CBU Ford Mondeo 2.3 with 6-speed auto to land in Malaysia in November 2009

Ford Mondeo

Malaysia will finally get Ford’s D-segment sedan entry, the new Ford Mondeo sometime next month. Sime Darby Auto ConneXion has revealed that the Malaysian spec Mondeo will get a 161 PS 2.3 litre Duratec engine mated to a 6-speed Durashift torque converter automatic transmission (would be nice if it was a PowerShift instead though). The Ford Mondeo will be a CBU unit imported from the Ford production plant in Genk, Belgium. AutoConneXion will be organising a series of exclusive preview sessions for members of the public leading up to the official launch in October. You can get your own personal invitation by calling Tania of AutoConneXion at 03-77181223 or 03-77181216.

[zenphotopress number=99 album=583]

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• coolguru on Oct 24, 2009 at 7:17 am

Guessing what's the price bracket going to be…

Between Camry/Accord 2.4 and Mazda 2.4?

Under Mazda 2.4?

• coolguru on Oct 24, 2009 at 7:23 am

Would they also bring in Ford Edge – looks super cool crossover

• pulge on Oct 24, 2009 at 7:29 am

I have a feeling we'll be seeing a lot of Fords on our roads in the future. Aren't we tired of the Japs already? ^^

• Afezi on Oct 24, 2009 at 7:32 am

very impressive look!

• xenonchrist on Oct 24, 2009 at 7:53 am

i promise this car will fall like focus /sedan , new ranger , and all the crap.

buy a car not tired of jap or not , the maintenance like gold who will buy .

• tokmoh on Oct 24, 2009 at 7:54 am

pulge : I don't think so… Ford Focus is cheaper n better than Civic n Altis, yet, how often do you see it? I'm a big Focus fan, n I'm terribly disappointed abt this. I went to London recently, and it was like heaven: Focus is a very common car there.

• klguy on Oct 24, 2009 at 8:05 am

in malaysia, if japanese give a crap car (new vios for example . same old engine but ppl buying it like there in no other car in market), the locals will still buy it. this is impossible to be changed. only a few educated individuals appreciate non japs. and i am one of them. say no to japs :P .

• Wolfsburg on Oct 24, 2009 at 8:05 am

Imported from Belgium? So the price is not going to be cheap compared to the Philipine made Focus which is at the price range of the Japanese… Maybe the Mondeo will be around the price of the Volvo S40 and means that it is not going to sell cheap… Probably RM170k?

• WilliamSmith on Oct 24, 2009 at 8:54 am

Given that output and engine capacity, it'll be a good bet that it'll be priced from 150k – 180k depending how aggressive SDACX wants to position this product to be.

It's some time overdue for Malaysians to see and have the choice to choose more brand and variants rather than buying the few and carrying out the maximum personalization by the owner. Not that the Jap's offering not good but they're just fetching too high the price and too lean the spec it gets. For one, a facelift comes with price hike is definitely unacceptable. The model has reaped its ROI during the 1st few years with x $ of R&D spread accross the increasing unit sales, cost per unit should be cheaper and subsequent changes are to refresh buyers interest. Change of headlamps, taillamps and rims is just removing one cost and substitute with another so where's the cost increment coming from? Unless they add extra substantial features like from 2 airbags to 6 airbags else it's just pure greed from a proven track of sales record.

• wow?

from belgium … the price must be at sky high

• narrowband on Oct 24, 2009 at 9:30 am

Daniel Craig drove this exact car in Casino Royal as James Bond in 2006… That's about 3 years ago…

• Mazda 3 MPS on Oct 24, 2009 at 9:48 am

CBU? will this make this more expensive than the volvo s40 which is local assmbled? and same bracket price as Volkswagen Passat? problem is Volkswagen is perceived as a premium brand in Malaysia….Ford is not

• mystvearn (Member) on Oct 24, 2009 at 2:21 pm

UK fords are made in Belgium for some reason. So its the same factory that makes for right hand drive cars. Not sure if left hand drive are made there as well.

• At last can compare the handling with the Peugeot 407. Jeremy Clarkson said that this car handles better than the 407..Is it true? Just wait & see

• jonster on Oct 24, 2009 at 3:56 pm

The Ford Mondeo is on of the sweetest handling cars in it size and class.

The 407 would feel like a barge, the Accord a small boat and the Camry a cruise liner if compared to the Mondeo.

Read up any magazines or better if you test drive them.

You'll be surprise that Ford has up its ante over the years and are better or on par with their Japanese counterparts in terms of reliability and value chain while still maintaining the European class and qualities. However I quote only Ford Europe as the shining beacon, Ford in the US still needs more work.

Mondeo is definitely a classy alternative to the Camry and Accord but badge snobs in Malaysia would want an Accord or Camry anyway…not me..been waiting for this car since 2008!

Finger crossed for a price of 150k to 160k!

• How much will it gona be ?

• For Only Rich Dude on Oct 24, 2009 at 4:33 pm

i think around 140-150k would be the introductory price …wanna bet anyone

• pricing it between 140-150k would be a good idea to challenge accord and camry 2.0. put at 160-170k sure flop one.

• phoebe on Oct 24, 2009 at 5:24 pm

klguy said,

October 24, 2009 @ 12:05 am

in malaysia, if japanese give a crap car (new vios for example . same old engine but ppl buying it like there in no other car in market), the locals will still buy it. this is impossible to be changed. only a few educated individuals appreciate non japs. and i am one of them. say no to japs .

————————————

it's extremely bullish of u to say such a thing. so called educated my foot. in malaysia as it has always been, it's about general population towards acceptance on certain products and u are right about that it is impossible to be changed. However, u appeared to be lowly educated in terms of smart money management where if u can see that most of the japs brand cars retained their near maximum second value and u will still get something out of it if u were to sell/trade it away one day. certain brands despite their quality and efficiency for eg the chevy, audi and even ford are not getting much of the general population attention here in malaysia hence by the moment u buy the car, the next thing u know, the price plummets to half of its original value. Unless of course u wanna keep the car until the next generation for ur grandchildren.

• Carsz on Oct 24, 2009 at 6:45 pm

have u driven a conti car ? pls go and have a test drive and not only stuck with a toyota or hondaz. Once u feel and drive a conti car u'll know the difference.

• Mayonaise (Member) on Oct 24, 2009 at 7:39 pm

Although I feel that this is quite unlikely, I hope that AutoConneXion would bring in the "Sports" spec of this Mondeo (the same exact spec driven by Daniel Craig in 007: Casino Royale), the "Sports" spec just looks so much more cooler than the standard car…

• finally a car for the james bond enthusiast that does not cost millions… haha…

• Price should be competitive with the Japanese marque. Naza is already doing that with Peugeot…

• Vezeroth on Oct 24, 2009 at 8:54 pm

i dont know why but it reminds me of the old renault megane/lagina from the back… anyone else think so?

• Dickybird on Oct 24, 2009 at 9:50 pm

yup now that you mentioned it, it does look like a renault from behind. lets hope they screw up the pricing like they did with volvo s40 2.0.

• Dickybird on Oct 24, 2009 at 9:50 pm

i meant dont screw the pricing. but euro cbu sure mahal la.

• The Dean on Oct 24, 2009 at 9:50 pm

life saver! seeing accord or camry being used by mundane people is killing me softly

• WilliamSmith on Oct 24, 2009 at 10:51 pm

Based on the recent SDACX track records, my bet it'll be at RM155k!!

• shawal on Oct 24, 2009 at 11:28 pm

It is a good looking car for 1 , but would you have it knowing that ford is working on a new 1?

• busrider on Oct 24, 2009 at 11:58 pm

expect it to be around 140-160k

• Maserati on Oct 25, 2009 at 12:47 am

Nah,good car but with boring looks wont be a HOT seller here..

Price would be RM 180k upwards since its a CBU from Belgium!

• mitlanevo on Oct 25, 2009 at 12:53 am

no comment on this car, but its good to see something new bring in by Ford…

• My uncle says that Ford was quite popular in the 70's with the Ford Escort and Cortina.

• mr_h8 on Oct 25, 2009 at 4:45 am

yes, ford was quite popular with escort, cortina and capri before the influx of japs car..even escort maintain its popularity till the 80s before laser took over..after that, its all nosedive from ford..hope they can gain their momentum with this new mondeo

• Ariff on Oct 25, 2009 at 4:55 am

hmm…i'd prefer fusion~~

• Jimmy on Oct 25, 2009 at 6:00 am

Aftersales service good or not? If not, just go for Camry. Some of the dealer's service centre(I am not refering to Ford's ones) may take out your good spare-parts and put a rosak one. That's how some of them 'service' your car. This is much less likely to occur in UMW's service centres, right? So just buy Toyota. My Hyundai Elantra absorber rosak before reaching 50 000km, don't know why, and I am careful in driving it.

• CARing on Oct 25, 2009 at 7:03 am

Will Sime Darby bring in the Taurus or the Fusion Hybrid???

This Ford Mondeo is quite exquisite and stylish..

like the meter..

In UK this Ford Mondeo is as many as Proton cars in Malaysia..

therefore is should be well priced here to compete with others..

• xenonchrist on Oct 25, 2009 at 9:15 am

LOL , people thoughj buy a car by cash or instalment ,den no need change timing elt etc .ignitin cable etc.

• fxxtheProton on Oct 25, 2009 at 9:32 am

Nice car!!!

i've been wondering when would this car come into malaysia~ now here it is~~

its gorgeous on the road, i saw it oversea..

welcome to join the field.. too boring with Accord and Camry, even with white color..but so wat? boring is boring.. all the H & T lining up at the traffic light~ uniform? academy marching.. ?

live & enjoy at the moment, dun worry about the resales value.. if many start thinking this way~ we could have another 'common' car on the road which not only H&T… so in future, no more resales value, spare part problems~

btw.. i just sold my 2 years City Vtec. still Rugi 20k ..so ? where got high resale value?? nowadays.. buying a car. no matter how still rugi laaa~~

get a better car with ur money NOW..

• seat-belt on Oct 25, 2009 at 5:30 pm

the aircond vent position is same with neo..

• Mazda 3 MPS on Oct 25, 2009 at 11:14 pm

i'd buy an audi a4, but if you don't mind the space i'd get an Audi a3

• Vasile on Oct 26, 2009 at 1:44 am

why my comment don t appear?

• Mazda 3 MPS on Oct 26, 2009 at 4:07 am

Vasile said,

October 25, 2009 @ 5:44 pm

———————–

didnt that appear?

• Satria Neo CPS Whisp (Member) on Oct 26, 2009 at 4:43 am

Vasile said,

October 25, 2009 @ 5:44 pm

———————–

Mazda 3 MPS said,

didnt that appear?

————————-

LOL … priceless. Hilarious

• Satria Neo CPS Whisp (Member) on Oct 26, 2009 at 4:47 am

I have driven a conti, and I have driven the japs. Once you driven a conti, the jap will never satisfy you. But for whatever reason, I always go back to my Satria Neo CPS … doesn't make sense to pay a lot for a car. Malaysian cars are waaaaaaay overpriced.

• shooter on Oct 26, 2009 at 7:36 am

i think the reason why Ford, as abrand, is not so highly rated here at least, is because of its association with Mazda and the Japanese Ford history. Other than that, product wise at least, the new Mondeo is waayyy better than any of the Jap offerings- i mean this is Ford UK we're talking abut here…depreciation or not, I'd pick a Euro against a Jappo anytime! I mean whats the point of talking about depreciation,.. all vehicles depreciate, its not like buying a house, and besides that, being a Euro , I think it WILL last until my grandkids! Nuff said…

• azrai on Oct 26, 2009 at 3:45 pm

look like an Austin Martin – the macho look.

• Unknown on Oct 26, 2009 at 4:18 pm

Wolfsburg said,

October 24, 2009 @ 12:05 am

Imported from Belgium? So the price is not going to be cheap compared to the Philipine made Focus which is at the price range of the Japanese… Maybe the Mondeo will be around the price of the Volvo S40 and means that it is not going to sell cheap… Probably RM170k?

—————————————–

I think it will be above RM200k. Look at Nissan's Teana (2.3L CBU Japan, RM230k). In Europe this car is at par with an S80, not the S40. It's a D segment, which places it in E class/5 series category.

The Ford EUCD platform which this car is based on caters to the S80, XC60 and V70 Volvos. the 2.3L I4 is nearly the top of the range engine offered.

That being said, it's a car that has won many awards.. too bad Malaysia Boleh will put it out of the hands of 99.9% of the population.

• kodok on Oct 26, 2009 at 5:00 pm

price it under 160k..and ford got a chance!

• i want another car.. on Oct 26, 2009 at 5:17 pm

i read the article on star-motoring yesterday about this car. well as we know surely the autokonek-sion people fed some info for them to write about the mondeo.

what i find very disturbing? they were comparing this car to audis, mercs, beemers and the like… using words like… premium, luxury… so of course, read between the lines lo. they are "preparing" the reader to not be shocked with what i'm sure to be audacious prices for a car that should be instead, competing with the likes of the camry / accord, when the time for the launch draws near.

nice car, but sure fail lo, if they want to price it like their euro counterparts. sime darby should get real and i wouldn't have fallen off my barber's chair if they instead were a bit more humble in the comparison of this car… like… say maybe, to a passat instead… another overpriced-in-malaysia everyday d-segment european fleet car. compare apple to apple la right?

• lambov12 on Oct 26, 2009 at 11:27 pm

thumbs up for that !!

• kelvin on Oct 26, 2009 at 11:36 pm

was told by a TC salesman teana 2.0 gonna be camry/ accord price range only..

• Syafiq on Oct 27, 2009 at 9:37 pm

I think this car around 170k.. worth to buy..

• Balee on Oct 28, 2009 at 12:40 am

If the price is more than 155k (RM that is), SDAC can forget about this car. They shouldn't even try. The car needs this single most important factor to have a fighting chance here in bolehland. Even that won't guarantee success. But it's a chance nonetheless whereby Ford's salespeople can use it to make showroom visitors stay longer. The longer the they stay, the bigger chance to convert them into sales figures.

Now remember SDAC – RM155k max, and fully loaded at that.

ps – I don't how they gonna make it since this bloke hails from Belgium but that's really isn't my concern.

• Price will definitely high considering 2010 budget where AP is limited.

• shahzane on Nov 03, 2009 at 6:30 am

saw one of these babes at the nkve today and it looks really nice.it was at shah alam area….can't wait to see the interior.i'm hoping the price will be right. paul.any update on the launch date?the car i saw already had its registration plate.so i guess it shouldn't be long now…

• Nice looking thing but I hope it's reasonably priced failing which it will be just good for the showroom. Ford cars have a reputation for being expensive when you need to change a spare part.

• i want another car&h on Nov 04, 2009 at 10:48 pm

just returned from mid valley where they were showcasing the focus; er, that old clunker of an SUV that they're still peddling… i forget the name, and the ranger… so i kepoh look at the focus and the lady quickly told me to come for the mondeo preview. she handed me the flyer… i'm suitably impressed… price is… RM178,888.00 OTR with insurance. ok lo! i wish them luck. i really thought it'd break the RM200k mark. they got the pricing in quite an "acceptable" level, imho. some specs that interest me, in addition to what paul wrote:

inline 4

2261 cc

161@6500 ps@rpm

208@4000 nm@rpm

10.2 sec century dash

207 km/h top speed

9.3l/100km combined cycle

7 airbags

6 disc mp3 8 speakers

steering mounted radio controls

ABS EBD EBA and PATS

AND (this is quite peace of mind-ish)… 3 year / 100k km warranty

• keluangman on Nov 11, 2009 at 10:19 pm

RM178k OTR for ford…. people will still buy camry, accord or mazda 6 lerr… Even the 407 which are fully loaded and at RM133k still a hard sale to peddle to Bolehland ppl, whatsmore this imported, overpriced zero resale value mondeo.

Okaylar if you like the car and plan to keep for LIFE, but for people like me who change car every 5 yrs, thanks but no thanks!

• Suhail on Nov 14, 2009 at 8:35 am

are you guys sure it will be under 200k? because in singapore it is 100 sgd..

check out their website http://www.regentmotors.com.sg

• Ford Mondeo 2.3cc absolutely better than PUG 407 2.0cc…
    MUST COMPARE to PUG 2.2cc than we know which car much more better. Not fair 2.3 cc compare to 2.0cc. Sould compare to same segment la… :)

I LOVE 407…hehehe :)

• How bad ford focus Are… Compare to PUG 2.0 hehehe. You can realize la… PUG 407 absolutely harm ford focus… :)

• Recent-Ford-Convert on Jul 05, 2010 at 12:42 pm

Peugeot die-hard for 2 decades, it was difficult to accept compromising on comfort when I decided to get the Mondeo 2 weeks ago. Whilst although still wishing I had my Pug seats, I have to admit the Ford’s light years ahead in terms of road handling and speed – it’s phenominally refined with impressive interior features and although not sluggish, the torque could be a tad better. And all this for >60K less than a Passat. Have yet to test it on trunk roads but going by it’s performance up and down Changkat Jering, expect it to be awesome