CONFIRMED: Naza is new distributor of Chevrolet!

CONFIRMED: Naza is new distributor of Chevrolet!The Naza Group has signed a memorandum of understanding (MoU) with General Motors to be the official distributor of Chevrolet cars and parts in Malaysia. The MoU was signed by Naza Group joint executive chairman SM Faisal SM Nasimuddin and General Motors Southeast Asia Operations and Chevrolet Sales Thailand President Steve Carlisle.

“This is part of the group’s on-going efforts to continuously look out for viable business opportunities with foreign partners to complement and consolidate our automobile sales portfolio,” the conglomerate said.

This expected announcement confirms longstanding rumours linking the two parties which started even before GM and DRB-HICOM officially parted ways. We will deliver updates as it becomes available.

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• Ronaldo on Jan 04, 2010 at 10:14 pm

nothing suprise…….

• Jeffrey Chew on Jan 04, 2010 at 10:20 pm

That's for sure, GM has no choice to choose NAZA as they are the AP king!

• Cynical on Jan 04, 2010 at 10:25 pm

Great news. More CKD models on the way. Now we'll have more options other that T, H, & N. Not forgetting P1 & P2.

• ahmad on Jan 04, 2010 at 10:29 pm

What will happen to kia? They have to compete with the chevy in one roof!

waaaaa….

• Car Maniac on Jan 04, 2010 at 10:29 pm

No surprise as there are very little company can survive without government assistance like Tan chong (non government linked company).

It is just another car brand going into drain like their korean car.

• Patrick on Jan 04, 2010 at 10:34 pm

Kudos to NAZA.. at least now chevy is under a group that has BALLS.. big BALLS… willing to invest and introduce new models…unlike the previous franchise holder…

In your face to DRB.. for their arrogance and incompetence.. wake up! all your brands are dying.. you'll probably lose suzuki and audi and who knows maybe honda and mitsu too! instead dont wake up and just shut down the group altogether…

I remember one DRB fella making press statement that they are spending a few million to promote their current brands like audi etc.. hahahaha… non-stop i laughed.. is nothing compared to what beemer and merc spends… hahaha… even naza forte's tv ads are better than their ugly looking mitsu, suzuki and audi billboards.. cheap bastards…pretending to be big and rich…

• kodok on Jan 04, 2010 at 10:36 pm

before the AP been abolished, they have to grab all the franchise…

• littlefire on Jan 04, 2010 at 11:05 pm

Car Maniac,

Naza already helped by the G as they control most luxury AP which only can be selected by few… They are rich today thanks to those day importing recon cars..

• JacKal on Jan 04, 2010 at 11:17 pm

All the best to GM. Hope Naza does not make another mess like it has with the other brands in its stables.

• bobby on Jan 04, 2010 at 11:35 pm

GOOD !!! Nice Job !!!!

• Fuego66 on Jan 05, 2010 at 12:21 am

Naza Cruze, Naza Cruze . . . .

• jeremy0 on Jan 05, 2010 at 12:26 am

CKD Chevys ftw!….Looking forward to the CKD Cruze, CKD Captiva and CKD Nabira…..

I don't mind Naza rebadging all these brands as long as they keep the price competitive like the 407 & 308. These also means that Naza will have to install Tech-II diagnostics at their service centers so it means more choices for current chevy owners to go for servicing.

• Well done Naza, I will buy Chevy after this …

• odi862 on Jan 05, 2010 at 12:35 am

One of the important things besides having lots of brands under one roof is the after sales. Hope they can deliver not just good cars for cheaper price but also good after sales services.

• well, i am sure everyone saw it coming. but its no surprise considered they are government linked, with the land projects and all.

at least this means there is scale for chevy to grow here under new management.

• congrats NAZA….. hope to see new models coming in….namely

-chevy colorado( the OTHER version of isuzu dmax)….very nice looking

-chevy cruze and epica…

• KhairulSupermoto on Jan 05, 2010 at 12:46 am

Not only NAZA got Chevy, they also got Piaggio, and the brands under Piaggio.

• jeremy0 on Jan 05, 2010 at 1:00 am

My wishlist for 2010 is the Chevy Nabira/Opel Zafira being brought in as a competitor in the MPV Market. The Naza Ria although cheap, is too old (previous gen carnival) and has a gaz guzzler engine. Mazda5@150k, Toyota Wish@150k, Serena@150k…..

If Naza plays their card right and price it about 100k…then it will be interesting to see another good MPV on the road

• kimi_ on Jan 05, 2010 at 1:06 am

NAZA again…later baby car also from NAZA !!!!!!

• shaif on Jan 05, 2010 at 1:22 am

If Naza can sell Brabus, Maserati and of course with Gurun Auto plant…its look like Naza is an important key player not to be ignored.

DRB just full of ex-proton employee who don't really how or what is marketing all about. They dream they still in the era of proton in which customer come to them, not they seek the customer.

• DEUTSCHLAND BOLEH on Jan 05, 2010 at 1:32 am

Naza has shown that Proton model of self-manufacturing model is a wrong move. If I have a truckloads of APs, I think my son can do better than that

• qosim slamutt on Jan 05, 2010 at 1:33 am

Naza has a bad rep for after sales … hope they can change. They need to improve their CSI rating. I know a few guys who really like the Kia Forte but bought other car just because its a Naza … anyway hopefully it'll mean more choice for the average man on the street.

• takeo1070 on Jan 05, 2010 at 1:39 am

great job NAZA, under this young chiku, NAZA really flies..starts with ferrari,maserati,peugeot,harley and now chevy.

• Vincent on Jan 05, 2010 at 1:39 am

Wor, Cruze will be head off with Forte, Captiva will then knock Sorento head. Chevrolet vs Kia…

Conflict of interest ler….

• neveraproton on Jan 05, 2010 at 1:48 am

Now, if only NAZA can change that awful looking corporate logo. It seriously looks like someone doodled the alphabets and said, "hey presto. Our logo!"

• Let's see how the marque will fare under Naza. IMHO Chevy cars are largely unappealing with uninspired interiors and less than stellar exteriors.

@Patrick, how could you compare inanimate billboard ads to animated TV ads?

• mystvearn (Member) on Jan 05, 2010 at 2:09 am

Naza Camaro…

Yep, Naza will take all imported car brands, except Honda, Toyota and market them here themselves.

• cupidrin (Member) on Jan 05, 2010 at 2:24 am

i m just about thinking of buying captiva, just heard about the news of change in dealership, not sure of NAZA's reputation, how's kia under NAZA's care, are they well taken care of?

• vampireangel1984 on Jan 05, 2010 at 3:23 am

omg…here comes the cruze..

ARX said,

January 4, 2010 @ 5:57 pm

Let’s see how the marque will fare under Naza. IMHO Chevy cars are largely unappealing with uninspired interiors and less than stellar exteriors.

Dear ARX..please do look at the chevy cruze, it is a beauty IMHO..sorry no disrespect meant

• shawal on Jan 05, 2010 at 3:32 am

I'm sorry to say that all the repairman , especially kia's are idots and they overcharge , my family has a preggio n a naza suria (kia picanto) , neway , the preggio got A/C problem , it took them 3 times to fix it, and it seems that they overcharge….dunno now

Anyway , Naza , can u bring in the CRUZE , its a cool lookin' car, and that shud be enuff for sum ppl…

• shawal on Jan 05, 2010 at 3:34 am

or the corvette…..or at least the camaro….it'll be friggin awesome if we can see a camaro on our roads (not sure if they have a right hooker onot)

• kenso on Jan 05, 2010 at 3:40 am

Considering the top management of DRB are not from the automotive industry, no surprise they're doing a lousy job at managing the brand …. and it's gonna get worse for them.

• appetitite4destructi on Jan 05, 2010 at 4:37 am

NAZA Camaro next in M'sia???

• samn (Member) on Jan 05, 2010 at 5:25 am

Very ambitious NAZA! Now it has so many brands/makes under its belt…it begins to look like another "DRB-Hicom". There's always a danger in selling different brands/makes if NAZA didn't have capable people to run each brands/makes properly. Anyway, good luck, hope more Malaysian will get more employment opportunity to gain auto manufacturing experiences other than Japanese makes.

• My wishes is that Naza will bring the Holden/Chevrolet Calais, Commodore or Lumina with a competitive pricing…. CKD would be good

• soon….. NAZA will buy P1 as well. They will monopolized the automotive industry in Malaysian….

• rempit on Jan 05, 2010 at 6:08 am

I tak kisah asalkan harga cantik. – oklah!!!

tapi service warranty jangan cutback & harga parts berbaloi !!!

• yoyoan on Jan 05, 2010 at 6:15 am

A merry news after all!! A more than welcomed news!!!

Good job NAZA. I wish you all the best. Looking forward to the day when T and H will be doubting their high prices after all these years…we're taken for a ride…

NAZA, please buck up and show us good after sales service. Your last promo of 206 still left many of us buyers wondering….

Cruze…cool…

• Mazda 3 MPS on Jan 05, 2010 at 6:44 am

disgusting corruption at its very best

• OPENMIND on Jan 05, 2010 at 7:17 am

I dont think this is actually a good news. The reason is that despite DRB not acheving great success with GM, but having Naza controlling so many franschise is not a good sign. Apart from the luxury and re-cond car, they already controlling Peugeot, Kia, Chevrolet (and also Madza and involved in Perodua).

When you control the market, what would be the eventual result if you are the boss of Naza?

I do like the idea that they repackage/rebrand the car to make it more affordable. However, I would really like to see how they position the cars and how they bring more competitiveness to the Malaysia market, challenging proton, toyota and honda in particularly. Until this is realize, I personally dont think it is good because they may loss focus…..and if they are not too aggresive, they would end up like the previous GM partner, and people of Malaysia would be have chance to enjoy the benefit of more competitive pricing, improved service quality, etc.

• BeemerFreak on Jan 05, 2010 at 7:32 am

Poor Kia, tehy built better cars than Chevy. Any time a Kia for me than a Chevy.

• anti-bashers on Jan 05, 2010 at 8:09 am

Openmind talks like some smart corporate consultant .I wonder what he does for a living . No need to talk talk lah. The simple fact is that the Chevy business in Malaysia is without a dealer and Naza agrees to come in and Chevy agrees to offer.The rest we hope that things work out well for them, their customers, the workers and the country.For those bashers , they are borne that way, it is already in their genes. These people, first thing they know when they wake up is to bash any thing….that thing cannot work, this thing cannot work without realising that they have wetted the bed over the night .

They are usually problem child to begin with.

• kamarul azmi on Jan 05, 2010 at 8:38 am

How come Peyno didn't make a single

comment abt Naza ? Naza is Rebadge King.!

• Anonymous on Jan 05, 2010 at 9:03 am

drb don't care about chevy, they get most of tenders to supply military vehicles. Also public transport.

• I-HATE-GG889933000-I on Jan 05, 2010 at 9:29 am

Good job NAZA!

but please improve your garage for services! damn..

we now will see a cheaper american brand in our land.good! no more honda n toyota flooding the road hhaaa!! ahhaha…

sell it cheap!!

I wan a yellow camero!!

• (required) Name on Jan 05, 2010 at 9:51 am

Well Done! Good Job…!

Next step is to become the distributor for all car company eh… Ensure there will be no rival at all, don't forget to monopoly the market… like G-PUPPET which has conquered the broadband services… then can't charge kow-kow..

"Malaysia Kita Sudah Berjaya…"

• gijoe on Jan 05, 2010 at 10:22 am

don buy american

• Jaybond on Jan 05, 2010 at 4:55 pm

Just make sure that future Chevrolets in Malaysia, won't be rebadged as Naza!!

• Patrick on Jan 05, 2010 at 5:28 pm

ARX,

You asked the question of why am i comparing a billboard add by DRB to Naza's tv add? That's exactly my point… how can you compare? One is selling premium cars like audis, while the other is selling a korean car.. yet the korean fella is willing to invest and daring to commit… now what does that say about DRB.. cheap ppl with no balls.. if u walk into most of their showrooms, there's always the issue of 'no stock'.. even for a 3-4 year old model suzuki swift….. and i even heard some of their audi models here have waiting lists that go all the way to 2011!… ridiculous… they are the ones not committed to A&P, and stock holding… yet so arrogant….

When they lost their chevy franchise.. what did they say? well they made a press statement about some hybrid car their planning and spending a few mill on A&P.. duhhh.. This statement by DRB Hicom is to just counter the fact that they have lost their Chevy distributorship.. word around is that they’ll probably lose Suzuki, and also audi (no more sole importer)… What was once an automotive giant in malaysia is now a crappy group with stupidly arrogant, dumb and useless people at the helm.. all living in the past and still thinking that they are the supremo when it comes to car distributorships in malaysia… like their proton days…

Look at all the brands under DRB.. all of them are dying.. with minimal promos and zero effort to bring their name up..

It’s really sad to see brands like suzuki and audi that have superb cars being brought down by such incompetency and ignorance from them… good cars, but terrible a&p, stocks and after sales…

SO….. GO NAZA!

• Cergazam normal service takes 3 hours (with appointment).

NAZA normal service takes 3 hours (with appointment).

SO what's the difference huh?

• chevy cruze…u guys did a great job naza…but still too many ppl will prefer the T and H..

• Babak on Jan 05, 2010 at 6:43 pm

NAZA, let bring in NAZA Zafira type B to M'sia. Give more competative to recent MPV market like Stream and Wish…

• bobdbilder on Jan 05, 2010 at 8:52 pm

I would question where GM would slot in NAZA's portfolio and market segment. If they've got KIA and the extended 206, where's the AVEO and Optra's going to fit. They seem to compete in each other's segments. The MOU is with GM's ops in Thailand. So it's only the Thailand assembled, Daewoo made stuff that's going to come this way. Which is pretty boring. They had a good thing with the Captiva and I think that's the bright spot to reignite. Its promises fat profits compared with the sedans.

There's not much possibilities but cheap SUV's could save them.

• Id think that GM would have been better off assuming the wholesale operations themselves. First DRB and now NAZA. It may seem logical but what them Americans are doing once again is sacrificing long-term gains for short-term sales. It'll probably boost numbers from 2010 onwards but its cars will always struggle. Moreover, the Americans aren't used to working with a local partner especially with one whose sole competitive strength is its strong political patronage. How well the alliance succeeds will be a function of how receptive the American managers will be in "connecting" with their locals partners. Lets hope they forge a "single camp" at NAZA-GM. Wouldn't be surprised if NAZA ends being on a "need-to-know" basis.

• I-HATE-GG889933000-I on Jan 06, 2010 at 8:17 am

hello everyone!!!

wake up~~

we all know the fact that :

1.Honda & Toyota are still the most welcome brand a part from P1P2.

2.But yet NAZA able to slash the price with better car, thus we get a better CP value to own a car. e.g. PUG, KIA

3.YES, the resell value, or maintenance cost 'might be' bad, but the car already cheaper by 20-30% ..RM10-20k ahead.. PLUS yes PLUS the FEATURE is the SAME OR WAY BETTER (e.g. compare the 308 with a Civic pls) since u have same a lot in the front.. wat's wrong to worry about the maintenance cost or resell value? at the end, when u own a Civic or 308 the costing might be same .. but one think sure different. a conti feel and a jap feel !

• tokmoh on Jan 06, 2010 at 6:12 pm

vampireangel1984 said,

January 4, 2010 @ 7:23 pm

omg…here comes the cruze..

ARX said,

January 4, 2010 @ 5:57 pm

Let’s see how the marque will fare under Naza. IMHO Chevy cars are largely unappealing with uninspired interiors and less than stellar exteriors.

Dear ARX..please do look at the chevy cruze, it is a beauty IMHO..sorry no disrespect meant

>>> Meh, I've seen the Cruze sometimes in Subang, S'pore plate number. I don't think it's that much of a looker. The rear lights look like Civic. The front part looks kinda dated.

Doubtful it can sell well. Msian sceptic of this Korean-American marque.

• torque (Member) on Jan 06, 2010 at 7:12 pm

kodok said,

January 4, 2010 @ 2:36 pm

before the AP been abolished, they have to grab all the franchise…

Ahh…very smart man we have here…..or frog…

• zaeidos on Jan 15, 2010 at 11:22 pm

is there any forte owner here?can give some info on ur car condition?naza forte good or bad? better like this because if naza is the new P2,then P1 got more competition.

gogo P1 P2 n Naza!!!!!