Facelifts for the Ford S-MAX and Galaxy

Ford has given the facelift treatment to two of its bread and butter European MPVs and this piece of news is particularly interesting as we were told that the S-MAX would be launched in Malaysia sometime in 2010 at the Ford Mondeo launch not too long ago.

The Ford S-MAX is essentially an MPV based on the Ford EUCD platform, which also underpins the Mondeo. It has a long wheelbase of 2,850mm which pretty much puts it in the same league as the JDM Honda Odyssey (2,830mm). I’d expect a Malaysian introduction to carry a price tag close to the RM200k point though Sime Darby is always welcome to surprise us! ;) Ford will also have a smaller 7-seater MPV based on the smaller Focus platform called the 2nd generation C-MAX which will essentially be a Ford equivalent to the Mazda 5.

I would say the most interesting part of the new S-MAX facelift is the new Ford EcoBoost SCTi engine, which uses an all-aluminium construction, direct injection, twin-independent variable cam timing and a turbocharger. Peak power is 203 PS at 5,500rpm while peak torque is 300Nm from as low as 1,750rpm all the way to 4,500rpm – lots of shove for a people carrier’s needs. 0 to 100km/h takes 8.5 seconds.

I won’t be surprised if this new engine will replace the 5-pot turbo in the next generation Focus ST, leaving the Volvo-derived 5-potter for the RS. This engine is mated to an oil-bathed 6-speed twin clutch automatic.

There’s just no escaping this new automotive styling trend – the Titaium and Titanium X Sport trim levels come with LED daytime running lights at the front. Pretty soon everyone will sport this look save for BMW which will surely stick to their corona rings.

As for the interior, the second and third row of the S-MAX (and the Galaxy) can be folded completely flat for a nice luggage area – Ford calls this the Ford FoldFlatSystem. Some Volvo tech has trickled down to these Fords as well – they have a Blind Sport Information System function which uses radar to warn drivers of vehicles in their blind spot area.

GALLERY: Ford S-MAX Facelift

GALLERY: Ford Galaxy Facelift

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• xavier lert on Dec 21, 2009 at 1:56 am

hmm….good interior….

• futuristic . . . but rm200k mark… hard.

should put at 165-175K range to fight the grandis perhaps ?

• shots?

• got it. Internet issue. sorry.

• Nice…

• bmpower on Dec 21, 2009 at 3:09 am

I like ford.

but they getting (too much) expensive now!

• X Bodoh Sombong on Dec 21, 2009 at 3:42 am

JUST IMAGINE IF THIS CAR IS OUR PROTON EXORA..

• tamaki on Dec 21, 2009 at 4:10 am

for time being, ford design really remarkable especially interior it give me some merc feel ,probably coincidence guar

• shawal on Dec 21, 2009 at 4:16 am

i find the facelifted s-max is uglier than the prefacelift 1

• Adnan on Dec 21, 2009 at 4:59 am

Hi Paul,

Hope you can come up with MPV buying guide/ comparison review for all MPV that we have in malaysia…

• tunomura on Dec 21, 2009 at 5:57 am

@X Bodoh Sombong said,

JUST IMAGINE IF THIS CAR IS OUR PROTON EXORA..

The design is to heavy for 1.6cc engine…..but luv it, modern and have conti cars feeling..

• Elvis on Dec 21, 2009 at 6:40 am

How come manufacturer keep coming up with MPV, SUV, etc? And why those useful half ton pickup no longer attractive to manufacturers? So what you got new MPV, SUV or passenger car, same old same also. If they come out with half ton pickup with sporty look okay what. Can pick up goods and girls too….

• skiborne on Dec 21, 2009 at 7:41 am

even MPVs are stylo nowadays, damn ford

• TURBOfans on Dec 21, 2009 at 8:30 am

brother..i wan mango

• katak on Dec 21, 2009 at 3:11 pm

Ford are catching up with their up dates into Malaysian Market, we shall rate Ford as a value for money brand as well as safety.

• 4G63tDSM on Dec 21, 2009 at 5:10 pm

Hmmm…. 6 speed manual in the Galaxy? Must be diesel. Rather excellent I would say.

Now, I wonder if the Galaxy will end up with a VW turbo diesel. After all, thier Sharan is the same car.

• Mazda 3 MPS + PERODU on Dec 21, 2009 at 7:38 pm

very nice mpv

• abdul rashid matop on Dec 22, 2009 at 12:56 am

If it is Ford and an MPV then I wld seriously consider getting one.I've seen this model during my EU trips last / this year. I've owned Ford Escape for 7 yrs since 2001 and now handed down to my son. Spare parts are sourced from several Segambut shops , really no problem. Tough machine,great handling and solid ride , way better than my current ride, a 2007 CRV ,which is rather light, sizzy (with 9 out of then 10 are women driven .) I test-drove the facelifted 2.3 Escape recently but unfortunately put off by the sissy headlamps and tailights

although the drivetrain/ gizmos are improvements over earlier 2.3 axt.

Hope the S-Max price wont't be as expensive as Citrone, Peugeot MPVs

• Loughborough on Dec 22, 2009 at 3:00 am

I hired Ford Galaxy 2.0 TDci for my trip to Edinburgh from Leicester of an approximately 300 miles single trip couple of days ago. I would say it is convenient and economical. Costed around 30 litres for this single trip alone and this makes 45 mpg or equivalent to 6.21 litre / 100km. I would recommend for this purchase …….

I drove Ford S-Max to Sunderland with similar performance as well.

• squawk on Dec 22, 2009 at 8:31 pm

Citroen C4 Picasso is RM160+k. Hope the Galaxy won't be more than that.

• Rulered on Dec 23, 2009 at 1:50 am

Paul, can you give us a hint as in which quarter of 2010 will this car be launch in Malaysia?

• Both such good MPVs. It is remarkable how such big lump of metal could have handling that could put shame on some family saloon. I've got the galaxy and has driven the Smax. 200k is not a lot when you have space/practicality and that intoxicating handling.

• whatever on Dec 28, 2009 at 6:59 pm

Ford Rocks!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!