Want a new set of Goodyear Duraplus tyres?

Goodyear DuraplusThe condition of your tyres are no small matter to fool around with – they are your vehicle’s sole contact point to the ground and whether your car will be able to retain grip during a corner or be able to tackle the volume of water on our Malaysian road’s tendency to become little shallow lakes very much depends on the condition of your tyres.

The condition of your tyres can also affect your car’s ability to stop in an emergency. The British Rubber Manufacturers Association did a study on the effects of tyre tread depth on stopping distances in the wet and the following are the results:

Stopping Distance Graph

As you can see, stopping distances required increases dramatically at tread depths of below 3mm. I am not sure what the exact number is in Malaysia but the legal limit for tread depth in various countries are usually set at 1.6mm. But the deterioration of performance starts way above that legal limit!

But of course, times are bad and not many people can afford to change their tyres as often as they really should. So Goodyear wants to give out a set of Goodyear Duraplus tyres to someone who really needs a change of tyres.

Here’s how you can win your set of Goodyear Duraplus:

1. Take a photo of your current tyres to show that you need a change of new tyres.
  2. Give me your best reason to change to a set of Goodyear Duraplus tyres!

Send me the photo, tyre size and reason to my email at [email protected]. One lucky entry will be picked to receive a set of Duraplus tyres in his/her car’s tyre size. Remember to send them in quick, before the end of this month.

The new Goodyear DuraPlus was launched recently in Malaysia and the company claims it is able to achieve mileage as much as 100,000km. That sounds like good news for the budget-conscious consumer who just want to buy something, fit it on and forget about it for the next few years.

The Duraplus replaces the Goodyear GT3 in the Malaysian line-up. Of course you’d better make sure that Duraplus is available in the size that your car uses so here’s a table of all available sizes as well as their recommended retail price per tyre.

Goodyear Duraplus Size and Price

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• huiyyyoooo on Aug 18, 2009 at 10:25 pm

nice promotion

• damn.. no16..my altis size

• slayer on Aug 18, 2009 at 10:57 pm

As usual, Raya holiday is coming…time to balik kampung….tyre advertisement is knocking your head…change or not to change….look at your tyre

• kerelbort on Aug 18, 2009 at 11:25 pm

i want i want.. but no savvy tire size… hav to stick to NCT5… huhuhuhu

• fadzly on Aug 19, 2009 at 12:21 am

waaaaaaaaa.. paul.. this is not an infomercial isn't it? kakakakaa

• valandil on Aug 19, 2009 at 1:20 am

Aiyaah, no standard sizes for a Waja?

195/55/15.

• is there a 195/50 R15 for this duraplus tyres?

• bukapintubayartol on Aug 19, 2009 at 1:55 am

its nice to see a tire that can run 100,000km. But assuming your car does not reach this magic number, how many years before you have to swap for a new set of wheels?

for argument sake, lets say an average user drives appx ~ 1000km a month; that will be 8 years before reaching 100,000km. Can DuraPlus really last for that long?

• xshiro on Aug 19, 2009 at 2:58 am

too bad i can only put 195/55/15 tyre on my car

• barca_supporter on Aug 19, 2009 at 3:13 am

i have to change the rim la… if i ever win this tyre… i'm now using 195/50 R15… the closest is 195/60 R15… i dont think it can fit with my current setting (satria with apm sport spring)

• Tracks (Member) on Aug 19, 2009 at 3:16 am

Love to try out the new Duraplus tyre. Actually I order a set for my Kancil 165/60R13. Will be great to get it free.

Personally, I think tyres should be changes after 5 years of use irrespective of the amount of treads left. However, for silica based tyres, I think it should be changed every 3 years.

• stupe on Aug 19, 2009 at 3:18 am

I am using this already. Tires are plush for a family car. Take corner can be a bit drama.

Will snap pic of the thread and how it looked like and post in my blog.

it is also assymetrical, so it is side specific.

No issues with NV as the tires are new.

• really? can win a set.

damn i wanted to change for so long.

my 4 tire already cant trade in already :(

cant afford already… dunno really get a chance :X paul ?

• Charles on Aug 19, 2009 at 3:37 am

js wish there is 16" … 1st ?

• Aaron Isaac on Aug 19, 2009 at 5:19 am

I do 5000~6500km a month (Sales/Marketing and Service Engineer). I need 225/45/R17….

Pls pls pls!!!

• willpower on Aug 19, 2009 at 6:28 am

Since u all want this tyre so much, why don't you all enter this contest, brother?

Maybe Paul can broadcast at smartwheels.com.my

• kao nak compare…taya ni lagi ok ke dari taya brand lain??aku nak tuka ni..kalo setakat beza 10-20 jer…aku x kesah sgt..janji kualiti mantopp

• most ppl will cover 100000 km in average of 3years…the tyres that i've owned normally last for about 2-2.5 years max (bout 60000 km only). is about time v have tyres that last for 200000-300000 km. or better still, dun change tyre for the life of the car. i've to get back to the drawing board.

• my only concern / issue is the actual quality of this tyre. Not many H rated tyres in the market and most entry-level tyres are V rated, including the NCT 5. If speed rating is an indicator on the so-called quality of the tyre, where does this place the DuraPlus?

• Jules on Aug 19, 2009 at 8:15 pm

hi all…

what is the tyre size for myvi?

and of course what is the price for each tyre for myvi?

thanks

• damn..no size for both of my cars….

• yeah paul

price list!

• Paul, u din't enjoy TanChong buffet in Jalan Ipoh today? there's a launching party in Hq for 370Z and Murano, cathering hotel from concord…

• Don't have the size I wanted.

195/55/15

• Paul Tan on Aug 20, 2009 at 6:11 am

the price for each size is already stated up there. As for tanchong, they dont really care much about this site.

• azrai on Aug 20, 2009 at 3:52 pm

I still remember my old boss did said about his old Beemer when his friend ask if he did ever thinking of buying a new 5 series. he said "Beli tayar baru boleh la." :-) Do you know in US Latio a.k.a. Versa is cheaper than Hyundai Accent and Chevrolet Aveo? Damn Tan Chong. http://customsites.yahoo.com/financiallyfit/finan…

• a little too expensive i think,

i can buy a falken 195 /15 is at the price of 185 /14 of duraplus so duraplus a bit expensive.

if we see the tyre spec configuration, its not designed for a radical apex ratio means less sportier character for sensible car and sensible drive. but not quite sensible in pricing maybe for people who are very concern about money without thinking of the benefit of '100k tyre' and for them it is theoretical brochure piece of info.

but i belive many people trust goodyear especially starts with goodyear GA last time in term of quality. compare to sime ,silverstone, kumho,

• budlee on Aug 20, 2009 at 6:18 pm

hmm.. there is a tyre for my Viva, 165/r14my sister's myvi, 175/r14

but the widest thread is only 195 and the biggest rim it can fit is 15

this leaves our naza ria out, it needs 205/r16 inch

leaves the mercedes 190e out also, it also needs 205/r15 inch

of course the honda accord is out 225/r17

at least judging by the size it offers, most of the cars on the road can benefit from this tire, the rest of the minority whose tire is different must to stick to other brands

• nabil on Aug 20, 2009 at 8:01 pm

ur beter off going for falken 912…which is similar price and alot beter performance wet and dry…mite not last as long as 100k …bt this duraplus performance after lets say 50k or 60k mileage is very questionable….dont bargain with tyres…

• Tiadaid on Aug 20, 2009 at 11:19 pm

Doh, and I've just changed tires! If they saw the condition my tires were in, surely win…almost botak after only one year!

• mamat puchong on Aug 22, 2009 at 6:50 am

not sure whether it can still be used after that long. As far as i can remember tyre will be harden upon time.Means all the component inside the tyre will be overcrosslink. can it still give the comfortability and grip as it suppose to be.

anyway Goodyear maybe has all figured out

• yap chi sing on Oct 13, 2009 at 10:16 pm

I have to replace all 4 tyres for my Myvi 2006 soon.

Is the size 185/60/R14 Duraplus tyre acceptable?

The original size is 175/65/R14.

Kindly advise.

• JKucing on Dec 12, 2009 at 4:30 am

yap chi sing said,

October 13, 2009 @ 2:16 pm

I have to replace all 4 tyres for my Myvi 2006 soon.

Is the size 185/60/R14 Duraplus tyre acceptable?

The original size is 175/65/R14.

Kindly advise.

———————————————–

100% acceptable… :)