2010 Suzuki Kizashi: Power figures released

Suzuki recently unveiled the 2010 Kizashi but along with the announcement, the auto maker did not reveal power figures of the new Japanese sedan. The Kizashi is initially offered with a 2.4 litre 4-cylinder powerplant that can output 185HP at 6,500 revs and 230Nm of torque at 4,000 revs. The engine has 16 valves and features a DOHC setup. The power unit is mated to a 6 speed manual transmission that allows the vehicle to hit 100 km/h in 7.5 seconds.

Fuel consumption is rated at 23 miles to the gallon (US, city) or 31 miles to the gallon (US, highway). Furthermore, apart from a front wheel drive setup there is also an all wheel drive configuration. Buyers can also opt for a CVT tranny, but horsepower will be reduced to 178HP at 6,000 revs.

Suzuki will add a range-toppng V6 petrol unit later on and as reported earlier, a hybrid variant will join the line-up as well. Both these additions will be offered in about two years. In the US, the 2010 Kizashi is offered with four trim levels including S, SE, GTS and SLS.

The basic S model comes with features like sport front seats, automatic dual-zone climate control, up to eight airbags, push button start and more. Pricing for this model starts from US$20,000. The range topping SLS model fitted with the all wheel drive system costs US$24,000.

Harvinder Sidhu

Harvinder Singh Sidhu thinks there's nothing better than Formula 1, not even sliced bread. Having written about cars since 2006, he plunged head first into the industry out of a passion for all things four-wheeled and everything in between. The F1 enthusiast has been following the sport since 1999 and has been keeping up with it since. In between races he keeps himself busy as the host of the Driven motoring show and as our version of the Joker.

• George on Oct 18, 2009 at 11:01 pm

Wah only $24,000USD.If MYR only RM84,000. If Malaysia sell this car at this price, sure no one buy Perdana accept goverment

• oec88 on Oct 18, 2009 at 11:15 pm

If with that price in Malaysia, everyone will buy this!

• I like the name n everything. KIZASHI!

• katak on Oct 18, 2009 at 11:19 pm

yeah our gov make us look like a donkey for paying extra

• y not kakashi?

• MyCarMyLife on Oct 18, 2009 at 11:48 pm

Kizashi has been headway since launch in US , I doubt the MY market will get to see anyime soon as we are not on priority radar for Suzuki.

• Annihilated on Oct 18, 2009 at 11:53 pm

Of all comments above.. how many of you guys have been or live in the US? I would be glad if anyone could give me the true picture rather than only U$D1.00 = MYR3.4/5..?

How about the gas price, income tax, GST, service tax etc.? Does it really work like George's "accept government" comment? Anyone could please share it with me and all other Paul Tan's blog readers. I am simply curious. Thank you.

• wei katak ape lak kaitan kete nih dgn gomen lol.. ko nih satu lagi manusia tak der naluri pasal kete kutuk goment .. nice car hehehe wont buy this type of car to flashy .. nanti org jeling lak cik …

• mitlanevo on Oct 19, 2009 at 12:54 am

wow, very nice car with a special name :-)

• l3ryan on Oct 19, 2009 at 2:52 am

lovely looking car with great specs. any chances of it coming to our shores?

• comarezzi on Oct 19, 2009 at 3:39 am

George said,

October 18, 2009 @ 3:01 pm

Wah only $24,000USD.If MYR only RM84,000. If Malaysia sell this car at this price, sure no one buy Perdana accept goverment

malaysia should sell at the above price… then follows income tax regulation in US, food price in US, petrol price in US , thn see how many people can buy.. lol talk is cheap, typing is easier…

• torque (Member) on Oct 19, 2009 at 3:39 am

Aisey, still not finish with the tax this tax that issue..let's juz stick with the car. Glad that Suzuki really push this model into their production line…seriously if Kizashi 2.4 liter model do made it to our shore…it WILL give both the Camry and Accord a run for their money. I think the scenery on the road should look much better than turn left Camry, turn right Accord kinda experience…juz my 2 cents…

• let our love goverment decided the price, not below than current price, but is going 4th X than car price. My goverment always thinks smart for their asset and national car industry. kui!kui! We waiting for new car policy for 2010 will announce on 23.10.09. Betol ke??

• I would encourage Suzuki Malaysia to bring it on, and repeat the success of Swift! RM 150k is a sweet spot to whack Camry, Accord and Mazda6 nicely.

• Annihilated on Oct 19, 2009 at 5:27 am

SaFF & comarezzi:

Well said. Now, where is George?

torque:

hahaha.. yes it won't end. I think Paul should write an article on our tax structure. I agree with the turn-left analogy raised by you. Bring the kizashi in.. err.. DRB-HICOM eh? or who?

• Looks so much like a camry.

I'm surprised it's not called the Kamuri.

• mr_3m on Oct 19, 2009 at 6:51 am

yes, please!!!! bring the Kizashi in… let the competition begin vs the Accords, Camries, Mazda6s and the rest….

• ProCipKa on Oct 19, 2009 at 7:36 am

Betul2 hairan dgn org yg sokong harga kereta mahal kat Malaysia nie bodoh ke apa …dah mmg kereta mahal so org komplain la ,yg kaoorg sokong sangat kereta di jual harga cekik darah nie apehal , pelik aku .

• yeap. us income tax close to 50 percent if i am not wrong. and as long as you're a citizen, uncle sam has the right to take 50 percent, no matter where you work!

damn.

• unknown on Oct 19, 2009 at 2:30 pm

haha…USD 24000.i think i malaysia can increase somewhere between RM 120,000-140,000.because as you can see the other competitor which is honda accord and toyota camry which have higher price than stated in the article…and i heard suzuki sell in malaysia is not so good that others japanese carmaker

• TaxMan on Oct 19, 2009 at 6:00 pm

1. The highest US Federal Tax bracket is 35% (for income earned above USD 372, 950). In additon to Federal Income tax, one is also tax State Income taxes and this can range from 0% or as high as 11% depending which state you reside in.

2. Depending on which state, there is a sales tax levied on each commercial transaction. This can range between 4%-8%. This tax is no difference from the GST in Singapore or what the Malaysian government is proposing impose in the near future

3. Car price as per capital income in Malaysia is high compared to many countries. This is because the government imposes a high tax rate on passanger cars to support a non viable local automobile industry. There have been many research on the fisibility of continuing the auto industry out there. Please read both sides of the arguements.

4. Most people do not realize is when they buy a car they are taking out a loan to pay for taxes. The capital (money) that you utilize to pay for your transportation; which is by the way a basic need for any industralized society to function properly; is tied up to pay taxes. Imagine what most people can use the money for if they do not to pay of these taxes. Factor Production (capital) will be allocated in more productive sectors.

5. Are the taxes collected from income tax, automobile tax and other taxes allocated in the most effecient manner into economy or sectors that are productive (generating positive GDP)?

• Al buffoni on Oct 19, 2009 at 6:11 pm

ProCipKa said,

October 18, 2009 @ 11:36 pm

Betul2 hairan dgn org yg sokong harga kereta mahal kat Malaysia nie bodoh ke apa …dah mmg kereta mahal so org komplain la ,yg kaoorg sokong sangat kereta di jual harga cekik darah nie apehal , pelik aku .

—————————–

Stupid Malay who doesnt understand english.

• Georgie on Oct 19, 2009 at 7:22 pm

Now don't confuse me with the previous George because I'm not.

Just some brief on the tax issues, well every nation has their own tax structures, we happen to pay more on import cars but we seem to enjoy free education for our kids, cheaper medical facilities, not having to pay (YET) tax on ordinary groceries items, not having to pay for withdrawing from ATM machine, and so much more.

Back to this Kizashi, well it doesn't seem as aggressive as their concept models (which I really2 like) but hopefully it comes with a hatchback variant! Just cant help bitching on why the front looks so dangerously close to the Suzuki SX4…and wondering why the depreciation value of suzuki's here are so high….

• 4G63tDSM on Oct 19, 2009 at 7:56 pm

Annihilated said,

October 18, 2009 @ 3:53 pm

Of all comments above.. how many of you guys have been or live in the US? I would be glad if anyone could give me the true picture rather than only U$D1.00 = MYR3.4/5..?

—–

Funny, the people who are making statements of comparing tax structures and GST et al. against USA probably haven't lived in North America.

Yes, North america has higher tax rates. But if you are making 22k per year or less, you probably don't get taxed, in fact at that rate you will qualify for tax rebates. Depending on different states, you only get taxed 50% when you make 80k or more per year (but there are too many variables to put here).

I get ding'ed 30% income tax (I made 40k'ish/year), but my purchasing power after tax is still much greater than that in malaysia. Dollar on par, if I make the same amount here, I wont be even close to having the same quality of life let alone drive the same car.

A person making 22k per year can afford a good second hand car of maybe 8k to 10k. That would probably buy you a 3-4 year old Civic. The cheapest car you can get when I was there during the 2002 was the Kia Rio wagon, which retailed about 10k NEW.

A person flipping burgers (ie. minimum wage) will make something like 10k per year. Same can't be said for someone in malaysia.

I've been there for 10 years before anyone begins to question my experience.

Let me illustrate this better,

Proton Saga RM$35k (or the equivalent of 10K USD car- There are cars that are cheap there like the Kia Rio I mentioned above)

60 month loan, no D/P (for the sale of simplicity I'm not even going to add in interest – since there are brands doing 0% financing)

RM583/mth ( USD 167 – lets make it 200 including GST and whatever taxes)

Person fresh out of college make about $1800

Person flipping burgers in NA can make USD800ish/mth (and no, they dont get income taxed either as its below the tax bracket). Most of us flipped burgers one time or more while there.

Malaysian Fresh grad car payment to pay ratio about 30%

People flipping burgers car payment to pay ratio about 25%

We are taking about the same class of cars here.

Plus, we pay a much lower road taxes in North America. Insurance is higher but if you are over 25 and have a good few years of clean record, its not an issue.

So tell me who is better off?

• 4G63tDSM on Oct 19, 2009 at 7:58 pm

Forgot to meantion I was in Canada, which has even higher tax and tax brackets than in US. But we get free healthcare

• normal_user on Oct 19, 2009 at 9:41 pm

Good info 4G63tDSM!

Let me add some.

Teachers & hospital administrators (graduate) received average USD85,000 salary per annum according to the statistics from the Labor Department. To buy a USD25,000 Accord/Camry, its peanut to them. 3-4 times their annual income.

Now, compare with our teachers. A 10-year teacher (graduate) can earn the most RM40K/annum. Yet the cheapest car (Viva, which is not suitable for family car) costs as much as their annual salary.

I know its not exactly comparing apple to apple, but at least there is a huge contrast of the living standards. Yes, their goods are expensive, but their earnings & purchasing power are higher.

We use Big Mac burger Index as an example. The Big Mac Index is published by The Economist as an informal way of measuring the purchasing power parity (PPP) between two currencies.

Malaysian has the cheapest Big Mac in the world (surprised eh?) in USD currency (USD1.70 or RM5.80). But does that translates positively?

American McDonalds staff earned USD7.25 per hour, and they have to work an hour to afford than 2 Big Macs (USD3.60), while here in Malaysia, meagre wage of RM3.50 per hour is not even sufficient for the local McD crew to have even one Big Mac.

So, the key point is that our spending power is so much less than the Americans. Ok enough of the 'Malaysians-againts-Americans spending power' topic…

• keluangman on Oct 20, 2009 at 2:45 am

good discussion everyone… 2 thumbs up! Whatever it is it still sucks living in Bolehland, for whatever reason there is. For me, there's too many toll lar!

• torque (Member) on Oct 20, 2009 at 6:47 pm

ProCipKa said,

October 18, 2009 @ 11:36 pm

Tolong la jgn malukan bangsa Melayu…kita bukan nyer sokong harga keta melambung cam roket kat negara ni tapi cuba la bagi komen2 yg berasas sikit seperti saudara 4G63tDSM atau normal_user. Cuba jgn post komen yg cetek camtu…lebih2 lg thread nie pasal Suzuki Kizashi bukan nyer psl tax pon.

• Annihilated on Oct 21, 2009 at 3:40 am

at 4G63tDSM & normal_user,

Thanks for the info. I agree with you. Full of points and really pack a punch. I was in the States for few years too but was not as long as both of you.. maybe. ;)

Went to London last month and met a friend who bought a Mercedes for mere £30K. He hardly drive his car due to high gas price & parking 'penalties' but generally the public is impressively reliable and within reach.

Given the chance to live in the two countries.. if I'm solely live life to own a good car or two, I'll stay in either one of two. However, generally.. I prefer Malaysia for a 'value-for-money' life. How about u?

at ProCipKa,

It's not called support, it's called looking from the overall perspective, dumb*ss. The last NAP saw a price decrease of car price. But some even take advantage to make extra profit from it. In the end, consumer is losing.