Alfa Romeo Giulietta – a long overdue first look

Alfa Romeo Giulietta

These are the first 3 photos released of the new Alfa Romeo Giulietta, which is finally here! The Alfa Romeo 147 was a really fun little car even in 2.0 litre guise, and no one else has been able to make inline-4 engines sound like how Alfa 4-potters sound. But even so, the 147 is really getting abit old – it’s been around since 2000!

Alfa Romeo Giulietta

The new Giulietta has been a long time coming. Until just a few days ago it wasn’t even going to be called Giulietta. We first heard of the name 149, and then the name Alfa Romeo Milano. The Giulietta will join the Mito as the second of Alfa Romeo’s new modern range of cars that do not use a numeric naming scheme. The next generation 159 will probably follow suit.

Alfa Romeo Giulietta

The new Alfa Romeo Giulietta is 4,350mm long, 1,450mm tall and 1,800mm wide with a wheelbase of 2,630mm. The entire engine range will be turbocharged, starting from a small 120 horsepower turbo 1.4 litre up to a 170 horsepower version of the 1.4 litre turbo engine. The other two engines are turbodiesels, rated at 105 hp from a 1.6 litre and 170hp from a 2.0 litre. A range-topping Quadrifoglio (four leaf clover) version will come with the new 1.8 litre TBi engine making 235 horses.

We only have these three photos for now but the car will be fully unveiled to the public at the Geneva show next year. The car is Golf-sized and technically should be cheaper than the 159, so could it be priced in Malaysia between the Mito and the 159? That would put it somewhere smack in the middle of the RM100k to RM200k range. It definitely looks good, but try covering up the front end – do you see a bit of Subaru Impreza hatch in it?

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• Nice :)

• beautiful…but somehow reminds me of a lancia

• Does it have 3 doors version?

• Mazda 3 MPS on Dec 03, 2009 at 7:18 am

sexy….u big boy…u make me horny

• hmm, does have hints of subaru.

rear 3 quarter view is fantastic, front is not so much.

like how girls/guys in real life are, back view fantastic. front view……

• Looks like a competitor to the 1series…

• wiraboy on Dec 03, 2009 at 7:52 am

my wira with big spoiler and many stickers will smoke this car anytime dude. anytime. . .

• Imran on Dec 03, 2009 at 7:55 am

Malaysians won't buy because of expensive repairs and low resale value. Generally, we lot are still money-sensible.

• shawal on Dec 03, 2009 at 8:00 am

A beautiful Alfa , a bootylicious and fantabulous alfa…. altho there's a lot of hints from other cars like … the lancia delta and various puntos , overal gggeewwwd job…, 2 muflers are nice, hope to see a cloverleaf badge or evoluzione, a proper golf gti counter attack!

• from google translate, it means juliet.

Giulietta = juliet in english .

as far as i am concern, i am not the type of person who fancy new words. i am fine with honda's naming, accord, civic , fit , jazz , element etc . but i do not fancy toyota's creating new words , or combining words to invent word, toyota camry, avanza, . lotus's evora , proton exora …

one of the best name i've ever heard is rolls royce's naming, silver seraph, the phantom. that is really something different.

• PASSION.

• l3ryan on Dec 03, 2009 at 8:39 am

I would love to have one of these, it's just too beautiful :D

• Srotong on Dec 03, 2009 at 8:41 am

Yep, passion and soul. The ones that buy this beauty, ain't gonna be too bothered with such mundane things like 'expensive repairs and low resale'. Don't get it? Go marry a katak or lembu…

• TURBOfans on Dec 03, 2009 at 8:56 am

lo said,

December 3, 2009 @ 12:08 am

from google translate, it means juliet.

Giulietta = juliet in english .

as far as i am concern, i am not the type of person who fancy new words. i am fine with honda’s naming, accord, civic , fit , jazz , element etc . but i do not fancy toyota’s creating new words , or combining words to invent word, toyota camry, avanza, . lotus’s evora , proton exora …

one of the best name i’ve ever heard is rolls royce’s naming, silver seraph, the phantom. that is really something different.

————————————————

How about the name goes by Tandoori? Kijang?

This car is really nice, i like the design..definitely white is good!..another Hot hatch ~:)

so now… which is the hottest HOT HATCH do you think?

1. VW Scirocco

2. Alfa Romeo Giulietta

3. Renault Twingo

4. Megane R26

5. Golf GTI MK6

• Mazda 3 MPS on Dec 03, 2009 at 9:30 am

Imran said,

December 2, 2009 @ 11:55 pm

Malaysians won’t buy because of expensive repairs and low resale value. Generally, we lot are still money-sensible.

————————————-

money sensible? no, actually malaysians are stupid and cowardly. u people buy toyota and honda cause got resale value, easy to fix, reliable etc bullshit. resale value? malaysia has one of the highest resale value in the world. 70% retained value for toyota vios, Mercedes E-class w124 are still being sold for over rm 30k(in other countries in the world u can buy one for less than rm1k). in uk, 30% resale value for a car is freaking high already, so u should behappy with 50% retained value for a alfa after 3 years. easy to fix, this really is untrue for toyota and honda as many service centres are rubbish. expensive repairs for contis….toyota changed my fren's brake pads so oftenly….that's used a lot of money. now he drives a merc and he no longer encounters such problems.

• Alfa owner on Dec 03, 2009 at 9:47 am

time 2 trade in my old and beaten down 147 then… hope this has better selespeed than the old alfas that always break down.

• JasJos on Dec 03, 2009 at 10:04 am

the new alfa face is destroying their long time trademark artistic design.

• aksMs on Dec 03, 2009 at 10:44 am

JasJos, I felt the same way. This is a great looking Alfa nevertheless. But somehow I feel the gen is kinda lost somewhere.

So how long will we have to wait till it reach our shore? 4-5 years like the 159?

• Mazda 3 MPS on Dec 03, 2009 at 10:45 am

looking at this car, i feel very confident that the alfa 169 is going to be awesome

• too many bmw,merc,honda and toyota brand on the road… saw alfa 159(brown) and VW Scirocco(green)…both look sooo great!. hope to see more alfa,vw and audi.

• gorgeous!

would prefer if those front seats had a bit more side support. surely this car is for the corners.

• Jaybond on Dec 03, 2009 at 6:38 pm

Looks better in 2-door form IMHO. A true hot hatch should be a 2-door.

4 door? Make it a sedan or at least a fastback…

• Fuego66 on Dec 03, 2009 at 7:07 pm

GASP!!! (Speachless)

• alpha999 on Dec 03, 2009 at 7:10 pm

arrrghhh…..another wishful thinking to own one……

• Mazda 3 MPS on Dec 03, 2009 at 10:07 pm

msi said,

December 3, 2009 @ 8:52 am

too many bmw,merc,honda and toyota brand on the road… saw alfa 159(brown) and VW Scirocco(green)…both look sooo great!. hope to see more alfa,vw and audi.

——————————–

yeap….. regardless what horrible color u give those cars, it will still look great

• haha..design cun, any color also cun.

• Nice car. Just feel that it looks a bit like Fiat Bravo GT.
    http://paultan.org/2007/11/17/fiat-bravo-gt-14-t-…
    I don't think this car will be too expensive if compare to Mito because this is not a 3 door car and same engine capacity as Mito. By right it should be same price or even cheaper than Mito.

• nighttrain on Dec 03, 2009 at 11:35 pm

Hmm.. The Italians are looking at Jap design. But we just asked an Italian firm to design our car..

• chyan on Dec 04, 2009 at 1:19 am

The back tailight reminds me of Ferrari's new beast.

• nighttrain on Dec 04, 2009 at 1:26 am

It's a tribute to the 70s Alfa hatches.. Alfasud.

• torque (Member) on Dec 04, 2009 at 2:02 am

wiraboy said,

December 2, 2009 @ 11:52 pm

my wira with big spoiler and many stickers will smoke this car anytime dude. anytime. . .

Yep…and this car interior quality and passion of built will beat ur car anytime dude. anytime… :-)

TURBOfans said,

December 3, 2009 @ 12:56 am

1. VW Scirocco

2. Alfa Romeo Giulietta

3. Renault Twingo

4. Megane R26

5. Golf GTI MK6

Hmmm…I will go for the Megane R26 and this baby!!

Imran said,

Malaysians won’t buy because of expensive repairs and low resale value. Generally, we lot are still money-sensible.

Sorry bro, I don't actually agreed with that! I think it's more of money-sensitive rather than money-sensible. Those two words sound quite the same but bring a whole lot different meaning…

Anyway, you were right about one thing…Malaysians won't buy this but Alfanuts have no problem signing their cheque for this beauty!!

• I am soooo gonna get this one…!!!

• Mazda 3 MPS on Dec 04, 2009 at 7:17 pm

torque said,

December 3, 2009 @ 6:02 pm

wiraboy said,
    December 2, 2009 @ 11:52 pm

Yep…and this car interior quality and passion of built will beat ur car anytime dude. anytime… :-)

TURBOfans said,
    December 3, 2009 @ 12:56 am

1. VW Scirocco
    2. Alfa Romeo Giulietta
    3. Renault Twingo
    4. Megane R26
    5. Golf GTI MK6

Hmmm…I will go for the Megane R26 and this baby!!

Imran said,

Sorry bro, I don’t actually agreed with that! I think it’s more of money-sensitive rather than money-sensible. Those two words sound quite the same but bring a whole lot different meaning…

Anyway, you were right about one thing…Malaysians won’t buy this but Alfanuts have no problem signing their cheque for this beauty!!
    ——————————————-

the only reason why malaysians do not buy this car is the price, price, price…..gee thanks proton for making our lives "better"

• pelams on Dec 04, 2009 at 8:04 pm

i dun like the front design…but d rear part is cool

• milanRed (Member) on Dec 17, 2009 at 8:32 pm

when and if it come to our shore… will definitely get it!! what a beaut. more than enough time to save, given the length of time before the new alfa models are introduced here. :)