Audi A3 1.6 TDI is the most efficient premium car

A new green version of the Audi A3 1.6 TDI – already the most fuel efficient and clean premium badged car – has been launched. Available only in three-door form with Standard spec (image above is a 2.0T), it emits only 99g/km of CO2 and has exceptional combined fuel consumption of 26.3 km/l. The standard A3 1.6 TDI does 24.4 km/l and emits 109g/km of CO2.

Key elements responsible for the efficiency gains include a modified final drive ratio for the five-speed manual transmission, reduced ride height, under-body revisions to reduce drag and the use of 15-inch alloys shod with low rolling resistance tyres. These combine with existing A3 1.6 TDI features such as engine start-stop and brake energy recuperation.

Performance is identical to the standard car – the 1.6 TDI produces 104 bhp and 250 Nm of torque from just 1500 rpm, good for 0-100 km/h in 11.4 seconds and a top speed of 195 km/h. As usual for modern diesels, real-world performance is much more impressive than the bare figures, and needs to be experienced to believed.

Now, some of you might wonder why European manufacturers keep harping on CO2 emissions. Besides being more environmentally aware than us, countries like the UK align their road tax structure with how much CO2 a car emits, not their engine capacity. Cars that dip below the 100g/km mark, like this A3 TDI, are rewarded with full road tax exemption. I think this is a fairer system than our “big cc, higher tax” method which is too simplistic and does not do much for the introduction of new green tech.

Unfortunately there are very few of such cars available here in Malaysia, except for the sole range of excellent diesels recently launched by BMW.

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• When will Malaysian get to save some money and save the world?

• brutus on Dec 30, 2009 at 12:09 am

pump in our sub standard Euro2 diesel, these little gems will surely kaput!

seriously, our Malaysian market really need these kind of cars.

• Satrio Neo like.

• look alike.

• the CO2 emmisison as benchmark for Raod tax is good for new cars but as the car ages, the CO2 emmission will increase. Is that still a fair benchmark?

• demio121 on Dec 30, 2009 at 12:27 am

the cc vs roadtax is an ancient formula but what choice do we have. Our own national car manufacturer is not exactly producing fuel efficient or environmental friendly car.

If something similar is intro here, not prize for guessing who get the most stick. also we don't have the infra/system to gauge the emission. seeing how those policy maker manage the NAP, this will turn out to be another circus if implemented.

• cfa said,

December 29, 2009 @ 4:16 pm

the CO2 emmisison as benchmark for Raod tax is good for new cars but as the car ages, the CO2 emmission will increase. Is that still a fair benchmark?

________________________________________________________________________-

in uk…they have MOT inspection..you must pass that inspection

• Our diesel have improved a lot already. Yes, its not the best like what the europeans get, but its good enuff for most modern diesel engines. Thats why you see the likes of BMW bringing in more of their diesel variants.

• I HATED people compare one of the most well-known cheapo car brand in the world against an establish premium branded car. not sure what are they thinking.

• somesay on Dec 30, 2009 at 2:44 am

i hated people who can't face the truth. It is clearly look alike, almost..at least the rear design but definitely not their performance and technology

• tolan on Dec 30, 2009 at 4:34 am

For rich countries like the UK road tax based on CO² emission is fair enough la. For developing countries like malaysia of course cannot. If can then rich dudes who can afford high tech low emission car can get free tax while the poor and middle class who can only afford simpler higher emission car have to pay road tax and maybe higher tax. Fair isnt it? Stupid.. always complaint but no brain.

• just me on Dec 30, 2009 at 6:02 am

tolan said,

December 29, 2009 @ 8:34 pm

For rich countries like the UK road tax based on CO² emission is fair enough la. For developing countries like malaysia of course cannot. If can then rich dudes who can afford high tech low emission car can get free tax while the poor and middle class who can only afford simpler higher emission car have to pay road tax and maybe higher tax. Fair isnt it? Stupid.. always complaint but no brain.

—————————————————————-

Surely the low emission car is more expensive compared to the high emission car… so you choose… you want expensive car with low road tax or cheaper car with high road tax? its your choice… haha

• We will never see the correct decision being applied in this country..

• dog said,

December 29, 2009 @ 10:38 pm

We will never see the correct decision being applied in this country..

——————————————————-

Easier talk than done. Correct decision for one side is usually incorrect for the other. Consumer want this, business what that, NGOs want this.. Being the G is not easy. Look at the struggling PR.. Talk can, work rubbish..

• yeap, our road tax policy needs some reworking, the archaic system of big cc= bigger tax needs to be updated.

• I LIKE KOREAN GIRL - on Dec 30, 2009 at 7:37 am

Mercs? BMW? AUDI?

When I was younger, i opt for BMW. the 3er E46 just gorgeous & sporty. Those day, Mercs still an "uncle" car in '90 …and Audi..ok..not in the picture.. maybe i was too young and no money~

and now, financial supported, able to grab hold of a 2B1A brand.. being analyzing n feeling and touch by my heard, i goes for Audi..~

I very particular about a car's interior, compare to exterior, a driver or passenger get closer everyday than exterior.. (ofcos..those "wow.".from road sider effect only can let the exterior do the job) nothing to complain among the 2B1A, Audi always has the best interior.. in term of quality & feel~

those commenter above, who die die must think mercs or BMW is better than Audi.. surely they dun driving one of them..bcos their opinion doesn't base on their 'physical' driving experience.. simply bcos they dun have any..

where do u think now all the Audi driver came from? surely part of them are 'upgraded' from japs brand as income increased.. but most of them are switched from Mercs or BMW~

the VW group 2.0TFSI is simply genius, this engine has been put on so many model and doing a good job.. GTI, SCIROCCO, passat CC, Q5, A4,A6, TT….

passat CC is value for money.. but my choice is A4 2.0TFSI Quattro

better still those 'die hard' fans of BM or Mercs dun appreciate Audi..

so that they won't be so boring on the road like u see 3 series on the road now!

GO Audi..

• Neo and A3? beside the fact both had their rear lights at roughly the same position, there is zero similarity lar boss..aiyo..so blind mer my fren?

THe Neo rear light got curve everywhere, but A3 employ clean lines design, Neo has shorter rear pillars, and appeared to have lower stance, A3 had higher stance from behind.

And I totally second the choice of Audi 2009 A4, its the sweetest mid-size exe sedan so far!!Look at those running lights…fuuuyoo!

• wrongturn on Dec 30, 2009 at 5:17 pm

Yes the road tax need re-structuring….we need to take account of various parameters and not just one aspect…for example we need to derive a formula based on the car engine cubic capacity, wheelbase dimensions and also the gas emissions… so the tax should be higher for the car with big engine, long wheelbase and high emission.. ie limousine should have higher road tax…since it has big engine than normal, occupy more space and lastly if the limo emits more gases…then it is fair enough to tax them more!

Maybe a FC should be another parameter to consider!

• dickybird on Dec 30, 2009 at 8:10 pm

we have lots of palm oil which can use to make biodiesel, we were planned to go into blending 5% into our diesel. now less than 2 minutes, flip flop lagi, B5 diesel becomes B2 diesel and now no noise already. Najis wants to emphasise hybrid car and EV cars?! it is not our strength, but we are really good at palm oil. so why cant we copy brazil? they grow alot of sugarcane and use that to make ethanol for their cars, and together with their domestic oil wells, are self sufficient in terms of fuel for transport.

roadtax aside, this govt needs to decide absolutely where it wants to go with the car industry and the fuel industryas as well as public transport , as these decisions will have great bearing on the rakyat.

• chew ban (Member) on Dec 30, 2009 at 8:33 pm

I LIKE KOREAN GIRL – I LIKE KOREAN FOOD – I LIKE CONTI CAR – I LIKE VW GROUP said,

December 29, 2009 @ 11:37 pm

Mercs? BMW? AUDI?

When I was younger, i opt for BMW. the 3er E46 just gorgeous & sporty. Those day, Mercs still an “uncle” car in ‘90 …and Audi..ok..not in the picture.. maybe i was too young and no money~

and now, financial supported, able

get korean car dood

• wochomi on Dec 30, 2009 at 9:26 pm

Yah rite, 3 door car …. size of satria…. fuel efficient … hoo-hah….. duh…..the Rakyat not stupid ya know.

• adelah cam satria neo ckit2.terimalah kenyataan.he3

• harap2 ade satria neo sedan.

• dia kate look alike je.bukan cam klon.

• 1 question Paul, I think this is not the picture of the latest A3, the new A3 gets some angles with its rear lights I think.

• venven81 on Dec 31, 2009 at 6:49 am

sigh. really don't understand the logic behind saying things like "ohh look like this… like that…". The review is talking about the engineering and technology perspective of the car but yet someone will just focus on the picture/outlook for what?! just because they dislike Audi and would like to defend what they like?

most designers will somehow copy some design from somewhere whether it's BMW/Merc/Toyota/Hyundai etc… but can't they just keep this insignificant opinion to themselves and not sharing it here? gosh…

• budlee on Dec 31, 2009 at 11:32 pm

no road tax? that's hot :p

hmm the gen2 is quite dirty.. 172 g/km of CO2

the myvi is a bit cleaner with 131 g/km (or close to it) of C02 with manual

because of the road tax based on C02 and how fuel is expensive, this is why people in the UK will almost always drive a manual..

Selling a car without a manual shift is considered suicidal, unless of course you drive a Prius (89 g/km) and Civic Hybrid (109 g/km)

• JOE JACK on Jan 04, 2010 at 12:37 am

there are some similarities (in design. lol) especially from the angle shown in the pic. For me it's not a bad thing as the 'cheapo' Satria Neo (as some said, not me, hahaha) had preceeded Audi design…in fact im impressed with Proton. the worst part is that, this audi a3 is more like the older satria look-alike…or is it just me? hehehehe…jgn mareee