VIDEO: Satria Neo S2000 and Alister McRae

Alister McRae

If you’ve been following the updates on the MEM Proton Team that currently runs a Proton Satria Neo Super 2000, you’d probably know by now that Alister McRae is currently piloting the car for both the IRC and the APRC. McRae is off to China for the APRC this morning to prepare for the race coming this weekend (14 to 15 November). There’s some new promo footage of the Proton Satria Neo Super 2000 that I managed to source from the guys at Proton R3 and in the video Alister McRae puts in a few words on what he thinks of the car. Watch the video after the jump, enjoy!

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• orido on Nov 09, 2009 at 10:42 am

first!

• S. LOEB on Nov 09, 2009 at 11:27 am

unfortunately its a proton…

• kimi_ on Nov 09, 2009 at 12:07 pm

First…………1st

• haroon on Nov 09, 2009 at 12:21 pm

go proton!

• azrai on Nov 09, 2009 at 4:04 pm

Hope this will work in promoting Proton worldwide.

• motosonic on Nov 09, 2009 at 4:23 pm

now rally car…in future why not try the GT racing!

• pulge on Nov 09, 2009 at 5:03 pm

Well, Proton is well known for rally during Karamjit's heir with PERT..

• shapirul on Nov 09, 2009 at 5:40 pm

Where is Karamjit Singh?

• hope i was there to watch.

• What happens to the "easily converted into RHD" talk? After a few months passed, there is still no RHD satria neo s2000…

• Littlefire on Nov 09, 2009 at 6:11 pm

Yup, Proton can have RWD or AWD for Rally or competition. But why not us normal user?

All these while, Proton only developes FWD cars which is still the same old boring type..

If Japanese ppl can add FWD to AWD. We should have it also, since over here also got a lot of mountain roads expecially Sabah & Sarawak. They should have add in the options for normal users like us..

• wat…??

u dun believe it's a proton…

haha typical malaysian…

look down at own product…

• knoxx on Nov 09, 2009 at 6:43 pm

basher.. be a matured and try to accept achievement.. that a positive value in life.

• Yen

confirmed session below:

Nov 18 – 6pm – 8pm

• "unfortunately its a proton…"

Why?

Im not a Proton lover but at least I feel okay seeing a Proton in a rally like this, driven by a respected guy. Gotta open up eyes sometimes.

• fauzistt on Nov 09, 2009 at 7:57 pm

Paul, OT a bit; since you're buddy with the R3 folks, would you update us on the new batch (90 units) of Neo R3, selling for RM74K with a number of parts update.

i got the info from R3gister forum.

• Paul Tan on Nov 09, 2009 at 8:02 pm

I will definitely post updates on the new R3 cars when the info are finalised.

• got money, can do..

• Ariff on Nov 09, 2009 at 8:18 pm

a reputable driver driving a malaysian made car: this is good, this is what we need.

hope with that sooner or later proton would be able to produce better quality car

• Kambing Laut on Nov 09, 2009 at 8:21 pm

hopefully we will see the next proton waja in the competition..

Proton, please add more doors for neo..

golf, evo, impreza did it. Why not you..

please…. huhuhu

• muryadi on Nov 09, 2009 at 8:25 pm

best…

• Well, we know that proton built "ahem" quality, We shouldn't blame its a Malaysian products. We should blame the people that make the decision to make our homegrown product like this under the pretext… save cost so everyone can drive. Well proud that its proton under someone hands (MEM) to develop further its technology… We shout out to those "PPL" WAKE UP! or we will lose the race… My fellow Malaysian… support our goods…it will support our industry and support our future.

• teamsleepnine on Nov 09, 2009 at 11:48 pm

paul you shoul subscribed to aprc tv on youtube as i see this video 1 week after rally indonesia…so yeah you slow poke..lol!!!

i hope to have more insider info about s2000 as you are buddy with the r3 guys!!

• koRok on Nov 10, 2009 at 12:31 am

go go go proton

• Well the car's shell is proton but inside all tuned up and dont think its proton campro engine inside thats for sure. But well done in terms of marketing.

• raixa on Nov 10, 2009 at 2:36 am

Who said that CamPro are usefull for competition? At least MEM aware of that and replace the engine with Renault OEM.

• Mazda 3 MPS on Nov 10, 2009 at 2:42 am

dude its no subaru or a mazda….colin would be so disappointed with you

• Annihilated on Nov 10, 2009 at 7:16 am

sure it's one fast car.

great video..

neo is looking somewhat like a cat emerging out of dust sort of thing..

in it's own style..

credit to where it's due. :)

• wut eva on Nov 10, 2009 at 7:50 am

alah bukannye diorang developed engine, sistem 4wd & transmision sendiri pun…

semua parts beli yg gempak2 pastu sumbat dalam body neo je…

mmg la hebat…

kira macam jadi tuner utk neo je…

• The Noble Proton Bas on Nov 10, 2009 at 4:22 pm

how pathetic to finish last place

• hey everyone… why not we all support this proton cars…

We all must be confident with our technology. Lets see JAPAN..

How they generate their technology and all JAPAN's people support their technology…

How can we get the good car if in the same time we all don't support this car's company to develop it…………….

Best reward to PROTON…. thanks God…

• JULIAN_LEE on Nov 11, 2009 at 10:40 pm

paul go seduce them, we want info!

• rally_fan on Nov 12, 2009 at 6:16 am

"Mazda 3 MPS said,
    November 9, 2009 @ 6:42 pm

dude its no subaru or a mazda….colin would be so disappointed with you"

huh?? whats mazda got to do with rally cars? the last time a mazda 'actually' went rallying is akin to ancient history…

• kancil850 on Nov 12, 2009 at 6:02 pm

back in 2000 i think proton enter BTCC with Waja wide body but with renult 2.0 engine!!

• terencelhl (Member) on Nov 13, 2009 at 2:40 am

Thumbs up to PROTON.

• 60 years back then, british flags on land..now, our tiger emblem on their chest.