New Citroën C3: Small car with big windscreen!

Citroen-C3

This is the new Citroen C3, which the French carmaker touts as the new B-segment benchmark. It replaces the cute and round original that was quite a radical design when it was unveiled back in 2002. Citroen has sold two million examples since then, and the range saw new members over the years, such as the oddball C3 Pluriel and more recently, the funky C3 Picasso MPV.

Launched at the Frankfurt Motor Show in September, the C3 has one of the smaller footprints in the supermini class, despite growing marginally in length and width (it’s 5cm shorter than Corsa and 9cm shorter than 207 and Clio). The wheelbase is unchanged but Citroen claims good cabin space and class-leading 300 litres of boot volume.

Citroen-C3-roof

It’s obvious that the new C3 is a reinvention of the old car rather than a rethink, as it retains the curved roofline and glasshouse its predecessor was known for. What’s new is the ‘Zenith windscreen’ which stretches so far back, it cuts off near the car’s B-pillar. If you’ve ever been in the C4 Picasso MPV, you’ll understand the appeal of this large glass area – the view out its truly panaromic, perfect for sightseeing and it gives the cabin an airy feel. Should you get tired of the light, there’s a sunblind and tinting for the topmost part of the windscreen. The cabin is funky yet classy, not always the case with imaginative French designs.

Four petrol engines are on the list – 61bhp 1.1, 75bhp 1.4, 95bhp 1.4 and a 120bhp 1.6 – the latter two belong to the BMW-PSA Prince family. The French make some of the best diesel engines, and the C3’s three HDi engines with Citroen’s Diesel Particulate Filter System ranging from 70bhp to 110bhp will be the main sellers in Europe. Every range must have a headlining green model these days, and the Airdream+ edition (90bhp 1.6HDi) emits just 99g/km of CO2 – the first Citroën to dip below 100g/km. To further promote economical driving, most versions feature a Gear Efficiency Indicator, which alerts the driver of the optimum moment to change gear.

More photos after the jump.

[zenphotopress number=999 album=367]

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• tikus on Dec 08, 2009 at 3:03 am

1st !!! Very cute car lar….

• Beng Ho on Dec 08, 2009 at 3:11 am

First!

• kennhyn on Dec 08, 2009 at 3:14 am

wow, the black colour look stunning@

• Fridz (Member) on Dec 08, 2009 at 3:18 am

Does it suitable in our climate?

• ban_87 on Dec 08, 2009 at 3:18 am

wow… my dream car… :)

• lowprofile on Dec 08, 2009 at 3:21 am

looks much better than the car it replaces. nice engine choice too. the 95bhp 1.4 would be great here… if citroen can ckd it. will be a great replacement to the discontinued 206 here which had 75bhp. as a cbu, it could be hard to move sufficient numbers to be significant… unless of course citroen are looking at being niche. overall, i like the design. the shape may be from the earlier version but imho, citroen has been successful with the car's facelift… it is almost like a whole new car.

• mytouch on Dec 08, 2009 at 3:23 am

1st…..The accesories shop will charge more for the windscreen tinted,kekeke…Anyway,q a good looking car…

• You're Slimebal on Dec 08, 2009 at 3:42 am

Yay, now my new hobby will be standing in the overhead bridge, looking for women in low cut shirts passing under the bridge in that car!!!!!!!!!!!!

Better still, I'll install CCTV's

• initial R on Dec 08, 2009 at 3:48 am

erkk…. any sun visor ?. Used sun block…..

• Ariff on Dec 08, 2009 at 3:51 am

nice!!but rather feminie~

• TURBOfans on Dec 08, 2009 at 3:51 am

The Coupe version DS3 is much cooler!!

it make my 308 looks old~~ sigh…

can beat the hell out of Mini cooper~~

• michaelooi on Dec 08, 2009 at 3:54 am

very pretty interior

• Alifz on Dec 08, 2009 at 4:18 am

Citroen was known for their radical design. I'm expecting it..

• danin on Dec 08, 2009 at 4:21 am

huhu… imagine its 12 in the noon driving this car and stuck on a massive traffic jam.. sure the front driver n passenger will be sun burn…

• kimi_ on Dec 08, 2009 at 4:24 am

Will it be dangerous for the driver if the car turned TURTLE !!!!!

• kimi_ on Dec 08, 2009 at 4:26 am

TURBOfans said,

The Coupe version DS3 is much cooler!!

it make my 308 looks old~~ sigh…

—————————————

It make my SAVVY looks like a SHIT

• citroen had quite an futuristic design.unfortunately in msia the brand itself sounds wrong to ppl (especially the chinese).sum will get wat i mean

• bmpower on Dec 08, 2009 at 4:32 am

you'll be a roasted chicken lah in that car in malaysia hot weather. hahaha

just like magnifier :p

• oomph on Dec 08, 2009 at 5:09 am

you’ll be a roasted chicken lah in that car in malaysia hot weather. hahaha

just like magnifier :p

=======

very true! haha.

• tunomura on Dec 08, 2009 at 5:26 am

good news for tint shops..

continental cars always stunning…….=)

• tunomura on Dec 08, 2009 at 5:28 am

Savvy replacement model..

• Monfere.Blogspot.Com on Dec 08, 2009 at 5:28 am

Maybe I would only buy the toy car because it is very cute but it is too hot for us in Malaysia if we buy the real model.

• taboogen on Dec 08, 2009 at 5:32 am

wow just imgine to tint the front screen.. sun tann anyone

• redwings on Dec 08, 2009 at 5:36 am

Citroen has been in Malaysia for so long now..

Paul/Danny,

Can you able to write more about this brand and the line-ups in Malaysia,

How these cars rated in term of handling, performance, safety, maintenance cost and part availability?

I am impress with C4 coupe but dare not get it as ppl always got not confidence on this brand.. FYI, Citroen did really well in Rally..right?

My friend used to drive the ZX and regret bought it.. sold it after can't stand with those repairs..

• Mazda 3 MPS on Dec 08, 2009 at 5:38 am

this is a fantastic car….people who have negative comments about it just go and shoot urself

• budlee on Dec 08, 2009 at 5:54 am

whoa wicked windscreen..

definetly a car for those countries who lack sun light…

not sure about tropical countries, thought, all we want to do is stay out of the light..

that has to be one heck of a solar protector.. (not to mention the cost of cutting a tint that huge..)

• 50% area windscreen need tinted black

• CompacCar on Dec 08, 2009 at 6:21 am

c3 the latest model from the legend of citroen ax which is known as proton tiara in malaysia..

• The Reader on Dec 08, 2009 at 6:28 am

It looks like a mid-age uncle with a bald forehead…..

• squawk on Dec 08, 2009 at 6:48 am

It'll cost a pretty penny to replace that windscreen.

• Annihilated on Dec 08, 2009 at 7:02 am

::off topic::

subaru is back into the rally business.. jumping in to the IRC boat after leaving WRC. woohoo..

• DirkTooth on Dec 08, 2009 at 7:08 am

The Reader said,

December 7, 2009 @ 10:28 pm

It looks like a mid-age uncle with a bald forehead….

————————————————————-

Pala dongga..

• nabill on Dec 08, 2009 at 7:10 am

wat if the car flips over in an accident with all that glass shaters in ur body…not wise….and doesnt look safe either…bt looks great!

• *x_x* on Dec 08, 2009 at 7:27 am

Bigger windscreen means un-safer? Read the newspaper today and saw 1 accident about metal piece falling down from bridge and hit the car… If hit this… sure the people in the car say byebye to the world… haha

• coolguru on Dec 08, 2009 at 7:28 am

Nabill, I've not heard Citroen can turn-turtle. Try Google and prove me wrong.

I owned a Citroen Picasso before but didn't last me long. Overall the car was great to drive, cheap to maintain i.e. service every 20,000km but not until the gearbox fail. Try Google it and you'll see most Citroen fails on their gearbox – and still is after all these years!

Seriously, if not because of their gearbox legacy issues, I'd again buy another Citroen.

• coolguru on Dec 08, 2009 at 7:30 am

By the way, Nabill, I driven my Citroen Picasso at 120km/h taking a sweeping corner without issue – didn't turn-turtle :)

It was fun too…

And top speed, 200km/h is effortless on long straight stretch…

• satrian on Dec 08, 2009 at 7:58 am

it take ages to reach our shore…………sport rims remind me new city or civic…………cool car…….

• aksMs on Dec 08, 2009 at 9:07 am

redwings said,

December 7, 2009 @ 9:36 pm

My friend used to drive the ZX and regret bought it.. sold it after can’t stand with those repairs.

Which ZX? Where did your friend sent for services and repairs?

Had C5 ever since it hit our shores. Never had problems with services and repairs…except nowadays. What do you expect from a car that had hit 500k on the mileage? Had problems with the tranny a few times. I had a halucination once when i thought it could lift up it's skirt and cross the water crossings. Heheh. My fault then. Apart from that, the car was good. Very nice to drive. I'd go for this car anytime for comfort than Merc or Beemer.

Paul, Gear Efficiency Indicator, is it for the manual version?

• Drive one of these baby in Malaysia will instantly turn the driver into a nicely roasted Chicken. Yam…

• BeemerFreak on Dec 08, 2009 at 10:19 am

Hmm it some how look like a cross breed between the C5 and C4. C4 front and compressed C5 Rear

• skiborne on Dec 08, 2009 at 11:49 am

wow fantastic. rear-end, front-end, rims, shape.

• shawal on Dec 08, 2009 at 1:04 pm

Ya Know the Ferrari 575 Superamerica has that funky folding glass roof, and …the glass itself is kinda special cuz it uses electricity or sumthin to change its opacity from dark/opaque to transparent (electrochromic…thnx wikipedia!)…. its been a long time ady, y d tech has not been implemented in other cars? izzit really dat expensive…, or we could use normal chromatic lenses like our specs hehe, when its bright it'll turn dark by itself,

(http://www.seriouswheels.com/pics-2006/2006-Zagato-Ferrari-575-GTZ-Mr-Hayashi-1024×768.jpg) ….you blokes may want to check this out!

575 GTZ by Zagato , prolly his best work, cuz its a ferrari! (You bastard! never design any cheap production car!)

This Car looks Awesome, altho the DS3 is Awesomous Maximus n fantabulous

It Looks well built, altho my family had a bad experience with our 96 ZX (mind you,it was friggin fast 2.0!) last time, spare parts was friggin expensive, the car was problematic and we ran into a 'Callman' in Taiping , some idiot throw a ROCK to our windshield (I'm not JoKING!, crack it and suddenly our of nowhere a tow truck came…

If History repeats itself .. God knows how long I'd have to wait and how much money to cough out to fix the bloody windscreen….

• Street Shifters on Dec 08, 2009 at 1:34 pm

Wow nice .. I like ..

• azrai on Dec 08, 2009 at 4:08 pm

Sure getting hot in malaysia and 1 more thing, amois and nyonyas beware of pranking eyes if you wear short or hotpants or mini skirts. Hahaha.

• lifesun on Dec 08, 2009 at 4:45 pm

Wow… will burn your forehead in afternoon hehe..nice!

• mohsin on Dec 08, 2009 at 4:49 pm

like a flowerhorn fish! Dahi luas! But nice design.

• hrman on Dec 08, 2009 at 4:52 pm

more money for your tinted.. hahahhaha

• Kampung Boy on Dec 08, 2009 at 4:52 pm

nice engine for optimal needs..

windscreen is too big… may not suitable for our weather…

ppl in europe may want more sun light to make them warm, but for us maybe the other way round…

if Mazda 3 got bigger smile face…

this one look like uncle with no front hair….

• MADBOY on Dec 08, 2009 at 4:59 pm

Nasib baik the name is C3, wonder will Najib allow C4 to be sold in Malaysia? lol

• alpha999 on Dec 08, 2009 at 5:07 pm

Aiyo..dont think will suit our tropical climate….very difficult to drive under hot glaring sunny day…how la ?…If tint, later kena card……

• Looks like kepala uncle botak tengah

• xavier lert on Dec 08, 2009 at 5:55 pm

now u can see if something is fallin from above………..

• lchan on Dec 08, 2009 at 6:00 pm

this one tinting is going to cost a bomb….ha!

• lazyf on Dec 08, 2009 at 6:03 pm

cute car…

nice rims…

• one damn nice looking car

• Looks like uncle botak tengah..

• Black Dog on Dec 08, 2009 at 6:46 pm

Fantastic for watching raindrops or even snow falling! Or just lean down and enjoy the view under a pedestrian bridge.

I'm sure they have an extra sliding roof cover under the glass in case the sun got too hot. They are not stupid!

I always love sunroofs, closer to the outdoors!

• alldisc on Dec 08, 2009 at 6:56 pm

one thing for sure – the windscreen is the biggest component alone in the car.

brilliant!!

• Monfere.Blogspot.Com on Dec 08, 2009 at 6:59 pm

If wonder what happens when a big tree knock onto the roof.

• droll on Dec 08, 2009 at 7:21 pm

i'm always a sucker for small agile cars and this one is brilliant!

• Mazda 3 MPS on Dec 08, 2009 at 7:54 pm

if u guys are so worried about getting damage to this car, this means u are a bad driver

• kelantanese on Dec 08, 2009 at 11:07 pm

Monfere.Blogspot.Com said,

December 8, 2009 @ 10:59 am

don't be dumb…you think normal car roof can withstand a big tree falling on it?

• Monfere.Blogspot.Com on Dec 09, 2009 at 12:36 am

kelantanese said,

December 8, 2009 @ 3:07 pm

Monfere.Blogspot.Com said,

December 8, 2009 @ 10:59 am

——————————————————————

don’t be dumb…you think normal car roof can withstand a big tree falling on it?

—————————————————————-

5 years ago, a thick trunk as thick as my body knock onto my father's 2002 Kia Sportage outside Hospital Kuala Lumpur. My father's Sportage was dented but he did not suffered any injury and his Sportage also saved some cars behind.

• squawk on Dec 09, 2009 at 12:46 am

In China, a truck fell on its side and crushed a Chinese VW. Amazingly all the VW occupants survived even though the roof was almost flattened. French car may not survive but German car can. :-P

• kelantanese on Dec 09, 2009 at 8:46 am

5 years ago, a thick trunk as thick as my body knock onto my father’s 2002 Kia Sportage outside Hospital Kuala Lumpur. My father’s Sportage was dented but he did not suffered any injury and his Sportage also saved some cars behind.

—-

the cars frame is what gives the roof strength not the roof skin which is just thin as paper sheet metal. dont get confused between the two. many conti cars also coming with glass roof these days too, still safe because the glass is thick and tempered and the frame is still there surrounding.

and no offense 2 u but trunk as thick as a human body is not really such a big tree. in my work ive seen truly big trees fall and trust me no car roof going to withstand that.

• redwings on Dec 09, 2009 at 6:45 pm

MADBOY said,

December 8, 2009 @ 8:59 am

Nasib baik the name is C3, wonder will Najib allow C4 to be sold in Malaysia? lol

—————————————————————-

C4 was here for sometimes already…

• gtmaniac on Dec 09, 2009 at 9:30 pm

Easier to capture your face on traffic camera.. hahaha

But yes.. imagine if the glass got stoned.

• kampung_boy on Dec 10, 2009 at 11:55 am

wow!! such a nice car.. but surely above 100k. :(

• cheapshot on Dec 10, 2009 at 5:56 pm

sapa yang beli kereta ni kena parking bawah bumbung, takut kena tahi burung tak sedap mata memandang. pastu kalau pecah windscreen ni memang payah nak ganti…

• owner myvi putih on Dec 11, 2009 at 2:05 am

x panas ke???

ni kalo anta tinted msti kene charge lebih ni…

pastu mlm2 kalo jalan kat kubur jgn la pandang atas…haha