and later president of Georgia, Mr. Eduard Shewardnatze, was attacked by rocket launcher fire in his amoured S-Class and survived…

• valandil on Jul 07, 2009 at 1:33 am

Aiyaah, just buy RM5 of RON 95 to make 10 molotov cocktails and RM5 diesel to spray over the tyres. And dun forget 5 parangs while waiting for the guy to come out.

• narrowband on Jul 07, 2009 at 3:28 am

if u do nothing wrong in life u wont need this level of protection.

it's to protect the guilty! :p

• KitKat on Jul 07, 2009 at 8:16 am

Why need this when we got the Bumblebee?

• this car is good enough in a normally peaceful situation where u only expect to be fired from small hand carried weapons. If u are in a warzone with all those bazooka, rocket lauchers, artillery and so on, get a tank.

• the stik on Jul 08, 2009 at 4:11 pm

alaa kereta kebal proton lagi best.. setakat kena tembak speed-trap rileeekkkk je.. ape ade hal? kecos laa merc!

• life as rich people can be a misery.got a lot of money but no peace inside

• PeterPan on Jul 15, 2009 at 2:20 pm

As others have said, the E-Guard is not supposed to play the role of an armored US Army Hummer! This vehicle is designed to protect people who "may" be targets of random attacks in urban areas patrolled by Police.

Again, this is not designed so you can roam free in Baghdad! It's meant to keep you alive with mobility and speed until you can reach a safe area, presumably within minutes.

• FabianSwinger on Jul 06, 2010 at 4:44 am

This car is for being safe in the city, to avoid criminals, muggings and kidnappings

It is not for anti terrorist defence, so, is a car oriented more to the executives or moderately rich people

Persons requiring more protection can opt for an S class that can resist bullets of 7,62 NATO caliber and small blasts of grenades

But if you are a wealthy person travelling in a poor area of the city,a slightly armoured Mercedes E 350 provides enough protection,,and is kind of frugal

For a politician or president or drug dealer, a heavier GW 550 SUV or an
    S 600 would be better

Me, I would like to armour a GLK 350 AWD