Suzuki SX4 hatch updated with more power

suzuki-sx4-fl

The Suzuki SX4 Sport Crossover (that’s the hatchback version, not the sedan) has been updated with new specifications in Malaysia. On the outside, the model adds auto-retractable side mirrors with intergrated signal indicators, new design 16 inch alloys, and a new front grille.

Inside, there is a new meter cluster with an integrated MID, a new design for the automatic climate control panel, armrests for the front seats, illuminated audio controls, and an additional dash center speaker and aux-in socket for the audio system.

The most significant change has been to the engine – output is now 110 horsepower at 5,600rpm and 150Nm of torque at 3,800rpm instead of the previous power figures of 101hp at 5,600rpm and 140Nm at 4,000rpm. This means the engine will now perform much better – it now makes more torque, but at a lower RPM at the same time. The 4-speed automatic remains. Other technical changes include a revised front suspension for better comfort, and the addition of ventilated discs for the rear brakes.

The car goes for RM89,998 in Peninsular Malaysia, OTR with insurance. From what I heard, the CBU Japan odd-looking “tall” sedan version can be had at some Suzuki dealerships for much cheaper under RM80k after a RM12k discount.

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• Georgie on Oct 28, 2009 at 11:09 pm

Not bad looking crossover hatchback and 90k for a CBU Japan is a better deal than getting a Toyota Rush with a cassette player. If only there's any aftermarket kit in M'sia to upgrade from 110hp to 150hp or more i would consider one in my garage.. Just pity the resale value of Suzuki is very low.

• looks kinda grew on me..like it..looks tough for day to day transport

• torque (Member) on Oct 28, 2009 at 11:24 pm

Great!! Last time I drove it…a very well made car and now with more hp plus torque…it should be a smart buy. Doesn't matter if the SX4 still retain its 4 speeder…I bet it still smooth. No pictures of the interior ke Paul? Thanks.

• lazyf on Oct 29, 2009 at 12:21 am

one of my "dreaming" car…

• niclai on Oct 29, 2009 at 12:29 am

paul, can u confirm about the 12k promotion for this sx4? thanks

• White Jack on Oct 29, 2009 at 12:44 am

CBU cars nobody want to buy already la :)

• limbo on Oct 29, 2009 at 12:48 am

nice burgain but not in my list.

• Paulster on Oct 29, 2009 at 1:26 am

In the US we are getting an updated SX4 for 2010 also. It's a bit different than the one mentioned here but still similar. As far as resale values go though, I would suspect that you will very soon see the resale values of Suzuki's dramatically improve where you live. Here in the US Suzuki resale value used to be near the bottom of the list, but with the introduction and long term testing of the SX4 the resale value has now climbed to near the very top. Same goes for repair/maintenance costs, in which the SX4 actually took the #1 spot of all cars tested in the same catagory for 2008/2009.

If you haven't sold a used Suzuki in the past year or two, then don't go by what the resale value was a few years ago. Things have changed and used Suzuki's go for more now.

• 12K promotion for sedan only

• pretty nice looking car and value too. but it doesn't come with 4 wheel drive like other country does.

• 308fans on Oct 29, 2009 at 5:54 am

WHY NOT GET A PUG 308?

VTI ONLY 96K.

alrite, dun tell me the 308 is CKD crap… go check out the quality yourself..if its really CKD (i mean NASIM just did the trick in CKD to lower the tax to compete ) its a damn good CKD quality !!!!!!

my tire is conti 3, which u cannot find in malaysia but to import..

• theanswer on Oct 29, 2009 at 7:58 am

308fans,

shut up. we're talking about suzuki sx4. u like pug 308..go ahead. create ur won blog.

• This is a nice car. Better buy that those fake 1.5 japs car, if you know wut i mean. Suzuki brand is making a come back in malaysia and the resale value has increased.

• wochomi on Oct 29, 2009 at 4:34 pm

Wow!…. the RM90k model is for low specs one is it? You know lah… Malaysian marketing strategy…. dugong also RM69k only mah…. I ended up buying the G-spec… guess how much will this Suzuki marked up to for full spec?

While I was in India (for a few months), Suzuki Maruti (some joint venture thing) outsells toyota and honda. And good resale value too…. maybe Suzuki got to work on lowering the spareparts cost…. Malaysians are always concern bout this rather than quality (or compatibility).,… heck we oledi paid so much for our overtax cars,,,, mana ada duit lagi… stupid NAP

• sx.fourfour on Oct 29, 2009 at 10:07 pm

I bought sx4 sedan with 12k discount. So, price consider 80k lor.. with d'pymt 10k, worth buy for me. 12k is not for sx4 crossover. I suppose crossover had stop production for a while.

• yuck !!!!!! just look only wond consider to love or comment about this CBU e e e e sesak jalan kat malaysia jerk hantar balik lah…

• the one thing that really outstanding for Sx4 is its interior design and quality when compare to Vios and City. Sx4 totally outclassed both of the cars.

Good job Suzuki. i nearly get a SX4 early this year, but my desire for swift make me choose swift.

regarding Pug 308, yeah i heard that the CKD is actually a CBU car. they just assemble the headlights/tail lamp n those small2 very easy to assemble things in order to get tax exemption.

• javes on Oct 30, 2009 at 5:15 pm

Is this the new 2009 SX4 Crossover? I went to a dealer last week and he told me that the 2009 version will be available in Malaysia from November onwards and the OTR will be higher than the current 2008 version's.

If RM89,998 for 2009 version, I'll definitely go for it!

• intermilan on Oct 30, 2009 at 8:21 pm

hahaha.. don't la spoilt the SX4 thread with 308 files and facts, 308fans.

it is clear that by itself, the 308 is value for money.

poeple buying the SX4 do have monwy to buy the 308, but its a different car. so preference took precedence.

this SX4 looks grow on me too. nicely done.

the sedan version is somewhat weird thou. disproportion.

price wise, its almost similar to city, vios etc. SX4 is really an interesting alternative to the them. 308vti, add like RM6K more, but all that excess is more than worth it.

but the power upgrade to just 110bhp is rather inadequate. how heavy is SX4 anyway? 1200kg? 150Nm torque is good but if its weight around 1200kg, emm…

beside,

the 'old' SX4 with just 101bhp minus 20% (for power lost in automatic gearbox torque converter) is really a killing. only 80 bhp on wheel!

if 110 bhp at engine, its only 88 bhp on wheel…

• momocultus on Nov 02, 2009 at 5:29 pm

For those who were talking about suzuki resale value. check out the 2nd hand price for Jimny or the GTi or the Vitara.. it is not as cheap as you think.

308 is definitively value for money but its also come with headache that unseen (maybe not now but later if you know what i mean) question is whether you prepare for it or not..

personally i find the elevated sitting in a city really helpful in getting good view of the oncoming rempits's :P

• shawal.ali on Nov 09, 2009 at 10:21 pm

It may not win you over entirely, but IT looks like a car you'd want to drive ,

It will age slowly….

• KIA new FORTE on Nov 12, 2009 at 12:05 pm

Try go YOUTUBE & search for " KIA CERATO FORTE" ……

you will be great surprise! trust me. :)

launching in Malaysia on 24 NOV 2009

can view at KIA special outlet:

OPEN 365 days 9am-9pm daily>>>>>>

Kepong KIA hotline : 03-6252 9868

Klang KIA hotline : 03-3323 9948

:) Be SURPRISE!!!

• Hi,

I'm just bought new SX4 crossover 08. Can't wait for 2009 arrival.

But 2009 upgrade look good especially on power itself. Is it possiblle to re tuned my 2008 version to boost the power. Anybody can help?

Honestly the car design is very good but lack of power. Very hard to overtake even with VVT.

• considering crossover on Jun 22, 2010 at 9:01 pm

so owner of SX4 crossover…any comment so far???so far so good??

Me considering … hope to get good & bad feedback.

• momocultus on Jun 23, 2010 at 9:29 am

You should ” considering crossover”

• Hi, any feedback really? I am thinking of getting one, perhaps. Now in my list, either Fiesta, SX4 crossover and also Vios. Comments please!

• Aby112 on Sep 04, 2010 at 5:07 pm

yes, need some feedback from owners
      I’ve seen more and more of this car on the road, the white one always catches my eye. I’m just not 100% into the exterior, I like the back but not the front. now I’m waiting for Kia to launch Soul, which is like forever. If the deal with Soul is not on, I’ll very much go for SX4, since both are crossover.
      how spacious is this car? it looks almost the same size as a Myvi.. how’s the handling? so the pick up is slow at the traffic lights? how’s the power when 2 passengers at the rear seat?

• Asrul Hezly on Oct 02, 2010 at 11:13 pm

I am the owner of the suzuki sx4 crossover. Just bought past 3 month ago. What was impressed me on my sx4 is the handling is awesome! I drove at speed 200km/h and about 300 metres to the curve (corner). I though i would accident when past to that curve. You know what? when i drove on that curve, my car is damp too stable! Might be 170km/h on the curve i think. Awesome!
        Talking about the performance, I dont need to tell since you’ve know I used to drove at 200km/h. Pick up is not so good. You will feel its like underpower. But the speed will not stop untill get the top speed!
        In term of fuel usage, Rm80 (full tank) divided rm1.85 per litre you can get 600km (80% highway 20% urban) and/or 520 (70% urban 30% highway).
        Audio is awesome. 9 speakers on it. Spacius for bonnet is 50% bigger than myvi. Spacius for driver is very comfort since it also was made for europe too! Spacius for passanger is very comform as well. Have a test drive at suzuki outlet!

• SeXy 4ever on Oct 20, 2010 at 10:54 am

hi Asrul, I have the same feeling also, when driving my SX4 on a sloping road from 0-40km/h the lack of power feeling is very obvious, after I push harder it start accelerate,when it reach 50-60km/h I can feel more & more power coming in..Any idea how to improve it’s Pick up?? Anyone knows the solution, please advice…

Apart from the above, this car is fun to drive,the 2nd row is very spacius,I use to carry 3 full size adult during my sunday outing, and easy to look for Parking somemore( compare to full size SUV), its score 9.2/10 under a survey under the USA market. Only if can improve it’s pick up performance, this car is amazing!

• How abt the maintenance and resale value of suzuki sx4? is it reasonable?

• raymee12 on Aug 09, 2010 at 1:18 am

Hi Paul, are you sure that engine horsepower is now 110kph? From the Suzuki website, the engine output still remain at 100 kph.