Christmas discount for PLUS and ELITE

HighwayClass 1 vehicles on the PLUS and ELITE highways will be enjoying a total of 20% discount on toll charges from 12 midnight to 7am (their definition of off-peak) from the 22nd to 24th of December and from the 28th to 30th of December. This is an increase of 10% on top the existing 10% discount currently offered by PLUS and ELITE.

These off-peak hours are beyond the normal bedtimes of many people so please remember to get enough rest before driving. You shouldn’t be driving if you are sleepy. For some people, even getting enough sleep is useless as their body clock tells them they should be asleep during that time. Stop by the highway rest areas whenever necessary and minum kopi!

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• mystvearn on Dec 21, 2009 at 5:37 am

PLUS highway want to kill people or not sincere in their discount?

Unless you are that desperate, you should not drive outside your normal driving hours.

• Charger on Dec 21, 2009 at 9:49 am

12am to 7am during entry or exit?

• cikunet on Dec 21, 2009 at 4:25 pm

Exit maa!

Enter highway at 10pm but exit at 12:01am still got discount. Plan your journey.

Bravo PLUS!

• xavier lert on Dec 21, 2009 at 5:21 pm

20 % is ok…but how does it count if i enter the hiway before before 12 and exit after 12.is the discount count same if i enter the hiway within 12-7am..but get out after 7am……how u count that?

• scottloeb on Dec 21, 2009 at 5:53 pm

Good move as it reduces the congestion during day time. I dont mind paying full to avoid jam, and with this discounts, it encourage people to travel in staggered timing, and that is an ease to my left foot (as I'm driving sticks!)

• tttuuuutttt on Dec 21, 2009 at 5:54 pm

masuk tol xkira bila masa pun…asalkan bayar tol dlm tempoh 12-7 tu da boleh dpt diskaun

• Mysticmind on Dec 21, 2009 at 6:01 pm

No Karak Hiway?

• Hi Xavier,

As long you EXIT from the toll within 12-7am period, you will get the 20% rebate.

• kingv6 on Dec 21, 2009 at 6:38 pm

Come on guys… let's congest the highway…..

Enjoy the jam…. Cheers

• RunnerUp (Member) on Dec 21, 2009 at 7:11 pm

Even without the discount, there have always been drivers who prefer to travel at night. So it's not like PLUS/ELITE force people to drive at night just to get the discount.

Positive points:

– Those who drive at night will get the discount

– Those who drive during daytime will hopefully get lesser traffic volume

Negative points:

– Aiyah, no need to think negatively lah!

• WHO WILL PAY THE 20% DISCOUNTED TOLL FEE??

The Plus Expressway Company or the Government again?

• Mazda 3 MPS + PERODU on Dec 21, 2009 at 7:38 pm

merry christmas

• 4G63tDSM on Dec 21, 2009 at 7:49 pm

Works for me. Would probably work for those that think like me. I prefer to travel in the wee hours in the morning as there are less traffic and you can drive slower, and save on A/C therefore saving gas.

For example, driving at 100km/h at night with A/C on low costs me slightly less than 13c/km for my 1.8 Satria. Driving at 120km/h in the day with A/C on higher costs me 16c/km. Cost more since I am one of the few that does speed up to overtake so not to hold guys on the fastlane up.

(I hate drivers who overtake a truck at 100, holding everyone up…taking forever to pass and merge back in…then they blame people for tailgating….)

Good move I would say, although I don't need to balik kampung.

On the flipside, they should have given 50% discount if they are REALLY serious about easing congestion on the highway.

• cikunet on Dec 22, 2009 at 12:35 am

Being Malaysians, sometimes 90% discount also not enough. Take it as incentive.

• rexis on Dec 22, 2009 at 12:57 am

Merry Christmas and happy off peak wee hours.

• blaze on Dec 22, 2009 at 2:07 am

Yeah, like what WM was asking, `discounts' as a real discount or the goverment (taxpayers) will end up paying PLUS the `discounts' like the `80-times-a-month-10%-rebate-by-the-taxpayers-scheme'(or scam) ??????

• megat on Dec 22, 2009 at 3:09 am

PLUS don't force you to drive at night maaa, they are just giving it a discount at those time. Why be so critical of everything that werre given?

Don't give, complaint wy don't give.

When give dy, ask y so little.

Give extra dy, ask why so late?

c/mon, if they give discount at noon, then it will be doubly super duper jam, no?

• Tiadaid on Dec 22, 2009 at 4:47 am

4G63tDSM said,

December 21, 2009 @ 11:49 am

On the flipside, they should have given 50% discount if they are REALLY serious about easing congestion on the highway.

———————-

I don't understand your logic. Wouldn't higher discount means more congestion? Logically if you give high discount, then more people would want to take advantage of that offer. People who didn't plan to balik kampung surely would change their minds once they hear of the higher discount. Hence, more cars on the road.

• lohhw3 on Dec 22, 2009 at 5:38 pm

ok, this is a real joke from the PLUS/govt.

my toll rate at Sg Besi is RM1.80.

previously, with 10% discount, the toll rate is RM1.70. <– now WTH 10cents off??

10% of RM1.80 = 18cents = should be 20cents if rounded UP!!!

today, with 20% discount started, the toll rate is RM1.60 <– now again, WTH 20cents off???

20% of RM1.80 = 36cents = should be 35cents if rounded DOWN!!

How the heck did they calculate the discount anyway????

• Mazda 3 MPS on Dec 22, 2009 at 8:00 pm

they should also give us no speed limit for holidays

• squawk on Dec 22, 2009 at 8:28 pm

Just be careful with the express buses and trucks on the road late at night.

I wonder if PLUS will get the tow trucks and ambulances on standby.

• mamat puchong on Dec 23, 2009 at 5:49 am

not really serious in helping the 'rakyat'…. only make us to go for a ambiguous benefit. even if we have enough sleeps, are we really used to drive at night….. bahaya ma….. PLUS think about this. Give the rebets for the whole festive season

• The should also provide free food, free drink, free petrol and more holiday to us, even that not enough, they should also give us bonus and ang-pow too for balik kampung. We are the moron rakyat and deserve that.

• Jeffery Chew on Dec 23, 2009 at 7:23 pm

free chicks giving massage to driver??