Mercedes-Benz Malaysia introduces Proven Exclusivity – a Certified Pre-Owned programme

Mercedes-Benz Proven ExclusivityThe Mercedes-Benz E 280 Avantgarde AMG Sports Package that you see on the left is available for sale with just over 20,000km on the odometer for RM360,000. It’s also got an official Mercedes-Benz Malaysia minimum warranty of 12 months or up to 20,000km.

The car I’ve just described above is just one of the few Certified Pre-Owned cars that you can procure through its Proven Exclusivity Programme, a pre-owned car program that Mercedes-Benz Malaysia has just launched yesterday. The cars have gone through a 215 point check by Mercedes-Benz trained personnel. All the cars are not more than 5 years old and have less than 100,000km mileage, so you don’t have to worry about reconditioned dealers tampering with the odometer. The cars are also limited to those that were originally brought in by Mercedes-Benz Malaysia and not via grey importers.

The Proven Exclusivity programme will be offered in phases at selected Mercedes-Benz dealerships nationwide starting with five dealerships – Cycle & Carriage Bintang Petaling Jaya, Cycle & Carriage Bintang Mutiara, Hap Seng Star Kinrara, NZ Wheels Klang and Lowe Motor Juru. Phase II, scheduled for early 2010, will see four more dealerships come on board. They hope to sell between 200 and 300 pre-owned cars in 2010 under the programme.

REVIEW: Mercedes-Benz E 280 AMG Sports Package

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• Thumbs Up for those that supported and bought the official units sold by MBM. Surely better retention of value and stops the second hand car dealers from dictating the market value.

• jkucing on Oct 09, 2009 at 5:34 pm

How about E200K? Selling below 250k?

• artyca on Oct 09, 2009 at 5:41 pm

Sounds like a blatant copy of the BMW Premium Selection programme to me. In fact, there is no such thing as Proven Exclusivity anywhere else in the world, if i'm not mistaken.

• Yes, only when the price is already high, and you want to keep it high

• mystvearn on Oct 09, 2009 at 9:07 pm

That model in UK is £20k for a Sept 2008 model.Not sure what year is that for that price.

• mitlanevo on Oct 09, 2009 at 9:45 pm

just another alternative to Naza, private importers and pasar malam used car centre…

prove that Gov tax is too high, hehez…

• CocoBear on Oct 09, 2009 at 9:46 pm

When will they bring in W212?

• Ariff on Oct 09, 2009 at 9:47 pm

hmm…at that price,is it better to get a recond Merc CLS??W212 is already open for booking~~but i bet the price gna skyrocket for those who book now.

• erwinkarim on Oct 10, 2009 at 12:40 am

W212 will be launched next month. "slightly" higher than then current models…

• Chekka Yekko on Oct 10, 2009 at 2:36 am

Dear Paul,

Is it possible to fix(add) supercharger? and how much will it costs?

• Tiadaid on Oct 10, 2009 at 7:38 am

BMW's already done it. They're playing catchup, but at least now there's an alternative to Naza

• yeap. they're following what bmw has done, which is a pretty smart move to counter against the parallel importers and help those looking for good 2nd hand units.

• stephenstreets on Oct 10, 2009 at 4:28 pm

Damn 2nd hand oso still i cannot afford :(

• artyca said,

October 9, 2009 @ 9:41 am

'Sounds like a blatant copy of the BMW Premium Selection programme to me. In fact, there is no such thing as Proven Exclusivity anywhere else in the world, if i’m not mistaken.'

Sorry, this programs are common in continental Europe… ;)

• azrai on Oct 12, 2009 at 3:57 pm

Mercedes own TopMark.

• septzz on Jan 28, 2010 at 2:33 pm

porsche also got that program daa..